Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 31, 1999
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1210 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,146
Mixed:
34
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Falling_HammerJul 10, 2011
An excellent movie with tons of special effects, fight scenes, etc., and the best thing is that they are all done perfectly. A really good film with an interesting story behind it. YOU'LL ENJOY IT.
22 of 23 users found this helpful221
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
Yes, the movie has flaws. But who cares? "The Matrix" is a astonishing movie that is for-your-eyes only. The film has top notch (slo-mo was first introduced by this movie) CGI as well as a well rounded plot. It gives you more than you can askYes, the movie has flaws. But who cares? "The Matrix" is a astonishing movie that is for-your-eyes only. The film has top notch (slo-mo was first introduced by this movie) CGI as well as a well rounded plot. It gives you more than you can ask for from a 1990's action film. Expand
20 of 21 users found this helpful201
All this user's reviews
8
KevinV.Nov 4, 2007
What a concept! Although the movie is well executed, it is not exceptional. It makes for an entertaining ride.
7 of 7 users found this helpful
10
tbagurdrumset94Feb 10, 2012
The best thing about the Matrix is the fact that it's such a brilliant, brilliant idea. The world you live in is virtual. In reality, you are an energy source in a jelly sac harvested by a race of machines... It makes me think of so manyThe best thing about the Matrix is the fact that it's such a brilliant, brilliant idea. The world you live in is virtual. In reality, you are an energy source in a jelly sac harvested by a race of machines... It makes me think of so many things... and I thought of whether I would take the blue pill or the red pill... you know, I'd probably take the blue pill. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give matrix a 9.5 out of 10. Visuals are great, and so are the action sequences. They're really epic, plus they're great to watch. Score is great. The story is also very good to. Acting is really good. Everyone does a greatFirst off, I would give matrix a 9.5 out of 10. Visuals are great, and so are the action sequences. They're really epic, plus they're great to watch. Score is great. The story is also very good to. Acting is really good. Everyone does a great job throughout the movie. Overall, The Matrix is a great sic-fi action blockbuster that a great movie to watch. You really should watch this movie. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
LeoR.Jul 5, 2008
The greatest action movie of all time, my favorite movie, its so perceptive so mind boggling you will watch it more than once to then fall more in love with the matrix a world without borders or boundaries. I love this movie.
5 of 5 users found this helpful
10
KoKoJieJan 12, 2012
After I have seen The Matrix, I instantly placed it at the #1 spot of the list of my favorite movies. Since then, 13 years has passed, I have seen over a hundred new movies. The Matrix still occupies that top spot. Inception was good, but noAfter I have seen The Matrix, I instantly placed it at the #1 spot of the list of my favorite movies. Since then, 13 years has passed, I have seen over a hundred new movies. The Matrix still occupies that top spot. Inception was good, but no where near The Matrix good. If you haven't seen The Matrix series, I pity you, for you have missed the BEST movie ever made, go see it NOW! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
randomdudeJun 6, 2011
Groundbreaking synthesis of East meats West, in a brilliant sci-fi mind-scape.

...trippy, cool, and fun ride all around.


Forget the sequels, they suck
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
joelschnickAug 24, 2011
In my top ten movies of all time. What a shame the sequels sputtered out or this Trilogy could have been the most epic in the history of film making. Could have been our generation's STAR WARS. Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
DalekFeb 9, 2013
Well, after all these years of gaming communities being inspired by it as well as parodies from other films. I finally watched it. The film is confusing in some ways but it really makes you think. The film is very entertaining and has veryWell, after all these years of gaming communities being inspired by it as well as parodies from other films. I finally watched it. The film is confusing in some ways but it really makes you think. The film is very entertaining and has very impressive CGI for 1999. It's definitely worth watching. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
MoneyShot53Nov 20, 2011
The thought that went into this movies plot is astounding. I can understand how some could be confused and dislike it but ive found the more i watch this film the more i love it. Some minor flaws here and there but overall an amazing film.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
AoKuroiRaccoonJan 7, 2012
Amazing, definitely a timeless masterpiece. Some of the utmost original storylines of science-fiction genre, introducing a brilliant and new reality that will break with all the standards and blow away your mind. The perfect combinationAmazing, definitely a timeless masterpiece. Some of the utmost original storylines of science-fiction genre, introducing a brilliant and new reality that will break with all the standards and blow away your mind. The perfect combination between action scenes that will keep you on the edge of your seat and reflective dialogues concerning the movie's very deep theme. Additionally, the technical production is astonishing with very good graphic special effects that form an unbelievably awesome visual appeal. Truly a must-watch production that will not leave you unchanged. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
PQuinnyJan 15, 2012
This movie was a well done action movie. It has some problems with the story line, but the action scenes are undeniably astonishing. This movie introduced the Slow Motion concept to other movie makers, and it has been a hit ever since. IThis movie was a well done action movie. It has some problems with the story line, but the action scenes are undeniably astonishing. This movie introduced the Slow Motion concept to other movie makers, and it has been a hit ever since. I would definitely consider this movie to be a modern classic action film. The movie certainly goes above and beyond the standard 90's movie. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
handobaMay 25, 2012
This film is much more than most of people can understand.It just try to open our eyes, we are in the matrix and this world is not what we think it is, and this movie is made by this people for this people, just as James Cameron Avatar thatThis film is much more than most of people can understand.It just try to open our eyes, we are in the matrix and this world is not what we think it is, and this movie is made by this people for this people, just as James Cameron Avatar that shows to the world the true reality, from whence we came and where we can go. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 6, 2012
The Matrix
Average User Score: 8.7
10 The Matrix Image The Matrix takes mystery school concepts and philosophies of Gnosticism, Eastern religions, Western Religions and even ideas from the Natural Law movement and blends them together to
The Matrix
Average User Score: 8.7
10
The Matrix Image
The Matrix takes mystery school concepts and philosophies of Gnosticism, Eastern religions, Western Religions and even ideas from the Natural Law movement and blends them together to create a cryptic, symbolic action film. Everything in this movie has occult meaning, but it's up to us, the viewers to figure out what that meaning is. This movie is like a puzzle. But this is all done in a very cool, entertaining way with awesome special effects (cutting edge at the time it was released) and great memorable action scenes, some which have greatly influenced the special effects of Hollywood movies produced afterwards. My only complaint about this movie is the way the love of Neo by Trinity is revealed, I mean you have no idea and I remember in the theater myself and everyone around me groaning since the whole love story in action films thing has been done to death and this seemed so cliche. The love between Trinity and Neo is very important to the trinity in the long run but imo it could have been introduced in a much better manner, maybe some flirting scenes leading up to it because you just don't see it coming at all which makes it really unrealistic. But other than that a great, epic movie.

The Matrix (and the entire Matrix Trilogy) is like an onion, it has many layers of meaning, and every-time I watch it I notice something new. Definitely a masterpiece with profound hidden meaning and my favourite movie off all time to this day. 10/10
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
Nk71Feb 7, 2013
If You Ever had to choose one movie for your unborn child to see. It would definitely be the matrix. FREE YOUR MIND. The perfect illustration of control and power and how it influences everything around you
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
chwJul 17, 2014
The Matrix was genius. Acting was great, the story: perfection, direction was perfect, and then the fights were absolutely badass, and anyone who's seen it would agree.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
Honest-reviewsJun 8, 2014
Really recommend this movie (not the sequels however). Good plot and storyline, nice special effects (not too overdone) and if you can overlook the plot holes and suspend disbelief, your in for a great ride!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
NoahSMar 1, 2008
The Matrix is without a doubt one of the best movies ever made. Period. I will explain though. Most people have an issue with the movie for one of two reasons: the special effects and the plot. First, I'm not a huge martial arts guy, so The Matrix is without a doubt one of the best movies ever made. Period. I will explain though. Most people have an issue with the movie for one of two reasons: the special effects and the plot. First, I'm not a huge martial arts guy, so I'm definitely nowhere close to being an expert on this, but the action scenes were pretty awesome. The combination of slick and fast hand-to-hand with a load of guns thrown in...awesome. The music to the fights completed the experience. The second issue most people have with the Matrix is something I am quite familiar with: the plot. The plot of the Matrix is fantastic. That is because of two things: One, it is a fresh idea. The Matrix's plot is not a clone of anything. And two, the plot is incredibly deep, having multiple levels for every part in it. The agents, Neo being freed, the idea of the Matrix itself, all great. If you don't like sci-fi, then that's fine. You probably won't like this movie. You definitely won't like the sequels. But don't knock them for being "stupid" or "moronic." Because they simply aren't. And on a last note, the acting is exactly suited to this movie. The people in this movie act exactly how their characters should. Keanu Reeves was cast BECAUSE he acts the way he does on camera. It was perfect for the part. Hugo Weaving is SUPPOSED to be dry and humorless. Keep in mind the context of the characters when you judge acting. If you have any complaints, I'll be willing to defend the greatness of this movie. A 10 out of 10. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ArkonBladeSep 2, 2010
a fun sci fi action flick with fantasic action and effects . the story is pretty entertaining and keeps you interested . the film has a great plot twist that i dont think any one seeing this for the first time will ever see coming . the storya fun sci fi action flick with fantasic action and effects . the story is pretty entertaining and keeps you interested . the film has a great plot twist that i dont think any one seeing this for the first time will ever see coming . the story feels fresh and original . the acting is abit dry but fits this film and especialy Reeves who i dont think you could get any dryer then his acting . Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
THE MATRIX is the best action movie ever made in my list. When Matrix released on its time, thiz movie created many breakthrough on world cinema. Directed by Larry and Andy Wachowski, who is just recently popular in thiz movie. They justTHE MATRIX is the best action movie ever made in my list. When Matrix released on its time, thiz movie created many breakthrough on world cinema. Directed by Larry and Andy Wachowski, who is just recently popular in thiz movie. They just known previously as small budget film Director, BOUND (1996). Later, the movie has two more sequels MATRIX RELOADED and MATRIX REVOLUTION in 2003. You can almost classify the Stars of thiz movie as B-Class Casts, except Keanu Reeves, but still the outcome is beyond the expectations. Each of the characters like: Neo (Keanu Reeves), Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne), Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) , even the villain Agent Smith (Hugo Weaving) already become a legendary icon in the industries. One of the fervencies of thiz movie is on the action scene. The fight scene is something new and different, which follows later by other movies. Behind that extraordinary fight scene is well-known Martial Arts Choreographer, Yuen Woo Ping. Woo Ping is the man behind CROUCHING TIGER, HIDDEN DRAGON(2000), KILL BILL (2003),THE FORBIDDEN KINGDOM (2008), even Jackie Chan classic action SNAKE IN THE EAGLE SHADOW (1978). His experiences in a lot of Asian movies made him effective. The movie definitely exceed beyond our imagination. In fact, many people did not understand entirely the story of THE MATRIX, there are still many blank spot to question about. The Content of the movie fills with great philosophies inside. It seemed to me Wachowski Brothers discovered successfully how to make a brilliant concept from some of religions. The essence is not that simple as appear to be, Actually we will always have something new, every time we watch it.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
le_oneJun 8, 2013
This is the best sci-fi movie ever made, together with Star Wars IV and V, of course. I can't tell you much about it. You REALLY need to watch it so you can make conclusions.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
OhRlyMay 10, 2011
I feel bad for those morons who think The Matrix sucks. this is a brilliant movie full of epic nonstop action. If you like movie with awsome acting,music, and badass slo-motion fight scenes, etc. then get this, if you aren't... well buyI feel bad for those morons who think The Matrix sucks. this is a brilliant movie full of epic nonstop action. If you like movie with awsome acting,music, and badass slo-motion fight scenes, etc. then get this, if you aren't... well buy Legend of the Guardians. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
KAS--WillSep 10, 2011
Despite TRON being my all time, video game related movies of all time, The Matrix is my all time bad ass, cool, computer/hacker movies. I find it hard NOT to love. It has action, martial arts so the 'easily entertained by action' viewersDespite TRON being my all time, video game related movies of all time, The Matrix is my all time bad ass, cool, computer/hacker movies. I find it hard NOT to love. It has action, martial arts so the 'easily entertained by action' viewers can have something, the 'computer goers' like myself have something to get into and when it's all thrown together it makes the perfect combination of action and story. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
PhoenixeuhouaiNov 29, 2011
The best sci-fi movie of its time.
Excellent original soundtrack
I still keep the thinking as a reference for some of my work and my everyday life. Loved it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MisterMDGJul 14, 2014
If I was dying and had to recommend to my child only 1 film to watch until they understand it fully, it would be the Matrix (trilogy).

That's how good it is.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
R.LopezSep 6, 2009
When I first saw this movie when I was twelve I didn't think much of it, I thought it had a confusing story and a mindless plot that was supported and only succeeded by out of this world slow motion stunts. Boy was I naive or what!? Now When I first saw this movie when I was twelve I didn't think much of it, I thought it had a confusing story and a mindless plot that was supported and only succeeded by out of this world slow motion stunts. Boy was I naive or what!? Now seeing it again after all these years I could see that I was not ready back then to handle a movie of this complexity and strange coherent means of story telling. But now I fully respect and love this movie for what it is and for what it always will be, mindbogglingly, mind blowing, out of this world fun. When the Matrix was released in 1999 this was the film to go see people were busting out of the theater's and telling anyone they can to go see this movie. It was the "It" movie of the year and it gained the title justly. This film mapped out new territory in action and ushered in a whole new generation of action & Sci-Fi thrillers and video games as well(Max Payne comes to mind) it is one of the biggest and most beloved film of the 90's and has one of the biggest fan base out there. This movie unique and I mean unique story and style has such and impact on you when you first see it you'll want to see it the minute it's over and some more after that and after that and you'll want to see it a million times it's just that good. The Matrix put's a Gothic and dark spin on the dystopia and apocalyptic themes that have become very common in Sci-Fi films, this film does it one better it takes those overly used themes and creates a completely original and unique world around which everything we Believe is a lie. It has a great monolithic tone to it that makes it a masterpiece by any standards and it creates a great aftershock in which few films can actually do these days. It purposes that machines while enslave humanity and use us as a battery source to power there vasts armies of machines around the world. But that's what makes it so great to watch it gives you a sense of hope and a sense of justice that you just feel all the way to your bones. This movie has given the fellow movie goer what they've always wanted and always searched for in a film, great action, a smart story and plot, acting you can live with and put them all together and what do you got? The Matrix! This movie will stick with long after it's over and even after tour old you'll still remember one movie that rocked your world like none other. All in all this film delivers great any day entertainment that is like Laurence Fishburn said, " Unfortunately no one can be told what the Matrix is you have to see it for yourself." And trust me once you do you won't ever look at Sci-Fi or other movies the same way again. This movie delivers. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Jul 2, 2007
Awesome action, awesome acting, awesome plot, awesome everything!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ElenaBFeb 28, 2008
It is an epic. Classic. Great philosphy.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ManveerR.Feb 18, 2006
I thought the matrix was brilliant the god of Sci-Fi.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KevinLDec 27, 2009
Great movie, a definite heartwarming, classic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TAMPjackoonOct 19, 2011
Sure some things aren't perfect, and it can be kind of...meh, but it is still a fantastic movie. The whole concept is very interesting, making you think for a brief moment "what if that's real?" And on top of that, it is funny, dramatic, andSure some things aren't perfect, and it can be kind of...meh, but it is still a fantastic movie. The whole concept is very interesting, making you think for a brief moment "what if that's real?" And on top of that, it is funny, dramatic, and has great action scenes. I think it's a great ride of 90's movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
oxanaMay 20, 2014
I remember when I first saw this movie at school, years ago. I wasn't fully focused and even missed a piece of the movie, but I recall thinking that this film is complex and needs more than a couple watches to be understood. Now, years later,I remember when I first saw this movie at school, years ago. I wasn't fully focused and even missed a piece of the movie, but I recall thinking that this film is complex and needs more than a couple watches to be understood. Now, years later, after I have seen the movie time and time again, it is almost as simple as it gets.

"Matrix" was the first of its kin. It has been made into parody more times than I can count, and a lot of movies have been influenced by it. This is a master piece, right here.

The world, the ideology, and the characters all stand their own ground, firm and unyielding. The idea behind the story is complex, coming apart piece by piece. Words of wisdom are offered, but you need to grasp the right things to really comprehend them. There is no big "surprise" lurking around; you have the answer all the time. You just need to understand it first.

The fighting scenes are one of a kind. The slow-motion camera work is artistic, adding to the coolness that seems to hang above this movie. Sunglasses, black leather, the soundtrack on the background, and the monotone voices - it all creates an atmosphere you either love or hate.

I love it. This is totally one of my favorite movies, and when viewed as part of the Matrix series, this is the most "whole" part.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mephageJan 6, 2012
Beautifully filmed and written. Best film of all time. The charcters are so real and engaging, the settings are perfect and I couldn't find a single fault if I tried.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lt308252Jan 16, 2016
Anyone who dislikes this film obviously doest understand what it is about and what point it is trying to get across. One of my favourite movies of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelBagameryMay 3, 2014
I strongly recommend this film; it's a golden experience that will change your life for the better.

The effects still look great even fifteen years later. The story offers much food for thought. Morpheus, Neo, and Trinity transcend mere
I strongly recommend this film; it's a golden experience that will change your life for the better.

The effects still look great even fifteen years later. The story offers much food for thought. Morpheus, Neo, and Trinity transcend mere character into archetype. But who HASN'T felt as if this life is something less than it seems? This stands alongside 'Serenity' among science-fiction cinema's greatest champions of human liberation and truth. If you care about your mind, see this. You will not be disappointed.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
missguidedOct 21, 2013
Saw this movie for the first time yesterday. Although a lot of it was cheesy and the costumes were ridiculous, it was very engrossing and I was never bored.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
iffyguyDec 11, 2013
A mind-bending movie. The story of Neo, a computer hacker who learns that the entire world is simply a dream created by machines to keep human's minds occupied so they can be harvested for energy, is incredible, simply because one day it mayA mind-bending movie. The story of Neo, a computer hacker who learns that the entire world is simply a dream created by machines to keep human's minds occupied so they can be harvested for energy, is incredible, simply because one day it may actually happen. The fights are incredibly choreographed, and the special effects were revolutionary for their time, and still hold up today. Buckle up and prepare for The Matrix! (and its crappy sequels). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
christianobucciDec 26, 2013
"You have to understand, most of these people are not ready to be unplugged. And many of them are so inured, so hopelessly dependent on the system, that they will fight to protect it. "
Morpheus
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
FatalityHDApr 26, 2014
The beginning of the movie for me was very confusing but by the end all your questions will be answered. The slo-mo and CGI make the tricks a whole lot better.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SkyrimGuy935Jan 17, 2015
My third favorite movie ever and one of the four films I consider to be perfect. While Keanu Reeves delivers his usual grade of acting, he more than makes up for it as the badass hero. The premise, while questionable from a logicalMy third favorite movie ever and one of the four films I consider to be perfect. While Keanu Reeves delivers his usual grade of acting, he more than makes up for it as the badass hero. The premise, while questionable from a logical standpoint, is haunting and deeply thought-provoking. The effects still hold up today and give the action sequences a special charm. Oh, and the ending is just one of the most satisfying ever.

The Matrix is definitely a 10/10 in my book.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MrPeteyJonesSep 7, 2014
I am just fascinated by the idea of the movie:"Human reproduction has stopped, humans are used as an infinite source of energy." So basically they are grown as mere vegetables.
Everyone agrees that the fight sequences are more than awesome.
I am just fascinated by the idea of the movie:"Human reproduction has stopped, humans are used as an infinite source of energy." So basically they are grown as mere vegetables.
Everyone agrees that the fight sequences are more than awesome. Special effects are spectacular considering the year the film was made.
The first part of The Matrix is more than enough to satisfy your expectations from a sci-fi movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIApr 4, 2016
...................................................................................................................................................................A Masterpiece movie of sci-fi & action, with a smart script...
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
smiyamotNov 29, 2015
Don't miss the first minute of this movie. That's how fast and interesting it is. And the most interesting concept of it all, that we are not really here. Our perception of the world is a computer construct that we are hard wired into.Don't miss the first minute of this movie. That's how fast and interesting it is. And the most interesting concept of it all, that we are not really here. Our perception of the world is a computer construct that we are hard wired into. Too far out? Then you won't like this. By the way, Neo (Keanu) goes to a bar to meet his contact. That bar is in Australia. It was not constructed for this movie. It and the patrons look like that everyday. Too far out? The sequels went downhill from this movie so I only have this one in my collection. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Legion121Dec 22, 2015
Not the best movie of all time, but I really appreciate ambitious movies that are full of interesting ideas. The matrix is certainly ambitious and has many new, interesting ideas. A lot of fun to watch.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RobertR.Dec 9, 2006
The most visually stunning, psychologically astonishing, groundbreaking film the world has ever seen. It combines elements of philosophy, martial arts, and wonder to make a perfectly balanced and thrilling movie. Plus, it has a real cast of The most visually stunning, psychologically astonishing, groundbreaking film the world has ever seen. It combines elements of philosophy, martial arts, and wonder to make a perfectly balanced and thrilling movie. Plus, it has a real cast of actors, including Keanu Reeves as Neo, Lawrence Fishburne as Morpheus, and Carrie-Ann Moss as Trinity. Even if you're not into kung fu fight scenes, this movie will still satisfy you with its wonder and philosophical elements. Some movies go overboard with special effects and fight scenes, but this one does not. It has a perfect balance of fight scenes and philosophical things. Note: You have to see this movie a few times before you really understand everything that is being said. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TechAug 3, 2006
Movie was great. Effects, Storyline, Scripts.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DonnaMDec 20, 2007
The movie is excellent! I did not even pay attention to the special effects, It is the concept that really rocks! Extremely mind blowing! This is the best movie I ever saw!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Oct 13, 2005
Oh my god this film is brilliant. It has blown my mind. Thank you god for giving me the Matrix!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
garionc.Nov 4, 2005
Omg OMG exelent as both bill and teds just not as funny specilfx are brill and agent smith dude i need thst suit a spex they r great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
UyiO.Dec 5, 2005
Nothing like this has really been made before. A combination of theology, philosophy, kungfu and cyberworld.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NebularJan 12, 2006
'The Matrix' is a revolution in the sci-fi genre. It's simply amazing!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Oct 24, 2007
Easily in top 20 greatest movies of all time.Action packed from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JesnR.Feb 25, 2007
The most undoubtedly cool movie in a very long time. An absolute pity about the sequels. Sigh.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertS.Jan 15, 2008
A fantastic film that is as creative as science-fiction films get. A great take on the "What if" question, and although the action is a bit over the top, it's supposed to be and it doesn't go too far. Makes you think and combines A fantastic film that is as creative as science-fiction films get. A great take on the "What if" question, and although the action is a bit over the top, it's supposed to be and it doesn't go too far. Makes you think and combines good use of colour, atmosphere and truly believable fear from some of the characters to make on of the best sci-fi films ever. Go buy it. It's just a shame the sequels were so bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeMJun 1, 2009
Best movie Ive ever seen besides Braveheart. The fight scenes were amazing. Loved the rotating camera and slow motion effects. The story line was really good. Anyone that does not give this movie a ten obviously has bad taste in movies or Best movie Ive ever seen besides Braveheart. The fight scenes were amazing. Loved the rotating camera and slow motion effects. The story line was really good. Anyone that does not give this movie a ten obviously has bad taste in movies or just didn't really understand the movie!. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredDec 12, 2006
WOW! The special effects were amazing and the stunts in the movie were really cool and fun to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielH.Jun 29, 2007
Although difficult to understand at times, this action packed masterpiece brought together brilliant action sequences and fantastic filming to bring you a really great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewNJul 26, 2007
This was billed as the action movie of the millennium. And it really was hard to argue with that. One of the best movies ever and the best sci-fi movie ever. With stunning set pieces and fight scenes, its a must see. A shame the third film This was billed as the action movie of the millennium. And it really was hard to argue with that. One of the best movies ever and the best sci-fi movie ever. With stunning set pieces and fight scenes, its a must see. A shame the third film was such drivel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Oct 26, 2008
Its funny how some people give this movie a low rating. I don't think they fully understand the concept of a simulated reality. There are many actual scientific hypothesis regarding the subject, many of which seem extremely logical and Its funny how some people give this movie a low rating. I don't think they fully understand the concept of a simulated reality. There are many actual scientific hypothesis regarding the subject, many of which seem extremely logical and involve Quantum Computers trying to calculate every possible combination and outcome of everything. Another considers the progression of technology and computer systems, and how they are already running complex simulations to help us decide the best course of action in many situations and where resources should be allocated. The matrix falls under the category of "Brain-computer interface" or "direct neural interface" and correlates directly with Neuroprosthetics which is an actual area of neuroscience. This is the first film to consider technologies impact on primitive culture, and the behavior which could result from direct technological integration into semi-intelligent organic life. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkWFeb 24, 2008
Gobsmacked all the way! This is a mile marker movie in the cinema time line. The cinematography is ground breaking and impressive - evidenced by how much it has been imitated. It is a movie for both Joe Six-pack and the philosopher at the Gobsmacked all the way! This is a mile marker movie in the cinema time line. The cinematography is ground breaking and impressive - evidenced by how much it has been imitated. It is a movie for both Joe Six-pack and the philosopher at the same time. Joe S. will be satisfied with the Kung-Fu action and gun fighting expolosions, while the philosopher will scratch their chin with a new perspective on Descartes' Mind-Body problem. The kissy-kissy scene between Neo and Trinity is a bit hokey ... but I survived it and still left the theater slack-jawed. The next two movies in the trilogy do not follow this one very well. In fact, I think the trilogy is still incomplete. I am waiting for the next two...proper follow-ups. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Jul 12, 2008
Phenomenal don't believe any of the ratings under a 7, they're simply trying to keep you from being unplugged.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelJ.Dec 28, 2005
Great movie, one of my favorites. The ideas introduced in this movie were fascinating.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StevenFAug 19, 2013
Nowadays, you could ask someone what film defined the sic-fi genre and made it what it is today, there's a good chance the film on the lips of many would be The Matrix, the 1999 bombshell which inspired, split and certainly opened up debateNowadays, you could ask someone what film defined the sic-fi genre and made it what it is today, there's a good chance the film on the lips of many would be The Matrix, the 1999 bombshell which inspired, split and certainly opened up debate for the masses, some called it ridiculous, others were boggled by its complex plot but many respected the achievement the film had, and for good reason. Without stripping the plot down piece by piece and explaining what is and what isn't, The Matrix works with the idea that the world as we know it is actually a dream, that we are actually "plugged in" to the real world which is run by machines, and that Neo (Keanu Reeves) is the man to stop the war and give freedom back to the humans, this is what Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) believes, one of the captains of a resistance movement in the real world.
Neo begins to learn the way of the Matrix, which can be summed up as the world we live in now, that it is actually a computer program created by the machines to control the populous.
The Matrix itself, therefore, can be altered because it is a program, these people can walk on walls, slow down time and have quite an array of fighting skills, but its really when these parts come into play that the film starts to loose is unique touch and starts to conform, we have shootouts, running, typical villains and a sense of losing steam, the premise remains, but the action becomes bloated and apparently necessary. There is a vast array of characters, already mentioning Neo and Morpheus, we have Trinity, an experienced member of the crew and a love interest of Neo, we have also have Mr Smith, an agent of the Matrix intent on the destruction of the remaining human world, Zion. There are various other characters but they aren't widely used, the primary focus is the path that Neo must take, and the decisions he must make.
We have the introduction of "bullet time" which of course is common ground now in Hollywood but its humble beginnings in the film will leave your jaw on the floor, the Watchowski brothers have utilised an intelligent, sometimes confusing plot but still manage to keep us up to date, while also showing some impressive effects and scenarios that will really have you questioning everything around you, if of course you keep an open mind.
Certainly an interesting and dramatic tale, one which continues to stand the test of time with its remarkably risky script and its choice of lead roles, but while it can take a turn into familiar territory, there is still fresh and enjoyable fun to be had with The Matrix, it opens plenty of questions and begs the viewer to attempt a straight answer, and thats what getting engaged in a film is all about.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Apemonkey666Jan 12, 2013
After all those years this still remains probably the most perfect scifi action movie to date (together with T2). Maybe it only has 415 VFX shots (a romantic comedy these days has more vfx shots) but they are all used where they count theAfter all those years this still remains probably the most perfect scifi action movie to date (together with T2). Maybe it only has 415 VFX shots (a romantic comedy these days has more vfx shots) but they are all used where they count the most and they still hold up very well for an almost 14 year old film. The Blu-ray transfer is absolutely exellent and as good as a 35mm on BD can ever look. There's not a scratch to be seen, not the slightest woble and just the right amount of grain (no NR). Some have complained about the colors but for me they look as they should be (the Matrix world a bit more greenish than the real world) and the detail in the black levels (of which there are allot) is perfect (on the first DVD release they were a bit mushy). The Dolby 5.1 sound of the DVD was already superb but here you get it in an uncompressed TrueHD track. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kirkteegardinJul 5, 2012
The Matrix was a damn good movie. This is review for the first movie because the other ones are in a different category (Matrix Reload, Matrix Revolutions). The movie starts off with the audience saying, "what the hell is going on." YouThe Matrix was a damn good movie. This is review for the first movie because the other ones are in a different category (Matrix Reload, Matrix Revolutions). The movie starts off with the audience saying, "what the hell is going on." You don't have to wait until the end of movie to understand it. About forty minutes into the movie you should understand it. There is some guy Neo that is living in a dreamworld which is basically a huge computer program (that would be a butt load of html). He eventually gets out of the dreamworld and is free. If you want to know the rest you should see it. Neo is played by Keanu Reeves (Speed), Agent Smith is the elf dude from Lord of the Rings, and Morphis can be found in Pee Wee's Playhouse (not kidding). I believe that this movie helped change plot lines for movies. This movie makes the audience confused for awhile yet the movie still kicks ass. It seemed like many movies were sticking with simple plot lines with bombs and terrorists, etc. Now we have movies that are confusing like Shutter Island and Inception. The special effects in the movie are really good. You cant tell what was computer created which is something that is not always present in today's movies. If you have not seen this movie then you should buy and see it, because it is a movie that can be seen over and over again (the second and third Matrix movies are disappointing; so I would advice you not to necessarily buy those. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
rishab_babjiApr 22, 2013
Brilliant concept, perhaps a little more thought could have been given to the plot details, but most of this movie is for the eyes! The acting is amazing for a 1990's action film and undoubtedly one of my all-time favourites. TheBrilliant concept, perhaps a little more thought could have been given to the plot details, but most of this movie is for the eyes! The acting is amazing for a 1990's action film and undoubtedly one of my all-time favourites. The top-of-the-time CGI is breathtaking, spawning many cultural references to the 'Matrix Move' made popular by this film. Overall, this movie is extremely entertaining and will always be a favourite amongst many. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
StaticSpineSep 6, 2013
Modern classics of Sci-Fi, this movie carries a whole philosophy in itself. Interesting setting and concept, martial arts, great fight scenes, bullet dodging and you name what else make this movie so popular, and it's popularity is fair.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
steven132231Sep 12, 2012
This was an awesome film that should be watched by everyone.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
crazywaffle124Sep 19, 2012
Great movie. A beautiful mix of action and thought-provoking ideas. Deserves a 10 for sure. This movie is a great movie to rent if you want a great thought provoking movie like Inception, with non-stop action. The special effects are a littleGreat movie. A beautiful mix of action and thought-provoking ideas. Deserves a 10 for sure. This movie is a great movie to rent if you want a great thought provoking movie like Inception, with non-stop action. The special effects are a little cheesy though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheGamer31Oct 11, 2013
This is one of the greatest movies of all time. Amazing special effects, surprisingly good acting, an interesting, different but yet soothing and epic soundtrack, and non stop action makes this movie amazing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithAug 21, 2014
A kinetic, spellbinding, revolutionary movie. It's thought provoking, exciting, and one of the most memorable movies ever made. It may have a few flaws, such as being a little too show offy with its visual effects, and some lines areA kinetic, spellbinding, revolutionary movie. It's thought provoking, exciting, and one of the most memorable movies ever made. It may have a few flaws, such as being a little too show offy with its visual effects, and some lines are extremely pretentious, but there are few films as atmospheric or as mind-bendingly ambitious as the Matrix. Did I mention that the production design is incredible and that the score also fits perfectly? Even Keanu Reeves' performance isn't terrible, which is almost impossible. If you like sci-fi at all the chances are you'll love this. But I'm willing to bet you already do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ninja_dolphinFeb 14, 2013
Quite possibly one of the greatest action movies of all time. The world of the matrix is so intriguing you can't help but be hooked on what the movie throws at you. Great characters, a gripping story and some great special effects even overQuite possibly one of the greatest action movies of all time. The world of the matrix is so intriguing you can't help but be hooked on what the movie throws at you. Great characters, a gripping story and some great special effects even over 10 years later. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
erikvanbeekFeb 9, 2013
The Matrix helps you thinking about the question "What is reality?". This is an epistemological question: is the world we see around us the real world itself or merely an internal perceptual copy of that world generated by neural processes inThe Matrix helps you thinking about the question "What is reality?". This is an epistemological question: is the world we see around us the real world itself or merely an internal perceptual copy of that world generated by neural processes in our brain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJun 30, 2014
People have been telling me to watch this movie for the past 3 years. I only just recently sat down to watch it. And good God am I happy that I did. The whole premise of the movie is awesome. Evil robots against rebel humans is all you havePeople have been telling me to watch this movie for the past 3 years. I only just recently sat down to watch it. And good God am I happy that I did. The whole premise of the movie is awesome. Evil robots against rebel humans is all you have to say and I'll be sold. To top it all off, the action is still awesome 15 years later. As far as action movies go, this is one of the best I've seen in a while.
There are a few small flaws. At times the acting can be average, and there is one very glaring plot hole (I won't go into details due to spoilers). However these issues are not significant enough to hurt the experience.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FloxerJul 5, 2013
Matrix (1999)

Matrix der Film aus dem letzten Jahrtausend. Ja, so alt ist dieser Film schon. Wenn man Matrix in ein Film-Genre einordnen wollte, so wären wohl Action und Science Fiction die Hauptkategorien. Das allein wird dem Werk jedoch
Matrix (1999)

Matrix der Film aus dem letzten Jahrtausend. Ja, so alt ist dieser Film schon. Wenn man Matrix in ein Film-Genre einordnen wollte, so wären wohl Action und Science Fiction die Hauptkategorien. Das allein wird dem Werk jedoch nicht gerecht. Neben minutenlangen Baller-Szenen entpuppt sich eine Wahnsinnsstory, die ins Philosophische geht.

Aber erst einmal zu den Anfängen.
Der Protagonist, Thomas Anderson (gespielt von Keanu Reeves), ist ein Computer-Hacker und führt ein isoliertes Leben. Doch dann wird ihm eine geheimnisvolle Botschaft von Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) auf seinem Computer gesendet. Noch unklar, was ihn erwarten wird, beschließt er, dieser Nachricht auf den Grund zu gehen. In einem Nachtclub trifft er dann eine junge Frau namens Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss), die ihn zu einem Treffen mit Morpheus überreden will. Durch eine Wendung der Ereignisse wird er zur Zielscheibe eines Agententeams. Die einzigen Personen, die ihm helfen wollen, sind eben jene zwielichtigen Personen, die ihm eine "Wahrheit" verkaufen wollen, die er sich nicht im Entferntesten vorstellen kann. Ist die Welt real oder nur eine computergesteuerte, von Maschinen beherrschte, virtuelle Illusion?

Regie und Drehbuch führen die Wachowski-Geschwister, die ebenfalls das Drehbuch für "V wie Vendetta" schrieben. Ihnen und der sehr guten Leistung der Schauspieler ist es zu verdanken, dass zu keinem Zeitpunkt im Film eine Handlung realitätsfremd wirkt.
Neben der erstklassigen Schauspielarbeit tragen die herausragenden Spezialeffekte enorm zur Atmosphäre bei.
Für ein Science Fiction Werk genial, für seine Zeit Weltklasse. Bullet-Time, eines der wesentlichsten und markantesten Effekte, feierte nach Matrix eine Revolution im Action-Genre. Jedoch ist ihre Anwendung in Matrix bisher noch unübertroffen.
Farbfilter, wie sie in "300" oder "Kill Bill" bekannt sind, kommen auch bei Matrix zu Einsatz.

Wie bereits erwähnt sind aber gerade die philosophisch/religiösen Elemente und Hinweise, welche im ganzen Film durch Namensgebung Handlungen und Dialogen auftauchen, besonders hervorzuheben. Versteckt unter der ganzen Action behandelt der Film die Mythen verschiedener Religionen und Weltanschauungen und wirft durchaus tiefgründige Fragen auf.

Wer diesen Film noch nicht gesehen hat, wer seine Brillanz nicht verstanden hat, der sollte einen Besuch bei der Videothek einplanen. An diesem Meisterwerk führt kein Weg vorbei Matrix ist die rote Kapsel Teil 2 und 3 wohl eher die blaue…
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Pomegranate23Sep 6, 2013
A really great and deep movie. Very interesting plot that will have you thinking alot once it finishes. WIll simply blow your mind away, a must watch!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
saeidAug 18, 2013
This movie is one the top 10 of all time. Most of the movies out there never satisfied me very well but I think The Matrix is a masterpiece. I maybe do not agree with all the concepts in the movie but the story just makes you think aboutThis movie is one the top 10 of all time. Most of the movies out there never satisfied me very well but I think The Matrix is a masterpiece. I maybe do not agree with all the concepts in the movie but the story just makes you think about every aspect of your life again. Each time you watch this movie you will understand more of it. The most remarkable thing about The Matrix is, the directors have thought about every single scene in the movie and if you pay more attention you will find signs and symbols all over the places! Watch this movie more than once! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJul 8, 2015
The Matrix is a classic science fiction film that has a astonishing three dimensional cartoon world and has artsy action like you would see in a comic book but in 3D. What makes the film special, is it's taking a journey with it's charactersThe Matrix is a classic science fiction film that has a astonishing three dimensional cartoon world and has artsy action like you would see in a comic book but in 3D. What makes the film special, is it's taking a journey with it's characters and people watching the movie trying to figure out this matrix universe, the film does not spoon feed the audience. It describe many details as possible. Neil (Keanu Reeves) is a young hacker who wants to know what is the matrix, so he thinks Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) the dangerous man alive, to answer his question. He is contacted by Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) so they can go to a mysterious underworld were they'll meet Morpheus. Their fighting for their lives against intelligent secret agents. It is a truth that could cost Neo something more precious than his life. I don't care if people think Reeves is a bad actor, to be honest he's like able but this guy is trying to make his character awesome, likeable and to root for while he proves he's a physical actor, which makes the action more better. Laurence Fishburne as the leader is the best leader in the film, he awnsers all the questions that audiences have, he's something people need while watching the film. Writen and directed by the Wachowski brothers, they put so much detail in their marvel script and if there's one thing that they achieve in directing their action block busters is understanding the art of an action scene. Bill Pope's camera work is so mindblowing and that's why the Matrix is equally good about the film, and make the action scene more better. The film is well-made, astonishing camera work and written and directed by the talented Wachowski brothers. Grade A+ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BurnsWEMNov 11, 2014
One of my favorite movies of all time that changed the face of special effects in movies forever. This film is a must see for action fans and sci-fi fans. This movie is a true masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MarickApr 16, 2015
The Matrix is one of the best movies that I've seen. The special effects, actors, everything in this movie is very well chosen and managed to be one of the best movie I've seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moslegend34Dec 3, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'You think that's air you're breathing right now?' The Matrix whips up a feast of special effects, dialogue as well as sub textual meaning. Stellar performances by Reeves, Fishburne and of course Hugo Weaving as the indomitable Agent Smith, ensure that this movie sits rightly on the pantheon of classic sci-fi movies-wicked. The Wachowski brothers outdid themselves; using the Sydney CBD and the hovercraft to provide a dystopian setting, suitable for the new millennium. 5 Stars (from a biased Sydneysider). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jacobshoffDec 22, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Matrix is an awesome movie. I mean it's really the thinking man's action movie. What the wachowski brothers did with this film was amazing. The Kung-Fu action sequences were incredible, done to perfection. plus the bullet time sequences were so cool, nothing else compares. I just loved this awesome man's movie. Love it, Love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
saeedhakanJan 12, 2015
the best of all time.i have one reason for that.
any time you see this again discover new layer of film.
its a full of meanings.involving and Philosophic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CameraBounceGodFeb 23, 2015
the only thing that even comes close to this is LOTR....but this is even more anti gov than anything i've ever heard of.....therefore this movie number 1 despite the sequels.....the fact that he gets covered in a mirror only makesthe only thing that even comes close to this is LOTR....but this is even more anti gov than anything i've ever heard of.....therefore this movie number 1 despite the sequels.....the fact that he gets covered in a mirror only makes metaphorical sense but like it a lot...the fact that the first cops are already dead is kinda lame....who cares....also who cares that morphius can only guide neo to evade the agents in the beginning.....that seriously might be all thats wrong with it .....whats wrong with me now is the question....- JRA Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loving the action sequences and special effects to this very day, I had my eyes focused on the situation on who is the matrix and how to know what it is from beginning to end, and filled me with lots of questions on reality(but knowing its not true and meant for entertainment)

A spectacular thrill ride in the style of a cyber update of Alice in Wonderland, Keeanu Reeves plays Neo, a computer hack who unlocks the secret of the matrix and fines himself thrown into the deep underworld of reality where the discovery that interstellar machines have exploited the human race for generations, is uncovered. Neo is found by the rebellion and their leader Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) who believes Neo is the chosen one, and they both set out to survive with freedom in their hands, and the Matrix is sending enemies closing in on them.

though it was kind of flawed looking, it is still a great movie that could have been the next star wars hadn't its sequels been so awful other than that one of the most action packed sic-fi fantasies ever shown on the big screen

which pill would you choose?
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Get this: what if all we know as reality was, in fact, virtual reality? Reality itself is a ravaged dystopia run by technocrat Artificial Intelligence where humankind vegetates in billions of gloop-filled tanks - mere battery packs for the machineworld - being fed this late '90s VR (known as The Matrix - you with us here?) through an ugly great cable stuck in the back of our heads. And what if there was a group of quasi-spiritual rebels infiltrating The Matrix with the sole purpose of crashing the ruddy great mainframe and rescuing humans from their unknown purgatory? And, hey, what if Keanu Reeves was their Messiah?

What sounds like some web freak's wet dream is, in fact, a dazzlingly nifty slice of sci-fi cool. The Wachowski Brothers (Andy and Larry - last seen dabbling in kinky lesbian noir with the excellent Bound) pulling off something like a million masterstrokes all at once. Taking the imprimatur of the video game, they meld the grungy noir of Blade Runner, the hyperkinetic energies of chopsocky, John Woo hardware and grandiose spiritual overtones into William Gibson's cyberpunk ethos to produce a new aesthetic for the millennium powered to the thudding beat of techno. And it is just incredible fun. The key is the technique of "flo-mo", a process born from Japanese animation, whereby an object in motion is seemingly frozen while the camera miraculously spins around it as if time and gravity are on hold. It grants the action (including some killer kung fu which Reeves and crew spent months perfecting) liberty to take on surreal visual highs. Superhuman feats permissible, of course, in the context of VR as the rebels download Herculean "talents" to fuel their subterfuge. Meanwhile, the audience can only gawp longingly, with its jaws thunking to the cinema floor in unison, as the heroes wrapped in skintight leather, sleek shades and designer cheekbones, spin up walls, leap from high rises and slip through streams of bullets in silken slo-mo. Tron this ain't.

Immediately reigniting the moribund cyberpunk genre (the kids can't get enough Stateside), this has thrust Reeves from his imploding career back to Speed highs (and laying to rest the hideous ghost of Johnny Mnemonic) and stolen much more of Star Wars' thunder than was thought humanly possible. For all its loony plot, The Matrix is fabulous.

Sure, the expert Fishburne is depended upon to expound the lion's share of the script as seer-like rebel leader Morpheus. Reeves, stunning in his newcast slenderness, as Thomas "Neo" Anderson, the hacker turned hope for all mankind (care of some ill-defined mystical calling) is asked little more than perpetual befuddlement. Like Speed, though, this movie plays on his iconic looks rather than his oak-like emoting. There's a major find, too, in the irresistible Carrie-Anne Moss, a majestically wrought combination of steely **** intelligence and rock-chick vivaciousness as fellow tripper Trinity. And Weaving, cast against type, neutralises his Aussie tones to a freaky deadpan, the head of the MiB-styled defence system set against the Goth invaders.

And sure, three minutes of post-movie deliberation and all this state-of-the-art cyberdevilry is reduced to the purest **** That, though, is not the point. The Matrix is about pure experience; it's been many a moon since the Empire crew have spilled out of a cinema literally buzzing with the sensation of a movie, babbling frenetically with the sheer excitement of discovery.

From head to tail, the deliciously inventive Wachowskis (watch them skyrocket) have delivered the syntax for a new kind of movie: technically mind-blowing, style merged perfectly with content and just so damn cool, the usher will have to drag you kicking and screaming back into reality. You can bet your bottom dollar George never saw this phantom menace coming.

Verdict
The deliciously inventive Wachowskis have delivered the syntax for a new kind of movie: technically mind-blowing, style merged perfectly with content and just so damn cool.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
There's no sophomore jinx for the Wachowski Brothers. Andy and Larry, a pair of obviously talented film makers, have returned to theaters with The Matrix, a science fiction thriller that is every bit the match of their debut effort, Bound,There's no sophomore jinx for the Wachowski Brothers. Andy and Larry, a pair of obviously talented film makers, have returned to theaters with The Matrix, a science fiction thriller that is every bit the match of their debut effort, Bound, for tension, excitement, and intelligence. In an era when movie scripts (especially those pigeonholed into the science fiction genre) are becoming increasingly more stupid and special effects reliant, the Wachowskis prove that style and substance do not have to be mutually exclusive.

I loved The Matrix, and only a few minor contrivances associated with the climax caused the film to miss a 10/10 rating. The movie is kinetic, atmospheric, visually stunning, and mind-bending. It toys with the boundaries between reality and fantasy in unique and interesting ways. In its approach and content, it reminded me of last year's vastly underrated Dark City. There's also a synergy with two movies due to be released within the next month: David Cronenberg's eXistenZ and Alejandro Amenabar's Open Your Eyes. The Matrix is undeniably science fiction, but, unlike most pictures claiming that association, it never falls into the boring, expected patterns of space battles and laser gun shoot-outs. Instead, it ventures into territory that, while not virgin, is sufficiently interesting to provide an involving, invigorating backdrop.

There's much more to The Matrix than this, but to explain further would be to reveal plot twists better discovered through viewing. Although the film frequently toys with the blurred line between grim reality and computer-generated fantasy, it rarely leaves the viewer completely confused (except, perhaps, at the very beginning). The Wachowskis have carefully structured the story in such a way that the audience is capable of following the action and understanding what's going on even when all of the secrets have not been revealed. Nevertheless, because The Matrix is intelligent, it will defeat those unwilling to invest some intellectual participation. The payoff is worth the effort.

Stylistically, The Matrix is much like Bound. Both films are visually stunning, with images painstakingly constructed and action sequences choreographed to excite the eye and quicken the pulse. The Wachowskis use a varied pallette that includes shadows, slow motion, quick cuts, and offbeat humor to paint a unique portrait. Like in Dark City, theirs is a grim world, where darkness and gloom seemingly always hold sway. Everything from the set design to the costumes (lots of black, lots of sunglasses) is intended to contribute to an overall look. When it comes to shoot-outs, the Wachowskis show that John Woo isn't the only director capable of doing interesting things with familiar devices. The shots of Keanu Reeves streaking down a hall with guns blazing all around him and the air thick with shattered bits of concrete is only one of many snapshots that lingers in the mind's eye long after they have vanished from the screen. The special effects, which are not as numerous as those in many science fiction pieces, are flawless.

The Matrix offers a little something for everyone. The die-hard science fiction fan will discover a plot that mixes and matches both new and old conventions of the genre in a compelling fashion. Action aficionados will find that there's no shortage of electric excitement, whether it's in the form of hand-to-hand kung fu-type fights or shoot-outs with seemingly limitless ammunition. There's also betrayal, a little romance, some humor, and a moral dilemma or two, all wrapped into a well-produced package. As I stated earlier, the way in which the Wachowskis choose to resolve everything seems slightly contrived, but, in the overall scheme of things, that's a small price to pay for one of the most enjoyable science fiction thrillers to reach the screen in months.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaBlendMay 6, 2015
There's no sophomore jinx for the Wachowski Brothers. Andy and Larry, a pair of obviously talented film makers, have returned to theaters with The Matrix, a science fiction thriller that is every bit the match of their debut effort, Bound,There's no sophomore jinx for the Wachowski Brothers. Andy and Larry, a pair of obviously talented film makers, have returned to theaters with The Matrix, a science fiction thriller that is every bit the match of their debut effort, Bound, for tension, excitement, and intelligence. In an era when movie scripts (especially those pigeonholed into the science fiction genre) are becoming increasingly more stupid and special effects reliant, the Wachowskis prove that style and substance do not have to be mutually exclusive.

I loved The Matrix, and only a few minor contrivances associated with the climax caused the film to miss a four-star rating. The movie is kinetic, atmospheric, visually stunning, and mind-bending. It toys with the boundaries between reality and fantasy in unique and interesting ways. In its approach and content, it reminded me of last year's vastly underrated Dark City. There's also a synergy with two movies due to be released within the next month: David Cronenberg's eXistenZ and Alejandro Amenabar's Open Your Eyes. The Matrix is undeniably science fiction, but, unlike most pictures claiming that association, it never falls into the boring, expected patterns of space battles and laser gun shoot-outs. Instead, it ventures into territory that, while not virgin, is sufficiently interesting to provide an involving, invigorating backdrop.

There's much more to The Matrix than this, but to explain further would be to reveal plot twists better discovered through viewing. Although the film frequently toys with the blurred line between grim reality and computer-generated fantasy, it rarely leaves the viewer completely confused (except, perhaps, at the very beginning). The Wachowskis have carefully structured the story in such a way that the audience is capable of following the action and understanding what's going on even when all of the secrets have not been revealed. Nevertheless, because The Matrix is intelligent, it will defeat those unwilling to invest some intellectual participation. The payoff is worth the effort.

Stylistically, The Matrix is much like Bound. Both films are visually stunning, with images painstakingly constructed and action sequences choreographed to excite the eye and quicken the pulse. The Wachowskis use a varied pallette that includes shadows, slow motion, quick cuts, and offbeat humor to paint a unique portrait. Like in Dark City, theirs is a grim world, where darkness and gloom seemingly always hold sway. Everything from the set design to the costumes (lots of black, lots of sunglasses) is intended to contribute to an overall look. When it comes to shoot-outs, the Wachowskis show that John Woo isn't the only director capable of doing interesting things with familiar devices. The shots of Keanu Reeves streaking down a hall with guns blazing all around him and the air thick with shattered bits of concrete is only one of many snapshots that lingers in the mind's eye long after they have vanished from the screen. The special effects, which are not as numerous as those in many science fiction pieces, are flawless.

The Matrix offers a little something for everyone. The die-hard science fiction fan will discover a plot that mixes and matches both new and old conventions of the genre in a compelling fashion. Action aficionados will find that there's no shortage of electric excitement, whether it's in the form of hand-to-hand kung fu-type fights or shoot-outs with seemingly limitless ammunition. There's also betrayal, a little romance, some humor, and a moral dilemma or two, all wrapped into a well-produced package. As I stated earlier, the way in which the Wachowskis choose to resolve everything seems slightly contrived, but, in the overall scheme of things, that's a small price to pay for one of the most enjoyable science fiction thrillers to reach the screen in months.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaSinsMay 9, 2015
There's no sophomore jinx for the Wachowski Brothers. Andy and Larry, a pair of obviously talented film makers, have returned to theaters with The Matrix, a science fiction thriller that is every bit the match of their debut effort, Bound,There's no sophomore jinx for the Wachowski Brothers. Andy and Larry, a pair of obviously talented film makers, have returned to theaters with The Matrix, a science fiction thriller that is every bit the match of their debut effort, Bound, for tension, excitement, and intelligence. In an era when movie scripts (especially those pigeonholed into the science fiction genre) are becoming increasingly more stupid and special effects reliant, the Wachowskis prove that style and substance do not have to be mutually exclusive.

I loved The Matrix, and only a few minor contrivances associated with the climax caused the film to miss a 10/10 rating. The movie is kinetic, atmospheric, visually stunning, and mind-bending. It toys with the boundaries between reality and fantasy in unique and interesting ways. In its approach and content, it reminded me of last year's vastly underrated Dark City. There's also a synergy with two movies due to be released within the next month: David Cronenberg's eXistenZ and Alejandro Amenabar's Open Your Eyes. The Matrix is undeniably science fiction, but, unlike most pictures claiming that association, it never falls into the boring, expected patterns of space battles and laser gun shoot-outs. Instead, it ventures into territory that, while not virgin, is sufficiently interesting to provide an involving, invigorating backdrop.

There's much more to The Matrix than this, but to explain further would be to reveal plot twists better discovered through viewing. Although the film frequently toys with the blurred line between grim reality and computer-generated fantasy, it rarely leaves the viewer completely confused (except, perhaps, at the very beginning). The Wachowskis have carefully structured the story in such a way that the audience is capable of following the action and understanding what's going on even when all of the secrets have not been revealed. Nevertheless, because The Matrix is intelligent, it will defeat those unwilling to invest some intellectual participation. The payoff is worth the effort.

Stylistically, The Matrix is much like Bound. Both films are visually stunning, with images painstakingly constructed and action sequences choreographed to excite the eye and quicken the pulse. The Wachowskis use a varied pallette that includes shadows, slow motion, quick cuts, and offbeat humor to paint a unique portrait. Like in Dark City, theirs is a grim world, where darkness and gloom seemingly always hold sway. Everything from the set design to the costumes (lots of black, lots of sunglasses) is intended to contribute to an overall look. When it comes to shoot-outs, the Wachowskis show that John Woo isn't the only director capable of doing interesting things with familiar devices. The shots of Keanu Reeves streaking down a hall with guns blazing all around him and the air thick with shattered bits of concrete is only one of many snapshots that lingers in the mind's eye long after they have vanished from the screen. The special effects, which are not as numerous as those in many science fiction pieces, are flawless.

Keanu Reeves is not generally regarded as a strong actor, but, given the right part - one that doesn't demand much subtlety or emoting - he can be effective. His role as Neo fits the criteria. The Matrix needs a leading man who can look good, act cool, and not stumble over his dialogue, and Reeves is three for three. It's easily his best work since Speed, where the same kinds of demands were made of him. For more nuanced performances, the Wachowskis rely on the rest of the cast: the always excellent Laurence Fishburne, brilliant character actor Joe Pantoliano (who appeared in Bound), and Carrie-Anne Moss, who looks great in black leather. Aussie Hugo Weaving (Proof) brings the perfect mix of dry wit and menace to his role as the head Man in Black.

The Matrix offers a little something for everyone. The die-hard science fiction fan will discover a plot that mixes and matches both new and old conventions of the genre in a compelling fashion. Action aficionados will find that there's no shortage of electric excitement, whether it's in the form of hand-to-hand kung fu-type fights or shoot-outs with seemingly limitless ammunition. There's also betrayal, a little romance, some humor, and a moral dilemma or two, all wrapped into a well-produced package. As I stated earlier, the way in which the Wachowskis choose to resolve everything seems slightly contrived, but, in the overall scheme of things, that's a small price to pay for one of the most enjoyable science fiction thrillers to reach the screen in months.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Duke_NukemOct 14, 2015
Someone roll in the green screen...

The Wachowski brothers did an excellent job with this movie. The story is very interesting and the camera work is refreshing at the time, especially the special effects like bullet-time. Also the stunts
Someone roll in the green screen...

The Wachowski brothers did an excellent job with this movie. The story is very interesting and the camera work is refreshing at the time, especially the special effects like bullet-time. Also the stunts like running on walls, dodging bullets and kung fu that excels any laws of gravity. And the camera always follows the actors even if they run on roofs, jump from building to building, through windows into the next building...

Keanu Reeves is not the best actor but he's perfect in the role of the cool Neo and you gotta admit he looks good in black. Carrie-Anne Moss is a good counterpart for Neo. And then there's of course Hugo Weaving as agent Smith who...talks........ really................................................ slow.

The real question burning on everybody's lips is naturally: are we really living in the Matrix? For the answer on that question please turn this page.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
IntelliCriticOct 17, 2015
This is a film of serious philosophical depth and insight. The Matrix also overflows with religious allusions and parallels from Christianity and Buddhism. Although The Matrix may seem loaded with stunning visuals only for the sake ofThis is a film of serious philosophical depth and insight. The Matrix also overflows with religious allusions and parallels from Christianity and Buddhism. Although The Matrix may seem loaded with stunning visuals only for the sake of visceral enjoyment at first, there is a profound interplay between the action and the underlying meanings of the film. The infrastructural visuals also give us a glimpse of this duality. While the world of the Matrix is portrayed as homogeneous, predictable, and tinted a sickly green, the real world is portrayed as dark, earthy and tinted a mysterious indigo. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
rg_kidOct 23, 2015
The Matrix. What can i say about it? It's an iconic movie. It created this huge popular phenomenon around it where almost everyone knows about the movie. The first and second act of the movie were really mind blowing and captivating.The Matrix. What can i say about it? It's an iconic movie. It created this huge popular phenomenon around it where almost everyone knows about the movie. The first and second act of the movie were really mind blowing and captivating. Unfortunately, The Wachowski brothers cinematography looks dated now, and the third act doesn't hold up anymore. All in all, it's a great movie. Great casting, good memorable characters, and the movie itself is very quote-able. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
YorkManFeb 27, 2016
The Matrix was (in 1999) a complete revolution in Hollywood film-making. Combining state of the art CGI effects, proper old-school Hong Kong style fight choreography, and an intelligent, well written story... It comes together and creates anThe Matrix was (in 1999) a complete revolution in Hollywood film-making. Combining state of the art CGI effects, proper old-school Hong Kong style fight choreography, and an intelligent, well written story... It comes together and creates an instant classic.

It's one of those 'where were you when you first saw it' movies, that resonate for years afterwards in your own mind. Asking questions about human existence, free will, fate, morality, duality of self... It's a philosophical debate hiding inside a kick-ass action movie.

It's one of the most 'complete' films too, with an ending that makes sense and leaves the imagination to wonder what might actually happen.

Two vastly inferior 'cash-grab' sequels followed, no doubt at the insistence of a studio desperate for more, and probably used as a gun to the head to the Wachowski Brothers.

It's not a perfect movie, the whole 'Jesus' paradigm is a little forced, and the much lauded 'bullet time' special effect now looks very dated!

But, forget the sequels, watch the original. If you've never seen it, I guarantee it won't disappoint.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
You see a lot of reviews at Metacritic complaining about how "overrated" such and such a movie is. Well please allow me to nominate The Matrix as the Most Under-rated Movie here. The Matrix is more intelligent, more stylish, more exciting andYou see a lot of reviews at Metacritic complaining about how "overrated" such and such a movie is. Well please allow me to nominate The Matrix as the Most Under-rated Movie here. The Matrix is more intelligent, more stylish, more exciting and better looking than any other movie made in the last twenty years. It is probably the best Science Fiction movie ever made, far better than such pretenders as Blade Runner or Forbidden Planet and challenged in stature only by the beauty and mystery of 2001 and by the pure popcorn entertainment of Star Wars. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
The action is right there... right where it lies, and you're going to love this action flick. What the Wachowski Brothers have in mind is what they appear as they direct the Matrix.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEdMar 22, 2016
After scoring an art-house hit with the small-scale, tightly plotted, highly enjoyable thriller Bound—which took off once the requisite overdone Zalman King-style lesbian sex had been taken care of—the Wachowski Brothers (Andy and Larry) haveAfter scoring an art-house hit with the small-scale, tightly plotted, highly enjoyable thriller Bound—which took off once the requisite overdone Zalman King-style lesbian sex had been taken care of—the Wachowski Brothers (Andy and Larry) have gone big, made a movie for über-producer Joel Silver, thrown in loads of special effects, and cast Johnny Mnemonic star Keanu Reeves in the lead. And damned if it doesn't work.

In The Matrix, a surprisingly tolerable Reeves plays a pasty computer hacker who begins to receive mysterious messages from an unknown source. Shortly after encountering a bunch of identical-looking authority figures, he hooks up with a mysterious band of outsiders led by Laurence Fishburne and Carrie-Anne Moss (Models Inc.) who clue him in that nothing around him is as it appears. Story-wise, nothing in The Matrix will surprise too many people: In addition to resembling both in concept and content the worthwhile Dark City, there's not much more to it than ideas about the subjectivity of reality reworked from Descartes, Philip K. Dick, and William Gibson and channeled into an operatic science-fiction metaphor about non-conformity (and drug use).

But the Wachowskis do it so playfully well, keeping The Matrix's potentially confusing plot intelligible, intelligent, and suspenseful, that it doesn't matter. As far as sheer spectacle goes, it's the most exciting thing to come along in quite a while. Where other films are done in by the freedom offered by computer effects, The Matrix integrates them beautifully, making fetus-tending robots, helicopters gently collapsing into buildings, and elaborate, gravity-defying kung-fu fighting seem like perfectly plausible elements of the universe it creates, a universe that deserves to be seen.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CanamavrickJan 15, 2011
No matter how mush times you watch this, its always entertaining. The story is very deep, the cast is great and the special effects are still good even if this game out more 11 years ago.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MrAlcatrazDec 12, 2013
Easily the best movies ever made. Amazing action and story, great acting, too. I don't want to spoil anything because this is too good, just watch it. You will crap your pants, at the sheer awesomeness.

And don't forget all of the
Easily the best movies ever made. Amazing action and story, great acting, too. I don't want to spoil anything because this is too good, just watch it. You will crap your pants, at the sheer awesomeness.

And don't forget all of the unforgettable lines like "Not like this, not like this"

Watch this movie or I will find you, I will hurt you, then I will kill you.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Sep 30, 2011
i absolutely loved the spectacular future vision! it must have taken quite the imagination to come up with such a future for our earth. the action is unmatched too.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews