Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 14, 2013
    100
    Rob Zombie understands horror as an aural-visual experience that should gnaw at the nerves, seep into the subconscious, and beget unshakeable nightmares.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Apr 14, 2013
    83
    The Lords of Salem is a product of Zombie’s better creative impulses, so it’s ok that it also features several of his worse indulgences, too.
  3. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Apr 18, 2013
    75
    Movies by Rob Zombie, the goth rocker turned cult filmmaker, aren’t for everybody. But he couldn’t care less. He makes movies exactly the way he wants to, with no thought of pleasing mainstream audiences. They can like it or lump it. His latest effort, The Lords of Salem, is true to form.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 16, 2013
    60
    This may be terrifying news to Rob Zombie fans, but after years mining the 1970s for gunky shock moments, the musician-turned-filmmaker has emerged as an unusually sensitive director of actors.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 18, 2013
    60
    Considerable care goes into establishing the premise, but the film eventually abandons psychological subtlety for hallucinatory garishness, which is too bad.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Apr 14, 2013
    50
    The helmer’s narrative dead end here registers not as a lack of nerve so much as a lack of imagination.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 16, 2013
    25
    This one is so bad it’s hilarious. Sheri Moon Zombie is no Mia Farrow, Rob Zombie is no Roman Polanski, and The Lords of Salem seems to have been made by people on the rubber bus headed for a rubber room with bars on the windows.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    The Lords of Salem by Rob Zombie: A really awesome movie, I was surprised, Rob Zombie puts passion for this film is seen in the care that hasThe Lords of Salem by Rob Zombie: A really awesome movie, I was surprised, Rob Zombie puts passion for this film is seen in the care that has to make it happen, wonderful. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    Visually grand, disturbing and intensely creepy; The Lords of Salem provides all these along with plenty of nightmarish imagery and greatVisually grand, disturbing and intensely creepy; The Lords of Salem provides all these along with plenty of nightmarish imagery and great sound design, but unfortunately isn't really that scary and it can feel a little campy sometimes due to silly dialogue and overacted (and underacted) performances. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    Rob Zombie is back with his horror thriller- The Lords Of Salem. Now, its a good movie period. You remember when Zombie made great horrorRob Zombie is back with his horror thriller- The Lords Of Salem. Now, its a good movie period. You remember when Zombie made great horror films? Well The Lords Of Salem is just that and more, the film is Rob's gory story with a god and Christian twist and religion with the Salems is just Rob Zombie's thing. You will get scared, you will laugh not really), and you will understand this horror movie. It's not like The Ring where you have to put a brainy nerd to understand it for you. Well in the end for a good ticket price, I had my money's worth. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    5
    I wanted to enjoy it much more than I did. I still feel that Zombie is an excellent director but I am doubting his ability as a writer, atI wanted to enjoy it much more than I did. I still feel that Zombie is an excellent director but I am doubting his ability as a writer, at least with this film. I couldn't help but pick out the similarities in plot to an excellent film the House of the Devil only with the addition of witches and the Salem location. I still believe that Rob has his horror masterpiece still to come but this was most certainly not it. Collapse
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    Not my favorite Rob Zombie movie, but if your a fan of his it is definitely worth a watch. The movie has points where it drags and to beNot my favorite Rob Zombie movie, but if your a fan of his it is definitely worth a watch. The movie has points where it drags and to be honest there are some scenes I don't know what's going on. Visually it is his best work and know doubt about it there is some insane things going on here. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    4
    A DJ plays a record that casts a musical spell. It unleashes dark powers of witchcraft and Satanism. Director Rob Zombie is like an eager filmA DJ plays a record that casts a musical spell. It unleashes dark powers of witchcraft and Satanism. Director Rob Zombie is like an eager film student, flexing his stylistic muscle: one minute it's arty, then macabre, then trippy, then just silly. There's an intense soundtrack and a cast of non-Hollywood types, which amplifies the ominous vibe. While there are effective moments, this mashup of approaches lacks any frights or tension…just a collage of creepy. Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2013
    0
    This movie was horrible. The plot was lame. He used his wife (again) as a star role, which is getting really old. The end was really bad. HeThis movie was horrible. The plot was lame. He used his wife (again) as a star role, which is getting really old. The end was really bad. He had a bunch of pictures flash with cheesy Photoshop effects that a grade school kid could do and the movie just never took off. Find a new hobby Z man. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers