The Longest Yard

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 145
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jesse
    May 28, 2005
    10
    Funniest movie i've seen in the last couple years along with team america.
  2. MichaelB.
    May 30, 2005
    10
    In my opinion, one of Sandler's funniest movies.
  3. leef.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    My wife and i laffed our bleeps off as did most of the audience.
  4. newoby.
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    This movie ROCKED and I dont care what you think this was one of adams best movies
  5. AliS.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    It rocked.
  6. AdeolaM.
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    The more you watch this movie, the funnier it gets. that is the main characteristic of a good comedy. I love adam sandler and chris rock. great combination.
  7. MatthewK.
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    I dont know why people dont like this movie. I thought it was funny to the max. One of the best scense I like the most is when Adam Sandler makes fun of that one short guy with the big ears. WOW that was great. Of course the prison is not realsic and I think the movie did want to make it realict, Come on people its a comandy, Its not to be realsict, thats why its funny haha love the black I dont know why people dont like this movie. I thought it was funny to the max. One of the best scense I like the most is when Adam Sandler makes fun of that one short guy with the big ears. WOW that was great. Of course the prison is not realsic and I think the movie did want to make it realict, Come on people its a comandy, Its not to be realsict, thats why its funny haha love the black guy that gives out Mac donlads haha loved that. Well I give this 10, for the sweet hits and funny scenes. Expand
  8. jason
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    This was an absolutely outstanding movie.
  9. caitlynp.
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Its the best movie ever.
  10. stanleyh.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Excellent movie,very well done,i liked the beginning the most were he crashs his girlfriends car.
  11. PreciousH.
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    First of all for all haters out there ya'll need to stop because the actors on the longest yard did they thang. They were very funny and they worked extra hard too. That movie was very funny to me, Chris and Adam are so talented. But Nelly did his thang on the scene too, I never seen that man act so well and he was lookin' good too. Good job Nelly, keep it up and keep the haters First of all for all haters out there ya'll need to stop because the actors on the longest yard did they thang. They were very funny and they worked extra hard too. That movie was very funny to me, Chris and Adam are so talented. But Nelly did his thang on the scene too, I never seen that man act so well and he was lookin' good too. Good job Nelly, keep it up and keep the haters comin' too. Expand
  12. AngelaW.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie in the hole world. i have watched it over and over and over again and i never get boared. if only every movie was as good as this one.
  13. JasonQ.
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    If you are a foot ball fan you will love this movie it is funny, intersting, and weird but over all it is the BEST movie EVER!!!
  14. JoshH
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    I love this movie. It is funny.
  15. DaveF
    May 28, 2005
    9
    I can't remember the last time I had so much fun at a by-the-numbers movie. Most of the people in the theater were rolling in the aisles laughing. You'll be almost thankful when the movie gets precious
  16. ALexA.
    May 30, 2005
    9
    THis was a very funny and wonderful movie. Adam Sandler was amazing, Chris Rock was F*%@ing great, and the rest of the cast was spectacular. One of my favorite movies of the year.
  17. SusanM.
    May 30, 2005
    9
    BEST comedy I have seen in a long time! Crude, silly and totally unrealistic, the characters are awesome and I couldn't stop laughing!!!
  18. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    A very surprising comedy with darker tones than other Adam Sandler and Happy Madison movies, and honestly I didn't mind, although one or two of the more dramatic moments feel out of place or poorly handled, it's still a fantastic movie, Adam Sandler gave an amazing performance, and the whole thing kept me hooked until the end, and in my opinion this is a must see.
  19. PaulC.
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    It was a really good movie but they just had to keep adding all the parts with the gay guys in spandex and skirts!
  20. BenY.
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    It was a great movie. The only thing I didn't like was how they kept showing the gay guys in spandex and skirts.
  21. CoolR
    Oct 20, 2005
    8
    This movie is funny. People who say it isn't need to get laid
  22. JoeyK.
    Dec 26, 2005
    8
    Very funny. Although the faces may look familiar, it's not quite a typical Adam Sandler movie like Little Nicky or Billy Madison. It has it's good jokes, it's cheap jokes, it's solemn moments, it's tense moments, and protagonist has a nice "likable" feel to them. I've never seen the original, so I won't compare. But either way, I reccomend this movie.
  23. Aug 15, 2010
    8
    Adam Sandler and Chris Rock use their own expertise in comedy to inject a fair few laughs into this amusing (and, at one point, sad) flick. It will appeal to footballers and comedy-lovers alike.
  24. Jan 25, 2014
    8
    really funny!!! i don't understand who criticize this movie because it not show the true life in jail...IT'S A COMEDY(probably the best Adam Sandler's movie)
  25. Mar 1, 2014
    8
    People who are part of the Happy Madison audience will get exactly what they are expecting from an Adam Sandler comedy. Juvenile humor, product placements, and sports jokes.
  26. Mar 18, 2015
    8
    I'm not a huge football fan, but I love a good football comedy. The Longest Yard is as good as any. I never watched the original film but I think its cool to bring back Burt Reynolds who was the star of the original movie from 1974. This movie features Adam Sandler who was at the top of his game as an actor and producer and some of his common collaborators like Chris Rock ( who may be theI'm not a huge football fan, but I love a good football comedy. The Longest Yard is as good as any. I never watched the original film but I think its cool to bring back Burt Reynolds who was the star of the original movie from 1974. This movie features Adam Sandler who was at the top of his game as an actor and producer and some of his common collaborators like Chris Rock ( who may be the best character in the film) and Terry Crews as the hilarious Cheeseburger Eddie. The Longest Yard has an outstanding cast overall with several funny characters and despite its clich├ęs it still manages to be as strong of a sport comedy as they come. This film has made the rounds on cable television numerous times after 10 years and if you've never seen it tune in sometime. Expand
  27. NathanS.
    May 31, 2005
    7
    I can't compare this movie to the original, since I haven't seen it. However, I will say that this movie is an example of Adam Sandler stepping out of his typical role and pulling off a good comedy with dramatic moments. It's not the best movie I've ever seen...not even close, really. But it's good for what it is: a semi-dramatic sports comedy. Some people have to I can't compare this movie to the original, since I haven't seen it. However, I will say that this movie is an example of Adam Sandler stepping out of his typical role and pulling off a good comedy with dramatic moments. It's not the best movie I've ever seen...not even close, really. But it's good for what it is: a semi-dramatic sports comedy. Some people have to have deep dialogue, hidden meaning, and vivid imagery in their flims. This isn't for them. The Longest Yard is a light-hearted attempt to mock both sides of the judicial system and provide a little fun football action, and it does both jobs well. Expand
  28. RickyQ.
    Jun 27, 2005
    7
    Not great but still a good Adam Sandler film.
  29. BitBurn
    Sep 21, 2005
    7
    More like 7.5/10. Great storyline, good action scenes, fun to watch...then again I'm a big Sandler fan. It helps.
  30. Sam
    Mar 26, 2007
    7
    Adam Sandlar stars in an inserting role as a confused ex-football pro whose life gets turned upside down after he is arrested and sentenced to prison for drinking and driving with a vehicle he stole from his girlfriend. The first 15 minutes of the film are boring and leave the viewer indifferent. The jokes become more and more ridiculous as the plot unravels in a federal state prison. Adam Sandlar stars in an inserting role as a confused ex-football pro whose life gets turned upside down after he is arrested and sentenced to prison for drinking and driving with a vehicle he stole from his girlfriend. The first 15 minutes of the film are boring and leave the viewer indifferent. The jokes become more and more ridiculous as the plot unravels in a federal state prison. Sandlar continues to drain out his performance as a boring, heartless man while James Cromwell, Burt Reynolds, and Chris Rock essentially convey grand performances as very interesting and at times hilarious people. Seeing Sandlar Expand
  31. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    It was a ok movie. I'm not to fond of the remakes, some movies just need to be left alone. This remake wasn't to bad, it keep almost to the original storyline,which make it worth watching. It had a also an all-star cast of actors. It's worth seeing,but not paying top dollar for.
  32. chw
    Jul 19, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Longest Yard was the second best movie I've seen that starred Adam Sandler (first being Happy Gilmore), and I'm surprised that Burt Reynolds wanted to star in the film, because his character had to get rammed by one of the guards. Sure they used effects, but still, he's pretty old now. Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. If you're thinking of seeing it, and you're old enough to drive (or even read this), do yourself a favor and rent the original instead.
  2. 40
    Sandler's performance is aimed squarely at the fans who love his smarty-pants man-boy shtick and Rock gets off some funny lines, but overall this is one dreary, formulaic slog through sports-movie cliches.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    75
    The new version has the zip of a 96-yard punt return and all the ingredients to inspire the celebratory crushing of empty beer cans.