Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Apr 19, 2012
    38
    Another Nicholas Sparks novel, another cinematic brush with insulin shock.
  2. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 19, 2012
    38
    Director Scott Hicks lavishes good taste and sunsets on a story that - devoid of genuine tension, conflict or combustible chemistry between its two stars - just prettily sits there.
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Apr 19, 2012
    38
    Seeing her (Schilling) and Efron fumble at each other is like watching a stick of butter and a bag of flour not turn into a cake.
  4. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Apr 19, 2012
    30
    If realism is what you're after, you'll do better at "The Three Stooges." The Lucky One is where you will find death, redemption and kisses in the rain.
  5. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Apr 17, 2012
    30
    No amount of neck nuzzling or back arching can make us believe there's real heat rising between these two. Onscreen chemistry between actors is a mysterious thing - 100 years into cinema, it remains the one story element that Hollywood can't fake.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 17, 2012
    30
    Embalming the simple and simplistic yarn in an amber glow that is all but suffocating and banishing from it any traces of humor and spontaneity, director Scott Hicks serves up this treacly tale with absolutely no trace of self-consciousness about the material's cliches or simple-mindedness.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Apr 20, 2012
    25
    Supposedly he's suffered, supposedly there are demons lurking within, but guess what: This is a movie. If we can't see it, it's not there.
  8. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Apr 20, 2012
    25
    I'm beginning to think writer Nicholas Sparks isn't one person at all, but a roomful of ladies doing Harlequin-romance Mad Libs. Occasionally they'll hit a winning combination, as in the Sparks novel "The Notebook." More often, you get eye-rollers like "The Lucky One."
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 19, 2012
    25
    Is it the worst of the seven screen Sparks so far? Nope. My vote still goes to 2009's "The Last Song" with Miley Cyrus mothering those unhatched turtle eggs. But it's still pretty damn insufferable.
  10. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 18, 2012
    25
    Move along, guys. Nothing to see in The Lucky One, unless you're in the doghouse at home and need to make nice.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    I've got to admit, the setup works, but the climax is pure deus ex machina. The Lucky One begins with circumstances falling upon Logan, and ends with circumstances exonerating him from the need to do anything about his rival, Keith. This is weak storytelling. At least the cinematography has everything there should be in a date movie; sunrise and sunset shots, carefully placed lens flare in moments of passionate kissing, etc. It's a pretty movie, I'll give it that, but the casting in The Lucky One doesn't work. Efron is all wrong for the role, in any realistic sense. He's got to be the scrawniest, most sensitive marine I've ever seen, and Schilling is lacking in the having "it" category. For a tale of love and lust, The Lucky One comes up half short. Full review on my blog. Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2012
    3
    This movie is almost identical to the notebook and other movies. This movie had its moments but most of the love moments have been seen in alot of other movies. The Lucky One is just another repetitive movie Full Review »
  3. Apr 20, 2012
    6
    Sorry to all the people, but I think that the movie is guy (yes I'm like this type of movies), I think that is good watching Zac Efron in other movies (after HSM), but the problem is his performance, is not the better, have some moments but need be better, the rest of the cast have regular performances. Now the story, is good, romantic, and all this things, but the problem is the development, have some problems in the story of the movie. The Lucky One is for the girls that like of this genre of movies (I included), but the rest of the people can watch other thing. Full Review »