Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2003
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 582 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
221
Mixed:
119
Negative:
242
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ManfredP.May 1, 2006
An incredible excercise in experimental, post-modern cinema. This kind of big-budget risk-taking is what classics are all about. Like 'Blade Runner' and '2001: A Space Odyssey' before it, 'The Matrix An incredible excercise in experimental, post-modern cinema. This kind of big-budget risk-taking is what classics are all about. Like 'Blade Runner' and '2001: A Space Odyssey' before it, 'The Matrix Revolutions' manages to say the things that are so difficult to say. Yes, there is action. Yes, there is spectacle. But beneath the jaw-dropping action sequences and the beautifully surreal art direction is a movie that questions the foundations of life, love and reality to a fundamental core that the more superficial first movie could never even touch. A masterwork to be rediscovered in generations to come. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Tss5078Jun 29, 2014
The conclusion to the epic Matrix trilogy should have been the best of the three films. Everything was set up perfectly leading into a potentially exciting conclusion, and most of the film went as expected. There was terrific action andThe conclusion to the epic Matrix trilogy should have been the best of the three films. Everything was set up perfectly leading into a potentially exciting conclusion, and most of the film went as expected. There was terrific action and science fiction drama, some amazing special effects, and the legend of Neo continued to grow, right up until the conclusion. The end of the film went from extremely predictable to ridiculously strange and confusing. While I'm sure the ending made perfect sense to the Wachowski's, it made no sense to me, an avid science fiction fan and movie critic. This being a review, means I can't go into specifics, but the ending was absolutely horrible and puts the whole series in a different light. The most disheartening part of this whole thing is that until that point, the Matrix has been done to near perfection. The story was solid, the action was out of this world, the special effects were amazing, the casting was flawless, and just when the trilogy should have reached it's apex, it all comes crashing down. Once again the cast is terrific and the story is great, which is why I don't understand how they could give us an ending like that. I thoroughly enjoyed the Matrix trilogy and it will certainly hold it's place in cinematic history, but as a fan I was horribly disappointed by an ending that came out of nowhere and left the audience scratching it's head. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LorioyamaMar 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was so incredible amazing. Doesn't matter if we're hapless within the history for long time of the movies and movies, it's the best final of a trilogy Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
danielealbertiDec 20, 2010
The matrix is the best movie that I have never seen. I like a lot! The actors and the story are great!Definitely a great movie!!! I cried through the whole thing.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
AkhilK.Apr 5, 2004
No doubt, the best trilogy...ever. And i mean..ever. Not even Lord of the Rings with its action scenes and what have you can compete with the intensity and excitement the Matrix Revolutions has delivered.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Falling_HammerJul 10, 2011
It's not as good as first two films (considering the depth, story, plot altogether) because it focuses more on action rather than story. In this film there are more fighting scenes, massive battles, etc. If you like bullets flying,It's not as good as first two films (considering the depth, story, plot altogether) because it focuses more on action rather than story. In this film there are more fighting scenes, massive battles, etc. If you like bullets flying, explosions, BOOM, CRASH, TRATa Ta Ta Ta Ta.... etc. then you'll definitively like it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
tbagurdrumset94Feb 10, 2012
Definitely the worst of the series. But that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I've seen all of the movies several times now, and I can safely say that the ending, although it didn't answer every question, was satisfying in its own way. I'veDefinitely the worst of the series. But that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I've seen all of the movies several times now, and I can safely say that the ending, although it didn't answer every question, was satisfying in its own way. I've done a little bit of research, and I almost understand the way that the Matrix works. I also like to the view the three films as one big chronicle. The first one gives you a shocking concept, the second one shows you what can be done with this concept and gets you thinking even more (the Architect scene, for example), and the third one displays every technical ability that the Wachowskis and the cast members have learned, and mastered. The series as a whole is a stunning achievement. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Amazing visual feast for the eyes. Action at its best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ainaznieksJun 22, 2014
Priceless movie. It finish story line perfectly. Deep meaning of this movie forced to watch it 3 times in a row to fully understand it.
Action scenes? - A little bit boring in my opinion - i don*t understand how movie producers with such
Priceless movie. It finish story line perfectly. Deep meaning of this movie forced to watch it 3 times in a row to fully understand it.
Action scenes? - A little bit boring in my opinion - i don*t understand how movie producers with such budget managed to make so boring result.
So in general - 10 for true movie meaning and 6 for action/acting so 8.0
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JohnY.Nov 5, 2003
Let's get the obvious out of the way: "Revolutions" is an action film, a war film. We've been given all the ideas the Wachowskis wanted us to have, and this movie is solely about showing this final battle and the fate of Neo, the Let's get the obvious out of the way: "Revolutions" is an action film, a war film. We've been given all the ideas the Wachowskis wanted us to have, and this movie is solely about showing this final battle and the fate of Neo, the Matrix, and Zion. Don't expect something as innovative as the first "Matrix" ... it'll be awhile before something bends the action genre as much as that movie did. But "Revolutions," itself, is a remarkable action movie. What amazing visions it gives us; what a world this film has created for the mind and imagination. You do not criticize a war film for straight action, and you cannot criticize this movie either for that reason. Sure, it's gotten a little silly by now, and we could care less about Neo and Trinity's romance, but I doubt we'll see another movie this visionary for quite some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickOct 14, 2005
Best of the Three, and M.K. smith is deleted because Neo is connected to the source when Smith takes control of him, and therefore the machines can delete him it's nothing more complicated than that. Also I can see why people Best of the Three, and M.K. smith is deleted because Neo is connected to the source when Smith takes control of him, and therefore the machines can delete him it's nothing more complicated than that. Also I can see why people didn't like it because it doesn't end how they thought it would, and people don't like not getting closure. This trilogy is a grower and it time will be remembered as a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesMDec 13, 2005
It's The Matrix, but B-grade. And I like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ManveerR.Feb 18, 2006
I didnt think the matrix Revolutions gave justice to the series but the visuals were good but tooo much oof the movie concentrated on the war of Zion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricF.May 1, 2006
Anyone who dislikes the special effects and final muscal score, what are you people smoking?!?! The dialogue was bad, and the plot was lacking, and Kennus Reeves, well, he's no Pacino, but it was very entertaining, if it dind't try Anyone who dislikes the special effects and final muscal score, what are you people smoking?!?! The dialogue was bad, and the plot was lacking, and Kennus Reeves, well, he's no Pacino, but it was very entertaining, if it dind't try to be mythic and profound, than it would've been perfect. As an action film, I would say it's great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SyedR.Jul 27, 2006
this is the best movie i have ever seen and i dont know why it is underappreciated. dodging bullets martial arts bullet stoping.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TyrisS.Sep 11, 2006
The film leaves one important question unanswered. That question is "what the bloody hell just happened?" It's still enjoyable, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RimogardB.Jun 9, 2007
Very good movie. Solves a lot of questions from Reloaded, and makes you think. Action scenes are incredible and movie's rhythm is spectacular. The only problem is that people probably wanted more action in ''Matrix'' Very good movie. Solves a lot of questions from Reloaded, and makes you think. Action scenes are incredible and movie's rhythm is spectacular. The only problem is that people probably wanted more action in ''Matrix'' and less in the real world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JavierRuizdeA.Nov 22, 2003
The first half of the movie is sometimes boring and it mixes some topics like love, metaphysics and other things. The second half of the movie is absolutely great and awesome, the best actions scenes of the saga. But the final scene is realy The first half of the movie is sometimes boring and it mixes some topics like love, metaphysics and other things. The second half of the movie is absolutely great and awesome, the best actions scenes of the saga. But the final scene is realy absurd and the movie don't answer the questions made on the film before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulM.Nov 6, 2003
The Matrix Revolutions was a very intense movie. The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because it was too much like a love story in the beginning. I did not expect to see this film end the way it did and would love to see the fourth The Matrix Revolutions was a very intense movie. The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because it was too much like a love story in the beginning. I did not expect to see this film end the way it did and would love to see the fourth if there will be another as I hope there is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricR.Mar 17, 2006
No, it doesn't touch the classic original, but this movie is very underatted. the final fight scene, yes it was a Dragonball Z rip-oof, but it was so brilliantly captured and shot, I could't care. And the score was brilliant. The No, it doesn't touch the classic original, but this movie is very underatted. the final fight scene, yes it was a Dragonball Z rip-oof, but it was so brilliantly captured and shot, I could't care. And the score was brilliant. The dialogue was stilted, yes, but the story has some good thought behind it (besides the annoying Neo=Jesus symbolism) and the effects and sound quality were quite good. Although I do agree it could've spent much less time in Zion and more in the Matrix. Overall, it doesn't touch the original, but one can't help but feel this suffered due to high expectations of the first, like Godfather 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamMay 13, 2006
It reminds me of "The return of the Jedi." Rather than sticking to the roots of the original two in the trilogy that we oh-so-love, it tried something different. And (out of misfortune) the thing that they tried different happened to be the It reminds me of "The return of the Jedi." Rather than sticking to the roots of the original two in the trilogy that we oh-so-love, it tried something different. And (out of misfortune) the thing that they tried different happened to be the thing the producers, directors, and writers suck most at. The dialouge is dissapointing, the action scenes would be better fit for the Transformers movie (with the exception of the first and the last), and it doesn't leave me feeling like The Matrix trilogy left with the bang it started with. With all my complaints, however, The Matrix Revoloutions is still a fun movie, but will no doubt leave you yearning for something more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
rotkuJun 17, 2011
Still not as good as the original but better than Reloaded, in itself it would have held up as a good movie but given the standard set by the first movie it doesn't get any better than average. It does round the trilogy off well and closesStill not as good as the original but better than Reloaded, in itself it would have held up as a good movie but given the standard set by the first movie it doesn't get any better than average. It does round the trilogy off well and closes the storyline as it should. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joelschnickAug 24, 2011
Why was this finale released so soon after the second film. Nice money grab. What a shame the sequels sputtered out or this Trilogy could have been the most epic in the history of film making. Could have been our generation's STAR WARS.Why was this finale released so soon after the second film. Nice money grab. What a shame the sequels sputtered out or this Trilogy could have been the most epic in the history of film making. Could have been our generation's STAR WARS. Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaMay 20, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Final part of the trilogy.

In many ways, this is the most massive of the three - a massiveness which bothered me at times. Great armies clashing together in two worlds, "gods" fighting in the sky...

The visuals are as amazing as usual. The fights, the special effects, and the sounds go well together.

Most bothersome aspect of the movie is the complex final collision of Neo and Smith, though. There is ideology, but even after multiple watches some of the fine reasons fly by my head, still. So many people scheming and planning, truths that are revealed, and some of them are less important than others, contributing to build a world we want to know but can't fully grasp.

But what rates this movie higher in my book is the ending; finally a movie where heroes, too, can die! Though the evil is beaten (for now), this is still nice and different.

In my opinion, 'Matrix' is one of the best trilogies/series ever made, because all three parts are almost equally good. You don't find that just anywhere these days.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Surely cannot beat the original, but this final installment in the trilogy is a spectacular action achievement with explosive CGI and visuals. Yes, we don't have a sophisticated plot, but a trilogy has to finish off with a bang.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Apemonkey666Jan 12, 2013
Although it didn't turn out to be the film I wanted it to be it still is an epic and very spectacular movie. The Battles are visually very rich and the VFX still hold up very well for an almost 10 year old film. The Messiah story is filledAlthough it didn't turn out to be the film I wanted it to be it still is an epic and very spectacular movie. The Battles are visually very rich and the VFX still hold up very well for an almost 10 year old film. The Messiah story is filled with philosofical content with which you might not always agree but it does provide food for thought and the films tend to stick in your mind much more than the modern day action fodder tends to do. This makes seeing these gems on Blu-ray again as much a joy as they first times I saw them at the cinemas! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NecromusDec 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alright, after being left with mixed feelings about the second movie I was hoping to have the question of how Neo managed to stop the machines answered adequately in this movie, but it was not. Also, this movie adds even more questions along the same lines: how does Neo manage to see in the real after he is physically blinded? (BTW: The same thing happened in the Dune saga which is probably not just coincidence, there's some deep philosophical meaning to these in both I'm just not entirely sure what it is). How does Neo absorb the sentinel into himself in the end? Three possible theories I have are: 1) Zion and the outside world are just another layer of reality inside the matrix created to fool the people who escape the inner layer of the Matrix that they are free. 2) Neo is actually a machine himself (or possibly the cookie the oracle gave him lets him carry a machine program somehow, after all in computer lingo a "cookie" is a small piece of data you give to a user visiting your website so you can track them), 3) Neo has achieved enlightenment inside the matrix but a side-effect is that he's also achieved enlightenment in the real world, in Buddhism for example it is said there are high-level monks that can bend reality melting snow with their minds and/or make thing materialize out of thin air, etc.. It's possibly Neo's enlightenment lets him do something similar in the real world. Any of these explanations work but we never really know what the creators of these movies really intended since they have stated they would rather let us figure out things for ourselves. The other confusing part of the movie is the manner in which Neo defeats Smith when he realizes he has to stop fighting Smith and just give in to win. I think it has something to do with him realizing he is only fighting himself or duality is an illusion, since a lot of spiritual paths say this. But once again we'll never really know. After watching the trilogy once or twice I suggest you view the versions where they have the audio by two philosophers watching the film over the film, you will understand the film a lot better after seeing that. Overall I love the trilogy. The one thing about this last movie is the beginning is really lame. The first and second movies had epic scenes to start them off, this one just starts up with the characters on the hover-ship having a conversation with each other, how lame is that? I docked a point from this final one for that. They should have started with the scene in "Mobil Ave" (ie: Limbo) that would have been more exciting to start with. But other than that a great movie, albeit still confusing the first time you see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sparkiegizmoDec 3, 2013
Although the film can get quite spotty and in many ways....droll, the action scenes coupled with the still top rate acting of it's major characters propels this movie to a solid an average 7. This movie could have been so much more than anAlthough the film can get quite spotty and in many ways....droll, the action scenes coupled with the still top rate acting of it's major characters propels this movie to a solid an average 7. This movie could have been so much more than an action film in so many ways and at least a solid 20 minutes could have been trimmed from this film alone. The B-rate extras fudging up some of the easiest lines in Hollywood history. The Matrix Revolutions answers many questions in this final installment in better ways than many other sci-fi films Terminator 3), but it fails to grip you the way the philosophy of the first Matrix did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SkyrimGuy935Dec 10, 2014
Much of the philosophical ambiguity of the first two is absent in this film, and a number of the characters needed more development. The dialog is even more wooden than in the first two, also. However, the action and soundtrack are bothMuch of the philosophical ambiguity of the first two is absent in this film, and a number of the characters needed more development. The dialog is even more wooden than in the first two, also. However, the action and soundtrack are both superb. However, much like the second installment, the action scenes have a habit of overstaying their welcome. The third act is what saved this movie though, with a LEGENDARY final fight sequence, and some good screen time with Neo and Trinity leading up to it. In the end, The Matrix Revolutions is a mostly unworthy but still enjoyable concluding chapter to an exceptional trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jollyjoe1000Jun 4, 2016
What if I told you that this movie is just as good as the other 2 Matrix movies and that it is very underapricated when to its review. Neo kill all the hater agent smiths.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SeeRossRunJul 19, 2016
This whole trilogy was/is too smart for the room. The reason many modern audiences don't get the richness of this movie is a basic lack in understanding of philosophy and multiple theologies. The matrix, in and of its self, is a modernThis whole trilogy was/is too smart for the room. The reason many modern audiences don't get the richness of this movie is a basic lack in understanding of philosophy and multiple theologies. The matrix, in and of its self, is a modern telling of "The Cave" by Socrates, or Plato (if you're in the camp that believes Socrates was a literary creation of Plato). The rest is a mixture of multiple religious ideologies both eastern and western. It's not that the story was convoluted or unexplainable, it's that the wachowski's forgot the audience they were making this for. A generation woefully ignorant of basic philosophical teachings, on the whole; and religiously ignorant (as most cling to one religion without ever studying the others). Which is why many got the Christ symbolism but miss the other religious ideologies discussed throughout the trilogy. So I give it a 9 because as authors, they forgot their audience and lost them. They should have used "standardized" ideologies since our society is socialized to be that way. Thank you modern education. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SimpsonFansJan 8, 2017
No, it doesn't exactly re-create the magic that made the original such an instant classic, but it's faster and more involving than "Reloaded" and it rounds off the premise and themes of the trilogy in a surprisingly satisfying way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews