Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 28, 2007
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
63
Mixed:
27
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DerekC.Oct 15, 2007
Wow! I am puzzled by all the really low reviews of this movie. Generally when their is such a difference in ratings as this one has shown, there is a political point of view that feels threatened. First of all, only someone who has been Wow! I am puzzled by all the really low reviews of this movie. Generally when their is such a difference in ratings as this one has shown, there is a political point of view that feels threatened. First of all, only someone who has been heavily sedated would say this movie was not exciting. The action scenes were intense and brutal. My only issue with any of them was that everyone walked away from the unbelievable SUV crash near the end. That was a bit difficult to take, but otherwise Berg's work was fantastic as it relates to action movies. I enjoyed the characters, especially that of the Saudi officer that is responsible for babysitting the FBI agents during their investigation, as well as the culture shock as it relates to Saudi and Americans daily lives that permeates this film. I would have liked a little more character development, but that takes times in a day and age when film editing seems to be at a premium due to so many people being unable to sit longer that an hour and 45 minutes. A longer movie would have also helped the investigation become a little more complex and interesting for those CSI types. The main point here for all reading these reviews is that this movie was not meant to make political point in either direction. So many of the reviews seem dead set that this was some attempt to glorify war in the middle east as some sort of a right wing propaganda stunt. This movie simply depicted the very real possibility of a terrorist attack against Americans on foreign soil, and how we as a country and individuals might desire for it to be resolved or at least dealt with in some measure. The human element of anger demonstrated by the FBI agents who lost a friend, and many American families that lost loved ones seems to have struck a nerve. Why? Whether we like it or not, this is a very real scenario. Forget being wrapped up in whose fault it may be that these types of incidents occur. This movies simply takes off after the incident and gives us a view into the very difficult situation, one alternative to responding, and how those involved might actually be effected. If we can leave it that, then maybe we could judge this movie appropriately. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chanduttMar 23, 2011
As I key this the score for this fine movie is 56....can you believe it. I guess it just shows that the smart among us don't write reviews. Good script, tight action, fine acting by foreign actors and a compelling ending make this one ofAs I key this the score for this fine movie is 56....can you believe it. I guess it just shows that the smart among us don't write reviews. Good script, tight action, fine acting by foreign actors and a compelling ending make this one of the best action/drama made. Granted the story is balanced and thus fails to present the Red, White and Blue as all good, all knowing, but the balance of the tale is outstanding and is clearly superior to any other movie of this general type. Name one that you think is comparable, then ask how layered the plot is in your assumed favorite. Here we start with a massive bombing and move into cultural relationships, a clever cop/buddy movie, great action, and a story that makes sense almost all of the way. Good flick. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
OrsonOct 11, 2007
The first 20 minutes give us a vital history, economic, and geopolitical lesson on the West's relationship with Saudi Arabia over the last 40 years. No oil, no problem. But since modern economies run on hydrocarbons, deep mutual The first 20 minutes give us a vital history, economic, and geopolitical lesson on the West's relationship with Saudi Arabia over the last 40 years. No oil, no problem. But since modern economies run on hydrocarbons, deep mutual ambivalences get exposed and tested. The story turns on all the conflicts these ambivalences entail. How does police-work happen in such a deeply repressive regime? Or does it happen at all? The finale tells us the folly of "policing" as an anti-terrorism policy - the same Clintonian policy that failed so spectacularly on 9/11, which President Hillary would revive through her foreign policy adviser Richard Holbrooke. Will we let history repeat? Together with "United 93" and "A Mighty Heart," this is the most important political film released in theaters you can see since 9/11. See it, grasp it, and vote accordingly. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JasonJ.Oct 8, 2007
I read most of the reviews about this movie on Metacritic before watching it. I was puzzled by the users votes which were mostly 0s or 8s and 9s and nothing in between. Since the subject matter of the movie is one that interests me, I I read most of the reviews about this movie on Metacritic before watching it. I was puzzled by the users votes which were mostly 0s or 8s and 9s and nothing in between. Since the subject matter of the movie is one that interests me, I decided to see it, regardless. Well, the movie was actually pretty good. The Idea that we could actually look into Saudi Arabia was pretty exciting, though I don't know how much of it was filmed there. The plot held together and there was a great deal of veracity (which I enjoy). I think that the people whio are giving this movie a 0 or 1 rating are the same people who can't watch United 93 (a superb movie, by the way) because it contains too much truth. People don't like the truth for some reason. My guess is that they are people who are so tricked by multi-culturalism that they cannot even conceive of a good-guy/bad-guy scenario, and hence do not follow what they are seeing in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SamYSep 28, 2007
Went in not expecting too much, due to low ratings on this site. However, came away pleasantly surprised. Good acting, story, incredible action scenes. Don't believe the haters, go check it out for yourself.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
netposterSep 30, 2007
A very good action thriller that is just what is advertised...an edge of your seat thriller. Yes, the shaky hand held camera work is not what I like to see but we seem to be getting this kind of editing in action films nowaday so ....and yes A very good action thriller that is just what is advertised...an edge of your seat thriller. Yes, the shaky hand held camera work is not what I like to see but we seem to be getting this kind of editing in action films nowaday so ....and yes the left wing looneys are panning it for no apparent reason other than to think they see something in this film that is proAmerican. So what else it new. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LauraDMar 24, 2008
I thought this was an incredible film, it had my attention from beginning to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
larryk.Oct 12, 2007
Why all the negativism about this really decent movie? Users have called it boring
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Sep 24, 2007
This movie was well directed, well written and the fight scenes reminded me of black hawk down.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LoganS.Sep 28, 2007
I thought it was terrific, scary and brutally honest - great acting by the way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MattM.Sep 28, 2007
CSI DUBAI!!!...... amateur tv directing... he even used the same music from Friday night lights... good, but not great script, with amazing theme. Peter Berg blew what could of been a great movie. If only Michael Mann had stayed on as CSI DUBAI!!!...... amateur tv directing... he even used the same music from Friday night lights... good, but not great script, with amazing theme. Peter Berg blew what could of been a great movie. If only Michael Mann had stayed on as director. i still suggest seeing it, cause the third act is a great ride, and some of the political subtext is interesting. Jamie Foxx rocks as always, but Jennifer Gardner should stay at home with Ben. I think if you go in with low expectations, you'll love it. And I really just blame Peter Berg for not understanding the art of storytelling. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CarlG.Sep 28, 2007
Just saw it tonight in packed west side nyc theater. Very well made action movie that's about something real...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DougN.Sep 29, 2007
Great action, interesting story and characters. Good humour to between the FBI guys and the Arab handlers. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The final action sequence really had me riveted.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RoderickPSep 30, 2007
Don't know what all the "zeros" are for. Obviously prejudiced views, i guess. Excellent movie. Did a good job presenting a complex situation in an understandable way (i.e. culture clash, military/political conflicts of interest, etc.). Don't know what all the "zeros" are for. Obviously prejudiced views, i guess. Excellent movie. Did a good job presenting a complex situation in an understandable way (i.e. culture clash, military/political conflicts of interest, etc.). Good writing, good acting, incredible shots of middle east (I don't know how they did that). One of the best movies I've seen in recent years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KenCJan 15, 2008
Wow! Did this film stir a hornets nest! First off, this is not a documentary or a true story or even an attempt to convey truths. It is simply a action military film that was fun and exciting to watch. To read anything more into it assumes Wow! Did this film stir a hornets nest! First off, this is not a documentary or a true story or even an attempt to convey truths. It is simply a action military film that was fun and exciting to watch. To read anything more into it assumes that the viewing public does not know it is not real. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DennisSMay 31, 2009
Too sophisticated for the average American viewer. Excellent blend of Hollywood entertainment and the political realities of navigating the complex ocean of foreign affairs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SidaLSep 26, 2007
Saw it for free in a prerelease. Normally I don't go see Middle East war/terrorism themed movies, but it was free. The crowd was pretty into it, clapping (watch for a knife thru the groin), laughing (surprisingly humorous at parts), and Saw it for free in a prerelease. Normally I don't go see Middle East war/terrorism themed movies, but it was free. The crowd was pretty into it, clapping (watch for a knife thru the groin), laughing (surprisingly humorous at parts), and groaning in outrage (because you know people are going to die). The Westerner/Middle Easterner themes are pretty cliche, but still well done and provocative. There are a few confusing points toward the end, where things start to get a little unbelievable (watch them take out a bunch of people in the inevitable huge fight scene and somehow avoid a few rocket launchers while they're at it). The actors were good, especially the guy who plays Colonel Al-Ghazi. Jason Bateman, the guy from Arrested Devolopment, is a good comic relief guy. Although Jennifer Garner doesn't look convincing when she cries... But oh, man... the shaky camera scenes gave me a headache halfway through. It won't happen to most people, but I heard a lady in front of me complaining about it, too. All in all, I would recommend it. Nothing groundbreaking, but worth the trip. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AndrewSep 28, 2007
I am amazed at the negativity of the critics of this film. They seem to think that because a lot of terrorists are killed in the film, that it represents a form of psychological revenge that the audience will enjoy. Careful viewing will show I am amazed at the negativity of the critics of this film. They seem to think that because a lot of terrorists are killed in the film, that it represents a form of psychological revenge that the audience will enjoy. Careful viewing will show that the Muslim characters in this film are consistently many steps ahead of our heroes (the alleged Osama look-alike most of all) and that it is by admittedly somewhat hoaky action movie luck that any escape alive. America is involved in the domestic affairs of countries like Saudi Arabia, and often that involvement leads to violence. Americans do need to see a positive portrayal of Muslims like Barhom's character to appreciate the sacrifice of those who, as a result of our actions, stand between our hatred and the hatred of some of their own people in order to serve their country. As usual, many reviewers have viewed this film through a West-centric lens, refusing to see anything but Iraq and military frustration in a film that, while in many respects a conventional action movie, nevertheless has much more to say. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
gamefriekOct 1, 2010
A good movie that really shows what was going on in the Middle East at the time it was made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysApr 2, 2014
The Kingdom is a taught thriller with some scenes of true suspense and intensity. It features some very well-made and well-crafted war scenes, almost bringing back memories of "Black Hawk Down". However, it doesn't have the same atmosphere asThe Kingdom is a taught thriller with some scenes of true suspense and intensity. It features some very well-made and well-crafted war scenes, almost bringing back memories of "Black Hawk Down". However, it doesn't have the same atmosphere as or feel to it: this film is very impersonal, while "Black Hawk Down" engaged our emotions more. It screams more "commercial blockbuster" than "engaging war film". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
notlawMay 5, 2016
I was suprised with this one went into it with low expectations. Seen how many bad reviews it had Ive had it sitting on my shelf for months thinking it sounded abit boring but yeah jamie foxx done a fantasic job with this as did all of theI was suprised with this one went into it with low expectations. Seen how many bad reviews it had Ive had it sitting on my shelf for months thinking it sounded abit boring but yeah jamie foxx done a fantasic job with this as did all of the supporting cast. It gives you a good look at how crazy the middle east can be at times. I seen one reviewer said that everyone in the movie has rocket launches and ak's which is a load of **** they go into like a ghetto area of saudi arabia and then theres no way the people that live there could be armed with the 2 most common weapons found in the middle east idiot. dont buy into the negative crap its not bad certainly alot of other movies worst than this 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews