Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 2, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 135 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
67
Mixed:
37
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BobSNov 4, 2009
Fabulous. Funny. Well done. Yes, it might have been executed in a better cinematic way, but who cares. The story, the plot, the acting, and most importantly the message was outstanding. In a nice delicate way it explained how religion -- Fabulous. Funny. Well done. Yes, it might have been executed in a better cinematic way, but who cares. The story, the plot, the acting, and most importantly the message was outstanding. In a nice delicate way it explained how religion -- while it might do very nice things to make people happy and lead nice lives -- is based on fables and stories. As people take those stories and make them absolute truths, they inhibit their ability to have original thought and sometimes do bad things. They can even use the religion as the excuse or rationale to do things that aren't good for others. They claim they can do things because god talks to them. That's why religious extremists can inspire so many illiterate and hopeless people and turn them into terrorists. That's why religions can get people to hate people - like gays, people of other religions, or non-believers. That's why religions can get people not to use birth control even thought population expansion is really bad for the planet. That's why Popes jailed Galileo in the 17th century for having scientific thought that contradicted church teachings. And that's why the religious right today can get all upset about movies like this -- because they see it as blasphemy that challenges their thinking rather than just seeing it as a someone with original thought questioning beliefs that have gotten out of hand. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Oct 21, 2009
This is an extraordinary film that uses the mask of comedy to bring up subjects that would normally never be broached with a polite audience. It does so with a simplicity and directness that really highlights the obviousness of many of the This is an extraordinary film that uses the mask of comedy to bring up subjects that would normally never be broached with a polite audience. It does so with a simplicity and directness that really highlights the obviousness of many of the film's conclusions. I was astounded that it even got made. I'm not sure it's that funny, but I'm not sure it's supposed to be. It's nevertheless completely engaging, and it's the best "speculative fiction" movie since STRANGER THAN FICTION and ETERNAL SUNSHINE. If people are getting offended, then the film is doing its job; it's making them think. I don't want to live in the world this film presents, but I left with a lot to ponder about my own world. Easily the best use of my time in a theater since I saw THE FALL. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
alexpOct 7, 2009
Everybody that rated this movie poorly is an idot. It was comedy that challenges you at ever turn. Wich is the best kind of comedy. And it also had some very touching moments. If you dont get this movie its cuz your one of the shallow dumb Everybody that rated this movie poorly is an idot. It was comedy that challenges you at ever turn. Wich is the best kind of comedy. And it also had some very touching moments. If you dont get this movie its cuz your one of the shallow dumb persons that Gervais is making fun of. Sure it has some faults but the good far exceeds the bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PeteFOct 3, 2009
I found this movie very refreshing for not only the acting, but the overall themes. The performances were very honest, and even though most of them seemed child-like, it fit the world they were creating perfectly. Sure, many critics called I found this movie very refreshing for not only the acting, but the overall themes. The performances were very honest, and even though most of them seemed child-like, it fit the world they were creating perfectly. Sure, many critics called the characters thin, but that makes sense for a world that can't embellish on things because lieing did not exist! Duh! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeH.Oct 26, 2009
Woah Logan St. Cloud! Get a life!!! Seriously! "I'm not an easily offended person" / "I'm not an overly religious person". My ass!!! A NOT overly religious person who was NOT easily offended wouldn't write a novel about how Woah Logan St. Cloud! Get a life!!! Seriously! "I'm not an easily offended person" / "I'm not an overly religious person". My ass!!! A NOT overly religious person who was NOT easily offended wouldn't write a novel about how religiously offensive this movie was! I'm religious myself and i still found that this movie was GOOOOOOD! Funny. Fun to watch. Different. Overall a really good movie that is only being given bad reviews by the hardcore over-religious people of America. Shame on all of you!. Yoblets. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlexMOct 28, 2009
I loved it. But Gervais should've expanded on his expose of religion and left the romantic subplot out. And just for the record, all of the offended christians saying "the movie was so offensive, we walked out" are fuckin' I loved it. But Gervais should've expanded on his expose of religion and left the romantic subplot out. And just for the record, all of the offended christians saying "the movie was so offensive, we walked out" are fuckin' hypocrits. There are an absurd amount of movies which suggest that there is a God, meerly by reference to an afterlife, or even a substantial part of the plot; but atheists don't just walk out of the theatre. The truth is, the reason you find the film so offensive is because the way in which Mark Bellison created religion is just as likely to be the origin of any other religion. And fyi, if you need religion to give you morals, then you're a dick. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChadSOct 6, 2009
Protest this. Apologies all around for Carl Reiner("Oh, God!), Martin Scorsese("The Last Temptation of Christ"), and Kevin Smith("Dogma"). Their own subversive takes on the Almighty, which motivated church groups to stage boycotts at public Protest this. Apologies all around for Carl Reiner("Oh, God!), Martin Scorsese("The Last Temptation of Christ"), and Kevin Smith("Dogma"). Their own subversive takes on the Almighty, which motivated church groups to stage boycotts at public venues exhibiting these supposedly inflammatory movies, at least acknowledged His existence. "The Invention of Lying" is a whole different animal. Somebody finally had the chutzpah to make a film that's deserving of revile from God-fearing protesters. Comedy can sometimes be ruthless, and the jokes don't get more ruthless than the scene where Mark(Ricky Gervais), the world's first prophet, uses an ephemeral object to put the finishing touch on his idealistic lies. Not only does "The Invention of Lying" showcase Mark as Moses, it also has the screenwriter(in the film's best joke, the writer is "God" on any movie production) taking on the guise of Jesus. (***SPOILER ALERT***) Since the religious doctrine gets attached to pizza boxes, disposability is intimated, as if Christianity was an idea that was meant to be thrown away. Depending on who you are, a scene where Mark preaches to the masses while still in his long hair and white robe, would have either electrified, or horrified you, had the filmmaker decided to go for the kill shot. Controversial as "The Invention of Lying" purports to be, the filmmaker does draw the line on irrevocable heresy. (Admittedly, there is SOME heresy.) To kill time, there's a monotonous romantic subplot(with a woman who seems to be pro-eugenics) and one-note extapolations of the film industry, which helps soften the attempt made by the filmmaker to assassinate your faith. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillySOct 2, 2009
Leave it to the brilliant Ricky Gervais to write, direct and star in a hilarious romantic comedy with more social punch then Bill Maher's Religulous! It's a terrific time at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelDec 29, 2009
A remarkable movie. It accomplishes both a sweet romantic comedy with a sharp existential critique of religion underneath. Beautiful and moving approach to dealing with mortality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradAJan 11, 2010
I enjoyed this movie quite a bit. The story is unique and the brutal honesty is hilarious. Gervais is absolutely perfect like others have said. The surprising thing about this film was the touching story. From the previews you would not have I enjoyed this movie quite a bit. The story is unique and the brutal honesty is hilarious. Gervais is absolutely perfect like others have said. The surprising thing about this film was the touching story. From the previews you would not have guessed that is has a serious side found through humor. The bet part is still "the man in the sky" parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisHNov 22, 2009
This movie is just fun to watch and very silly. It doesn't have any amazing special fx or lots of twists... it's just a feel good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffLOct 12, 2009
Excellent writing. The gag at the center of the film doesn't get tired - it keeps developing. The ending drags slightly, but overall this is a good movie with a big heart at the center.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidSNov 29, 2009
Very enjoyable film and although it wasn't half as good as The Office or Extras it still managed to remain funny throughout. Gervais shows his atheist views cleverly throughout the film and this underlying meanig to a decent comedy is Very enjoyable film and although it wasn't half as good as The Office or Extras it still managed to remain funny throughout. Gervais shows his atheist views cleverly throughout the film and this underlying meanig to a decent comedy is why it deserves 8 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaLOct 3, 2009
Not as great as extras, but almost. Gervais lovers will NOT be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeighHOct 3, 2009
This movie is clever, laugh out loud funny, ironic, sweet, and has depth. It's not your typical slapstick comedy, the cast is wonderful and its surprising.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobKNov 17, 2009
Extremely original! The problem many people will probably have with this movie is that it is too accurate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
markAug 19, 2010
Thoughtful & very funny. I guess if you don't like it you just don't get the complete absurdity of religion. The pizza box sketch summed-up the pronouncing and subsequent development / expansion of religious laws perfectly. "When you're inThoughtful & very funny. I guess if you don't like it you just don't get the complete absurdity of religion. The pizza box sketch summed-up the pronouncing and subsequent development / expansion of religious laws perfectly. "When you're in heaven you can eat ice cream anytime you want ... and any flavour you can think of!" "Oh no! I just thought of vanilla & skunks" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
honestabbySep 26, 2010
I really love this movie! It's such a great, unique concept and I think they did a lot with it in a clever, humorous way. It's a bit dark and the humor is a bit more subtle than some people's attention spans can handle, though, apparently.

I
I really love this movie! It's such a great, unique concept and I think they did a lot with it in a clever, humorous way. It's a bit dark and the humor is a bit more subtle than some people's attention spans can handle, though, apparently.

I went into watching this movie with an open-mind and I was happy with it. I suppose I can see why those who are religious and also take themselves way too seriously would give it a negative review. However, this movie is best enjoyed on the top layers without trying to read into it further. Don't dig for what it might be implying with the religious references. There is no reason to be offended at all by it because none of it is done in a mean-spirited way. It is simply filling in a hilarious answer to a ridiculously unrealistic "What if..." question. As an atheist that appreciates subtle humor, I also think I really fit the profile for who this movie communicates to.

Overall, if you can laugh at yourself, society and culture without getting bent out of shape, you will enjoy this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 6, 2017
The story was original and interesting, the acting was very good, the movie was pretty funny and it was entertaining to watch. The Invention of Lying is one of the best and most original recent comedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 23, 2016
Its laced with humor but its got some great theoretical underlying elements to it. A comedy that will leave you thinking.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-19376-The-Invention-of-Lying
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
morninstarMar 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie, goes to show comedians can really show the world a mirror when they want to. I know my review is a lot late but I just watched this movie and had to talk about it. It would have been a perfect movie for me if the comedy had worked for me as well as I thought it would. But everything else was phenomenal, well, minus the romantic subplot, that is, but, you know, a minor glitch in an otherwise well made movie. I liked how people's attitudes towards sex and marriage are all too focussed on the "genetics" of a person, just goes to show some things aren't going to change even in fantasy. Well, all in all, a great movie, minor flaws here and there, but nothing is perfect, so watch it and have fun Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews