Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: At a New Orleans halfway house for girls, Nell Sweetzer attempts to recover from the trauma of the first film, but the demon that possessed her returns with an even more horrific plan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    May 27, 2013
    60
    Ashley Bell’s nuanced performance and a surprisingly pyrotechnic finale liven up a gloomy sequel. Title’s still nonsense, mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 1, 2013
    60
    At least this movie, like its predecessor, has Ashley Bell as Nell. An actress who suggests religious piety, carnal fire and satanic aggression with equal dexterity, Ms. Bell provides a pulse an audience can connect with amid the standard-issue atmospheric accouterments.
  3. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Mar 2, 2013
    58
    Unfortunately, no one involved seems to have bent over backwards to make the movie either original or even all that scary.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 2, 2013
    40
    Now Bell can break out of the genre. She's served her time.
  5. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Mar 6, 2013
    30
    When the creators of The Last Exorcism Part II swapped pseudo-verité realism for psychological realism, they made it a lot harder to take their franchise seriously.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 1, 2013
    25
    An abysmal sequel that abandons the found-footage concept, along with the pockets of wit and originality that made its predecessor salvageable.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 6, 2013
    20
    The film, however, is short on genuine scares and ingenuity.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 9 out of 18
  1. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    not scary but thrilling and tempting ". from producer eli roth ( cabin fever ) presents the second part of the the latest exorcism i have notnot scary but thrilling and tempting ". from producer eli roth ( cabin fever ) presents the second part of the the latest exorcism i have not seen the first one yet . i found this movie not scary but very entertaining to the demons super natural force to neil ( ashley bell).Grade A Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Last Exorcism Part 2 is much better than the first one. It is more entertaining and scarier. It has some suspense and the girl is acting really good. The ending was a bit of strange and the plot had many gaps and it left you some questions about this movie. It was a good sequel though I expected to see Nael's brother who was in that kind of sorority in the end of the first one. However, it is entertaining despite the fact some things will not be easily understood or actually explained. Maybe the producers should have read again the script. I didn't understand the ending. she destroys the world or something like that? Not sure. HOWEVER, is is an enjoyable horror film and much better than the first one. It will scare you at some moments and make you stand up from your chair. Not a must-see but a good horror film just for fun if you want to be scared Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    It was kind of disappointing because the first one was so good. The biggest problem was that it answers no questions or completely resolvesIt was kind of disappointing because the first one was so good. The biggest problem was that it answers no questions or completely resolves the ending of the first one. It wasn't all the scary either. It was pretty entertaining though. Despite the stupid last minute of it. Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2013
    3
    After seeing the first movie I thought this would be okay but I was wrong. If it wasn't for Ashley Bell I wouldn't have seen this movie atAfter seeing the first movie I thought this would be okay but I was wrong. If it wasn't for Ashley Bell I wouldn't have seen this movie at all. The ending was different but still not good. The original was a much better movie then this. There was nothing that stood out about this movie and the special effects were mediocre at best. Not a good movie at all. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    1
    "The Last Exorcism: Part II" gives the devil plenty of space and time to show off his handiwork, but apart from making young women contort"The Last Exorcism: Part II" gives the devil plenty of space and time to show off his handiwork, but apart from making young women contort their bodies--that's about all he does. The film is short on genuine scares and any ingenuity. So many sequences are structured, that the pattern becomes predictable and tiresome. Especially since the first film at least set a standard for originality--this sequel--which reshapes it's creative team, delivers nothing Collapse
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    Everything good about the first film, which I loved, has been thrown out the window. It has simply become just another generic paranormal-likeEverything good about the first film, which I loved, has been thrown out the window. It has simply become just another generic paranormal-like film and that's really disappointing. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    Stupid. Horrific. And Stupid. The Last Exorcism Part 2 was just really fashionable. Or you think so? Tis film has Ashley Bell with a brokenStupid. Horrific. And Stupid. The Last Exorcism Part 2 was just really fashionable. Or you think so? Tis film has Ashley Bell with a broken stupid role and the film has no compelling with the original. NOT EVEN A SINGLE COMPELLING. It has a broken horror story and bad dialogues with the special effects used at the wrong time. Fans of the original might put up with it but IAM definitely sure this film will disappoint horror film lovers. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers