Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 14, 2007
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 81 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
13
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
AndreNMar 10, 2008
For someone that enjoyed the book immensely, the movie was somewhat disappointing. Although still worth seeing, the movie does not capture the sole of the book. Nevertheless I still enjoyed this beautifully crafted movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JamesJ.Dec 10, 2007
Saw a DGA friend's screener. Had not read the book. It's well shot, well produced, and competently acted. That's about all I can say for it. This movie is going to get better reviews than it deserves. It's half Saw a DGA friend's screener. Had not read the book. It's well shot, well produced, and competently acted. That's about all I can say for it. This movie is going to get better reviews than it deserves. It's half introduction to Afghani culture (interesting to a point - but a National Geographic or 60 Minutes piece would do the job better), half over-the-top melodrama. The narrative is slow moving, contrived, and revolves around a cowardly main character who I never grew to identify with or feel for. As a primer on life in Kabul, it's interesting, but a bit ham-fisted. Citizens of foreign cities don't walk around pointing out interesting cultural traits to each other. The whole sha-bang seemed to be aimed straight at the Oprah crowd. If you're sheltered, easily manipulated, have never traveled, and can't get enough of narratively-convenient uber-tragedy... this one's a winner! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DavidRDec 16, 2007
Is it just me or is Ebert giving every movie that comes out a perfect score? I understand he's happy to be back at work but this does not deserve four stars. It barely held my attention and left out some of my favorite parts of the book.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SeriosityDec 8, 2012
Surprisingly tame. All the issues with the book persist here, but it retains few of the books strengths. It is heavy handed, sugary, mediocre and contrived.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
CharleneSDec 15, 2007
Loved the book, hated the movie. I didn't connect at all with the main character, the story wasn't compelling. It was about as good as a made for TV movie. Very disappointing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JonH.Apr 25, 2008
This movie is essentially a lot of nothing, compared to the book, this movie is awful
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
GregF.Jan 13, 2008
Excellent. As good as if not better than the book. I don't usually cry at the movies but this was an exception.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KyM.Dec 24, 2007
For any1 that has read the book, this is a must-see.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaryE.Jan 10, 2008
One of the best adaptations of a book to a movie I have ever seen. The audience clapped at the end, which I have never experienced in fifty years of movie going. Disregard Manohla Dargis's cynical review and do yourself a favor; One of the best adaptations of a book to a movie I have ever seen. The audience clapped at the end, which I have never experienced in fifty years of movie going. Disregard Manohla Dargis's cynical review and do yourself a favor; don't miss this compelling film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TerryC.Jun 24, 2008
excellent movie, well shot, well acted and a great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GRJan 19, 2008
I read the book a couple of years ago and I was deeply affected by a story that stayed with me ever since, a story that powerfully weaves so many universal themes: love, loyalty, fear, guilt, honor and redemption. The movie is as true to the I read the book a couple of years ago and I was deeply affected by a story that stayed with me ever since, a story that powerfully weaves so many universal themes: love, loyalty, fear, guilt, honor and redemption. The movie is as true to the book as movies can be. During two hours, it carries you through all these emotions against the strong contrast between Afghanistan and the US Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JPApr 4, 2008
My vote for Best Picture. Richly textured story of one man's fall and redemption in Afganistan, from a child's viewpoint. Wonderful and beautiful settings and glimpses of the culture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilR.Dec 14, 2007
This is one of the most faithful literary adaptations I've ever seen, and virtually all performances are first-rate. While the script occasionally flags from some sentimentality, this hardly diminishes a story that is heartbreaking and This is one of the most faithful literary adaptations I've ever seen, and virtually all performances are first-rate. While the script occasionally flags from some sentimentality, this hardly diminishes a story that is heartbreaking and ingeniously plotted. Ideally, one would do well to read a good contemporary history of Afghanistan before reading any work of fiction set within the region, but barring that, the film stands well on its own. There may be a tendency among critics to pick away at the film because of its tie to a book that led the NYT Fiction List for so long. This is a case, however, in which many critics have missed the boat. This genuine, heartfelt adaptation may actually open the hearts and minds of viewers to Afghanistan and its tortured history. The audience of which I was part, applauded and cheered at the close of our screening, so my hope is that word-of-mouth will help secure its reputation. One of my favorite films of 2007. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArnieG.Dec 24, 2007
Great, touching adaptation of the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisG.Dec 27, 2007
The Kite Runner 12A Most films, even the Oscar winners and "box office best sellers", tend to be pretty dull affairs and hardly ever worth reviewing. 'Kite Runner' is a film that starts low key and actually gets better and better The Kite Runner 12A Most films, even the Oscar winners and "box office best sellers", tend to be pretty dull affairs and hardly ever worth reviewing. 'Kite Runner' is a film that starts low key and actually gets better and better as the film progresses. Without being at all cliquéd or over-stated, 'Kite Runner' is a true "Tour de Force": magnificent, powerful and incredibly moving. Make sure you take some Kleenex tissues as it is quite a weepie, albeit unexpectedly so, and a far cry from Hollywood saccharine. It tells the story of the friendship between the son of a servant and that of a high-class family to whom the boy's family is in servitude. It is set in Kabul and San Franscisco, the former on location in North Beijing, with stunning landscape, photography and authentic recreation of an Afghanistan peasant community, that takes us through marketplaces and mountainous terrain. It is hard to see how it is a 12A certificate film, for it shows scenes of male rape against a young boy and graphic scenes of animals strung up in the market place, their heads laying around on the ground in the Halal method of draining off the life-force blood of the creature. The film appears to be based on an autobiographical account of the strong relationship of the narrator - one of the boys -with his father and this ensures the emotional moments are touching and authentic, rather than stylistic or formulaic. Just when you think the script and storyline are predictable, one is surprised by the sudden twists and turns drawing gasps from the audience. The film stars are excellent, of ethnic authenticity, with one of the co-stars a dead ringer lookalike of Dodi Fayed. Strongly and unhesitatingly recommended, the film is beautiful without ever becoming corny, despite the ending being pure Hollywood. Superb and of great depth. Even the soundtrack is a masterstroke of cinematic genius. Must go see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianF.Jan 1, 2008
The best movie we've seen in months. Do not miss this magnificent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GRJan 19, 2008
I read the book a couple of years ago and I was deeply affected by a story that stayed with me ever since, a story that powerfully weaves so many universal themes: love, loyalty, fear, guilt, honor and redemption. The movie is as true to the I read the book a couple of years ago and I was deeply affected by a story that stayed with me ever since, a story that powerfully weaves so many universal themes: love, loyalty, fear, guilt, honor and redemption. The movie is as true to the book as movies can be. During two hours, it carries you through all these emotions against the strong contrast between Afghanistan and the US Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DazJan 25, 2008
The book is the best I've read in a long while. The film was expected to be a flop - surely they can't make a great film of a terrific book?? Well they did. I spent the 2nd half of this film on the verge of tears almost constantly. The book is the best I've read in a long while. The film was expected to be a flop - surely they can't make a great film of a terrific book?? Well they did. I spent the 2nd half of this film on the verge of tears almost constantly. The emotion of the book really came back to me. A wonderful film - should be enjoyed by everybody. Much better than some of the other blockbusters Hollywood has released recently. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErrolM.Jan 28, 2008
I may not have read the novel before watching the movie, but based on the moving and powerful script alone, I'm rushing over to Borders right after this notation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinJan 5, 2008
Excellent adaptation of the acclaimed novel. The acting was suberb, direction was well done and the scenes from Afghanistan and Pakistan were breathtaking. It's a heartwarming story about the power of redemption and forgiveness, loyal Excellent adaptation of the acclaimed novel. The acting was suberb, direction was well done and the scenes from Afghanistan and Pakistan were breathtaking. It's a heartwarming story about the power of redemption and forgiveness, loyal to Khaled Hosseini's masterpiece novel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveH.Jan 5, 2008
This film is much better than many critics say. The story has a mythic quality to it, like a Greek tragedy transported to modern day. Another way to put it is, like Dickens, coincidence is used as metaphor for the mistakes and decisions we This film is much better than many critics say. The story has a mythic quality to it, like a Greek tragedy transported to modern day. Another way to put it is, like Dickens, coincidence is used as metaphor for the mistakes and decisions we make on the spot, but almost instantly regret. It is the story of a child of moral and physical weakness learning to be strong as a man. Let no one tell you this film isn't cinematic. The story happens in the interior lives of the characters, and could not work on a large canvas. The performances are outstanding, and the score is very fine. This film has none of the inappropriate dazzle of Monster's Ball, and none of the archness that marred Finding Neverland. The fact is, I liked both of those films, but this one is Forster's must coherent work yet, and a riveting story besides. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisJ.Feb 2, 2008
Excellent film that mostly has its heart in the right place and is compelling to watch. The two child actors are excellent and the direction, except for a few lapses into schmultz, was very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AthenaMar 1, 2009
What a beautifully told poignant film - it makes you grateful for the life and liberties that we take for granted in democratic countries - and sad and helpless for not being able to do anything to help.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomSDec 14, 2007
Best movie of the year ! Great acting by the kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkH.Dec 26, 2007
Good story! Great movie! You cannot take your eyes off the actor playing Amir's father! His genuineness and intensity are amazing! Conversely, the actor playing the adult Amir sleepwalks through his role. This is definetly worth a 2nd viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.Dec 26, 2007
Terrific cinematography, beautiful score, a couple of strong acting performances by the two Afghan children, and a heart-wrenching story that Marc Forster directs so well (did anyone not cry in Finding Neverland?), but a lead character that Terrific cinematography, beautiful score, a couple of strong acting performances by the two Afghan children, and a heart-wrenching story that Marc Forster directs so well (did anyone not cry in Finding Neverland?), but a lead character that is so spinelessly arrogant that, without a call from his homeland, would never have sought redemption in the first place. Good movie with a terrible role model. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Mar 19, 2008
A wonderful and warm film, touchingly made. The score is awesome, the cinematography exceptional. Finely acted, such deep characters. Well written.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelB.Mar 23, 2008
A moving film with credible actors. Fine sceneries. It follows the story of the book meticulously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JannexysG.Apr 16, 2008
This was an awesome movie, there's just no other way I could say it. I have not read the book, but as an avid reader, The Kite Runner is definitely my next read.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredC.Dec 13, 2007
A truly capturing cinematic motion picture that brilliantly shook my bones tell the end. A film to see with the family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArthurZ.Dec 22, 2007
A wonderful, thoughtful film. Take plenty of Kleenex
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Dec 23, 2007
Our rooting interest in Amir's redemption is considerably hampered by our realization that he'll only help out his own kind. Amir(Khalid Abdalla) mulls with trepidation when he's called back home to Kabul, and accepts his Our rooting interest in Amir's redemption is considerably hampered by our realization that he'll only help out his own kind. Amir(Khalid Abdalla) mulls with trepidation when he's called back home to Kabul, and accepts his mission only after learning the truth about Hassan. Amir's act of heroism isn't entirely satisfying. As young boys, Amir should have helped Hassan, regardless of his societal status. They were friends, after all. "The Kite Runner" might be unaware that Amir is still nothing like his father; a man who was willing to take the bullet from a Russian soldier to protect some strange woman from being raped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LinttaFlamingoFeb 2, 2017
It's not exactly a cheerful movie, but because of the good performances and the emotional story, it's definitely worth watching. I really felt for Hassan and Amir, and the movie always stayed interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews