Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1395 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,018
Mixed:
145
Negative:
232
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JohnMar 8, 2010
Fantastic Movie with an outstanding performance by the leading actor.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JAug 3, 2009
To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail To all of you military types complaining that this movie wasn't realistic enough, it's not a documentary. It's a work of fiction. Period. The Hurt Locker isn't concerned with the nuts and bolts of making every tiny detail as 100% accurate as possible. If you want that, watch the Military Channel, or better yet go re-enlist and get shipped back over there if want an "authentic" experience. This is the first war movie in ages that paints its soldiers as real, complex people instead of cartoons or psychos, and all you can do is complain? Sheesh. Luckily, for the rest of us, this film will do just fine, because the enlightened viewer will realize that The Hurt Locker isn't about the details, but the big picture. It's a document of what a war like this means and how it affects the participants on both sides. It's neither pro-war nor anti-war, but instead just shows the ways things are without pronouncing judgment on its characters or their actions. It's also a showcase for some of the most impressive action and suspense set pieces to grace the cinema in a very long time. Hard, sharp, and honest, The Hurt Locker is one of the year's very best films. THAT'S the reality. Expand
12 of 18 users found this helpful
10
ForrestL.Feb 3, 2010
I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full I am a Marine combat veteran and I rate this movie as the most realistic war movie I've ever seen. It really captures the intensity and the individuality of combat and the changes it causes in all of its participants. Movies like Full Metal Jacket and Apoclypse Now and even Saving Private Ryan are cartoons - Hollywood director's fantasies of what war and conflict are. Most war movies are laden false events and dramatic devices and political "messages" but Hurt Locker embraces the realities of war and the people in them. This is a movie I'll keep for my children and grandchildren to show when they ask me what war was like. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MitchellkMar 9, 2010
Great Intense and Suspenseful Movie with great direction, who knew she had it in her.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
lolaluluJul 1, 2009
One of the most realistic war movies that I've ever seen.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoyceTAug 2, 2009
Relentless, devastating and totally awesome. Not a political soapbox, but a good war movie is always a moral one. Go see it. Make everybody you know go see it. An effort this fine deserves some box office heat.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
johnBAug 6, 2009
The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and The Hurt Locker, Movie Review by BANJO52.blogspot.com The Hurt Locker: 4 (on a scale of 1 low to 4 high ) In this study of a U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq in 2004, director Kathryn Bigelow grabs us by the throat in the first few minutes and never lets go. I find myself tempted to say this is the best war movie I Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
richardhAug 9, 2009
Fantastic film. Tense and riviting drama. Realistic and genuine.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexPSep 1, 2009
This is the "Platoon" for this generation. Simply brilliant filmmaking.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ThayerH.Jan 11, 2010
Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's Truly a masterpiece. Don't let other reviews fool you, this movie is not for everyone. If you truly love films, approach this movie with an open mind and you will be pleased. Only those who are too institutionalized by Hollywood's formulaic processes disliked it, as is evidenced by the polarizing reviews. They just don't get it. People who came in expecting big explosions, standard, unrealistic story arcs, and some sort of solid antagonist, The kind of people who are uncomfortable in a movie experience that doesn't tell them how to feel and what to think. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricO.Jan 10, 2010
The best movie of 2009. It is not a fantascy science fiction kind of a movie. It is real and it brings you down to earth. These type of soldiers are the bravest in the history of human warfare.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SJan 13, 2010
I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, I finally saw the war movie The Hurt Locker. I absolutely LOVED it!!! In my opinion, it is hands down the BEST movie of 2009 and one of the best movies I've seen in many years. Brilliantly and intelligently directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who definitely deserves an Academy Award for Best Director, The Hurt Locker is intense, suspenseful, exciting, and thrilling. The acting is superb, especially by main actor Jeremy Renner, whose performance is totally real, raw, and brilliant. Renner deserves an Academy Award for Best Actor. I warn you that you won Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JacobTJan 19, 2010
Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen about war. I don't know what people dislike about this movie, but I loved every fucking second of it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chrisb.Feb 12, 2010
This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the This movie is absolutely amazing, the whole idea of these three solders basically by themselves in Iraq and them being basically the only team who can do what they do. I think that Jermey Renner was the absolute perfect roll for the character portrayed in this film. He had some great supporting actors such as Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty. This was a very suspenseful story with a non-standard plot with lots of hidden stories hidden within the movie itself.I think that it is extremely hard to portray and show the emotion at the level that they did, this is achieved by a superb production team and an amazing crew. Outstanding movie everyone, outstanding job, best movie all year!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DoreneNFeb 2, 2010
I was glued to the TV screen throughout the whole movie; great acting by the whole cast and great direction...deserves an award! for me it was just better than Avatar.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterF.Feb 5, 2010
Amazing, different, great scenes and excellent character depth!! One of the best war/(Iraq) movies I've seen. Not much in the way of violence, except the bombs...which is refreshing in a "war" movie. The Hurt Locker makes you feel like Amazing, different, great scenes and excellent character depth!! One of the best war/(Iraq) movies I've seen. Not much in the way of violence, except the bombs...which is refreshing in a "war" movie. The Hurt Locker makes you feel like you could be there, in Iraq... I like how it points out the real issues with warfare and the people who choose to go to war. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NeilJ.Mar 10, 2010
This the best film I have ever seen! It portrays the true horror and tension of war without glorifying it. Compared with the so called blockbusters costing obscene amounts of money and relying too much on special effects it wins hands down.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
benjinMar 8, 2010
A Must Watch, It May Not Have Flashy Lights like Avatar But it makes up for it In every Detail that Bigelow Shows. The Sniper Scene Is one i will not forget for a Long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KeithPOct 13, 2009
I like The Hurt Locker. The movie isn't boring. This movie gets an A+ from me. I highly recommend this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimP.Oct 6, 2009
An awesome film about the adrenaline of war, and why those who do it well, do it very well!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinS.Jun 28, 2009
This first great Iraq war film. Visceral and powerful. A character based film without any ugly Hollywood agenda. Up until this point, American soldiers have been portrayed as either ignorant southern hicks (Stop-Loss) or blood thirsty This first great Iraq war film. Visceral and powerful. A character based film without any ugly Hollywood agenda. Up until this point, American soldiers have been portrayed as either ignorant southern hicks (Stop-Loss) or blood thirsty rapists (Redacted). The Hurt Locker gets the US soldier right - they are warriors for peace, trying to make a difference. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KennyRJul 1, 2009
Incredible movie. If you have to choose between this movie and Transformers 2. Save your money and check out this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Jul 13, 2009
Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, Finally-the first great film about the Iraq War. Unlike previous attempts at portraying the recent conflict, 'The Hurt Locker' doesn't come saddled with an obvious message, heavy handed politics or phony B.S. Instead Bigelow, her fine cast of relative unknowns and a first rate techinical crew deliver an intense, incredibly absorbing visceral experience. The film is amazing in its ability to transport you right into the fray. As a previous comment states-the tension in this film is almost agonzing. Every element of filmmaking combines to create an almost out of body experience. It's also the rare action picture made with intelligence as well as skill. 'The Hurt Locker' is fully deserving of every bit of acclaim it has (and will yet) recieve. Multiple Oscar noms are quite possible and a Best Director Oscar for Ms. Bigelow is very much deserving. DON'T MISS THIS ON A BIG SCREEN! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DerekDJul 2, 2009
By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the By far the best film about the Iraq war, the best war film of the decade and one of the best war films of all time. A taut and intense thriller that does a better job then most war films in portraying the effects of modern combat and the Iraq war on the soldiers who risk their lives every day fighting; or in this films case defusing bombs in hopes to save the lives of soldiers and citizens. Bigelow does an excellent job with this film and deserves much acclaim. Her use of little to no music really enhances the tension. The cinematography is also very well done. The performances are fantastic, especially from Jeremy Renner and Anthony Mackie, both deserving of an Oscar nomination. This film needs to be seen by everyone. It is not a political war film, it doesn Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBAug 1, 2009
Best war movie since Private Ryan and Platoon. Not for the fain of heart. Truly riveting and intense. Why would one ever go back once their tour is over?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mrcriticAug 12, 2009
Ok so many soldiers and military ppl are not liking this movie cuz they say its not real ok good maybe it not BUT the movie is brilliant specially the tension they have created in few of the scenes SOOOOO my militants pal ITS MOVIESSSS enjoy them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobMAug 24, 2009
Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes Best movie I have seen this year, and by far one of the best war movies made. This movie cut the crap and focused on the characters above everything else, no over the top gun slinging. To anyone who simply watches this movie and then writes it off as crap probably just doesn't have the mental capability to see it for what it is. Movie critics usually have some idea of what they're talking about and in this case I can't agree more with them, except maybe the last two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DomoRAug 6, 2009
Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've Jeremy Renner proves without a doubt he is a major talent thanks in large part to Kathryn Bigelow's impeccable direction. He has always been good but this puts him way, way over the top. And as far as Bigelow is concerned, I've always admired her muscular direction but felt something was left wanting. With The Hurt Locker she has found the perfect vehicle to flex her guns and one up the old boys' network. Great movie. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KingHAug 9, 2009
No need to wait 10 years for this film to become a classic. It is one NOW!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesOSep 1, 2009
Anyone who gave this movie below a 6 is being dumb. Its a great movie, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PepijnSchmidtSep 2, 2009
byfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it'sbyfar the most realistic military movie about today's army i usualy sit through iraq movies picking things out that are fake and unrealistic but the directors of this movie paid close attention to what actual vetrans have said. it's the little details about the movie that make it good. The gloves they use, the MRE tabasko bottle in the molly webbing. All the different iraqi military forces look identical and their uniforms arn't hard pressed. god that was a great movie..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilFSep 4, 2009
"Total bore"? "Forced tension"? What are the people knocking this film on?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreJan 11, 2010
This is a great film about the personal battles faced during war. I don't think it set out to make a statement about the Iraq War itself but how we as humans learn to cope. It's a small story with some very intense action and a This is a great film about the personal battles faced during war. I don't think it set out to make a statement about the Iraq War itself but how we as humans learn to cope. It's a small story with some very intense action and a handful of heart. Renner gives a helluva performance. Worth seeing!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleMJan 13, 2010
If Avatar beats out this, and the other nominees for that matter, I'll be mad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RLJan 18, 2010
Wow! What a movie. Outstanding . I dont watch many flicks because so many are crap. But this one is different: Suspenseful. Believable and pushed every emotional button. Watch it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ReganHMar 13, 2010
The quiet intensity, the lack of quick-cuts, the facets of the lead character that slowly revealed themselves throughout the movie -- it added up to riveting, engrossing movie that has stuck with me. I cannot wait to watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisMar 15, 2010
I think a lot of people don't understand what this movie is about. Hint: it's not about the action. The crux of the movie is contained in the final 30 seconds of dialogue between the main character and his son.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OwainMar 30, 2010
Possibly the best war film I've seen since 'full metal jacket', The Hurt Locker deserves every good review it gets. I'm the first to admit that I don't know anything about the accuracy of the film contents, but I Possibly the best war film I've seen since 'full metal jacket', The Hurt Locker deserves every good review it gets. I'm the first to admit that I don't know anything about the accuracy of the film contents, but I also fail to see how that should matter. If, like me, you don't care if the soldiers are carrying the right weapons or wearing the exact uniforms for 2004, then what you experience is blend of supreme nerve wrecking tension, amazing action and a really good story. If you are a stickler for historical accuracy, then maybe it's not for you, but for the 99% of people who watch a film to be entertained, the this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewP.Mar 30, 2010
What the Hell is everyone's problem with this movie? Are they all gay for Avatar or something? Look retards, every movie is going to have inaccuracies in the storyline, but saying stuff like "Its SO inaccurate! They actually changed the What the Hell is everyone's problem with this movie? Are they all gay for Avatar or something? Look retards, every movie is going to have inaccuracies in the storyline, but saying stuff like "Its SO inaccurate! They actually changed the name of the camp TO Camp Liberty! What the hell were they thinking?!?" is ridiculous. This movie is amazing, hands down. Retards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankAApr 14, 2010
This movie to me shows not just an action packed kick ass war movie about heroes and such, it shows the slower more suspenseful part of war, the entire time i was so uneasy as to what could happen i just loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaIApr 14, 2010
Wow! One of the best movies I have ever seen. The directing of the movie was spectacular. The acting was good. So realistic, and just outstanding film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdApr 21, 2010
I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
barbarawDec 18, 2009
I really liked this movie. It made the confusion, fear of the war real. The humanism, the desire to do a job well, how the three members of this team got through the days differently..I thought it was great film making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JodyTDec 21, 2009
If this movie does not get an Oscar, something is terribly wrong in Hollywood!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Jun 26, 2009
Absolutely my favorite film so far in 2009. Incredibly tense action with a truly breakout performance by Renner. And Kathryn Bigelow fulfills her promise as a director, too. Just plain exceptional filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanZJun 27, 2009
The Hurt Locker is a stunning and horrific achievement that will leave you with shattered tears. I would suggest not having any social plans after seeing this movie, you might be too broken for speech. I only wish that those who bear the The Hurt Locker is a stunning and horrific achievement that will leave you with shattered tears. I would suggest not having any social plans after seeing this movie, you might be too broken for speech. I only wish that those who bear the responsibility of bringing us to this tragic place could be forced to watch what they have so recklessly created. This film borders on the masterful but proceed with caution. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesCJun 29, 2009
One of the greatest war films ever made (by man or woman). It's wonderful to see Kathryn Bigelow at the height of her artistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseRJul 12, 2009
The best Iraq war film to date, and one of the best war films of all-time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CydneySJul 10, 2009
Last week a real stinker (public enemies)... to this week and one of the best films ever (hurt locker). No one breathed for the first hour. A film for both sexes. Fabulous fabulous fabulous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisCJul 15, 2009
One of the best directed films I've ever seen. Manages to be realistic while still telling a compelling narrative, which is hard. Perfectly portrays the tension and constant threat from all sides you imagine the soldiers in Iraq have to One of the best directed films I've ever seen. Manages to be realistic while still telling a compelling narrative, which is hard. Perfectly portrays the tension and constant threat from all sides you imagine the soldiers in Iraq have to face. Film of the year so far for me, by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMJul 15, 2009
And Why Is This Movie Only In Limited Release? This is an absolute amazing movie, suspense, thrilling, nail bitting, hanging by a thread, on the edge of your seat fantastic. If this movie was in Wide Release, It would've made a lot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GraceM.Jul 17, 2009
Offers the most realistic suspense and action I have ever seen. Mesmerizing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisB.Jul 18, 2009
WOW! Unbelievable film. From the virtual cameos of James Morse and Guy Pearce, to the main players, nobody misses a beat. If you liked HBO's "Generation Kill," you'll love this film as a logical progression of the telling of the WOW! Unbelievable film. From the virtual cameos of James Morse and Guy Pearce, to the main players, nobody misses a beat. If you liked HBO's "Generation Kill," you'll love this film as a logical progression of the telling of the story of the Iraqi War. The performances and filming are so real, this movie makes you (MAKES YOU) empathize with the characters. You don't just watch this film; you become a part of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BritJul 21, 2009
The film IS both realistic and accurate. See it really puts a perspective on things.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexLJul 20, 2009
A very gripping character study.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkSJul 22, 2009
I've given myself a few days for the experience of "The Hurt Locker" to sink in, and am now convinced that it deserves a place on the same altar as "Full Metal Jacket," "Platoon," and "Saving Private Ryan." It is an entirely apolitical I've given myself a few days for the experience of "The Hurt Locker" to sink in, and am now convinced that it deserves a place on the same altar as "Full Metal Jacket," "Platoon," and "Saving Private Ryan." It is an entirely apolitical Iraq war film, but what's more: a thoroughly engrossing human drama about working in the most hazardous and unpredictable of conditions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonMJul 30, 2009
One of the best films of the year thus far, and certainly the best Iraq war film. Well performed and well directed -- hopefully this baby will earn some Oscars.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AronRAug 1, 2009
Regardless of the technical or militaristic accuracy of the film, (and I feel like I have to remind some reviewers here that making training videos and/or documentaries is NOT what Hollywood does) - this IS a fantastic piece of film-making Regardless of the technical or militaristic accuracy of the film, (and I feel like I have to remind some reviewers here that making training videos and/or documentaries is NOT what Hollywood does) - this IS a fantastic piece of film-making that director, cast and crew should be enormously proud of. A must see for all film enthusiasts! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeoffRAug 10, 2009
Superb story, acting and cinematography. Definitely agree with Damion K, people need to know how to rate a movie, and th fact that this movie isn't totally realistic isn't the point. Its fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanBAug 16, 2009
Just superb. Hush up all veterans and appreciate a rollicking good ride. Thanks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFAug 20, 2009
This was an absolutely amazing film. Bigelow does an outstanding job at not only developing these great characters very well, but does a masterful job at building up the tension and suspense perfectly. Also, the performances (Jeremy Renner This was an absolutely amazing film. Bigelow does an outstanding job at not only developing these great characters very well, but does a masterful job at building up the tension and suspense perfectly. Also, the performances (Jeremy Renner and Anthony Mackie in particular) are stellar. Overall, this is a great film and I hope people see this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelWAug 24, 2009
An instant classic which surpasses many of the most esteemed war films from the past. The Hurt Locker is on the short list of greatest war films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceDAug 25, 2009
I don't even like war movies. But this is an amazing film. Perhaps even "perfect."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScotTAug 5, 2009
Terrific movie......one of the better war movies I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanitaAug 6, 2009
Great story line and acting with such a realistic feel and directing, it had an organic, documentary feel to it. Awesome all around. And funny if you had enough spine to laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaiahGAug 6, 2009
This film will keep you at the edge of your seat with adrenaline running through your veins. Through the most of the film the main character plays cat and mouse with armed explosives to save the lives of others including himself. This film This film will keep you at the edge of your seat with adrenaline running through your veins. Through the most of the film the main character plays cat and mouse with armed explosives to save the lives of others including himself. This film is probably the best film this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnQAug 6, 2009
This maybe be one of the best war movie's I have ever seen. It is equal to and in some ways better than Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket,and Platoon. I cannot remember a time when leaving a film with this feeling in my stomach. Apart This maybe be one of the best war movie's I have ever seen. It is equal to and in some ways better than Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket,and Platoon. I cannot remember a time when leaving a film with this feeling in my stomach. Apart from the brilliant suspense and action, apart being about war this film's messages is about human nature. It is most definitely a work of fiction. People who criticize it as not being realistic missed the point entirely. I have never been blown away like this by a film EVER. If you have ever experienced something (no matter what it is ie, drugs, sex, danger, nature) that completely touches you to your core, and cause you to reevaluate how you want to live your life, then you will get this movie. The moral of the story has nothing to do with war, but of the wants and needs of the human physique. This film is absolutely brilliant and if you don't think so, your not smart enough to get it and are probably a dull shallow person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamionKAug 9, 2009
First of all, to all the people who rated this movie as a zero, I've had to adjust my score up to a 10. A zero is a movie that makes no sense, has no acting, no plot and is so bad that you cannot sit through it. Rating movies as a zero First of all, to all the people who rated this movie as a zero, I've had to adjust my score up to a 10. A zero is a movie that makes no sense, has no acting, no plot and is so bad that you cannot sit through it. Rating movies as a zero is generally a testament of ignorance and blatant disregard for helping other people judge whether or not a movie is worth seeing. That being said, this movie isn't necessarily about military accuracy, which is where so many people are getting hung up. The movie is broken down into psychoanalyzing the personalities of three very different people and their perspectives. On one hand, you have the cool, rational team member, Anthony Mackie (Sergeant JT Sanborn), whose sole goal is to survive the campaign. He is sharply contrasted by Jeremy Renner (Staff Sergeant William James) whose goal, apart from the adrenaline rush, is to make a difference in the lives of the people in Iraq. Brian Geraghty (Specialist Owen Eldridge) plays the intermediary - caught in a war he has no idea why he's involved, depicted by his inability and indecision about fighting unless absolutely provoked, but willing to do the best he can. The acting and cinematography in the movie is superb. Each of the three characters brings something different to the table. I was on edge for much of the movie because the people's perspectives, emotions, and actions were volatile to the point that there was no real predictable outcome. Anyone could die at any time, anyone could turn against each other (given the group dynamics), anyone could be left behind. The art direction of each combat scene shows you only what you need to see to establish the feeling of tenseness. It's simply fantastic. There was some "irrational decision making" that occurred during the movie (such as splitting up down alley ways to hunt for possible suspects). But you have to look at those scenes as more than just their face value. The particular scene in which the three team members split up, leads to a confrontation between Specialist Owen and Sergeant James in which William was forced to admit his guilt, mostly to himself. It was perhaps the first time, in a long time, that he had stepped outside of his own shoes to see what his decisions were doing to those around him. It is much more poetic than spelling things. If I had to complain about this movie, it would be that it went on a little bit longer than necessary. But it is hard to say what some of the established mood would have been if scenes were cut short. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanSep 12, 2009
Amazing. Great to see the people who cant appreciate a brilliant film. If you want to see a brainless big budget Hollywood action movie like transformers 2 etc, no1s stopping you. Oh and Hannah F, there isnt any British army in the film, its Amazing. Great to see the people who cant appreciate a brilliant film. If you want to see a brainless big budget Hollywood action movie like transformers 2 etc, no1s stopping you. Oh and Hannah F, there isnt any British army in the film, its clearly a private company, the clues are obvious. Please think more Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CanaanBSep 15, 2009
Do not trust the naysayers, this movie was absolutely great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesPSep 6, 2009
one of the most thrilling war movies ever made. Jeremy Renner is going to become one the new actor to look out for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElwenilJan 16, 2010
Excellent from start to finish. A must have purchase on BluRay for the sound and visuals in HD. A story about soldiers doing a job in a war rather than another political statement that seems to always be hidden in movies like this. I'd Excellent from start to finish. A must have purchase on BluRay for the sound and visuals in HD. A story about soldiers doing a job in a war rather than another political statement that seems to always be hidden in movies like this. I'd compare The Hurt Locker to Black Hawk Down and if you liked BHD, you should like The Hurt Locker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AleneV.Jan 17, 2010
Extraordinary. More than a war film - a profound human drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricLJan 19, 2010
Amazing. Not to be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomRJan 21, 2010
I'd never heard of it until I rented it. I had zero expectations and was blown away by this movie. This is on par with "Full Metal Jacket." Each war makes a soldier wacky in its own unique way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
peterCJan 21, 2010
Most definitely the best film of 2009. I'm reading a lot of negativity from some viewers here, as for example the ending was sudden. Thats war the there's no epic battle before you leave your duty behind and return home, so it Most definitely the best film of 2009. I'm reading a lot of negativity from some viewers here, as for example the ending was sudden. Thats war the there's no epic battle before you leave your duty behind and return home, so it being sudden in many regards went with the films depiction of the Iraq War. Also I did not see any hype behind this movie it just kinda crept in and took a lot of people by surprise with no hype whatsoever. Though on the film. If you like war films that don't follow the over the top climatic battles and heroes like Saving Private Ryan, but prefer more subtle films that show it more so for how war really is, you will enjoy this film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EtienneW.Jan 27, 2010
Masterclass, truly wonderful cinema. The detractorss of this movie don't get it, and I pity them for not being able to appreciate the genius of this production. To those that see and enjoy movies as high art, I envy you the thrill you Masterclass, truly wonderful cinema. The detractorss of this movie don't get it, and I pity them for not being able to appreciate the genius of this production. To those that see and enjoy movies as high art, I envy you the thrill you are about to experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeMApr 13, 2010
This movie was easily the best of the year. I did a tour in Afghanistan, and for all the things that the director got wrong (lack of consequence for a variety of missteps, etc), she got the emotion and the feel right. (SPOILER ALERT) The This movie was easily the best of the year. I did a tour in Afghanistan, and for all the things that the director got wrong (lack of consequence for a variety of missteps, etc), she got the emotion and the feel right. (SPOILER ALERT) The best moment, to me: The absurdity of being a badass war hero overseas and returning home and dealing with picking out cereal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LalitaR.Apr 15, 2010
I sometimes despair for the times we live in. If this film is a bore then almost every great film made in the '70s - the golden era of cinema, is a bore. In classic '70s style, The Hurt Locker moves along at a sharp clip, never I sometimes despair for the times we live in. If this film is a bore then almost every great film made in the '70s - the golden era of cinema, is a bore. In classic '70s style, The Hurt Locker moves along at a sharp clip, never getting sentimental or overly Hollywood, never manipulating the audience's emotions this way and that. There are no big punchlines, no designer cool worked into the dialogues, no over-scripted, movingly scored dramatic flourishes like the ones in Saving Pvt. Ryan and YET when the film gets over you are hit by a wave of emotions. You care more for Renner, Mackie and Geraghty than pretty much any character you watched all year. The script throws up several unexpected moments of wry ironic wit, it gets you caught up in the tightwire mental state of the characters without any fanfare. This is a rare film that confidently expects you to think, feel and discuss it well after the experience. You're haunted by how much the human spirit is being relentlessly stretched in such a lonely, desolate war waged in an unfamiliar, alienated terrain. This desolation is imprinted in our brains thanks to the stark, white sand covered images. The Hurt Locker has a resonance that's lasted 8 months since I saw it. IMO, the finest picture of the year took home the Oscar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillFOct 11, 2009
By far one of the best war movies made. This movie may or may not be an accurate representation of what bomb squads in Iraq are faced with but it is a fantastic film regardless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joebDec 17, 2009
best film of the year - bar none.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatNJun 28, 2009
Just watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdNJun 29, 2009
Easily the best war movie since Saving Private Ryan and on par with Platoon. The film is real, restrained, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat for two and half hours. In a season dominated by movies inspired by and meant to sell toys, Easily the best war movie since Saving Private Ryan and on par with Platoon. The film is real, restrained, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat for two and half hours. In a season dominated by movies inspired by and meant to sell toys, here at last is some honest-to-God filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Z.H-RJul 13, 2009
One of the best war films I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJul 15, 2009
A tremendous movie on the war in Iraq. It is a war we can never win as it is about two different cultures. We value life and the enemy doesn't. None of our boys want to be there but they are pawns in a game of life. Once we leave Iraq A tremendous movie on the war in Iraq. It is a war we can never win as it is about two different cultures. We value life and the enemy doesn't. None of our boys want to be there but they are pawns in a game of life. Once we leave Iraq the two religious warring factions will kill each other. Democracy will never take a foothold in the Middle East. As for our hero he has an obvious deathwish that sooner or later will be fulfilled. The acting, script, and directing is first rate. No holds barred look as to how ugly this war truly is. NO one will ever win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinaR.W.Jul 18, 2009
The best movie I've seen in years! Jeremy Renner is insanely good in this movie. As are Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty. I haven't watched the Oscars since the late 90s, but if Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal and all the actors are The best movie I've seen in years! Jeremy Renner is insanely good in this movie. As are Anthony Mackie and Brian Geraghty. I haven't watched the Oscars since the late 90s, but if Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal and all the actors are nominated, you bet I'll be sitting in front of my TV rooting for them all to win statues in 2010. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudCJul 19, 2009
This is possibly the best war movie ever. You feel like you should take a shower by the time you get home. Short of doing a tour of duty in Iraq, it can't get any more realistic and harrowing than this. Is it possible to get This is possibly the best war movie ever. You feel like you should take a shower by the time you get home. Short of doing a tour of duty in Iraq, it can't get any more realistic and harrowing than this. Is it possible to get post-traumatic syndrome from a film? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottA.Jul 22, 2009
One of the best films of the year or any year. Masterful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJJul 25, 2009
This movie is a great character study and a must see. one of its most masterful strengths is how no character in the movie ever feel invincible I found myself constantly wondering if this moment was the character's last. the This movie is a great character study and a must see. one of its most masterful strengths is how no character in the movie ever feel invincible I found myself constantly wondering if this moment was the character's last. the movie's theme was not forced and instead rather subtle (even enough to make some viewers miss some of it) though very powerful. the ending is by far the most well put together i have ever seen in a war film. NOTE: In terms of accuracy and factualness though some scenes may seem fake (sniper scene) my sister who i saw it with is a psychologist who works for the VA, she told me that the characters were dead on in terms of emotions and the way the interact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EllaCJul 29, 2009
Absolutely the most compelling movie I've seen in several years. Beautifully directed and acted. Riveting from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PJWAug 11, 2009
Amazing performances and a great story. In my opinion, the best movie of the year so far. Jeremy Renner is incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenHAug 18, 2009
Not only the best movie about the Iraq War but one of the best war movies EVER! Rarely does a war movie capture the feverish intensity, conflicting morality, and brutal reality of battle and the soldier. Simply awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michaelwDec 23, 2009
Simply the best movie in a military setting.... Nothing quite like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RansackAug 11, 2010
One of the most outstanding war movies this century. I am a surprised a woman could even direct something as good as this one. Some people should really think about it, because it is kind of true. I am sure some people jsut hate it justOne of the most outstanding war movies this century. I am a surprised a woman could even direct something as good as this one. Some people should really think about it, because it is kind of true. I am sure some people jsut hate it just because it beat Avatar in the oscars Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
PeterAug 18, 2010
this movie is beast!!!!!!!!! all the negative reviewers suck. thats right mofos.... you suck!!!!! the best war movie that ive seen, and the greatest movie since shawshank!!!!! hell yea!!!!!
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
10
Christopher_G2Jan 15, 2011
A masterpiece of cinema plain and simple. It's wonderfully crafted, perfectly paced, with incredibly tense sequences that would have made **** proud. It also deals with the effects of war on the human soul without ever being ham handed orA masterpiece of cinema plain and simple. It's wonderfully crafted, perfectly paced, with incredibly tense sequences that would have made **** proud. It also deals with the effects of war on the human soul without ever being ham handed or melodramatic. Along with Saving Private Ryan and Letters From Iwo Jima it's the finest War film I have seen of the last 20 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Easily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilaratingEasily the best movie made about the Iraq War, and one of the most memorable war movies I've seen in general. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, charges almost every scene with suspense and tension, producing action sequences more exhilarating and gripping than most high-budget blockbusters. Also, wtf with people complaining about the movie's real-life credibility? It's not like "Apocalypse Now" represented the Vietnam War as it was, it just tried to be a great movie, which it was and "The Hurt Locker" is the same. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
10
eggfilletSep 3, 2010
Realistic or not this is a great film. The plot was laid out in an organized fashion, no cliche twists that make the viewer feel smart. The characters were well written and are open to interpretation. The amount of small details and variedRealistic or not this is a great film. The plot was laid out in an organized fashion, no cliche twists that make the viewer feel smart. The characters were well written and are open to interpretation. The amount of small details and varied sequence of events makes an easily film to watch multiple times.
But, don't expect an ACTION FILM. @ForrestL I could not agree more.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
riverwalkerOct 2, 2010
Direction is excellent the actors are perfect but the plot is a little weak. The director has done a perfect work also the main actor is absolutely perfect.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
RyanLopezMar 29, 2011
This is a great movie, the film captures the real emotion of being and war- People have empathy during this movie, you can feel the bullets. It is one of the best movies of the decade. It's sad if you can't handle violence but you wanted toThis is a great movie, the film captures the real emotion of being and war- People have empathy during this movie, you can feel the bullets. It is one of the best movies of the decade. It's sad if you can't handle violence but you wanted to see it. It was one of my favorites Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews