User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 511 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ManfredP.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    An incredible excercise in experimental, post-modern cinema. This kind of big-budget risk-taking is what classics are all about. Like 'Blade Runner' and '2001: A Space Odyssey' before it, 'The Matrix Revolutions' manages to say the things that are so difficult to say. Yes, there is action. Yes, there is spectacle. But beneath the jaw-dropping action sequences An incredible excercise in experimental, post-modern cinema. This kind of big-budget risk-taking is what classics are all about. Like 'Blade Runner' and '2001: A Space Odyssey' before it, 'The Matrix Revolutions' manages to say the things that are so difficult to say. Yes, there is action. Yes, there is spectacle. But beneath the jaw-dropping action sequences and the beautifully surreal art direction is a movie that questions the foundations of life, love and reality to a fundamental core that the more superficial first movie could never even touch. A masterwork to be rediscovered in generations to come. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was so incredible amazing. Doesn't matter if we're hapless within the history for long time of the movies and movies, it's the best final of a trilogy Expand
  3. ROHITG.
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    A very different film compared to parts 1 and 2. Very dark, in your face, straight to the point, very exciting and hugely enjoyable in parts. Especially, the Club Hell entrance sequence, the awesome Zion battle and Neo vs Smith sky fight, which is over all too suddenly. Some neat dialogue, lots of loose ends tied up from the first 2 films, with a few questions ultimately being raised and A very different film compared to parts 1 and 2. Very dark, in your face, straight to the point, very exciting and hugely enjoyable in parts. Especially, the Club Hell entrance sequence, the awesome Zion battle and Neo vs Smith sky fight, which is over all too suddenly. Some neat dialogue, lots of loose ends tied up from the first 2 films, with a few questions ultimately being raised and great performances from all. Its worth taking a hanky for this last installment. A great film but no masterpiece. Expand
  4. KeanesA.
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    This has to be one of the best movies I've seen. You may complain that there wasn't as much philosophy in this film as The Matrix and The Matrix Reloaded, however, the philosophy from those movies is what lead us to this movie. The special effects, shots and the incredible story, directing and acting is what makes this movie great. The only way you could have given The Matrix This has to be one of the best movies I've seen. You may complain that there wasn't as much philosophy in this film as The Matrix and The Matrix Reloaded, however, the philosophy from those movies is what lead us to this movie. The special effects, shots and the incredible story, directing and acting is what makes this movie great. The only way you could have given The Matrix Revolutions less than a 9 would be one of the following: You didn't watch the movie, you have NO taste in film or you just don't have a life and needed to critizes another cinematic masterpiece. To those of you who think I am wrong, please feel free to prove my opinion wrong. film_critic2004@yahoo.com Expand
  5. AkhilK.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    No doubt, the best trilogy...ever. And i mean..ever. Not even Lord of the Rings with its action scenes and what have you can compete with the intensity and excitement the Matrix Revolutions has delivered.
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    The matrix is the best movie that I have never seen. I like a lot! The actors and the story are great!Definitely a great movie!!! I cried through the whole thing.
  7. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    It's not as good as first two films (considering the depth, story, plot altogether) because it focuses more on action rather than story. In this film there are more fighting scenes, massive battles, etc. If you like bullets flying, explosions, BOOM, CRASH, TRATa Ta Ta Ta Ta.... etc. then you'll definitively like it.
  8. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    Amazing visual feast for the eyes. Action at its best.
  9. DavidA.
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    It's a cool movie wich I really enyoyed, the cool thing is the DVD extras in which it shows you how they did the special effects.
  10. Mick
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Best of the Three, and M.K. smith is deleted because Neo is connected to the source when Smith takes control of him, and therefore the machines can delete him it's nothing more complicated than that. Also I can see why people didn't like it because it doesn't end how they thought it would, and people don't like not getting closure. This trilogy is a grower and it time Best of the Three, and M.K. smith is deleted because Neo is connected to the source when Smith takes control of him, and therefore the machines can delete him it's nothing more complicated than that. Also I can see why people didn't like it because it doesn't end how they thought it would, and people don't like not getting closure. This trilogy is a grower and it time will be remembered as a masterpiece. Expand
  11. SyedR.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    this is the best movie i have ever seen and i dont know why it is underappreciated. dodging bullets martial arts bullet stoping.
  12. RimogardB.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Very good movie. Solves a lot of questions from Reloaded, and makes you think. Action scenes are incredible and movie's rhythm is spectacular. The only problem is that people probably wanted more action in ''Matrix'' and less in the real world.
  13. KevinCain
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    When I went in the cinema sat down with my popcorn. I knew something special was about to be shown and when it came to the end it became my all time best film.
  14. H.O.
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    This movie is frickin awesome. whoever thinks this movie, or any of the three, is not good should go get a life. all three movies are amazing and great.
  15. EmanuelS.
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    This movie was awesome, 20 years from now people will be seeing the movie in a new light, and loving it...i am right now.
  16. SatisfiedViewer
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    I am astonished by the amount of criticism that this film has taken; it's almost as if everyone has just jumped on a Matrix hater bandwagon. This film did a great job of giving closure to a great trilogy... just because the Matrix has pervaded all of pop culture does not make anything in Revolutions cliched. The directors HAD to maintain personalities of characters throughout the I am astonished by the amount of criticism that this film has taken; it's almost as if everyone has just jumped on a Matrix hater bandwagon. This film did a great job of giving closure to a great trilogy... just because the Matrix has pervaded all of pop culture does not make anything in Revolutions cliched. The directors HAD to maintain personalities of characters throughout the series; if you watched them all at once, it would seem VERY appropriate. Expand
  17. dmcc
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    I'm a big fan of fantasy / sci-fi movies. The last few years have seen some pretty awesome flicks released. Most notably the first two-thirds of the Lord of the Rings trilogy (with expectations that the final chapter will be of a similar high quality). I went to see Revolutions with mixed feelings. I'd been reading the reviews and was pretty bummed that everyone was down on the I'm a big fan of fantasy / sci-fi movies. The last few years have seen some pretty awesome flicks released. Most notably the first two-thirds of the Lord of the Rings trilogy (with expectations that the final chapter will be of a similar high quality). I went to see Revolutions with mixed feelings. I'd been reading the reviews and was pretty bummed that everyone was down on the show. I was seriously hoping it was not going to suck! I still had to go though. Why? Because the original Matrix in 1999 was, in my opinion, a seminal picture. Revolutionary filming techniques, an awesome look and feel and a serious kick ass attitude. Absolutely one of my all time favourite movies! It generated serious and well-deserved dollars and buzz. It was the kind of movie that made me hope I lived long enough to see the sequel(s) ? as lame as that sounds. Something like the excitement generated a few years ago when Lucas decided to do three more Star Wars films (too bad they really do suck?that was a major let down let me tell you). The second film, The Matrix Reloaded, was not going to duplicate that initial blast. It just couldn't. Because the door had been opened into this new world already. It wasn?t going to be able to be so new and different. I knew this and as a result my expectations were different going in to Reloaded. As a middle chapter Reloaded carried the story line where it needed to go and had more great effects, awesome action and all the necessary hooks to keep me wanting more. I wasn?t going to miss it or what came next. In fact I went twice and it was well worth the cash and effort. And Reloaded got reasonable reviews so I wasn?t too worried going in. But like I said, Revolutions was getting hammered by the critics. Anyway, I went, I saw and I loved it. Awesome action, great characters, everything I?ve come to expect from the W. Brothers. It most definitely didn?t suck. So for all you losers who didn?t get it, who couldn?t deal with the modestly challenging dialogue, who were expecting maybe that all universal truths would be revealed, that the meaning of life would become clear, that god would speak to you personally through the film, that Neo would literally walk off the screen and unplug your brain, well, no wonder your disappointed. That wasn?t what it was all about man. It was all about a full throttle 100% full speed ahead action / adventure with some brains the like of which we may not see again anytime soon. It kicks Star Wars butt. It kicks Terminator butt. And, except for the first one, it kicks Alien butt. Go see it. Pay your money. Go see it twice. Make sure the Wachowski?s don?t take the blue pill. While we may not see anymore Matrix movie?s we definitely want to see what the brothers come up with next? Expand
  18. Mark
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    The best movie i've seen The others were good but this was great grand even, the scene where him and smith are fighting and u can just see there outlines is the greatest This Matrix films will never be forgotten.
  19. Nash
    Nov 18, 2003
    9
    Must see if you're a matrix fan, very good movie for action and it also curbs of the trilogy very well. Only matrix fans can truly appreciate this move. I can almost see why people gave it a bad rating.
  20. TerryD.
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    OK, don't see this movie if any of the following applies: **You don't like science fiction. **You are offended (?) by stories of Christ in a REALLY original setting. **You have a problem with thoughtful scripts. **You don't like cool special effects (like the Dock sequence - OH MY GOD!). **You have something aganist serial films. Geez...
  21. PaulM.
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    The Matrix Revolutions was a very intense movie. The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because it was too much like a love story in the beginning. I did not expect to see this film end the way it did and would love to see the fourth if there will be another as I hope there is.
  22. PatricioN.
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    Hey, i hate all those idiots that said that this movie sucks. For me it was excellent. those who don't like it are angry because of the end or didn't understand the movie. The final battle is awesome!!!
  23. TomS.
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    This is not the best film ever made, but hell it certainly is one of the best action movies ever made. You cannot judge this film based upon your perceptions of the feeling you had after the first because everything that film presented was new at the time. Movies since then have copied the Matrix style, look, and themes, so saying that Reloaded and Revolutions are bad because they did not This is not the best film ever made, but hell it certainly is one of the best action movies ever made. You cannot judge this film based upon your perceptions of the feeling you had after the first because everything that film presented was new at the time. Movies since then have copied the Matrix style, look, and themes, so saying that Reloaded and Revolutions are bad because they did not give you the same amazement and mind blowing experience as the first film is wrong. If all three Matrix films were released all after each other, I am sure that people would say that all three are equal and not one of these films is bad or boring becuase these are in fact orginal works of art. This is a film that should be seem by anyone who enjoyed the first Matrix or Reloaded, even if it was a small enjoyment of them. In the end put all of your previous perceptions behind and let the special effects, action and philosophical/biblical references download... Expand
  24. WillieF.
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    SUpernicemovie !!!!
  25. TheTwo
    Nov 20, 2003
    9
    Some comments are just pathetic. Jonny l. is totally right. If you remember the first Matrix, you should recall that it's not as simple as " humans = good / machines = bad ". Human being is still "a virus" somehow, and the actions of some machines resemble love and/or peace (Oracle, the Keymaker in the 2nd movie, etc). Also you should remember that the story of Matrix 1 consist in Some comments are just pathetic. Jonny l. is totally right. If you remember the first Matrix, you should recall that it's not as simple as " humans = good / machines = bad ". Human being is still "a virus" somehow, and the actions of some machines resemble love and/or peace (Oracle, the Keymaker in the 2nd movie, etc). Also you should remember that the story of Matrix 1 consist in metaphors from many religions, SPECIALLY Christian ones. That said, I still can't understand how many people say that the ending sucked because nothing was finished, or that there are some questions unanswered. If you actually watch and UNDERSTAND the movie, NOTHING was left without explanation, and there will be no sequels of the Matrix (there are only space for prequels), at least if the W. Bros. still want to follow its source material. The trilogy ends making perfect sense, and it rocks! Expand
  26. JamesK.
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    Revolutions was more-or-less what I expected it to be: a fulfilling experience for hardcore Matrix fans (like me) and a letdown to the critics and some casual-movie goers alike. Was it the best in the series? Well I look at the trilogy as one huge movie now; the journey of Neo. Revolutions does have its problems, but they are forgivable. The acting is still a bit wooden, but fortunately Revolutions was more-or-less what I expected it to be: a fulfilling experience for hardcore Matrix fans (like me) and a letdown to the critics and some casual-movie goers alike. Was it the best in the series? Well I look at the trilogy as one huge movie now; the journey of Neo. Revolutions does have its problems, but they are forgivable. The acting is still a bit wooden, but fortunately it has been much improved over Reloaded. The dialogue is also better as are the characters in general; they just feel more human this time around instead of robots, but not all the time time though. The pacing sometimes feels a little weird as well. Some parts were a tad bit disappointing as well, such as the much hyped 'Superbrawl' between Neo and the now uber-powerful Agent Smith. It was definitely an amazing scene, but it just wasn't long enough. But then again, I'm probably just being picky. The siege of Zion was also eye-popping and amazing to look at. It did, however, drag on a bit long but its easy to get lost in the action and just enjoy the eye-candy. In any case, Revolutions was a satisfying conclusion to the Matrix Trilogy. Yeah, it is (like Reloaded) a perfect target for critics to rip apart, but for someone who can call themselves a fan or who can simply sit back and enjoy the ride instead of being critical, well that's who's going to love this movie. Kudos to the Washowski Brothers. Expand
  27. QBeing
    Nov 17, 2003
    9
    This Movie was AWESOME!!! OK So its not best Picture material, but who cares. the film rocked from beginning to end and they answer most if not all of the questions left open from the previosu flick. then pose a few more. I will see this film at least one more time, adn prbalay a few more times after that!
  28. JohnY.
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    Let's get the obvious out of the way: "Revolutions" is an action film, a war film. We've been given all the ideas the Wachowskis wanted us to have, and this movie is solely about showing this final battle and the fate of Neo, the Matrix, and Zion. Don't expect something as innovative as the first "Matrix" ... it'll be awhile before something bends the action genre as Let's get the obvious out of the way: "Revolutions" is an action film, a war film. We've been given all the ideas the Wachowskis wanted us to have, and this movie is solely about showing this final battle and the fate of Neo, the Matrix, and Zion. Don't expect something as innovative as the first "Matrix" ... it'll be awhile before something bends the action genre as much as that movie did. But "Revolutions," itself, is a remarkable action movie. What amazing visions it gives us; what a world this film has created for the mind and imagination. You do not criticize a war film for straight action, and you cannot criticize this movie either for that reason. Sure, it's gotten a little silly by now, and we could care less about Neo and Trinity's romance, but I doubt we'll see another movie this visionary for quite some time. Expand
  29. EricC.
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    I will say what I think about this movie, but unless you have an open, thoughful mind, you won't care. (Plus, my review will get knocked down to the bottom after everyone else writes their thoughts.) I thought that the special effects were some of the best in movie history, and I doubt we will see anything as mesmerizing for a long time. While it did have a bit of a slow start at the I will say what I think about this movie, but unless you have an open, thoughful mind, you won't care. (Plus, my review will get knocked down to the bottom after everyone else writes their thoughts.) I thought that the special effects were some of the best in movie history, and I doubt we will see anything as mesmerizing for a long time. While it did have a bit of a slow start at the beginning, once it picked up, it grabbed me by the neck and never let go until it was over. The story left me speechless. In fact, I'm glad the plot didn't meet my predictions. If it had, I would have been guessing every moment of the movie. The Matrix trilogy is meant for those with an open mind and a thirst for seeing action at the same time; a feat of which little movies have ever achieved. This series has shown me that there are stories out there that can be both symbolic and original at the same time. With most recent movies being nothing but recycled garbage that has been done millions of times before, The Matrix will stand out in movie history next to other great and orignal action trilogies, like Indiana Jones, Star Wars, or Alien, for introducing to film history what brilliant filmaking can create and show to the world. Now, I can only wait for the next great filmaker(s) to do what the Wachowski's and so few others have done: open our eyes to a new world we have yet to imagine. Expand
  30. CharlesD.
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    What happens with the critics...enjoy the best ride of the history..the rest..forget it.
  31. TelyS
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    Perfect finale for the best sci-fi trilogy ever. Critics and dorks have a problem with it beacuse it, like Relaoded, is a very different film than the first. Excuse the Wachoskis for trying to mix up the formula.
  32. JohnY.
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    Let's get the obvious out of the way: "Revolutions" is an action film, a war film. We've been given all the ideas the Wachowskis wanted us to have, and this movie is solely about showing this final battle and the fate of Neo, the Matrix, and Zion. Don't expect something as innovative as the first "Matrix" ... it'll be awhile before something bends the action genre as Let's get the obvious out of the way: "Revolutions" is an action film, a war film. We've been given all the ideas the Wachowskis wanted us to have, and this movie is solely about showing this final battle and the fate of Neo, the Matrix, and Zion. Don't expect something as innovative as the first "Matrix" ... it'll be awhile before something bends the action genre as much as that movie did. But "Revolutions," itself, is a remarkable action movie. What amazing visions it gives us; what a world this film has created for the mind and imagination. You do not criticize a war film for straight action, and you cannot criticize this movie either for that reason. Sure, it's gotten a little silly by now, and we could care less about Neo and Trinity's romance, but I doubt we'll see another movie this visionary for quite some time. Expand
  33. LennyT.
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    Admit it! Those who hate this movie do not understand it. The rabbit hole is just too deep for them.
  34. ChrisM.
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    Not a huge fan of the matrix trilogy but went with a friend who's a huge fan and we both agreed that this movie kicked ass!!!
  35. SteveF.
    Nov 8, 2003
    9
    The ending? Incredible. Why? Read Thus Spoke Zarathustra by Freidrich Nieztsche, and then it'll make perfect sense- it was brilliant. The dialogue throughout was less than great, but I think there was less pseudo-religious BS and that the action was both more purposeful and more glorious.
  36. DWP102589
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    This movie flat out ROCKS. It's better than the first two put together, which I would have thought was IMPOSSIPLE.
  37. JordanC.
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    This movie is f... awsome. It has the best special effects in any movie ever, the best fight scenes ever and you will never guess the ending. Everything makes perfect sense in this movie too, some of the minor details you will have to do a little bit of deep thinking or guessing though.
  38. PeteE.
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    Across the chart, I can easily see why such reviews were given to this movie. It's simple, they (meaning critics, and fellow moviegoers) don't understand. If you would listen to dialouge, instead of talking on the phone, etc., you may catch somthing besides the obvious battle scenes, and loud explosions. If you had paid attention to at least Reloaded, then you will get it. Across the chart, I can easily see why such reviews were given to this movie. It's simple, they (meaning critics, and fellow moviegoers) don't understand. If you would listen to dialouge, instead of talking on the phone, etc., you may catch somthing besides the obvious battle scenes, and loud explosions. If you had paid attention to at least Reloaded, then you will get it. Please, if you read this, do not take the critics, word for it. See for yourself. I give it a nine. Expand
  39. NickV.
    Nov 10, 2003
    9
    A Great End to a Great series.
  40. MikeG.
    Nov 10, 2003
    10
    I thought it was an EXCELENT mivie. It wrapped up everything left over from the 1st 2 movies and created (like how he stoped the sentnals). You guys need to spend more time looking at the plot instead of pretending that you know ANYTHING about acting when you see a movie. If you really watched it, you could see the love bettween Neo and Trinity and the connections to real life here. And I thought it was an EXCELENT mivie. It wrapped up everything left over from the 1st 2 movies and created (like how he stoped the sentnals). You guys need to spend more time looking at the plot instead of pretending that you know ANYTHING about acting when you see a movie. If you really watched it, you could see the love bettween Neo and Trinity and the connections to real life here. And you don't even have a complaint about the ending or quentions about it cause if you really paid attention it was obvious (I'd get more in-depth but i don't want to ruin the surprise) and the ending, none of you should be telling me that the 1st time you saw it, you expected it to end that way (without someone telling you). If you've got a problem with the matrix, watch the 1st one, then the animatrix, then the 2nd one, then the 3rd one, that should clear things up a little .the crities and half the people that rated this thing had (and probably still have) no idea what they're talking about. It's really a great movie and personally, I believe that the 3rd one was the best. One of my few regrets is that the didn't leave room for a sequel (and they whouldn't have one anyways because it's a trilogy, that means there will, and have been, 3 movies). I'm not saying that the movie left no room for the mind to wonder and come up with new ideas and questions, but I'm asking what the point of a movie is if you don't have anything to think about afterwards. Expand
  41. Jonnyl.
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    I'm somewhat baffled by the kinds of complaints we're seeing offered up by the critics about this film which, in my book, delivers the goods. It's indicative, though, that their criticisms are wildly inconsistent: one says there's no emotional development of the characters and too much reliance on sound and fury; another that there's too much pompous mysticism; I'm somewhat baffled by the kinds of complaints we're seeing offered up by the critics about this film which, in my book, delivers the goods. It's indicative, though, that their criticisms are wildly inconsistent: one says there's no emotional development of the characters and too much reliance on sound and fury; another that there's too much pompous mysticism; yet another that the movie relies on the emotional bonds between the characters, and not on mysticism! Some of the low-scorers clearly just were not able to follow the symbolic language that this film speaks. In my opinion if you were paying attention during the first two films, then Revolutions finds the themes therein clarified, solidified and resolved. There will be no further sequels. It certainly helps to have some basic experience with a theology, Judeo-Christian, Buddhist or otherwise, but the fact that such theology is the thematic currency of these films was being telegraphed from the very first installment, so no one should be surprised at the direction this movie took, and disappointment certainly is not warranted. The film is ambitious, and it is criticised for "pomposity" due to that ambition, but think for a minute about how cranked up the expectations were. Do those who are disappointed really expect concepts like free will and humankind's relationship to it to be taken apart and mechanistically "explained" to them by a movie??? This film wraps up its loose ends to exactly the extent that it is possible to do so, does it elegantly and with integrity, and without the kind of clumsy exposition that robs metaphor of its power to incite thinking on the part of the viewer. In these films the Wachowskis have crafted an ornate and solid poem that tells us that in an age of technological rationalism and rational self-interest, we must continually choose and recommit to connections with one another in order to have access to the transcendent. And don't forget that all the critics agree that the action scenes in this movie rock. Bottom line: this is still, and to an even greater extent than before, a thinking person's action movie. If you can hang with the mental acrobatics and genre-bending contradictions that that implies, you are in for an extremely enjoyable two hours. Expand
  42. DaveT.
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    This movie was unlike the first one. Wouldn't it have been a boring series if they were all the same? Though some questions were left unanswered the first two raised so many questions that it would be next to impossible to answer them all in 2+ hours. It was a great conclusion. If all the movies are looked at as one then the philosophy and mystery is obviously in the first. Reloaded This movie was unlike the first one. Wouldn't it have been a boring series if they were all the same? Though some questions were left unanswered the first two raised so many questions that it would be next to impossible to answer them all in 2+ hours. It was a great conclusion. If all the movies are looked at as one then the philosophy and mystery is obviously in the first. Reloaded takes us deeper into the lives of the characters and Revolutions is the climactic action packed conclusion. Expand
  43. PaulM.
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    The Matrix Revolutions was a very intense movie. The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because it was too much like a love story in the beginning. I did not expect to see this film end the way it did and would love to see the fourth if there will be another as I hope there is.
  44. GlowingRabbit
    Nov 7, 2003
    10
    Why is it not possible to rate the movie as one hundred?? i am so (swearing) sick and tired of people complaining about this movie. it is the biggest masterpiece ever made. okey, it might not be a complete one-and-only action movie, as it seams like most of you (swearing) people want it to be. you have to use your mind, your obvious empty head, to figure out this movie. and as you progressWhy is it not possible to rate the movie as one hundred?? i am so (swearing) sick and tired of people complaining about this movie. it is the biggest masterpiece ever made. okey, it might not be a complete one-and-only action movie, as it seams like most of you (swearing) people want it to be. you have to use your mind, your obvious empty head, to figure out this movie. and as you progress in understanding it, the better and better it gets, and you will discover the extremeley high quality of this wonderful masterpiece. Expand
  45. RicardoS.
    Nov 7, 2003
    9
    I think the movie was very good. It is complicated and you have to think a little about it to understand what the brothers wanted to say. I think the action was pretty good and the effects amazing. Maybe I didnt like the end, but it was not me that made the movie. Give a Zero to this movie?. That is really amazing.
  46. StuN.
    Nov 10, 2003
    9
    Revolutions couldn`t reach the level of the first Matrix but yet it is a great movie . Its better than Reloaded and answers the questions of the trilogy ... well you got to dig deeper and deeper and watch the movie several times to understand it ! You got to think over it ... and find the answers .For those who will watch the movie for the action...well you wont be disappointed
  47. AlanD.
    Nov 7, 2003
    9
    So it becomes cool to hate CGI, then retards hate relaoded for bad reasons, and the public and critical insipidness continues with revolutions. times like this, i HATE THE INTERNET. a billion times better than the depressingly bad star wars saga, i saw how sadly this played out, everyone is surprised by the first, expect the second one to be something it wasnt while getting caught up inSo it becomes cool to hate CGI, then retards hate relaoded for bad reasons, and the public and critical insipidness continues with revolutions. times like this, i HATE THE INTERNET. a billion times better than the depressingly bad star wars saga, i saw how sadly this played out, everyone is surprised by the first, expect the second one to be something it wasnt while getting caught up in this CGI backlash, and now it's just too damn cool to hate this trilogy. this kind of predictability is sad. Expand
  48. KenzieG.
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    Here're the facts my friends. The Matrix Trilogy is deep. Very deep, and if you can't understand it, don't bother reviewing it. The story of the Matrix Trilogy is a beautifully scripted story mixing many philosophies, and religions together, it is a cummulative story of human nature. It contains all the truths and natures of humanity that a good tale should have. It is and Here're the facts my friends. The Matrix Trilogy is deep. Very deep, and if you can't understand it, don't bother reviewing it. The story of the Matrix Trilogy is a beautifully scripted story mixing many philosophies, and religions together, it is a cummulative story of human nature. It contains all the truths and natures of humanity that a good tale should have. It is and epic tale that shares the title with the LOTR saga, the Dune saga, and more loosely, the original Star Wars Trilogy. The fact of these movies is thatif you don't care about the story, then you don't have much to enjoy in them. Sure the Bullet time/kung-fu action kicks ass, but it gets tiring after a while (except of course, the final fight between neo and Smith). Thats all there is to the trilogy. So think about the story, maybe do a little research, play the game, and watch the Animatrix, and it'll all make sense, THEN review this movie, because only then, can you give an acurate review. Expand
  49. M.K.
    Apr 11, 2004
    9
    I'm simply amazed to see how people rate is movie. People who gave 0 say that they understand this movie. How is that possible when you gave it a 0? Yes this movie is all about a mix of Sci-fi, anime, hong kong action, and religious references. I think the plot of this triligy is brilliant. I love the first Matrix. Yes, it was a copy of all those anime plots. However, it mixed others I'm simply amazed to see how people rate is movie. People who gave 0 say that they understand this movie. How is that possible when you gave it a 0? Yes this movie is all about a mix of Sci-fi, anime, hong kong action, and religious references. I think the plot of this triligy is brilliant. I love the first Matrix. Yes, it was a copy of all those anime plots. However, it mixed others cultures into one. Revolutions ending was a typical anime ending. Open-ended to leave viewer thinking after the movie. Yes, I'm a big fan of The Matrix Trilogy. However, I'm not biased to this movie in anyway. I just like Sci-fi, anime, and Kung fu action. So many of my friend asked me to help them understand how Neo and Smith were destroyed. They thought they understood everything but they didn't. I came up with a simple Mathematical solution for all of those who didn't understand how they were destoryed. As the Oracles said that Smith is opposite of Neo, Neo = -(Smith). Thus, Smith = -(Neo). When Smith tries to add Neo to his codes, it becomes Neo + Smith. Neo + Smith = 0 because it's essentially same as -(Smith) + Smith or Neo + -(Neo). Their code is destoryed and Smith is terminated. Neo on the other hand, is possibly alive. However, the movie left with a open-ended ending to make view think. The artistic conclusion to the Matrix trilogy was a brilliant ending. And my last comment, no, my email is not from Neo from the Matrix, it's from one of my favorite video game console Neo-Geo. Expand
  50. JeehF.
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    The best Matrix and movie!
  51. AkhilK.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    No doubt, the best trilogy...ever. And i mean..ever. Not even Lord of the Rings with its action scenes and what have you can compete with the intensity and excitement the Matrix Revolutions has delivered.
  52. NelsonNeo
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    People in Hollywood are often critics...the reason why I enjoyed this movie was because it was a brilliant combo of philosophy, science fiction, martial arts and style. If you don't understand the movie, watch all three of the Matrix Trilogy starting from the first (again) then you'll regret saying it's crap.
  53. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alright, after being left with mixed feelings about the second movie I was hoping to have the question of how Neo managed to stop the machines answered adequately in this movie, but it was not. Also, this movie adds even more questions along the same lines: how does Neo manage to see in the real after he is physically blinded? (BTW: The same thing happened in the Dune saga which is probably not just coincidence, there's some deep philosophical meaning to these in both I'm just not entirely sure what it is). How does Neo absorb the sentinel into himself in the end? Three possible theories I have are: 1) Zion and the outside world are just another layer of reality inside the matrix created to fool the people who escape the inner layer of the Matrix that they are free. 2) Neo is actually a machine himself (or possibly the cookie the oracle gave him lets him carry a machine program somehow, after all in computer lingo a "cookie" is a small piece of data you give to a user visiting your website so you can track them), 3) Neo has achieved enlightenment inside the matrix but a side-effect is that he's also achieved enlightenment in the real world, in Buddhism for example it is said there are high-level monks that can bend reality melting snow with their minds and/or make thing materialize out of thin air, etc.. It's possibly Neo's enlightenment lets him do something similar in the real world. Any of these explanations work but we never really know what the creators of these movies really intended since they have stated they would rather let us figure out things for ourselves. The other confusing part of the movie is the manner in which Neo defeats Smith when he realizes he has to stop fighting Smith and just give in to win. I think it has something to do with him realizing he is only fighting himself or duality is an illusion, since a lot of spiritual paths say this. But once again we'll never really know. After watching the trilogy once or twice I suggest you view the versions where they have the audio by two philosophers watching the film over the film, you will understand the film a lot better after seeing that. Overall I love the trilogy. The one thing about this last movie is the beginning is really lame. The first and second movies had epic scenes to start them off, this one just starts up with the characters on the hover-ship having a conversation with each other, how lame is that? I docked a point from this final one for that. They should have started with the scene in "Mobil Ave" (ie: Limbo) that would have been more exciting to start with. But other than that a great movie, albeit still confusing the first time you see it. Expand
  54. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Although it didn't turn out to be the film I wanted it to be it still is an epic and very spectacular movie. The Battles are visually very rich and the VFX still hold up very well for an almost 10 year old film. The Messiah story is filled with philosofical content with which you might not always agree but it does provide food for thought and the films tend to stick in your mind much moreAlthough it didn't turn out to be the film I wanted it to be it still is an epic and very spectacular movie. The Battles are visually very rich and the VFX still hold up very well for an almost 10 year old film. The Messiah story is filled with philosofical content with which you might not always agree but it does provide food for thought and the films tend to stick in your mind much more than the modern day action fodder tends to do. This makes seeing these gems on Blu-ray again as much a joy as they first times I saw them at the cinemas! Expand
  55. May 20, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Final part of the trilogy.

    In many ways, this is the most massive of the three - a massiveness which bothered me at times. Great armies clashing together in two worlds, "gods" fighting in the sky...

    The visuals are as amazing as usual. The fights, the special effects, and the sounds go well together.

    Most bothersome aspect of the movie is the complex final collision of Neo and Smith, though. There is ideology, but even after multiple watches some of the fine reasons fly by my head, still. So many people scheming and planning, truths that are revealed, and some of them are less important than others, contributing to build a world we want to know but can't fully grasp.

    But what rates this movie higher in my book is the ending; finally a movie where heroes, too, can die! Though the evil is beaten (for now), this is still nice and different.

    In my opinion, 'Matrix' is one of the best trilogies/series ever made, because all three parts are almost equally good. You don't find that just anywhere these days.
    Expand
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Clint Morris
    60
    Everything about the sequel feels bloated.
  2. Ending with neither a bang nor a whimper, the finale falls somewhere in between. It's an improvement over its concurrently shot, babbling predecessor, but it ultimately fails to capture any of that jaw-dropping sense of exhilaration that made the original such a must-see event.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    70
    Though they’re full of undeniably spectacular moments, great production values and unusual ambition, a simple thing has gotten lost in these sequels: they’re not much fun.