User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1464 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    this is one of the best films ever, i love the storyline, the action sequences, the coolness, everything about it, it doesn't have any faults really.
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    probably one of the best fantasy movies out there,with epic effects,a well made story and the movie followed the book well(although they did leave one epic scene out).The music added to the move was brilliant and perfectly matched with the film.Overall 10/10
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    The Lord of the Rings is a modern day classic, a film series that will live in legend. The first film, The Fellowship of the Ring begins the adventure of Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin and the forming of the fellowship to destroy The One Ring in the fires of Mt Doom. After inherriting a mysterious ring on his uncles 111th birthday, Frodo is warned by the old wizard Gandalf that the ringThe Lord of the Rings is a modern day classic, a film series that will live in legend. The first film, The Fellowship of the Ring begins the adventure of Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin and the forming of the fellowship to destroy The One Ring in the fires of Mt Doom. After inherriting a mysterious ring on his uncles 111th birthday, Frodo is warned by the old wizard Gandalf that the ring possesses an evil power that could bring about the rise of the dark lord Sauron to cast shadow over all of middle earth. As the Hobbits travel to Rivendell they begin a fellowship consisting of many different races from across middle earth who will sacrifice their lives to get this ring to Mordor. Peter Jackson has masterfully transferred Middle Earth from page to screen, making it feel real and incredibly lifelike. A film that everyone should watch Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    This was a FANTASTIC film based on a FANTASTIC book. It is one of the few book-to-film conversions that I approved of and it was great. The casting was spot-on as well.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This movie was true to the books. Everything in the movie looked the way I imagined it looking when I read the book long ago when I was a boy. Although, I usually don't like CGI, the CGI in this trilogy is absolutely great. As are the costumes and sets. Gollum is the first CGI character from a serious film that I have liked. It is probably because he was basically a virtual puppet that anThis movie was true to the books. Everything in the movie looked the way I imagined it looking when I read the book long ago when I was a boy. Although, I usually don't like CGI, the CGI in this trilogy is absolutely great. As are the costumes and sets. Gollum is the first CGI character from a serious film that I have liked. It is probably because he was basically a virtual puppet that an actual puppeteer,controlled and they recorded the data points in a computer and then drew the CGI around his movements. Way better than Jar Jar Binks in Start Wars lol! Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    this movie good. me like this movie. i like it lot. you should like too. it good movie. me like it lot. me really like movie cuz movie good. if you no like movie then you is a stupid.
  7. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This movie in one word: AWESOME. The cast is excellent and the story even so good. I like the story and the film is well directed by Peter Jackson. The creatures are very nice. I love this film a lot. A must see
  8. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Perfectly directed, adapted, written, acted and orchestrated, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is a near perfect film in my eyes. From the sequence on the Shire to the final scene in the film, "The Fellowship of the Ring" is briskly paced, completely engaging and emotionally powerful. This film is my all time favourite!
  9. KeithE.
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    The first installment of the classic series the Lord Of The Rings was cinematically beautiful and awe inspiring. The battle scenes were very enjoyable. The creatures of Tolkien's world were well portrayed and believable. I would have chosen someone other than Elijah Wood to portray Froto, but Wood played his part well. Fabulous movie and left most viewers awaiting more.
  10. MattL.
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    This is the movie that started the mother of all movie trilogies. Filmmaking will never be the same. Visually stunning, emotionally riveting, and dramatically inspiring.
  11. Anonymous
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    A great start to a great trilogy. Never bores you. Despite all the mythicism surrounding him, Frodo is a character almost anybody can relate to. The battles are great, but Moria's where it really shines. Scenery is great. Start here and work you way through. It only gets better.
  12. VictorG
    May 4, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite movie of all Time & by saying so i don't need to give any details or reasons.
  13. JoeyV.
    Jan 10, 2002
    10
    I started reading the book like 3 years ago, it seemed boring and extremely discriptive for my taste, any way, I thought I was only about magicians and elves and dwarfs, nothing big...I was sooo wrong. I saw the movie and it really involved me into it...it's about honor and pride and friendship and human values that are vanishing right now. Great effects, excellent acting roles, I started reading the book like 3 years ago, it seemed boring and extremely discriptive for my taste, any way, I thought I was only about magicians and elves and dwarfs, nothing big...I was sooo wrong. I saw the movie and it really involved me into it...it's about honor and pride and friendship and human values that are vanishing right now. Great effects, excellent acting roles, brilliant music...I couln't have asked more. Expand
  14. RichardG.
    Oct 4, 2002
    10
    Very GOOD!!, this movie depicts everything which one would expect in this type of genre. The acting is splended, the lighting is great, the fights and of course the plot is fantastic. Definitely one to see, and it leaves you wanting more & more & more.....
  15. *~SuGa_BaBi~*
    Apr 15, 2002
    10
    Original, exciting, riveting and entertaining...brings the book to life...all tha actors, music, special effects, and scenery were brilliant! Truly, a totally mad movie. Couldn't be betta!
  16. EmilyH.
    Jun 6, 2002
    10
    This is one of my favorite movies I don't see how anyone could not like it! Who would be so crazy as to give it a 1 or 0?
  17. JoshuaW.
    Aug 2, 2002
    10
    Yes, I believe this movie to be excellant. It certainly will go down in the history books as one of the greatest films of all time. It is a different kind of film than "Citizen Kane", but no less important to cinema. That is why there are so many types of film genres. Those out there who have given this movie a rating of 1 or 0 are really just being spoiled sports. O.K., so you Yes, I believe this movie to be excellant. It certainly will go down in the history books as one of the greatest films of all time. It is a different kind of film than "Citizen Kane", but no less important to cinema. That is why there are so many types of film genres. Those out there who have given this movie a rating of 1 or 0 are really just being spoiled sports. O.K., so you didn't like the story or the acting, fine. That's a matter of taste, but this is a film, which means that the story and acting are just a part of it's entirety. Set design, musical score, cinematography, etc.. are also important factors that must be acknowledged when reviewing a film. This movie was and is an excellantly crafted piece of cinema. In my opinion it seemlessly merged the technical aspects with the creative ones. I loved the story, directing, cinematography, acting, special effects, etc.. If you don't agree about the acting or story, well as much as I may dissagree with you that's fine, however it is unjust to give this film such a low rating when it obviously was so well made from a production stand point. It is only fair to acknowledge it's achievements where they are undeniable, regardless of personal preferences. Expand
  18. SimonM.
    Sep 5, 2002
    10
    It was the best movie i have ever seen. i have bought all of the lord of the rings movies gear and i cant wait untill the lord of the rings the two towers comes out, but i know how it ends now because i just finished the books yesterday.
  19. PederD.
    May 2, 2003
    10
    Best movie ever!!!
  20. LlsE.
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    The best film I have ever seen.
  21. RobbyZ.
    Apr 8, 2010
    10
    Extraordinary. Wondrous to behold.
  22. X
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    When I saw this movie I didn't get all I expected... I got more than I expected. This movie clearly earned the academy awards it won, if not it should have won more. I love the fight scenes and most of the characters. The visual effects were stunning, I liked the work on the Balrog the most. As for the costumes: excellent. As for the soundtrack, a definite must buy for music-lovers. When I saw this movie I didn't get all I expected... I got more than I expected. This movie clearly earned the academy awards it won, if not it should have won more. I love the fight scenes and most of the characters. The visual effects were stunning, I liked the work on the Balrog the most. As for the costumes: excellent. As for the soundtrack, a definite must buy for music-lovers. As for those who have given it less than satisfactory ratings you clearly have poor taste in movies, the patience of kindergarteners, and a lack of appreciation of good movies. Yes the movie is long, big whoop, the book was even longer. All we got was half the book put into three hours, plus the beginning of "The Two Towers" but more was intended but didn't make the final cut. The ending. Ever hear of a "cliffhanger"? no, wait, you don't know what a cliffhanger is cause you're too busy whining over the fact you can't appreciate good movies because of your poor taste. Endings like that are left open to make the audience come back for more. As for character development, who cares? This is THE FIRST PART of the trilogy. All they did was introduce the basic 8 to 9 characters of the story. Jackson has indicated that there will be development in the next one as each character is going on their own adventures, especially where Aragorn is concerned. To those who missed out, I, like the majority of the reviewers, recommend this film. Expand
  23. MichelleP.
    Oct 21, 2002
    10
    Man, was this movie great. It seemed to have everything I liked in it. And, even though it wasn't as faithful, it seemed to capture the spirit and magic of the book better than "Harry Potter" could. I just don't get the people who gave it bad reviews. One person said the movie was too violent. Geez! What were they expecting? A happy little fairy tale? No. The thing about "Lord Man, was this movie great. It seemed to have everything I liked in it. And, even though it wasn't as faithful, it seemed to capture the spirit and magic of the book better than "Harry Potter" could. I just don't get the people who gave it bad reviews. One person said the movie was too violent. Geez! What were they expecting? A happy little fairy tale? No. The thing about "Lord of the Rings" is that it takes fantasy elements seriously. One said it was too scary and violent for children. Eh, HELLO! Did you, or did you not notice the PG-13 rating?! And that's a parental guidance opinion for crying out loud... One of my favorite things about this movie was Frodo, Sam, Merry, and Pippin. They were just so...well, cute! Another thing I savored about this movie (and book) was the dark story.... so suspenseful, breathtaking, I LOVE it! Expand
  24. H.S.
    Jan 2, 2002
    10
    This is a great movie! Some say that the actors aren't convincing (e.g. Mr. Steven Rea of the Philadelphia Inquirer calling Wood's Frodo a wuss), but that may be because they had read the trilogy, and have a certain expectation as to how the characters are. I haven't read the books, so to me, it makes sense that Wood's Frodo, who is supposed to be a friendly Hobbit, This is a great movie! Some say that the actors aren't convincing (e.g. Mr. Steven Rea of the Philadelphia Inquirer calling Wood's Frodo a wuss), but that may be because they had read the trilogy, and have a certain expectation as to how the characters are. I haven't read the books, so to me, it makes sense that Wood's Frodo, who is supposed to be a friendly Hobbit, acts like a wuss. I guess ignorance is bliss. I must say Viggo Mortensen is way cool and perfect for the role, much like Hugh Jackman in X-Men (Aussie Aussie Aussie! Oy Oy Oy!) Expand
  25. Realone
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    It's a very special movie. The movie is very good.
  26. BrianF.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    By far the most imaginative film I have seen on the big screen since Star Wars was rereleased in 97. I was kind of interested in Hary Potter, seeing as the books were entertaining. But after that dissappointment of that film, I was a little afraid to get excited about Lord of the Rings. They were not my favorite books. But Jackson completely laid to rest any of my fears, showing that he By far the most imaginative film I have seen on the big screen since Star Wars was rereleased in 97. I was kind of interested in Hary Potter, seeing as the books were entertaining. But after that dissappointment of that film, I was a little afraid to get excited about Lord of the Rings. They were not my favorite books. But Jackson completely laid to rest any of my fears, showing that he is more than capable of bringing a book to the screen. Expand
  27. T.B.
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    This was the greatest movie I ever saw. I can hardly wait until it is on VHS.
  28. LucasC.
    Feb 26, 2002
    10
    I really loved this movie. It was a beautifully recreated movie of the epic novel by J.R.R. Tolkien. The only disappointment (which didn't affect my vote much) was [Ed: potential spoiler omitted]. There were a few other instances in the movie where it did not follow the book, but that did not stop me from seeing nine times(which will probably be ten quite soon). As I have said before I really loved this movie. It was a beautifully recreated movie of the epic novel by J.R.R. Tolkien. The only disappointment (which didn't affect my vote much) was [Ed: potential spoiler omitted]. There were a few other instances in the movie where it did not follow the book, but that did not stop me from seeing nine times(which will probably be ten quite soon). As I have said before I really loved this movie and it was created exactly like most people imagined it thanks to Peter Jackson (all us Tolkien buffs appreciated your lovely work. Thanks again)! Expand
  29. MarianC.
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    This is the greatest film ever made in the English language -- which means the greatest film ever made. It is a thing of beauty and will be a joy forever.
  30. ShubachiC.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    Awesome! I read the book as well previously though the movie lacks some of the imaginative material in your imagination, its got cool effects!
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    I see it as nearly perfect: It's one of the best fantasy pictures ever made.
  2. An extraordinary work, grandly conceived, brilliantly executed and wildly entertaining. It's a hobbit's dream, a wizard's delight. And, of course, it's only the beginning.
  3. 70
    Above all, Jackson evokes an almost palpable sense of the will to power trapped within the ring. Without this evocation of the ring's insidious ability to sniff out the potential for corruption and capitalize on it, the entire enterprise would be precious drivel.