Paramount Pictures | Release Date: September 15, 2006
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 60 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
5
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
AlessandraSOct 7, 2006
Wow...whats up with all the mediocre comments? I absolutely loved The Last Kiss. Nothing felt forced, the entire story just kind of rolled without the typical clichés, and predictable scenes. I found myself laughing throughout most of Wow...whats up with all the mediocre comments? I absolutely loved The Last Kiss. Nothing felt forced, the entire story just kind of rolled without the typical clichés, and predictable scenes. I found myself laughing throughout most of the movie. Even some of the serious moments turned out to be hilarious. Moving and touching. A must see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChadShiiraSep 29, 2006
On the side of a bus, Michael(Zach Braff) looks longingly at the woman in a Victoria's Secret advertisement, triggering off singer-songwriter Lisa Germano's haunting answer to what is Victoria's secret: "Your man wishes you On the side of a bus, Michael(Zach Braff) looks longingly at the woman in a Victoria's Secret advertisement, triggering off singer-songwriter Lisa Germano's haunting answer to what is Victoria's secret: "Your man wishes you looked like me." Michael is pretty insufferable because Jenna (Jacinda Barrett) looks like a Victoria's Secret model. His hot girlfriend isn't sufficiently hot enough. Jenna's pretty insufferable too when she describes her future preggo-self as "fat and ugly". "The Last Kiss" is about beautiful people with angst. Its success hinges on the filmmaker's belief that Braff is so cute and adorable; the audience will pardon any men-behaving-badly transgressions. In one sequence, he becomes a puppy, taking the Lloyd with a boombox-sentiment of undying love to the next level. In theory, "The Last Kiss" is pretty damn nauseating, but it does a good job of showing how lust trumps exclusivity towards your beloved if temptation comes in the form of Kim(a very good Rachel Bilson). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LuigiC.Feb 2, 2007
Very underrated. This is a sensitive and real movie about commitment as youth moves into adult hood. It has a heart, laughs and you'll identify with the characters. The acting is great all around. Some of the story around the Very underrated. This is a sensitive and real movie about commitment as youth moves into adult hood. It has a heart, laughs and you'll identify with the characters. The acting is great all around. Some of the story around the parent's is a little forced but it doesn't get in the way. 20-30 somethings aren't going to get it - its above them! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.Sep 13, 2006
The smartest film i've seen all year. The voice of our generation carried out by some of the best vessels in Hollywood. Each actor is prefectly cast. I will bring the rest of my friends on Friday night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ErosC.Sep 14, 2006
Moving and sweet, sexy and harsh, this film has all sorts of moods and moments. It's a serious drama, with quite a lot going on. I especially liked the older couple - nice to see some over-40s covered in a romantic dramedy, for a Moving and sweet, sexy and harsh, this film has all sorts of moods and moments. It's a serious drama, with quite a lot going on. I especially liked the older couple - nice to see some over-40s covered in a romantic dramedy, for a change! Great acting here too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Nov 8, 2006
Paul Haggis's and Tony Goldwyn's entertaining meditation on twentysomething yuppie angst (if those last three words didn't scare you away, you have a good-to-excellent chance of liking this) is one of the only movies ever made Paul Haggis's and Tony Goldwyn's entertaining meditation on twentysomething yuppie angst (if those last three words didn't scare you away, you have a good-to-excellent chance of liking this) is one of the only movies ever made whose poster could've gotten away with filching the tagline of ANOTHER movie: Rob Reiner's 1985 romantic comedy The Sure Thing, with John Cusack, Daphne Zuniga and a very young Nicollette Sheridan: "The sure thing comes once in a lifetime. The real thing lasts forever." Soon-to-be husband and father Michael (Zach Braff) is engaged to sweet, smart and lovely Jenna (Jacinda Barrett, quickly rebounding from Poseidon) but due to nagging "Is-that-all-there-is?" insecurities gets tempted by a stress-relieving, ego-boosting night with free spirit Kim (Rachel Bilson) who, while not exactly a clone of a certain bunny-boiling iconic 1987 movie figure, turns out to also not quite be the zipless fling Michael expected. To the movie's credit, it credibly allows viewers to see both sides of the question: nearly all women will be as infuriated with Michael as Jenna is, while many men will want to shout at the screen, "Dude!!! You got a real babe waiting at home! What the hell are you DOING?!?!?" (The Last Kiss understands that the Kims of the world are ethereal while the Jennas are eternal.) But the price Michael pays, coupled with the lengths he goes through to make amends and Braff's memorably hangdog persona, will leave nearly everyone in the audience hungry for reconciliation and redemption...and the final shot is wisely open-ended and bittersweet. By including lots of supporting and peripheral characters, writer Haggis attempts to dissect romance the way he did racism in Crash to less striking effect (sorry, Paul, but commitmentphobia just doesn't carry the urgency that racially-motivated killings do), but a sort of devil's-advocate counterpoint to the movie's general endorsement of monogamy--in the form of its depiction of the long, seemingly by-the-numbers marriage of Jenna's parents--really scores because Tom Wilkinson and especially Blythe Danner are so resonant. Always a smart, interesting, appealing actress, Danner has become an indispensable one over the last decade: her portrayal of Ben Stiller's sweetly ditsy-like-a-fox future mother-in-law was one of the biggest strengths of Meet the Parents (and the ONLY genuine asset of its sequel). Director Goldwyn's inventively composed closeup of lonely, seemingly unloved Anna (she's not, but she thinks she is, and that's what matters) getting ready for bed is, thanks to Danner's subtlety and artistry, the most indelible image in an American movie so far in 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulG.Oct 4, 2006
You're either with this movie or you're not. I found it convincing and moving. At times a little over the top, but it had a solid cast and they did a good job. Best of all many times the movie leads up to a scene you've seen a You're either with this movie or you're not. I found it convincing and moving. At times a little over the top, but it had a solid cast and they did a good job. Best of all many times the movie leads up to a scene you've seen a 100 times, and then it goes somewhere else. I was with these characters so that I found the end of the film very moving. But I'll allow if you're not clicking with this then you may very well find the end insufferable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Sep 15, 2006
I know that giving a film a 'perfect score' might be overdoing it some, but this film is somewhat of an exception. Zach Braff (as well as the rest of this cast) gave smart and well-rounded performances. The details and meanings I know that giving a film a 'perfect score' might be overdoing it some, but this film is somewhat of an exception. Zach Braff (as well as the rest of this cast) gave smart and well-rounded performances. The details and meanings were overwhelming yet necessary. The story is fresh and original (yes I know, it is a remake). But the story was told in such a delicate manner that it allowed myself to fully embrace all that was happening, both mentally and emotionally. I truly loved this movie in every aspect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveM.Sep 17, 2006
I thought this movie was thoroughly engaging. It definitely surpassed my expectations. The cast was uniformly excellent. Blythe Danner was a standout. I recommend this movie without hesitation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeySep 18, 2006
Everyone's saying it wasn't Garden State, but that should be pretty obvious. ZB already made Garden State. It's a different movie, people, let go. I'm 23 and I identified with a lot in the movie, so I liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
D.Sep 14, 2006
A better writing effort than Haggis' last work. The cast does great work and the direction is solid throughout. The best film about turning 30 since Diner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HamishR.Sep 16, 2006
I love the ensemble feel of this movie. It's honest and moving. A film for our generation, but I'd bring my parents! I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnW.Sep 17, 2006
Decent film of the chick-flick variety. A story of infidelity with a new angle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful