The Lucky One

The Lucky One Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: U.S. Marine Sergeant Logan Thibault returns from his third tour of duty in Iraq, with the one thing he credits with keeping him alive—a photograph he found of a woman he doesn't even know. Discovering her name is Beth and where she lives, he shows up at her door, and ends up taking a job atU.S. Marine Sergeant Logan Thibault returns from his third tour of duty in Iraq, with the one thing he credits with keeping him alive—a photograph he found of a woman he doesn't even know. Discovering her name is Beth and where she lives, he shows up at her door, and ends up taking a job at her family-run local kennel. Despite her initial mistrust and the complications in her life, a romance develops between them, giving Logan hope that Beth could be much more than his good luck charm. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 19, 2012
    63
    Efron, who wears an "All glory is fleeting" tattoo on his back and a soulful look on his face, gets to be more of a grown-up in The Lucky One than in most of what he's done before.
  2. Reviewed by: Emma Dibdin
    May 7, 2012
    60
    A through-and-through weepie that's unlikely to convert any Sparks naysayers. The darker hues of its war-based story nonetheless make the sugary excesses easier to swallow.
  3. Reviewed by: Tal Rosenberg
    Apr 22, 2012
    50
    As long as Efron's shirt comes off, he could play an accountant and no one in the target audience would care.
  4. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Apr 19, 2012
    40
    The emotions are flat, predictable and forced when they ought to be romantic.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 20, 2012
    40
    As with its gooey, smoochy predecessors, The Lucky One is, beneath it all, a fairy-tale romance, just one with modern trappings.
  6. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Apr 19, 2012
    38
    Another Nicholas Sparks novel, another cinematic brush with insulin shock.
  7. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 18, 2012
    25
    Move along, guys. Nothing to see in The Lucky One, unless you're in the doghouse at home and need to make nice.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    The Lucky One is one of the best movies I've seen you with interpretation of Zac Efron undoubtedly one he has been progressing leaving behindThe Lucky One is one of the best movies I've seen you with interpretation of Zac Efron undoubtedly one he has been progressing leaving behind small roles.
    The Lucky One is a truly beautiful story whose audience is for romantic couples or a girl who wants to see something romantic. There are people who do not agree that this type of movies ... but PLEASE respect the opinions of others and above for those who has loved this movie.
    Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Basic love story. Simple, not too complex. Gives way to several preconceived and incorrect ideas of how the story will go. If you likeBasic love story. Simple, not too complex. Gives way to several preconceived and incorrect ideas of how the story will go. If you like "chic" flicks and love stories with good looking people, this is your movie. Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is one thing people need to understand. Most movies copy eachother. It's a good change to see zac efron in a more grown up film. They did alot of the war sences well and putting the photo of the girl in at the right time. The one thing i liked most about this film that it really showed how much they really tried making this film a hit. This film had it's flause the scripting and the house break in and the conversation in the kitchen needed to be workt on Seemed to rusht. But overall I give it an 8 (very good in my ratings) Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    5
    Good performances and generally strong emotional moments are sadly let down enough by the over the top predictable melodrama. I give thisGood performances and generally strong emotional moments are sadly let down enough by the over the top predictable melodrama. I give this movie 56% of a good movie. Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    I've got to admit, the setup works, but the climax is pure deus ex machina. The Lucky One begins with circumstances falling upon Logan, andI've got to admit, the setup works, but the climax is pure deus ex machina. The Lucky One begins with circumstances falling upon Logan, and ends with circumstances exonerating him from the need to do anything about his rival, Keith. This is weak storytelling. At least the cinematography has everything there should be in a date movie; sunrise and sunset shots, carefully placed lens flare in moments of passionate kissing, etc. It's a pretty movie, I'll give it that, but the casting in The Lucky One doesn't work. Efron is all wrong for the role, in any realistic sense. He's got to be the scrawniest, most sensitive marine I've ever seen, and Schilling is lacking in the having "it" category. For a tale of love and lust, The Lucky One comes up half short. Full review on my blog. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    3
    This movie is almost identical to the notebook and other movies. This movie had its moments but most of the love moments have been seen inThis movie is almost identical to the notebook and other movies. This movie had its moments but most of the love moments have been seen in alot of other movies. The Lucky One is just another repetitive movie Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2012
    0
    It is unbelievable just how awful this film really is. I'm happy to see Zac Efron further his career from the crap High school musical films,It is unbelievable just how awful this film really is. I'm happy to see Zac Efron further his career from the crap High school musical films, but in this film, he didn't fit the role AT ALL. Zac Efron and the word marine don't even sound right in the same sentence. The acting was dreadful, the story was cheesy (i know its Nicholas Sparks so i expected it) but this movie was just terrible. It was my girlfriends idea to see it (go figure) but even she was laughing through the entire film like myself. By the way Taylor Schilling has to be the worst actress i've ever scene on the big screen. She couldn't even fake cry, and when she started laughing while crying, she sounded like a retarded baby. This movie was just awful. Not enjoyable what so ever. The best acting in the film came from the little boy for christs sake. For once in a blue moon the critics actually got one right. This movie is the definition of terrible. Don't see it, its a waste of money, time, and precious brain cells. 0/10 Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers