Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1397 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,020
Mixed:
146
Negative:
231
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
RobinSAug 4, 2009
Good acting & camera work but didn't feel an emotional attachment to the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DomoRAug 6, 2009
Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and one up the old boys' network. Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
saAug 6, 2009
I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression I think the point was the character becoming so enveloped within his experience as a soldier that he was unable to remove himself from the war when the opportunity arose. On this level I think it was very effective (reports of depression etc. in Iraq war veterans). Certain scenes did stretch plausibility (especially the part when the lead character goes vigilante). As non-military though, I didn't have any difficulty believing in the fantasy. Also, it effectively created a sense of irony as I sat in the theater sipping my soda and munching on popcorn while some soldiers were trapped in a firefight while baking in the desert. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshEAug 6, 2009
I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. I understand, a little, how certain people connected to the military may get upset by the lack of realism in the representation of how these men go about their jobs, but name one thing that Hollywood makes that is realistic. Love, no. Attractiveness of average people, no. True events, no. Transforming robots... OK, I'll stop now, because it's endless. That's not the point with this film. It's not the "How," it's the "Who" and the "What." The mundane for these men is life or death at the flip of a coin or, in this case, switch. It's about a man who is overwhelmed by choosing 1 cereal in a crowded aisle and only knows peace when he is alone with a bomb because it's the only time he knows what to do... disarm it. Despite the lack of realism, this movie only improves my admiration for the men that risk their lives in any capacity for our freedom and that of others. "The Hurt Locker" is a film, not a documentary. It is compelling for its intensity and the how close these characters are to oblivion as part of their daily routine. I think it's an excellent film and hope that others can look at it is a situation with probable characters, and what this situation does to them, and not how they aren't travelling with the right amount of Humvees or aren't using the robot enough. It's a story, and one that is well told and acted... Something that is truly rare in the cinemaplex now-a-days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jeffhAug 8, 2009
The most intense and realistic war movie I have ever seen.The cast of unknowns keeps you on the edge of your seat and to think that this masterpiece was directed by a woman is remarkable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KingHAug 9, 2009
No need to wait 10 years for this film to become a classic. It is one NOW!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AKhanAug 9, 2009
This is a very intelligent and gripping thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HugoSSep 1, 2009
The Hurt Locker is another pointless attempt at glorifying the act of bravery and the demon that is war but it fails as a reflection of it and as a movie. I'm not an army guy, you could say i'm actually the opposiste of it and was The Hurt Locker is another pointless attempt at glorifying the act of bravery and the demon that is war but it fails as a reflection of it and as a movie. I'm not an army guy, you could say i'm actually the opposiste of it and was incredibly hyped to watch this film; what an incredible dissapointment. I'm not an expert on how the military works but I can see where the army guys in the comments section are coming from, it really feels like they had a series of unrealistic set pieces before having a script and that's what they went for. It simplifies a conflict, it shakes the camera constantly missing the point of shaking a camera on a movie. It is extremely pretentious and goes on and on without any form of narrative. When it looks like an interesting idea is about to start and develop a plot it just stops and moves on into another annoying moment of camaradery and funny portraying of one of the most annoying main characters of the year. Don't believe the hype, this is just another example of how critics tired of being forced to watch Dance Flick and any other film their boss asks them, watch a movie that it's not awful and think it's the second coming of Christ. This is just another movie with a few ideas but poorly executed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesOSep 1, 2009
Anyone who gave this movie below a 6 is being dumb. Its a great movie, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PepijnSchmidtSep 2, 2009
byfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it'sbyfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it's the little details about the movie that make it good. The gloves they use, the MRE tabasko bottle in the molly webbing. All the different iraqi military forces look identical and their uniforms arn't hard pressed. god that was a great movie..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilFSep 4, 2009
"Total bore"? "Forced tension"? What are the people knocking this film on?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SethA.Jan 11, 2010
Excellent film. Don't let extreme liberals stray you from watching one of the best war films of the decade. Everything seems very real, including the psychological damage the war causes the soldiers. A must see for any person who calls Excellent film. Don't let extreme liberals stray you from watching one of the best war films of the decade. Everything seems very real, including the psychological damage the war causes the soldiers. A must see for any person who calls themselves a war film appreciator. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreJan 11, 2010
This is a great film about the personal battles faced during war. I don't think it set out to make a statement about the Iraq War itself but how we as humans learn to cope. It's a small story with some very intense action and a This is a great film about the personal battles faced during war. I don't think it set out to make a statement about the Iraq War itself but how we as humans learn to cope. It's a small story with some very intense action and a handful of heart. Renner gives a helluva performance. Worth seeing!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeSJan 13, 2010
Has two or three memorable set pieces that have one or two memorable action sequences. All the Iraqi's are little more than placeholders to move the story along ("cowering moron," "fawning kid who likes soccer," "guy with cell phone and Has two or three memorable set pieces that have one or two memorable action sequences. All the Iraqi's are little more than placeholders to move the story along ("cowering moron," "fawning kid who likes soccer," "guy with cell phone and bad timing," etc.) The American soldiers' behavior and their repercussions make no realistic sense either. An action movie with better pedigree than Michael Bay, but hardly the film that the critic's are gushing about. Lower your expectations and you'll be fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleMJan 13, 2010
If Avatar beats out this, and the other nominees for that matter, I'll be mad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnB.Jan 18, 2010
Very average movie, not sure what all the hype is about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricS.Jan 2, 2010
I hated the War Lover, directed by Katheryn Bigelow. I am shocked to see that critics are falling all over themselves to praise and push it on the American public, which has already soundly rejected it at the box office. No one has I hated the War Lover, directed by Katheryn Bigelow. I am shocked to see that critics are falling all over themselves to praise and push it on the American public, which has already soundly rejected it at the box office. No one has acknowledged that "The Hurt Locker" is an exploitative ripoff of "The War Lover", a 1956 film with Steve McQueen. "Hurt"takes the psychological complexities of "Lover" and sensationalizes and simplifies them to make a blatant pro-war propaganda piece. Katheryn Bigelow is our equivalent of Leni Riefenstahl, a female director who glorified war and Nazi invasions. Katheryn Bigelow took the premise of "The War Lover", originally a novel by John Hersey, without transferring one iota of the intelligence of the original. In "Hurt" Bigelow unselfconsciously supports the war in Iraq and suppresses the reality of war and the nature of the American involvement there. She glorifies the lead character, a blind killer, who is shown in "The War Lover" as a maniac. How naive to think one could make a war movie about Iraq without having a political POV! This is why all war movies about this war are flops. They are all idiotic in the same way. The Hurt Locker does not reveal any truth, they are in denial of the truth. In my own review, I point out that Bigelow's "Hurt" tries to resurrect the permanently discredited Western genre, an old canard that male directors couldn't touch with a ten foot pole. A male director making "Hurt" would risk accusations of chauvinism, racism, and sensationalism, if not open complicity with the Pentagon in an effort to recruit new cannon-fodder. At the very least, SOME movie critic should point out that Bigelow uses every cliche in the Western book, and her characters are superficial and nonsensical, archetypes that even her apparent target audience, 12-year-old-boys, would reject. The most disturbing thing is that many critics have heaped high praise on this dumbed-down debacle, as if they are also complicit in supporting the war aims of the military. At least those critics who laud The Hurt Locker will inadvertently expose their incompetence as reviewers and complicity in prolonging the slaughter of civilians in ugly imperialist wars. Duly noted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbJan 24, 2010
A very good film about a small contingent of soldiers (explosive ordinance disposal -- i.e., bomb squad) in Baghdad in 2004. Well directed, well acted, well plotted and paced... and blessedly non-political. But for me, it didn't live up A very good film about a small contingent of soldiers (explosive ordinance disposal -- i.e., bomb squad) in Baghdad in 2004. Well directed, well acted, well plotted and paced... and blessedly non-political. But for me, it didn't live up to the hype. Yes, Renner does a fine job in the lead role. Yes, there are moments of tension, moments of mute horror, and moments of dramatic catharsis. But I found this film oddly 'flat' overall. Still, it's worth seeing this if you want to see a compelling story about the war in Iraq. [I think it would have been better to see this on the big screen, rather than on my little 27" flat screen.] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdiP.Jan 26, 2010
I do not know what to say so I just say it will lose Oscars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BullittJan 3, 2010
Was suspicious from the start, this could have been a good film if there was at least a plot. But it also seemed totally inaccurate to me, and I'm no soldier, but I'm smart enough to identify this film has more in common with point Was suspicious from the start, this could have been a good film if there was at least a plot. But it also seemed totally inaccurate to me, and I'm no soldier, but I'm smart enough to identify this film has more in common with point break than anything in real world war conflicts. Avatar has more realism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JamesJan 8, 2010
I absolutely cannot figure out why the critics are raving over this. It was a suspenseful made for TV drama with no plot, unnecessary scenes, mediocre acting, little character development, no deep probing as to their cause - AND TOTALLY FAKE I absolutely cannot figure out why the critics are raving over this. It was a suspenseful made for TV drama with no plot, unnecessary scenes, mediocre acting, little character development, no deep probing as to their cause - AND TOTALLY FAKE and UNBELIEVABLE SCENES. All you people saying it was 'realistic' need to read the reviews by ex-soldiers who say it was not only tripe - but that they were borderline offended by it - and in fact it poorly portrayed Iraqis as well. 5 points for keeping me on the edge of my seat, 0 for everything else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamMFeb 11, 2010
This movie is an upside down reflection of truth. It is sad the movie is nominated for the academy award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DKFeb 14, 2010
Rather weak movie. I lost interest halfway through and walked out. It wasn't very realistic and lacked cohesion. I still don't know what the plot was about by midway through the story. Mixed with amateurish acting and photography, Rather weak movie. I lost interest halfway through and walked out. It wasn't very realistic and lacked cohesion. I still don't know what the plot was about by midway through the story. Mixed with amateurish acting and photography, I'm surprised that there was potential under the surface but not surprised that it didn't break through. Nothing like Generation Kill as someone else mentioned. A lemon. It has it's moments, but they don't make a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
annFeb 14, 2010
I went to rent this movie at the same time someone else was returning it. I was really exited to get it. The person told me it was something she would not spend money on by I did not believed her since after all it was an Oscar contender. I went to rent this movie at the same time someone else was returning it. I was really exited to get it. The person told me it was something she would not spend money on by I did not believed her since after all it was an Oscar contender. What a disappointment! Lousy acting. Did not look realistic. It was actually stupid and boring. After 30 minutes my husband and I gave up on it and returned it. One of the worst movies I have seen. I do not understand the critics. And now I know why it did not last in the theaters. It will definitely not get the Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DerekKFeb 5, 2010
Absolutely horrible, with the high reviews and Oscar nominations,i wanted to check it out, Dosnt deserve any of it!! I should have known by the box office numbers, my fault. Just bad! its funny how all the reviews of people who actually went Absolutely horrible, with the high reviews and Oscar nominations,i wanted to check it out, Dosnt deserve any of it!! I should have known by the box office numbers, my fault. Just bad! its funny how all the reviews of people who actually went overseas gave it a low rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenF.Feb 8, 2010
One of the best war films in recent memory. The suspense almost kills you at times. Renner is a revelation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JakeA.Feb 8, 2010
Don't believe the hype. Extremely inaccurate. Extremely cheesy dialogue. The action is mediocre. Empty plot. If you don't mind all of inaccurate content, and don't care about a plot, but just want to see some slow motion Don't believe the hype. Extremely inaccurate. Extremely cheesy dialogue. The action is mediocre. Empty plot. If you don't mind all of inaccurate content, and don't care about a plot, but just want to see some slow motion explosions, this is the movie for you. But if you are really interested in what life is like in Iraq, avoid this movie. It's funny how most reviewers and critics are proclaiming this is the movie to define this war generation, saying how it captures the emotions and hardships soldiers go through perfectly, when they themselves don't even know what those emotions are. They have never been there, so how can they possibly know what its like, and then make judgments? Pretty much, if you don't mind depth in a movie and just want to see some explosions and firefights, you'll enjoy it. If you care about plot, and accuracy, you'll hate it. If you're an Iraq veteran, like me, you'll laugh at it. Not the humor, the silliness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrianSFeb 9, 2010
Civilians will praise this movie just because it has soldiers in it. Like Tim C and most of the other soldiers on here, I've got 2 tours for the army under my belt and could not stop laughing the whole movie. The opening scene when EOD Civilians will praise this movie just because it has soldiers in it. Like Tim C and most of the other soldiers on here, I've got 2 tours for the army under my belt and could not stop laughing the whole movie. The opening scene when EOD shows up and everyone else has abandoned their humvees and are hiding just set the tone. Then the AWAL but, the headset nonsense, EOD turning into scout snipers interlaced with a 15 minute juice drinking scene... all nonsensical inaccurate crap. An actual EOD movie would be 15 minutes long and feature dudes in PT's sleeping and playing on the internet followed by a 3 hour response time to go pick up some ordinance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlbertaPMar 12, 2010
This wasn't a movie - it was the most horrific human video game imaginable where the goal is to kill or be killed and to immensely enjoy the adrenaline rush caused by that type of behavior.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReganHMar 13, 2010
The quiet intensity, the lack of quick-cuts, the facets of the lead character that slowly revealed themselves throughout the movie -- it added up to riveting, engrossing movie that has stuck with me. I cannot wait to watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful