Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 1, 2010
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 769 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
72
Negative:
564
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
B.P.Jul 4, 2010
Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please go outside and do something else besides bashing movies, stop trying make it seem like it was the Wasn't that bad i thought it was great but they did leave a lot out and acting wasn't that terrible. For all you down raters please go outside and do something else besides bashing movies, stop trying make it seem like it was the worst movie in the world i have seen worse, you people just have no imagination. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
9
AnielAJul 1, 2010
Lovely like the show, the cgi was the best ive seen since Avatar.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
davidyJul 1, 2010
This movie is for someone interested in an amazing story! Not just action as it may seem in the trailers.I would say its a drama/action movie. If u want a moving film with a STORY behind it, not just cool action and great acting . I will This movie is for someone interested in an amazing story! Not just action as it may seem in the trailers.I would say its a drama/action movie. If u want a moving film with a STORY behind it, not just cool action and great acting . I will admit it could have been made allot better, but hey critics chill out it was still amazing . I highly recommend this movie (for reasons listed above). Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
BrianD.Jul 1, 2010
This movie just blew my fucking mind. My body wasn't ready for the heart pounding excitement.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
9
DanNJul 4, 2010
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I felt the acting was fine, the characters developed, the story believable, some of the visuals quite stunning, and the exposatory dialogue easy to forgive. The casting didn't bother me. I felt each actor was attractive and believable in his or her role. I wasn't keeping score of which characters were cast with actors of which ethnicities. (Why would anyone do that?) I simply felt that it was a talented and appropriate cast. Having not yet seen the animated series, I had no trouble following the story, nor did I feel the script left out anything important. I felt the film had a strong climax that appropriately underscored its theme of "water." This was one of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in years, and I am eagerly anticipating the sequels. The audiences of both of the sold-out shows I attended seemed to enjoy the film as well. There was some applause at the end, and most of the crowd seemed to be talking in positive tones about the film as they left the theater. Thus, the reviews are pretty surprising. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
9
StefanieDJul 1, 2010
Great movie! The only bad thing I can say was maybe they should have made the movie a bit longer. Nice set up, followed the series quite faithfully. Nice changes. Didn't feel like I was getting preached at! Nice family or date night fun.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
FrankiPJul 2, 2010
Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon Never watched the cartoon & thought the movie was very entertaining. Wish it was a PG-13 movie so it could have better fights & deaths but this movie does with PG what Star Wars did & entertains its audience. All I see are a bunch of cartoon whiners on here complaining. Hope this movie makes enough to bring at least 2 more movies. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
9
MikeY.Jul 3, 2010
My son wanted to see this movie and both of us enjoyed the movie. I was worried after reading the reviews but I don't agree that this is a bad movie.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
EvanNJul 2, 2010
I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great I dont know what people expect...... You cant fit an entire television series into a feature length movie and if you tried people would complain about how long it was. Sometimes you just have to speed it up a bit. M, I think you did a great job. It was entertaining, didn't take itself to seriously and had pretty good special effects. James you have once again renewed my faith in the move score. This movie is definitely not potential for an academy award but its entertaining and an all around solid flick. Sometimes its just the reviews that ruin the movie. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
BobMJul 5, 2010
I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's I don't think this movie deserves a 10, by any means, but I'm tired of seeing it bashed. I've seen terrible adaptations, and this isn't one. It could have been better, but it deserves a higher score than it's getting. Way higher. What it all boils down to is, it has become a meme, for internet fans and pro critics alike, to hate M. Night Syamalan, no matter what he does. Fact is, he's a good director. I would have liked for him to do a better job on The Last Air Bender, but, I think he did a decent job, and I'd like to see him have the opportunity to DO a better job on it's sequels. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
7
Helena1313Aug 15, 2010
ok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time itok so it might not be as good as some of his films.although there are many plot holes and it started a bit slow it did have its good moments. the story line is much different from the original animated series, but with limited screen time it would be hard to fit in all of the details and in many ways the story line was much more believable. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
RansackAug 11, 2010
The Last Airbender is what you might call "a movie you must see because it was an awesome tv show" don't some people realize that most cartoon adaptations don't work? Obviously this one didn't, because of its poorly constructed plot, poorThe Last Airbender is what you might call "a movie you must see because it was an awesome tv show" don't some people realize that most cartoon adaptations don't work? Obviously this one didn't, because of its poorly constructed plot, poor acting, and racism. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeDec 3, 2010
ive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well theive never seen the cartoon show and didnt even know about it till a year ago and still havent and after seeing this film i doubt i will ever want to. the tv show im sure is better but this film left such a bad taste for this series. well the worst thing about this film is the acting it feels like a middle school play and i feel like thats almost giving this film praise saying that. the worst of it is from the 3 kids whos acting is so bad in this you can bet they will never do films again and if they are lucky may appear on some crappy sci fi channel film or on life time . the plot is poorly told the charicters are about as intresting as waching grass grow . the only good thing this film has is lush back grounds and visaul effects . the fighting is laughable with every one dancing around like abunch of retards trying to hump a door knob. M night shamallamadingdong one again proves he's a **** director and some how got lucky with the 6th sense and unbreakable.. probubly because he had good actors to carry his sorry ass. evade this film like its got herpese. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
gerrygNov 6, 2010
This movie could have been good, but it leaves out waaayyy too much of the story, so there was no way to develop the characters as well as the plot jumps around, plus the acting is only so-so. If they had another hour or two, they could haveThis movie could have been good, but it leaves out waaayyy too much of the story, so there was no way to develop the characters as well as the plot jumps around, plus the acting is only so-so. If they had another hour or two, they could have patched something together that made sense, and if you haven't seen the series, you'll have no clue what's going on. The kid they chose for Ang wasn't bad, though, and the special effects were pretty decent. If you've watched the cartoon series and you're a fan, you're better off skipping this. I take that back - it's probably a good idea for everyone to skip this! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
ovovfreebandzSep 22, 2015
This is a fantastic film. I think this is M. Night Shyamalan's best film to date. I thought that The Sixth Sense was boring and Sings was overly ridiculous. I honestly can say I preferred this to the anime it was based on and that that showThis is a fantastic film. I think this is M. Night Shyamalan's best film to date. I thought that The Sixth Sense was boring and Sings was overly ridiculous. I honestly can say I preferred this to the anime it was based on and that that show was bad. This is a beautiful looking film with every shot looking gorgeous. I think the green screen effects are amazing and I never noticed when it was being used. I really thought the lead actor's performance was top notch and I an surprised he has not been in much since. That being said, this film is not prefect. I didn't like how M. Night did not appear in the film and I would have liked it if HE was Aang. He would have had the acting chops to pull of such a role. On a first watch, this film may not seem like much. But under the surface this is a physiological thriller with incredible action, great performances and phenomenal special effects. I give this 9 out of 10 and challenge you if you didn't like this film to re watch it again through a different point of view and go in with an open mind if you haven't seen it before. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
DeannaEJul 1, 2010
This is in my top 5 favorite movies. I absolutely loved it. I'm sorry that no one else seems to.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
CollinM.Jul 2, 2010
The movie was varry cool because it has the first episode and then at the end he fights the fire lord I say it is vary intreating so I would give it an 8.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
SteveW.Jul 3, 2010
If you are a fan of the cartoon you will LOVE IT. If you don't know the cartoon, watch a couple episodes before going. Good action, start of a good story.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
validaSep 27, 2010
This is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so IThis is a fantastic movie. It really touched me. But then ... I did not see the cartoon. I had no problems following the course of events, as feared by other critics on this page. I would have loved to see a longer lasting film though - so I could enjoy more. I think the critics suffer from the déjà-vu-syndrome. They compare it with the experience they had before (with the cartoon) and can be nothing less but disappointed. Apparently the characters are different from the cartoon. So what? M. Night has obviously written his own story on it, which only adds surplus in stead of breakdown. Again: this is a fantastic movie. Can't wait for the sequels. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
10
FranzJul 2, 2010
Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for Pitch perfect and brilliantly acted, The Last Airbender is a stunning achievement, helmed with a purity and honesty that captures not just the illegal abortion story at its core but the constant, unremarked negotiations necessary for survival in the final days of the Soviet bloc. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful
9
Marcela-annieAug 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes I liked it and I'd like too see the second book but it could have been better.... ... Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
LisaZ.Jul 1, 2010
This is the worst adaptation of the wonderful film series I have EVER seen. They changed the names, the storyline (completely) and the acting is horrible! Don't see this movie! We cannot support this atrocious adaptation. Every thing is This is the worst adaptation of the wonderful film series I have EVER seen. They changed the names, the storyline (completely) and the acting is horrible! Don't see this movie! We cannot support this atrocious adaptation. Every thing is choppy, nothing makes sense, it assumes you have already seen the series. Don't watch. Trust me, if I ate popcorn during the movie, I would've thrown up. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
beaRaipMay 28, 2011
Terrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzlyTerrible, terrible movie. The combined emptiness and stupidity of the protagonists is unfathomable, and though the effects are VISUALLY impressive at times, the fidelity of the audio is non-existent, thus "airbending" becomes fizzly breeze-bending, and fighting scenes become unintentionally funny. Stay away from this movie, read the books instead Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
takousaJul 1, 2010
Don't believe those critics. As a big fan of the animated series, I enjoyed the film a log. I would love to the sequels.
2 of 9 users found this helpful
9
thebrickknightAug 15, 2010
After seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the firstAfter seeing this movie this weekend I was astounded to come onto Metacritic and see the horrible ratings for it. You should all be ashamed of yourselves! M. Night is the most visionary director in Hollywood. I was never a fan of the first film but for M. Night to get a sequel of Avatar out so fast (within a year) astounded me! This movie reminded me nothing of the garbage of the first film directed by James Cameron. The script took the Na'Vii out of the picture completely and replaced them with a beautiful bald child who controls the wind. I wouldn't have changed a thing about this movie other than that I was a little confused how this was connected to the first film. See it anyways, it is fantastic! Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
clockworkboy1Aug 21, 2010
as a fan of the series i can say that i enjoyed it and even if i didnt i still wouldnt say it was the worst movie ever because there are way worse movies out there
11 of 59 users found this helpful1148
All this user's reviews
9
moviefreak12Nov 3, 2010
a movie with many holes partlly because M. Night did really care about it he just wanted to make money. the special affects really saved this movie big time. and the acting and dialoge really improved in the 2nd half of the movie.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
3
KCJul 2, 2010
It was done like he didn't care about the characters and their personalities, and as if pretty graphics with no attention to detail or development = translating an amazing story to the big screen. It was like he watched the series for It was done like he didn't care about the characters and their personalities, and as if pretty graphics with no attention to detail or development = translating an amazing story to the big screen. It was like he watched the series for 10 minutes, cut all the story and left all the "cool looking" parts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KanaR.Jul 2, 2010
This movie was unthrilling and just completely horrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
joshuas.Jul 3, 2010
A terrible script intensified by the abysmal acting destroys this already lackluster action film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful