Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 2, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 136 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
68
Mixed:
37
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
sgjdfsofisjgsOct 3, 2009
This movie pisses me off, why is it ok for atheists and jews to make fun of us Christians but not the other way around. This movie was not funny at all and it was a dry plot throughout. Catholics and Christians need to wake up and realize This movie pisses me off, why is it ok for atheists and jews to make fun of us Christians but not the other way around. This movie was not funny at all and it was a dry plot throughout. Catholics and Christians need to wake up and realize that Hollywood hate us and trying to slowly brainwash and change our beliefs. I hope the ones that make fun of us burn in hell. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
BrandonZOct 5, 2009
This was the worst movie I've seen so far this year, which is horrible because I really like Ricky Gervais' style of humor. The whole movie relied too heavily on the gimmick of a universe without lying. I still however had a few This was the worst movie I've seen so far this year, which is horrible because I really like Ricky Gervais' style of humor. The whole movie relied too heavily on the gimmick of a universe without lying. I still however had a few laughs for the first half hour. The second half of the movie however was horrible, with stupid romantic comedy along with long and boring religious plot twists. The entire premise just doesn't work, if no one could lie, and mankind never had any religions, the world would be completely different. They try to get you to think about the possibilities, while the world in the movie is the same as this one except no one lies. Fact is, without religion, America probably would have never been settled, and even if they did come over, after being unable to lie to the Indians, they would have been killed. The premise just doesn't work. The movie itself just wasn't very funny, instead it was groan inducing. Horribly disappointing movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DougB.Oct 5, 2009
A great premise is wasted on a script based on characters who, because they can't lie--are also idiots. The characters have no ability to govern their speech at all, and this singular gag gets replayed ad nauseum. Jennifer Garner's A great premise is wasted on a script based on characters who, because they can't lie--are also idiots. The characters have no ability to govern their speech at all, and this singular gag gets replayed ad nauseum. Jennifer Garner's character is a mean-spirited nitwit, and yet Gervais tells her that she is the sweetest, most thoughtful woman he has ever met. Based on what? The only reason she won't have sex with him is because he has "fat" genes. Worse yet, the movie supposes that because no one can lie, there are no religions. You can see where that's going. The one church in the movie has a steeple and no cross, implying that Christ never lived, or that he did live and his being the messiah wasn't true and the lie was never spread. Either way, it paints all religions as being invented by liars. Pretty bold these days considering how tolerant Muslims are with people who cast doubt on their faith. End result--not nearly as funny as it could be, and fairly insulting to anyone of faith to takes the time to connect the dots and catch the atheistic implications. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
The script is the lamest thing in this movie, as well as the plot. Yes, the first 15 minutes are somewhat intriguing but it soon takes a sharp dive into the WTF category. Nobody except Ricky Gervias can play their part, and Jennifer GardnerThe script is the lamest thing in this movie, as well as the plot. Yes, the first 15 minutes are somewhat intriguing but it soon takes a sharp dive into the WTF category. Nobody except Ricky Gervias can play their part, and Jennifer Gardner couldn't have been worse. They have thrown the most boring ideas into one movie, and have created an ultimate disaster. It's hard for me to like a movie, but this was real easy to dislike because it makes me feel uneasy, and by the end I'm thinking: Who cares?!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
CooterPatooterMar 16, 2012
A film that starts out in an intelligent and entertaining way but utterly collapses into a sluggish, head-scratching albatross in the third act. Although it apparently attempts to lampoon religion and its origins (which can't be done enough,A film that starts out in an intelligent and entertaining way but utterly collapses into a sluggish, head-scratching albatross in the third act. Although it apparently attempts to lampoon religion and its origins (which can't be done enough, in my opinion!), the last 40 minutes felt an awful lot of preachy bullcrap to me. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
YoursTrulyApr 18, 2014
We get it Ricky Gervais, you're an atheist. Now I don't have anything against atheists or trying to address religion in a film...but good God man have some subtlety. The obviousness of this movie is just shameless.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
TrilobiteGMay 19, 2015
A low point for Ricky Gervais. Awkward humour, cringe worthy screenplay and a concept with funny potential that was filled with only sex jokes. I love black comedy and sex jokes, but this just pushed it too mental boredom. Don't waste yourA low point for Ricky Gervais. Awkward humour, cringe worthy screenplay and a concept with funny potential that was filled with only sex jokes. I love black comedy and sex jokes, but this just pushed it too mental boredom. Don't waste your time with this crap Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MeMyselfandIOct 2, 2009
Truly terrible. I'm so disappointed, as I LOVE Ricky Gervais. The writing is astonishingly bad and the acting is even worse. Everybody comes off looking poorly. A shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WendyMOct 4, 2009
One of the most boring movies I've ever seen. Not at all funny. Don't waste your money or your time watching this irritating dud. DIsappointing treatment of a great premise. This COULD have been funny, but it just wasn't. I One of the most boring movies I've ever seen. Not at all funny. Don't waste your money or your time watching this irritating dud. DIsappointing treatment of a great premise. This COULD have been funny, but it just wasn't. I would have walked out if I'd been nearer the aisle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ClaudineCOct 11, 2009
What happened? I really liked Ghost town - and I like Ricky Gervais, but I feel like we all paid an offering into Ricky's Church offering basket by going to see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MaxPNov 6, 2009
Despite me giving one point to this movie, one should give it a 5 only on merits for trying such a hard subject. While the cinema was packed and probably with great expectations from the public after the previous funny movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanloZ.Oct 19, 2009
Extremely disappointing, in so many ways.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DennisWOct 3, 2009
Worst movie I have seen in a long time - we walked out the theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianBOct 4, 2009
A unique idea spoiled. This original premise for a movie was wasted; the potential for comedy was exciting but turned out to be a waste of money. The redeeming qualities are few and far between but come in the execution of the movie rather A unique idea spoiled. This original premise for a movie was wasted; the potential for comedy was exciting but turned out to be a waste of money. The redeeming qualities are few and far between but come in the execution of the movie rather than the screenplay itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidM.Oct 6, 2009
Starts amusing enough but loses its way once he tells his big lie. Not nearly as funny as it thinks it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LoganSt.CloudOct 12, 2009
I've seen a couple of Ricky Gervais' comedy routines and I'd always thought he was a pretty funny guy. I saw the ads and trailers for this movie and I thought that it seemed like a pretty unique and original idea so I went I've seen a couple of Ricky Gervais' comedy routines and I'd always thought he was a pretty funny guy. I saw the ads and trailers for this movie and I thought that it seemed like a pretty unique and original idea so I went into this movie with decent expectations. Now to be fair, I didn't read any of the reviews for it because, quite honestly I hate reading reviews beforehand and having the plot of the movie ruined, which is why I have made sure not to include them in this review. The moral of this movie is that you shouldn't judge people so quickly; which is what really aggravated me so much about it. You see, I'm not an overly religious person like a lot of the folks that have posted reviews here, but I was incredibly offended by what I saw in this movie. The movie started off with a few decent laughs but then went downhill fast. A significant portion of this movie was directed solely towards a ruthless, sacrilegious, mean-spirited attempt to sell people on atheism that added in no way to the story and served only as a cheap attack against religions. I did read the warnings that they have in the previews though and I'm not an easily offended person. I saw it mentioned that there were references to drug usage and sexual innuendo, it ended there and it really shouldn't have. If they had simply said that this is what this picture was about or that it had contained these elements, then I don't think as many people would have went to see it or have felt so upset at it. It just amazes me that in this day and age we would sooner bow down to the wishes of terrorists who are upset with seeing the words of the Koran or the image of Muhammad, rather than having even the tiniest bit of sympathy for the freedom of religion that this country was founded on. I respect the studio/producer/director/writer's rights to free speech, but if that's the primary message of the movie then you should really let people know that beforehand. Of course that would cut down on the amount of money that they would willingly take from the people they are mocking here, so I don't expect that to happen anytime soon. To those who are wanting to compare this on a religious level to movies like "The Golden Compass" and "The Chronicles of Narnia", allow me to clue you into a few things. First, the reason why "The Golden Compass" fared so badly didn't have anything to any religious connotations, it was because the movie was so incredibly BAD. I've tried watching that movie three different times and have yet to stay awake throughout the entire film. Second, "The Chronicles of Narnia" is NOW a classic in children's literature and while the same may be said on a certain level in regards to "The Golden Compass", it was nowhere NEAR as well known before the movie came out and even if there never HAD been a film of Narnia, it would probably still be more well known that that load of crap which is "The Golden Compass". BUT when Narnia was first released, it wasn't widely accepted by members of the Christian religion because they believed that rather than it being an homage to the crucifixion of Christ, it was a blasphemous portrayal of it. And to those wishing to change this from a simple reviewing of the movie itself and to a debate on the validity of atheism vs. religion as a whole, allow me to remind you of one simple thing. Beyond the questioning of faith and beliefs, and despite the atrocities that have occurred in the name of religion, without religion humanity would have taken a FAR less civilized route than the one it did. Religion was the basis of morals. Morals were the basis of laws. Without religions to set guidelines common sense dictates that we would have had no reason in which to act moral and consequently would most likely be still clubbing each other over the head, and that's if there would still even BE a human race at this point. TO ANYONE WHO'S ALREADY PAID TO SEE THIS MOVIE: YOU CAN TAKE YOUR TICKET STUB BACK TO THE THEATER TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK. PERSONALLY THOUGH, I'M TAKING THIS ONE STEP FARTHER AND FILING A COMPLAINT WITH THE STUDIO ITSELF. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
C.G.WOct 5, 2009
The only thing my friends and I enjoyed about this movie were the sight gags (Pepsi ad, old folks home sign). Sorry to see Gervais pushing atheistic beliefs. Our group felt very insulted and disgusted and in disbelief at such a bold The only thing my friends and I enjoyed about this movie were the sight gags (Pepsi ad, old folks home sign). Sorry to see Gervais pushing atheistic beliefs. Our group felt very insulted and disgusted and in disbelief at such a bold suggestion that his character "invented" Heaven and the afterlife. It was one thing when Gervais' character supposedly was told these things himself, but when the movie went further and his character declared it was all a lie, I realized the depth of the true lie - the entire movie itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KayCNov 21, 2009
Blasphemous and not the least funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HarryHNov 26, 2009
Really, quite a disappointment. I would say the review by Empire is spot-on, the film isn't so much about telling the truth, but people taking the piss out of Gervais for an hour and a half. The film lacks a decent stroyline and Really, quite a disappointment. I would say the review by Empire is spot-on, the film isn't so much about telling the truth, but people taking the piss out of Gervais for an hour and a half. The film lacks a decent stroyline and character development. There are are occasional laughs, which are used to make the trailer. Wouldn't advise the film, but have met people who did enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HerbertWNov 15, 2009
I can only agree with Danlo Z.! I still gave it two points for a promising beginning, but from then on it went only down-hill. Man, am I happy I didn't pay to see this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful