Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 18, 2009
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 157 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
32
Negative:
50
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
AlainASep 25, 2009
This movie is well acted and well directed, but it is incredibly boring. I cannot believe it got a 66 score on metacritic. I wish I could have my two hours back. The trailer looked good, it got 66, so I gave it a chance. Avoid this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
roberts.Oct 11, 2009
This movie was awful not one laugh in the whole movie the only good part of this was when it read the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KarenFOct 4, 2009
This is very, very, very, slow movie. I love slow movies, if they are entertaining. This movie is almost painful to watch. Painful to realize 18 dollars went toward this movie. If you really want to see I hope you like it. I would till the This is very, very, very, slow movie. I love slow movies, if they are entertaining. This movie is almost painful to watch. Painful to realize 18 dollars went toward this movie. If you really want to see I hope you like it. I would till the dvd comes out, The rent it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LarryRSep 20, 2009
Instantly forgettable. This is one incredibly dull film. I have watched paint dry with more enthusiasm.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ToddMOct 2, 2009
Worst movie ever. Sooo boring. I watched 8 people leave. Them leaving was the most interesting part of this lame movie. I want a refund. I can honestly say I have no idea what you others were watching. It was like watching a bad tv sitcom in Worst movie ever. Sooo boring. I watched 8 people leave. Them leaving was the most interesting part of this lame movie. I want a refund. I can honestly say I have no idea what you others were watching. It was like watching a bad tv sitcom in the early 90's. Only reason people would like this is that they are old and it reminds them of old fashioned mustaches. Terrible in every way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
LukeThedukeSep 20, 2009
Boring movie about an insane man and his wacky wife. Why do people think such a dishonest and duplicitous man is fun?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DTOct 6, 2009
Terrible-- no humor, a nothing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KathywSep 23, 2009
I didn't care for either the characters or the story. Too bad, could have been interesting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoeJoeSep 24, 2009
Slow, not funny, and so many lies it gives you a headache.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TimSSep 26, 2009
Oh dear god was this movie bad! I counted 6 people out to the 20 or so that even went to see it, get up and leave during the movie. Almost joined them myself. It just kept getting worse as the movie went along. I will never get that 2 hours Oh dear god was this movie bad! I counted 6 people out to the 20 or so that even went to see it, get up and leave during the movie. Almost joined them myself. It just kept getting worse as the movie went along. I will never get that 2 hours of my life back. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AkutoAug 19, 2011
When I saw The Informant! in my On Demand "$1.99 or less" section, I had to wonder why. Looking back, the commercials made it out to look like a funny little movie about a goofy FBI informant full of cheeky groaners. And come on, nothing withWhen I saw The Informant! in my On Demand "$1.99 or less" section, I had to wonder why. Looking back, the commercials made it out to look like a funny little movie about a goofy FBI informant full of cheeky groaners. And come on, nothing with Matt Damon and Scott Bakula could be that bad. At a stretch, the movie is labeled a comedy. From the opening of the movie onward, we're treated to Mark Whitacre's inner monologue. Fun fact: It's mostly about corn and corn products. For those of us who don't find a guy obsessing over corn hilarious, it would seem Mr. Soderbergh set down a single alternate steam of "humor", the ever-changing lie that Whitacre tells. That gets about as funny as a kid making up excuses for missing homework. I began falling asleep 30 minutes in, and checking how much longer every 10 minutes. 2 hours I wish I had slept through, a great comedy for those of us who don't like to laugh. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
[Anonymous]Sep 18, 2009
The narrative is muddled and played as a kind of inside joke. Instead of telling the story in a clear, linear fashion, Soderbergh seems to go out of his way to repel the viewer and mock all the characters. Matt Damon does a fine job with the The narrative is muddled and played as a kind of inside joke. Instead of telling the story in a clear, linear fashion, Soderbergh seems to go out of his way to repel the viewer and mock all the characters. Matt Damon does a fine job with the material, but I cannot understand why he felt the need to gain 30 pounds for this role, which could have been played with equal skill at his normal weight. Soderbergh seems to have peaked too early in his career, with Out of Sight, The Limey, and Erin Brockovich standing as his best efforts. Everything he has made since then, in my view, has been narcissistic -- apparently done for his own pleasure and with a disregard for his audience. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
AlexGSep 26, 2009
Aptly named, informative, not funny Laughs were few and far between. This movie reminds me most of a Enron documentary I once saw, informative but not captivating.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MichaelSSep 21, 2009
This is not a "Hilarious" nor even funny movie. Saw this on opening day Friday Sept 18 th. The actors look as if they are stunned especially the FBI and the woman with DOJ. The story line has little continuity and overall is quite boring. This is not a "Hilarious" nor even funny movie. Saw this on opening day Friday Sept 18 th. The actors look as if they are stunned especially the FBI and the woman with DOJ. The story line has little continuity and overall is quite boring. Don't waste your time on this "Dud". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MatthewXploderOct 16, 2010
One word to describe this movie, bad. Tell you the truth I couldn't even finish watching because it was so uninteresting and NOT funny, actually, was this movie suppose to be funny?
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
ManueltavaAug 26, 2013
Boooring And the fault is by no means of the actors, the plot was completely destroyed by the director... I really dont know how this movie hit the box, it looks like something unfinished...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews