Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 647 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the true story of the Queen of England's father and his remarkable friendship with maverick Australian speech therapist Lionel Logue. "The King's Speech" stars Academy Award nominee Colin Firth as King George VI, who unexpectedly becomes King when his brother Edward abdicates theBased on the true story of the Queen of England's father and his remarkable friendship with maverick Australian speech therapist Lionel Logue. "The King's Speech" stars Academy Award nominee Colin Firth as King George VI, who unexpectedly becomes King when his brother Edward abdicates the throne. Academy Award Winner Geoffrey Rush stars as Logue, the man who helps the King find a voice with which to lead the nation into war. (The Weinstein Company) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Dec 24, 2010
    100
    It's a fine, absorbing work, built with brilliance and without excessive showiness or flash. It feels, in fact, like a classic virtually upon its arrival.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 11, 2010
    100
    A remarkable movie about a remarkable friendship. It honors the audience's intelligence, which makes it a double rarity.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 15, 2010
    100
    What we have here is a superior historical drama and a powerful personal one.
  4. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 16, 2010
    88
    It's the kind of absorbing, attractive, unfailingly tasteful enterprise that a critic can recommend without caveat.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 24, 2010
    88
    One of the chief reasons that director Tom Hooper's richly produced film works so well is because it operates on so many different levels. The King's Speech is all about layers, and Hooper keeps it humming on several at once.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Dec 11, 2010
    80
    While far from easy, both roles provide a delightful opportunity for Firth and Rush to poke a bit of fun at their profession.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 11, 2010
    60
    Obvious, though, is the word for Hopper's direction. It amplifies to rock-concert level every pained plosive in Bertie's speech, forces certain characters dangerously close to caricature.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 151
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    Two acting titans: Rush and Firth; every mature character actor in the UK; Helena!; the Brits do it again. The film was a delight to watch andTwo acting titans: Rush and Firth; every mature character actor in the UK; Helena!; the Brits do it again. The film was a delight to watch and the viewer is given a wonderful reprieve from the simplistic, the empty,the 3D onslaught! Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Possibly the best movie I have ever seen in quite awhile. I do not like sitting through English flicks and was not looking forward toPossibly the best movie I have ever seen in quite awhile. I do not like sitting through English flicks and was not looking forward to watching this one. I savored every moment and was surprised when it ended. It blew me away that is for sure. I predict hands down - Colin Firth best actor - and this movie wins best for the Oscars. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    With Firth's believable stutter and great acting, The King's Speech remains one of the best movies in recent years. Just the execution of suchWith Firth's believable stutter and great acting, The King's Speech remains one of the best movies in recent years. Just the execution of such a simple idea at the core is amazing, and Director Tom Hooper is to be credited to the fullest for such a noteworthy film. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    This was a great story and I'm glad it was told. The three primary actors, Geoffrey Rush, Colin Firth, and Helena Bonham Carter, were amazing.This was a great story and I'm glad it was told. The three primary actors, Geoffrey Rush, Colin Firth, and Helena Bonham Carter, were amazing. Colin Firth, especially. Colin Firth's performance was one of the best of the year, for sure. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Fantastic, this is movie making at it's best. The acting is impeccable, from the leads to all the supporting. Colin Firth gives theFantastic, this is movie making at it's best. The acting is impeccable, from the leads to all the supporting. Colin Firth gives the quintessential George IV. Rush and Carter are tremendous Of course these fine performances would be wasted without David Seidler's screenplay and Tom Hooper's light hand directing such fine stars. He allows them to fully immerse themselves in their characters and brings the audience in with their performances. Brilliant. Expand
  6. May 31, 2011
    8
    The transformation of Firth's character in the final act is amazing to watch! We go from an incredibly terrified Royal to a very proud man.The transformation of Firth's character in the final act is amazing to watch! We go from an incredibly terrified Royal to a very proud man. Rush gives another excellent performance, perhaps better than Firth? Collapse
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    0
    I can't believe the hype this movie was receiving. I watched this film with a few friends, and was really not pleased with the actorsI can't believe the hype this movie was receiving. I watched this film with a few friends, and was really not pleased with the actors performances. Colin Firth did not pull off the role. Expand

See all 151 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  3. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  4. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we