Focus Features | Release Date: July 9, 2010
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 299 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
221
Mixed:
46
Negative:
32
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
cineprofDec 11, 2010
I have to say I was very disappointed at this film. It makes a mockery out of lesbian sex and relationships and only glimpses at moments of what an alternative family is. I really had high hopes for this film to be a positive affirmation ofI have to say I was very disappointed at this film. It makes a mockery out of lesbian sex and relationships and only glimpses at moments of what an alternative family is. I really had high hopes for this film to be a positive affirmation of alternative family lifestyles, instead it was an insult. I even felt that the women were really trying to fit into a stereotype, hello we wear makeup!! We are not afraid to act like women even though we are with a woman~ and the penis envy, Please!! watching gay male porn during sex wtf?? seriously, this film has some serious problems and it's really a shame because it had the potential to be something positive for the lesbian community, instead it is just a slap in the face. What were you thinking Lisa Cholodenko??? Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
AshesndiamondsSep 3, 2010
I found this movie unwatchable, and left after twenty minutes. The director doesn't know if she respects these people or want to make fun of them, and so she does neither. Sitting even through 20 minutes was like eavesdropping on neighborsI found this movie unwatchable, and left after twenty minutes. The director doesn't know if she respects these people or want to make fun of them, and so she does neither. Sitting even through 20 minutes was like eavesdropping on neighbors who have nothing together and have bought every pop-psychology book in the store. And the sex scenes were horrible, toe-curling. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
JoyRideDec 23, 2010
This movie is unwatchable, over-acted, misguided, and insensitive. Needed 20-30 minutes of editing as well. Siblings relationship is portrayed typical whereas it is atypical. What a Hollywood waste - again.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
thecuddlebearDec 30, 2010
Dreadful! The script, whose sole revelation is that some lesbians enjoy watching gay porn (because aroused males are protuberant!) isn't remotely worthy of Bening and Moore, the art direction and photography are uniformly ugly, and MarkDreadful! The script, whose sole revelation is that some lesbians enjoy watching gay porn (because aroused males are protuberant!) isn't remotely worthy of Bening and Moore, the art direction and photography are uniformly ugly, and Mark Ruffalo's performance is a black hole; there isn't a less interesting actor working in American film today. Avoid! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
hollsJan 19, 2011
I am so sick of rated R movies actually being Rated X. I was so disgusted by the amount of filth in this movie that I turned it off after 15 minutes! From lesbian BJ's, to gay porn and then a full on nudity sex scene, and this was allI am so sick of rated R movies actually being Rated X. I was so disgusted by the amount of filth in this movie that I turned it off after 15 minutes! From lesbian BJ's, to gay porn and then a full on nudity sex scene, and this was all within the first 15 minutes. And I'm not even that much of a conservative, but this was full on porn, and I don't need that kind of crap in my life. I honestly don't think I can even watch rated R movies, because of the amount of nudity. Good think I only paid a buck at Redbox, but still a wasted dollar. I would not recommend this movie to anyone, unless you want your mind to be consumed with porn thoughts which could then lead you to porn addiction which could eventually destroy your life. It's baby steps folks! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
Anti-hollywood5Jan 29, 2011
Calling this movie a film is a disgrace to all films out there. This movie was unrealistic, predictable and extremely lacking in editing. The cinematography in this movie was absolutely offel and the dialogue was pathetic and unrealistic.Calling this movie a film is a disgrace to all films out there. This movie was unrealistic, predictable and extremely lacking in editing. The cinematography in this movie was absolutely offel and the dialogue was pathetic and unrealistic. Through the movie the characters were acting unrealistically and unaturally and some of the most important scenes of this movie were said with no enthusiasm by them. This movie was not only an unrealistic portrayal of a lesbian family but simply an unrealistic portrayal of any family. The movie gave you the total inability to relate with any of the characters except with some odd scenes. Most of the soundtrack was pretty terrible as well. The preview is very misleading and makes the movie appear to actually be good. Since choosing this movie my dad will no longer let me pick what movie we go see together for at least three weeks. This movie is a total waste of money and time. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
MatthewXploderFeb 21, 2011
I hated this movie so much, it was terrible. It is an extremely overrated movie that doesn't deserve jack **** A lot of people think its good because it is so called, "controversial," when reality its not, its just a bad movie. Another thingI hated this movie so much, it was terrible. It is an extremely overrated movie that doesn't deserve jack **** A lot of people think its good because it is so called, "controversial," when reality its not, its just a bad movie. Another thing is, it doesn't deserve to be called a comedy, it was at no way, shape, or form funny at the least bit. It should should just be a drama because it dramatically sucks. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
deniseaguilarNov 28, 2010
This has to be the most offensive movie I have ever seen. It has shown audiences men and women that lesbianism is curable and a man can interfere with a solid same sex marriage. I watched this with my partner and became infuriated at how theThis has to be the most offensive movie I have ever seen. It has shown audiences men and women that lesbianism is curable and a man can interfere with a solid same sex marriage. I watched this with my partner and became infuriated at how the director had the nerve to be from the GLBT community and produce this mess of a movie. I originally wanted to watch it because I thought it would show people that the kids are alright being in a same sex house hold, I wanted our daughter to watch it to see that she is no different. My feelings quickly changed. This was a disaster movie, if at all possible I would like the creator to give me my $4.99 back Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
foxie1976Mar 11, 2012
This movie had so much potential, yet they chose to make it look like happiness is all about sex. The poor man is treated like a piece of meat and made responsible for it. It could have been so much better...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FranzHcriticFeb 20, 2015
The kids are not all right. This film is so pretentious it comes off as smug and arrogant. It reveals nothing new about so-called 'lesbian' relationships, something that doesn't strike me as important, while creating unlikable characters whoThe kids are not all right. This film is so pretentious it comes off as smug and arrogant. It reveals nothing new about so-called 'lesbian' relationships, something that doesn't strike me as important, while creating unlikable characters who aren't worth ten minutes of any screen time whatsoever. The most sympathetic character was the straight middle aged hipster, and I felt he was annoying. It's a film without any style or freshness, so to speak. I could barely finish it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews