New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 17, 2003
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2201 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,032
Mixed:
63
Negative:
106
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
tomymgDec 16, 2012
This is simply a masterpiece.
You will never see a trilogy like this one, essential for your cinematographic culture. The Return of the King is the prove that third parts can be much better than the first or second one.
17 of 18 users found this helpful171
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
It's a perfect epic. There's not one false step. The battles are incredible, the characters just as fun as ever. This movie is basically flawless. One of the best ever
37 of 42 users found this helpful375
All this user's reviews
10
GeorgeS.Sep 26, 2008
This movie is supreme in every aspect: visualy, story-wise, directing and with an extraordinary soundtrack. My personal favorite ever since I saw it!
16 of 19 users found this helpful
10
pauljohnsonJun 6, 2012
There's nothing that I can say in praise of this film that hasn't already been said. One of the best movies, of the best movie trilogy ever made. Stunning, stunning, and stunning.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
Brad7991Jul 21, 2012
the best trilogy ever created. Peter Jackson has done what most people thought was impossible, made 3 amazing movies. Lotr deserved all 17 of its Oscars and probably more. this will remain my top 3 movies ever!!
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
starwooowMar 8, 2015
i guess people gave this movie rate under 4 or five are pretty retarded and so ridicoulus. this is spectacular film and got many critical acclaimed. the fact saying every element in LOTR are near perfect. music score, script, visual andi guess people gave this movie rate under 4 or five are pretty retarded and so ridicoulus. this is spectacular film and got many critical acclaimed. the fact saying every element in LOTR are near perfect. music score, script, visual and effects, acting, sound, design, cinematography and etc. people with NORMAL brain couldn't gave the lord of the rings so low rating. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
RyMintzDec 20, 2012
Quite possibly the most satisfying and epic conclusion to an already perfect trilogy, the Return of the King is a testament to both the genius of the filmmakers and the original author J.R.R. Tolkien. It blends seamlessly with the FellowshipQuite possibly the most satisfying and epic conclusion to an already perfect trilogy, the Return of the King is a testament to both the genius of the filmmakers and the original author J.R.R. Tolkien. It blends seamlessly with the Fellowship of the Ring and the Two Towers to create the journey and story that , and yet stands on its own as a masterpiece, a masterful piece of cinema that will endure till the end of days. Its visual grandeur, cinematographic excellence, musical dexterity, haunting narrative, and ultimate perfection coalesce to create a tale, unlimited in emotional richness, that will resonate through the ages. Every viewing of the film for me is a journey in and of itself, one that ultimately ends in tears (I hear Gandalf lamenting right now "I will not say do not weep, for not all tears are an evil"). I fondly recall the midnight premiere of film and how, when I looked around at the audience during the Grey Havens scene, there was not a dry eye in the house, including my father who has (forgive me for the clicheness ) the emotional range of a teaspoon. If that isn't evidence for the profound emotionality of the film, then I don't know what is. Little scenes throughout the film as well elicited such powerful reactions from the audience I couldn't help but feel even more emotion because of that. The Ride of the Rohirrim, Aragorn's speech, Gandalf and Pippin's moment during the Siege of Minas Tirith, and many other scenes throughout the film, whether they induced goosebumps or tears, created an energy in the theatre that was both palpable and moving. Once the text "The End" appeared on screen, there was a moment of silence, and then an uproar of applause and cheering. Once again, brought to tears. In any case, the Return of the King is and will ever be a Goliath among films, and I cannot imagine that a film will ever be made that will come to dwarf a film such as this. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
BobLuxenburgJan 20, 2004
Cormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cupCormac P., heres what i want u to do, BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!! SO DON'T YOU ANDREW K!!!!!!!!! How can you how can you say that its nothing when everything about this movie is spectaculer. Even you, yes you Frieda L, you can suck my cup of tea. And everyone that disis it like Robert H, Leigh C, David R, Arleen, Dwayne R, Jawad S, Joe B, J R, Goliath, Harriet, Bob B, Sally L, Rebecca R, Fantasy, Jude T, Simon L, C B, Antonio A, John D, Joyce T, Rick S, Sweet angle, Brian K, Mike G, Jeffery G, Matt B, Eric M, Matt R, Maria T, Marcus B, Matt P, John S, Sam K, Joe C, i want you all to die and rott in hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have no joy in this series so all of you all are full of s&^%t!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you all are the weakest link. goodbye. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
J.kJan 4, 2006
It's a movie with a lot of war i love it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
WilliamH.Apr 6, 2008
These films show film journalists and fans everywhere that fantasy films can be absolutely superb. And this film has been the perfect end to what has been an epic masterpiece and adventure.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AnnieW.Jun 18, 2004
The best movie ever made.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
maestraretiradaApr 15, 2011
This film clearly is the best triology made of our time and we are so lucky to have live this experience thoughout 2001-2002 and 2003 phenomenon, The Hobbit is coming soon!!!!! i have a feeling that this will be as good as this threeThis film clearly is the best triology made of our time and we are so lucky to have live this experience thoughout 2001-2002 and 2003 phenomenon, The Hobbit is coming soon!!!!! i have a feeling that this will be as good as this three brilliant masterpieces Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
CaestusMar 4, 2013
Its the awesome final to a awesome trilogy and tops even its two predecessor. I lost myself in the film, when I was watching it. The best in the trilogy and one of the best films to be ever made.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BreakingBradJan 27, 2013
The Lord of the Rings trilogy is the greatest trilogy of films ever made, and this is one of the finest examples of brilliant filmmaking of all time. Peter Jackson is an incredible visionary, the cast is great, it adapts the book very well,The Lord of the Rings trilogy is the greatest trilogy of films ever made, and this is one of the finest examples of brilliant filmmaking of all time. Peter Jackson is an incredible visionary, the cast is great, it adapts the book very well, and it all adds up to one of the best films ever made. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ScorpionMay 19, 2013
The beginning is may seem a little fast, playing various information to the public, but the rest is perfect, and ends in a phenomenal trilogy Peter Jacson, besides revolutionize the industry of special effects, it proves that it has specialThe beginning is may seem a little fast, playing various information to the public, but the rest is perfect, and ends in a phenomenal trilogy Peter Jacson, besides revolutionize the industry of special effects, it proves that it has special effects like mixing first and an epic story in a single film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
I really enjoyed the epic and emotional complexity of the entire film. While the ending may seem overly long (at over 3 hours, that is a bit excessive), but the film is brought to a conclusion that is magical and satisfying. I enjoyed theI really enjoyed the epic and emotional complexity of the entire film. While the ending may seem overly long (at over 3 hours, that is a bit excessive), but the film is brought to a conclusion that is magical and satisfying. I enjoyed the action, the visuals, the script, the music and the acting. This is a great fantasy film that will live on forever. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
The Return of the King is by FAR the most moving, inspirational and epic of the three parts in Peter Jackon's take on Tolkien's fantasy masterpiece. After proving that this trilogy can carry the weight of a truly enormous body of text withThe Return of the King is by FAR the most moving, inspirational and epic of the three parts in Peter Jackon's take on Tolkien's fantasy masterpiece. After proving that this trilogy can carry the weight of a truly enormous body of text with the Fellowship of the Ring and the Two Towers, Jackson has shown that nothing is impossible anymore when being brought to film, and that fantasy can be surreal, but grounded to reality. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JiggyG.Nov 7, 2005
A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and A fitting end to the greatest film trilogy ever created. Everything, from the acting, to the cinematography, to the special effects, to the score, is flawless. Return of the King retains Tolkien's ascending level of excitement and suspense. Yes, Jackson removed some scenes, but in the interest of time, it was worth it. Lord of the Rings is spectacular in every regard; LOTR is to our time what Star Wars was to the late 70s-80s....purely amazing filmmaking. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamXApr 1, 2006
Flawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted anotherFlawless CGI really brings Tolkien's creatures to life in this film. Peter Jackson has done it again, he was made for adapting long books to long films. With King Kong the plot had to be stretched because Jackson obviously wanted another long film, like one of these LotR movies. But with Jackson working with Tolkien's books he couldn't have gone wrong. He filled the cinematic Middle Earth with almost everything Tolkien described, and followed Tolkien's sequence of events quite closely. At some points the film sores to give a feeling that you're watching a true legend unfold before your eyes, like the scene where the Witch King gets killed by Eowyn. Sir Ian McKellen is a terrific actor and some of the lines which actors say carry real wisdom in them. The musical score was absolutely beautiful, the best of any movie I've ever seen and probably ever will see. The plot was the most engaging and interesting ever, with fight-scenes all over the place to keep the less taken-in among us in our seats. Even the fight scenes have their own emotional beauty to them. And although the ending of the film was heavily criticized for being too long, I feel it was necessary as it was not a case of ending the film, but ending the film for each character in turn. The film deserves all the 10/10s it recieves, and is truly a masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CarolynFeb 2, 2004
Perfect.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BoydL.Mar 2, 2004
Awesome.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
HunterB.Jun 19, 2004
Best movie ever.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamuelU.Dec 5, 2005
One of the greatest films of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 3, 2006
Peter Jackson is an absoloute marvel at filmaking, even the spectacular action scenes have their share of emotional beauty. The Return of the King is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen, surpassed by Jackson's King Kong.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobertEDec 3, 2007
Greatest movie of all time, and for those of you that give it 0's you are ignorant people that haven't read the books and decide that watching the movie should do it all for you. You people can go watch dawn of the dead or some Greatest movie of all time, and for those of you that give it 0's you are ignorant people that haven't read the books and decide that watching the movie should do it all for you. You people can go watch dawn of the dead or some shit and give it 10's and have no idea what a truly great movie entails. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ROBJul 8, 2008
It kept me focused the entire 3+ hours, and excited. That is a testament to a truly great epic. It had everything I could ask for in a fantasy movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AdrianV.Feb 17, 2009
Everything but the acting was perfect. Not, the acting wasn't bad it was a bit more than ok even. Yes, i agree with that, and everyone who didn`t liked the series, but that isn`t the point! it`s a fabulos story told perfect it` doesn`t Everything but the acting was perfect. Not, the acting wasn't bad it was a bit more than ok even. Yes, i agree with that, and everyone who didn`t liked the series, but that isn`t the point! it`s a fabulos story told perfect it` doesn`t need even more exagerations from the actors to ruin it. it was acted as it should have been. Few movies ever made me cry this made me more than cry at the end. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JakeDec 14, 2005
First you complain about the first two movies not wrapping up the story.....now you complain about the complete opposite. I watched the extended version of this film and was actually surprised that it was 250 minutes long. Seemed like a lot First you complain about the first two movies not wrapping up the story.....now you complain about the complete opposite. I watched the extended version of this film and was actually surprised that it was 250 minutes long. Seemed like a lot less. Anyone who's read this book should agree that if Peter Jackson had ended it the same way tolkein did it the climax would have come at the hour-and-a-half mark, with 3 more hours to go, which is fine for a book which is read in multiple sittings but tourture for a movie. I'm glad Jackson ended it like he did and wrapped everything up. Well done sir! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
brasdJan 20, 2011
By far this is my all time favorite movie. It surpasses virtually every other movie in every way. The lord of the Rings Return of the king is a must see before you kick the bucket.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
reveiwmanmysterMar 13, 2011
I love this movie so very much. Every time i see it, it still tears me up after watching it at least 9 times. Even though it is really hard to tell what there saying( another marvelous feet by the director). An incredible movie that i thinkI love this movie so very much. Every time i see it, it still tears me up after watching it at least 9 times. Even though it is really hard to tell what there saying( another marvelous feet by the director). An incredible movie that i think has the best freaking ending ever. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews