The Lady

Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    The Lady is still titled away from the churning melodrama of Suu Kyi's country and toward the intimate dilemma of a loving couple forced apart by circumstance.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    It can't be easy to turn one of the most stirring human rights dramas of the past quarter century into stultifying screen pageantry, but director Luc Besson and writer Rebecca Frayn have managed the trick with The Lady.
  3. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Dec 1, 2011
    50
    There's something immobile at the center of The Lady, a kind of Botoxed biopic with an unlikely director - Luc Besson - manning the syringe.
  4. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Nov 27, 2011
    50
    Besson responded to something in the story that prompted him to step outside his comfort zone, but exactly what that was is unclear in this well-intentioned but pedestrian retelling of a stirring true story.
  5. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Nov 27, 2011
    50
    This handsomely mounted picture is, at nearly 2 1/2 hours, far too long and indigestible for a film whose protagonist spends most of her screen time under house arrest.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Apr 11, 2012
    42
    This is an inspiring and important story, but worthiness doesn't automatically equal quality. Had Besson looked for unexpected ways into Suu Kyi's life, or even had he indulged his old impulses and made a slick, surface-y Luc Besson movie, then The Lady might've been more memorable.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 12, 2012
    40
    This time, though, the happy ending plays out in real life, while the screen version falls afoul of a laggardly pace, an earnest tone and a surfeit of domesticity.
  8. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 12, 2012
    40
    Any story about Suu Kyi's extraordinary life is worth seeing, simply to learn more about her. Even so, such a rare individual deserves a film that treats her not as a saint, but the remarkable, complex human being she actually is.
  9. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Apr 10, 2012
    40
    Paralyzes history and human drama with relentless hagiography.
  10. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Apr 10, 2012
    40
    Impersonally directed by cinéma du look pioneer Luc Besson, The Lady was written by first-timer Rebecca Frayn, whose script has all the elegance and nuance of Google Translate.
  11. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 10, 2012
    40
    Who would have thought that the man behind such wackadoo fantasies as "The Professional" and "The Fifth Element" was capable of being so bloody boring?
  12. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 9, 2012
    40
    One of those agonisingly well-intentioned films whose heart is in the right place, but everything else is wrong.
  13. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 1, 2011
    40
    We have a fumbling and fawning - if sincere - tribute to the living legend and a director who has never seemed more out of his element.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    4
    What? If I don't have a bad memory, I remember that this movie be launched the last year, and what happen? was delayed, and I think: I canWhat? If I don't have a bad memory, I remember that this movie be launched the last year, and what happen? was delayed, and I think: I can watch the movie, but after have other delay, and finally when we can watch the product, I can say that the movie is regular. The story is good, but have a bad development, in some parts is boring, in other interesting, but the biggest part of the movie is boring. The cast have regular performances, and is not good. I think that the movie cause all this things, after the delays, watching this, sorry but The Lady is regular. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    4
    There's something immobile at the center of The Lady, a kind of Botoxed biopic with an unlikely director - Luc Besson - manning the syringe. AThere's something immobile at the center of The Lady, a kind of Botoxed biopic with an unlikely director - Luc Besson - manning the syringe. A bad, bad film. Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    5
    This handsomely mounted picture is, at nearly 2 1/2 hours, far too long and indigestible for a film whose protagonist spends most of herThis handsomely mounted picture is, at nearly 2 1/2 hours, far too long and indigestible for a film whose protagonist spends most of her screen time under house arrest. Full Review »