The Last House on the Left

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 91
  2. Negative: 23 out of 91
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. megan
    May 5, 2009
    0
    This was the worst movie i have ever seen. it was nasty and disgusting, anyone who would buy this movie is seriously sick in the head. and anyone who is sick enough to write and direct something like this should be put in a mental home. it was horrible. if i could i would give it a negative million.
  2. SteveS
    Aug 26, 2009
    3
    Why cant we just have great horror movies anymore without complicating everything. I get it was more of a thriller, but Craven at least had me wondering!
  3. ChadS.
    Mar 15, 2009
    3
    There's no virgin spring, but this remake of a remake has a virgin swimming pool, and a virgin lake. [***SPOILER***] This teenaged swimmer must have one hell of a regimen to survive what she survived. Mari(Sara Paxton) is raped, shot at, and crawls home in the rain with a bullet lodged in her body. For all intents and purposes, Mari needs to stay dead, in lieu of what happens to There's no virgin spring, but this remake of a remake has a virgin swimming pool, and a virgin lake. [***SPOILER***] This teenaged swimmer must have one hell of a regimen to survive what she survived. Mari(Sara Paxton) is raped, shot at, and crawls home in the rain with a bullet lodged in her body. For all intents and purposes, Mari needs to stay dead, in lieu of what happens to Mari's attackers. What Mari's parents do to the rapist and his colleagues violates the spirit of the maxim "an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth". By keeping Mari alive, the parents' vengeance is robbed of its righteousness and purpose; by keeping Mari alive, the parents end up looking like sadists. Since "The Last House on the Left" lacks the good sense to keep the logic of the Wes Craven original intact, why not break the mold irreparably and let Mari be more pro-active; why not let the girl go after her own attackers? Not only because she was brutally raped, but also because she has to share her victimhood with a guy. Competing for the audience's sympathy, this reboot has a hireling, the rapist's son, whose suffering is concentrated over a longer period of time than Mari, so therefore becomes the real subject of the film. When will the cowering son face finally up to his intemperate father? "The Last House on the Left" wants to have it both ways: to be an exploitation movie with a happy ending like some studio flick. Within the film's outward appearance of graphic violence, drug use, and sexual deviancy, beats a tame PG-13 heart. Expand
  4. kgm
    Mar 19, 2009
    1
    Mostly reprehensible, although you have to give some credit for the object lesson to young females
  5. joe
    Mar 21, 2009
    0
    For being a horror movie this movie has no suspense, fright, terror, or climax. Just graphic rape scene and over the top violence. Human mutilation is not scary.
  6. TJ
    Sep 6, 2009
    2
    This movie is just sickening. The acting overall is pretty strong but the whole thing is juss like torture porn minus the scares. I would suggest skipping this.
  7. sz
    Mar 15, 2009
    1
    Biggest disservice to humanity... wow, what has happened to film making? outrageous. Movie shows how callous we have become as a species. I am deeply ashamed to be to be part of the human race. Violence and sex and descpicable hatred towards women is not my idea of a good film. Only the most utter idiot with a negative IQ, and personality disorder of a sociopath would actually enjoy this.
  8. TedH.
    Mar 25, 2009
    3
    Anyone who saw the 1972 original will be utterly disappointed with this streamlined and unimaginative remake. The acting was much better and the editing smooth but the changes to the storyline, the new methods of disposing of the rapists and the "perfect ending" took away from what made the original so thought provoking and haunting. Gone are the elements of torture and rape that made the Anyone who saw the 1972 original will be utterly disappointed with this streamlined and unimaginative remake. The acting was much better and the editing smooth but the changes to the storyline, the new methods of disposing of the rapists and the "perfect ending" took away from what made the original so thought provoking and haunting. Gone are the elements of torture and rape that made the first Wes Craven effort so jarring. Also gone is the documentary style filming that made the original seem even more real. I was greatly disappointed considering the quality of actors, the budget and the experience Wes Craven has gained in 37 years. A total waste of time and money! Expand
  9. ChristineM
    Mar 26, 2009
    0
    For human flies - like those critics and movie magazine journalists who enthusiastically remember "highlights" of John Waters movies.
  10. Golder
    May 28, 2009
    2
    As a pre-warning, this review is a little shorter than it really should be, for reasons you'll come to understand, typically, shortly. When I saw this being advertised I was hoping to find a well managed movie due to Wes Cracen producing (or shadowing) what was his original creation back in the 1970's. The film begins alright as much films usually do, introducing the basis of As a pre-warning, this review is a little shorter than it really should be, for reasons you'll come to understand, typically, shortly. When I saw this being advertised I was hoping to find a well managed movie due to Wes Cracen producing (or shadowing) what was his original creation back in the 1970's. The film begins alright as much films usually do, introducing the basis of the film and it's main characters in timely fashion. The music isn't bad, it seems to suit the film very well even though it appears to be more melodramatic than needs to be at the start, we can let that slip though. The acting seems pretty natural, I was surprised at how the younger actors didn't over emphasise every panicked line with arms flailing all over the place. They seemed cold, frightened and eerily still, frozen to the spot. I havn't got much more to compliment this film on, as I said before, due to the fact that I stopped watching the film soon after sitting myself in the cinema. If i'd know there was going to be a rape scene in the movie I'd never have gone to see it. I think that fact should be highlighted, in text, during theatrical trailors for films that contain such filth. I had to get out of my chair when this started to unfold and ask for my money back, which I got. Needles to say I think I'll be double checking next time I see a horror movie. A 2 for the efforts that I saw until the let down. Expand
  11. stephanie
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    I feel sick, I suppose Wes Craven would say mission accomplished. How can someone create such a horribly graphic rape scene, very twisted.
  12. Nov 29, 2010
    1
    This was one of those movies that just plain didn't deliver. You know, the type where the characters are just plain irritating. Build up build up and then nothing. The stupidity of the girls that got them into trouble in the first place and the seemingly helplessness of the parents when dealing with the rapists crew. The whole damn movie was a waste of time. Right up there with Ishtar inThis was one of those movies that just plain didn't deliver. You know, the type where the characters are just plain irritating. Build up build up and then nothing. The stupidity of the girls that got them into trouble in the first place and the seemingly helplessness of the parents when dealing with the rapists crew. The whole damn movie was a waste of time. Right up there with Ishtar in my book. Best part of the movie was the revenge dished out at the end, pardon the pun. Expand
  13. Jun 16, 2014
    0
    An unworthy piece of garbage, what happened to the 1970s' and 1980s' type of horror films. Sure today's technology is better, that's great, but we don't need to go overboard with it. I hope everyone can see where I'm coming from here. This film is very bad and terrible in everyway possible. It's crap compared to Wes Craven's original horror film made back in (1972). If I was on the MPAAAn unworthy piece of garbage, what happened to the 1970s' and 1980s' type of horror films. Sure today's technology is better, that's great, but we don't need to go overboard with it. I hope everyone can see where I'm coming from here. This film is very bad and terrible in everyway possible. It's crap compared to Wes Craven's original horror film made back in (1972). If I was on the MPAA ratings board I would've rated them opposite of each other. The 1972 film gets an R rating and the 2009 remake gets an NC-17. I see no reason why the 1972 film should be given an X rating. I think it definitely deserves an R, but not an X rating, I think the ratings board had bad judgment there. I think now that the film's on DVD and Blu-ray they should re-submit it to the MPAA so they can have another look at it. They should re-release it either in theaters one more time or straight to DVD, so the public and movie-goers can see why they got the rating for this film wrong in the first place. This film has terrible acting, bad scripted dialogue and the special effects are way overboard. I think this film plus the Saw films and the Hostel films should all be given an NC-17 rating. I'm on the fence with Halloween (2007) though. I think that one should stay rated: R. But I do think that the (2009) sequel should be slapped with an NC-17. The violence is more brutal and bloody than the remake. All in all The remake of The Last House On The Left is just pure torture and predictable, everyone should avoid buying this movie at all costs, and someone should contact the MPAA and get this movie re-rated. Expand
  14. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie scarred me for life after the first 30 minutes. After the rape scene I knew for sure that this movie was a huge F U C K. I would advise everyone to buy this movie and then pour gas on it and burn it until it is nothing. Anyone who likes this movie should be castrated and shot in the dome. Oh and go die mikej Expand
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    40
    This new House tries to sustain a grave, heavy sense of threat. It fails, through its villainy.
  2. This remake is merely vile (and dull).
  3. 63
    The wheels fall off toward the end but, until that point, Illiadis does an excellent job of generating and maintaining an intense sense of dread.