Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 5, 2013
    80
    Lean, muscular and on the money, The Last Days on Mars takes a familiar story and tells it so tautly that we are pleased to be on board.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Sep 20, 2013
    60
    The unapologetically derivative sci-fi outing doesn’t have the scripting muscle to deliver on its early promise. But the solid cast keeps it reasonably gripping nonetheless.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Jordan
    Apr 7, 2014
    60
    A taut, tense yet hugely indebted debut, Ruairí Robinson’s survival horror manages to break free from its low-budget limitations but is hamstrung by its own love of the genre.
  4. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Sep 20, 2013
    50
    Schreiber saves it to an extent with some unusual performance choices, but when you compare this ending to the emotional supernova of Danny Boyle’s “Sunshine” it comes way short.
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Dec 5, 2013
    50
    Although ably directed by feature first-timer Ruairi Robinson, and gamely performed by a cast professional enough to feign alarm and surprise, The Last Days on Mars ultimately confirms what science has already spent billions of dollars establishing: There’s just no life here.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 24, 2013
    40
    The Last Days on Mars isn’t a disaster. Robinson, in fact, shows some promise. It’s just not much of anything, a movie ultimately as barren as the landscape on which it takes place.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Dec 4, 2013
    33
    Even had it premiered at, say, London’s Frightfest, The Last Day On Mars would be a disappointment. What it was doing at Cannes is a mystery.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    People seem to be kind of down on this movie in general but I thought that it was great. I think the acting is top notch, and I like thePeople seem to be kind of down on this movie in general but I thought that it was great. I think the acting is top notch, and I like the story. First of all zombies are not " dying of thirst " and do not drink water, and secondly even if someone wants to complain about how the cast was picked off, the same thing happened in the movie Alien and look at the reviews for that movie !!! Maybe some special effects could have been better, but it was nice to see technology that is more realistic than something like Alien. When that thing first showed it's face and grabbed the drill I almost jumped out of my seat !!! And then the red lights flashing was a great dramatic effect and I think the movie really took off and that the situation was realistically portrayed as to what would actually happen and how one would react if in this scenario. I love the strong female characters and the resentment that builds up towards Kim that leads towards her demise and that thing chasing the character Vince through the tunnel !!! Also Zombies do not forget the names and faces of their children before they die and they do not describe how they can not feel their hands either. I also liked the humor, and the fact that the main character Vince has a problem that should have been " weeded " out yet ends up being the one who sort of saves the day. I find that thought provoking that perhaps someone with this " handicap " could have other attributes that could prove more valuable. So I must say that over all, I really did enjoy this movie !!! Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    Recently Hollywood was largely contaminated with science fictions, especially space theme after ruling fantasies in the last decade. So it'sRecently Hollywood was largely contaminated with science fictions, especially space theme after ruling fantasies in the last decade. So it's good to see Britain to join in such competitive subjects. It was a decent science fiction, despite the addition of the horror genre to it. Kinda looks extended version of 'Apollo 18' because of the similar plot. But there are lots of different between both from characters to things that happen around.

    In my opinion, this movie was not bad as many say nor good. Keep delivers what one can expect from a space travel theme, though lacked in originality. The story commences without notifying us about the mission's motivation that happened earlier or what's gonna happen later. So everything about the present situation of the mission's crew and their quest.

    As the story progress, there's no delay in haunting parts of the thriller of the movie to begin. Characters just shatter and go chaos which gives first sign to us to do not blink further. Even it leaves us clueless about the incident due to the undeveloped characters. But sad not to see any heroic attempts among the survivors. They (filmmakers) tried to keep as much as a realistic approach with men in astronaut suits than great stunts like a commercial action movie.

    In another perspective, it is a zombie movie that takes place on an alien planet. What do we call a man wandering around without a brain function or without a pulse, a zombie!. It disappoints a bit for diehard science fiction fans for not being the movie true to its genre. If you're okay with the merge of the genres, then you would find it a decent than disappointment.

    I guess one big known name in the cast would have done a better at the box office. Liev Schreiber carried it out as much as he can but other casts just faded so early without delivering much which cause the movie a downfall a bit.
    Collapse
  3. Sep 4, 2014
    5
    Outstanding science fiction set becomes remedial zombiesque romp to nowhere with a no hope ending thrown in fer kicks. I don't know about youOutstanding science fiction set becomes remedial zombiesque romp to nowhere with a no hope ending thrown in fer kicks. I don't know about you but I don't think films like this are good enough to ask people to pay money to see them. I saw it free streaming on the web and I wasn't entirely pleased with it either. I did think the sets were really well done-just like I imagine it would be on a Mars mission. I was also very disappointed to watch it degenerate into what was tantamount to a mindless zombie film that might as well have been shot behind an abandoned gas stain in Arizona. Dismal no hope ending didn't help matters much. No wonder there is a lot of depression out there these days-these kind of movies will take you right down the rabbit hole but after that they do they don't offer any reprise which I think sucks royally. I gave it a five rather than the three it probably deserves due to the excellent set work. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    The movie is kind of a mess. With a beginning and an end but no middle, nothing is explained. The movie seemed to have an interesting premiseThe movie is kind of a mess. With a beginning and an end but no middle, nothing is explained. The movie seemed to have an interesting premise but was clearly rushed. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    4
    The Last Days on Mars is sporadically suspenseful but with wooden acting, lame dialogue and a predictable plot, it offers just a paleThe Last Days on Mars is sporadically suspenseful but with wooden acting, lame dialogue and a predictable plot, it offers just a pale imitation of similar horror+sci-fi flicks done better. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2014
    4
    The Last Days on Mars is sporadically suspenseful but with wooden acting, lame dialogue and a predictable plot, it offers just a paleThe Last Days on Mars is sporadically suspenseful but with wooden acting, lame dialogue and a predictable plot, it offers just a pale imitation of similar horror+sci-fi flicks done better. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    2
    Last Days on Mars is a rushed, slapped together, and quickly made film that only gets worse and worse as it progresses. A film can onlyLast Days on Mars is a rushed, slapped together, and quickly made film that only gets worse and worse as it progresses. A film can only contain so much. Space is endless, but by watching this film, you'll wish it wasn't. At least on a movie scale Expand

Trailers