Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 31, 1999
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1336 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,266
Mixed:
39
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
R.LopezSep 6, 2009
When I first saw this movie when I was twelve I didn't think much of it, I thought it had a confusing story and a mindless plot that was supported and only succeeded by out of this world slow motion stunts. Boy was I naive or what!? Now When I first saw this movie when I was twelve I didn't think much of it, I thought it had a confusing story and a mindless plot that was supported and only succeeded by out of this world slow motion stunts. Boy was I naive or what!? Now seeing it again after all these years I could see that I was not ready back then to handle a movie of this complexity and strange coherent means of story telling. But now I fully respect and love this movie for what it is and for what it always will be, mindbogglingly, mind blowing, out of this world fun. When the Matrix was released in 1999 this was the film to go see people were busting out of the theater's and telling anyone they can to go see this movie. It was the "It" movie of the year and it gained the title justly. This film mapped out new territory in action and ushered in a whole new generation of action & Sci-Fi thrillers and video games as well(Max Payne comes to mind) it is one of the biggest and most beloved film of the 90's and has one of the biggest fan base out there. This movie unique and I mean unique story and style has such and impact on you when you first see it you'll want to see it the minute it's over and some more after that and after that and you'll want to see it a million times it's just that good. The Matrix put's a Gothic and dark spin on the dystopia and apocalyptic themes that have become very common in Sci-Fi films, this film does it one better it takes those overly used themes and creates a completely original and unique world around which everything we Believe is a lie. It has a great monolithic tone to it that makes it a masterpiece by any standards and it creates a great aftershock in which few films can actually do these days. It purposes that machines while enslave humanity and use us as a battery source to power there vasts armies of machines around the world. But that's what makes it so great to watch it gives you a sense of hope and a sense of justice that you just feel all the way to your bones. This movie has given the fellow movie goer what they've always wanted and always searched for in a film, great action, a smart story and plot, acting you can live with and put them all together and what do you got? The Matrix! This movie will stick with long after it's over and even after tour old you'll still remember one movie that rocked your world like none other. All in all this film delivers great any day entertainment that is like Laurence Fishburn said, " Unfortunately no one can be told what the Matrix is you have to see it for yourself." And trust me once you do you won't ever look at Sci-Fi or other movies the same way again. This movie delivers. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Jul 2, 2007
Awesome action, awesome acting, awesome plot, awesome everything!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ElenaBFeb 28, 2008
It is an epic. Classic. Great philosphy.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NoahSMar 1, 2008
The Matrix is without a doubt one of the best movies ever made. Period. I will explain though. Most people have an issue with the movie for one of two reasons: the special effects and the plot. First, I'm not a huge martial arts guy, so The Matrix is without a doubt one of the best movies ever made. Period. I will explain though. Most people have an issue with the movie for one of two reasons: the special effects and the plot. First, I'm not a huge martial arts guy, so I'm definitely nowhere close to being an expert on this, but the action scenes were pretty awesome. The combination of slick and fast hand-to-hand with a load of guns thrown in...awesome. The music to the fights completed the experience. The second issue most people have with the Matrix is something I am quite familiar with: the plot. The plot of the Matrix is fantastic. That is because of two things: One, it is a fresh idea. The Matrix's plot is not a clone of anything. And two, the plot is incredibly deep, having multiple levels for every part in it. The agents, Neo being freed, the idea of the Matrix itself, all great. If you don't like sci-fi, then that's fine. You probably won't like this movie. You definitely won't like the sequels. But don't knock them for being "stupid" or "moronic." Because they simply aren't. And on a last note, the acting is exactly suited to this movie. The people in this movie act exactly how their characters should. Keanu Reeves was cast BECAUSE he acts the way he does on camera. It was perfect for the part. Hugo Weaving is SUPPOSED to be dry and humorless. Keep in mind the context of the characters when you judge acting. If you have any complaints, I'll be willing to defend the greatness of this movie. A 10 out of 10. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Dec 9, 2006
The most visually stunning, psychologically astonishing, groundbreaking film the world has ever seen. It combines elements of philosophy, martial arts, and wonder to make a perfectly balanced and thrilling movie. Plus, it has a real cast of The most visually stunning, psychologically astonishing, groundbreaking film the world has ever seen. It combines elements of philosophy, martial arts, and wonder to make a perfectly balanced and thrilling movie. Plus, it has a real cast of actors, including Keanu Reeves as Neo, Lawrence Fishburne as Morpheus, and Carrie-Ann Moss as Trinity. Even if you're not into kung fu fight scenes, this movie will still satisfy you with its wonder and philosophical elements. Some movies go overboard with special effects and fight scenes, but this one does not. It has a perfect balance of fight scenes and philosophical things. Note: You have to see this movie a few times before you really understand everything that is being said. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TechAug 3, 2006
Movie was great. Effects, Storyline, Scripts.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DonnaMDec 20, 2007
The movie is excellent! I did not even pay attention to the special effects, It is the concept that really rocks! Extremely mind blowing! This is the best movie I ever saw!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeoR.Jul 5, 2008
The greatest action movie of all time, my favorite movie, its so perceptive so mind boggling you will watch it more than once to then fall more in love with the matrix a world without borders or boundaries. I love this movie.
5 of 5 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Oct 13, 2005
Oh my god this film is brilliant. It has blown my mind. Thank you god for giving me the Matrix!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
garionc.Nov 4, 2005
Omg OMG exelent as both bill and teds just not as funny specilfx are brill and agent smith dude i need thst suit a spex they r great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
UyiO.Dec 5, 2005
Nothing like this has really been made before. A combination of theology, philosophy, kungfu and cyberworld.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NebularJan 12, 2006
'The Matrix' is a revolution in the sci-fi genre. It's simply amazing!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ManveerR.Feb 18, 2006
I thought the matrix was brilliant the god of Sci-Fi.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Oct 24, 2007
Easily in top 20 greatest movies of all time.Action packed from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JesnR.Feb 25, 2007
The most undoubtedly cool movie in a very long time. An absolute pity about the sequels. Sigh.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertS.Jan 15, 2008
A fantastic film that is as creative as science-fiction films get. A great take on the "What if" question, and although the action is a bit over the top, it's supposed to be and it doesn't go too far. Makes you think and combines A fantastic film that is as creative as science-fiction films get. A great take on the "What if" question, and although the action is a bit over the top, it's supposed to be and it doesn't go too far. Makes you think and combines good use of colour, atmosphere and truly believable fear from some of the characters to make on of the best sci-fi films ever. Go buy it. It's just a shame the sequels were so bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinLDec 27, 2009
Great movie, a definite heartwarming, classic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MikeMJun 1, 2009
Best movie Ive ever seen besides Braveheart. The fight scenes were amazing. Loved the rotating camera and slow motion effects. The story line was really good. Anyone that does not give this movie a ten obviously has bad taste in movies or Best movie Ive ever seen besides Braveheart. The fight scenes were amazing. Loved the rotating camera and slow motion effects. The story line was really good. Anyone that does not give this movie a ten obviously has bad taste in movies or just didn't really understand the movie!. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredDec 12, 2006
WOW! The special effects were amazing and the stunts in the movie were really cool and fun to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KevinV.Nov 4, 2007
What a concept! Although the movie is well executed, it is not exceptional. It makes for an entertaining ride.
7 of 7 users found this helpful
10
DanielH.Jun 29, 2007
Although difficult to understand at times, this action packed masterpiece brought together brilliant action sequences and fantastic filming to bring you a really great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewNJul 26, 2007
This was billed as the action movie of the millennium. And it really was hard to argue with that. One of the best movies ever and the best sci-fi movie ever. With stunning set pieces and fight scenes, its a must see. A shame the third film This was billed as the action movie of the millennium. And it really was hard to argue with that. One of the best movies ever and the best sci-fi movie ever. With stunning set pieces and fight scenes, its a must see. A shame the third film was such drivel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Oct 26, 2008
Its funny how some people give this movie a low rating. I don't think they fully understand the concept of a simulated reality. There are many actual scientific hypothesis regarding the subject, many of which seem extremely logical and Its funny how some people give this movie a low rating. I don't think they fully understand the concept of a simulated reality. There are many actual scientific hypothesis regarding the subject, many of which seem extremely logical and involve Quantum Computers trying to calculate every possible combination and outcome of everything. Another considers the progression of technology and computer systems, and how they are already running complex simulations to help us decide the best course of action in many situations and where resources should be allocated. The matrix falls under the category of "Brain-computer interface" or "direct neural interface" and correlates directly with Neuroprosthetics which is an actual area of neuroscience. This is the first film to consider technologies impact on primitive culture, and the behavior which could result from direct technological integration into semi-intelligent organic life. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkWFeb 24, 2008
Gobsmacked all the way! This is a mile marker movie in the cinema time line. The cinematography is ground breaking and impressive - evidenced by how much it has been imitated. It is a movie for both Joe Six-pack and the philosopher at the Gobsmacked all the way! This is a mile marker movie in the cinema time line. The cinematography is ground breaking and impressive - evidenced by how much it has been imitated. It is a movie for both Joe Six-pack and the philosopher at the same time. Joe S. will be satisfied with the Kung-Fu action and gun fighting expolosions, while the philosopher will scratch their chin with a new perspective on Descartes' Mind-Body problem. The kissy-kissy scene between Neo and Trinity is a bit hokey ... but I survived it and still left the theater slack-jawed. The next two movies in the trilogy do not follow this one very well. In fact, I think the trilogy is still incomplete. I am waiting for the next two...proper follow-ups. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Jul 12, 2008
Phenomenal don't believe any of the ratings under a 7, they're simply trying to keep you from being unplugged.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelJ.Dec 28, 2005
Great movie, one of my favorites. The ideas introduced in this movie were fascinating.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArkonBladeSep 2, 2010
a fun sci fi action flick with fantasic action and effects . the story is pretty entertaining and keeps you interested . the film has a great plot twist that i dont think any one seeing this for the first time will ever see coming . the storya fun sci fi action flick with fantasic action and effects . the story is pretty entertaining and keeps you interested . the film has a great plot twist that i dont think any one seeing this for the first time will ever see coming . the story feels fresh and original . the acting is abit dry but fits this film and especialy Reeves who i dont think you could get any dryer then his acting . Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DalekFeb 9, 2013
Well, after all these years of gaming communities being inspired by it as well as parodies from other films. I finally watched it. The film is confusing in some ways but it really makes you think. The film is very entertaining and has veryWell, after all these years of gaming communities being inspired by it as well as parodies from other films. I finally watched it. The film is confusing in some ways but it really makes you think. The film is very entertaining and has very impressive CGI for 1999. It's definitely worth watching. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Falling_HammerJul 10, 2011
An excellent movie with tons of special effects, fight scenes, etc., and the best thing is that they are all done perfectly. A really good film with an interesting story behind it. YOU'LL ENJOY IT.
23 of 25 users found this helpful232
All this user's reviews
9
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
THE MATRIX is the best action movie ever made in my list. When Matrix released on its time, thiz movie created many breakthrough on world cinema. Directed by Larry and Andy Wachowski, who is just recently popular in thiz movie. They justTHE MATRIX is the best action movie ever made in my list. When Matrix released on its time, thiz movie created many breakthrough on world cinema. Directed by Larry and Andy Wachowski, who is just recently popular in thiz movie. They just known previously as small budget film Director, BOUND (1996). Later, the movie has two more sequels MATRIX RELOADED and MATRIX REVOLUTION in 2003. You can almost classify the Stars of thiz movie as B-Class Casts, except Keanu Reeves, but still the outcome is beyond the expectations. Each of the characters like: Neo (Keanu Reeves), Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne), Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) , even the villain Agent Smith (Hugo Weaving) already become a legendary icon in the industries. One of the fervencies of thiz movie is on the action scene. The fight scene is something new and different, which follows later by other movies. Behind that extraordinary fight scene is well-known Martial Arts Choreographer, Yuen Woo Ping. Woo Ping is the man behind CROUCHING TIGER, HIDDEN DRAGON(2000), KILL BILL (2003),THE FORBIDDEN KINGDOM (2008), even Jackie Chan classic action SNAKE IN THE EAGLE SHADOW (1978). His experiences in a lot of Asian movies made him effective. The movie definitely exceed beyond our imagination. In fact, many people did not understand entirely the story of THE MATRIX, there are still many blank spot to question about. The Content of the movie fills with great philosophies inside. It seemed to me Wachowski Brothers discovered successfully how to make a brilliant concept from some of religions. The essence is not that simple as appear to be, Actually we will always have something new, every time we watch it.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
CanamavrickJan 15, 2011
No matter how mush times you watch this, its always entertaining. The story is very deep, the cast is great and the special effects are still good even if this game out more 11 years ago.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
shod3030Jun 5, 2017
Thomas A. Anderson is a man living two lives. By day he is an average computer programmer and by night a hacker known as Neo. Neo has always questioned his reality, but the truth is far beyond his imagination. Neo finds himself targeted byThomas A. Anderson is a man living two lives. By day he is an average computer programmer and by night a hacker known as Neo. Neo has always questioned his reality, but the truth is far beyond his imagination. Neo finds himself targeted by the police when he is contacted by Morpheus, a legendary computer hacker branded a terrorist by the government. Morpheus awakens Neo to the real world, a ravaged wasteland where most of humanity have been captured by a race of machines that live off of the humans' body heat and electrochemical energy and who imprison their minds within an artificial reality known as the Matrix. As a rebel against the machines, Neo must return to the Matrix and confront the agents: super-powerful computer programs devoted to snuffing out Neo and the entire human rebellion Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tbagurdrumset94Feb 10, 2012
The best thing about the Matrix is the fact that it's such a brilliant, brilliant idea. The world you live in is virtual. In reality, you are an energy source in a jelly sac harvested by a race of machines... It makes me think of so manyThe best thing about the Matrix is the fact that it's such a brilliant, brilliant idea. The world you live in is virtual. In reality, you are an energy source in a jelly sac harvested by a race of machines... It makes me think of so many things... and I thought of whether I would take the blue pill or the red pill... you know, I'd probably take the blue pill. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
KoKoJieJan 12, 2012
After I have seen The Matrix, I instantly placed it at the #1 spot of the list of my favorite movies. Since then, 13 years has passed, I have seen over a hundred new movies. The Matrix still occupies that top spot. Inception was good, but noAfter I have seen The Matrix, I instantly placed it at the #1 spot of the list of my favorite movies. Since then, 13 years has passed, I have seen over a hundred new movies. The Matrix still occupies that top spot. Inception was good, but no where near The Matrix good. If you haven't seen The Matrix series, I pity you, for you have missed the BEST movie ever made, go see it NOW! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
le_oneJun 8, 2013
This is the best sci-fi movie ever made, together with Star Wars IV and V, of course. I can't tell you much about it. You REALLY need to watch it so you can make conclusions.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
OhRlyMay 10, 2011
I feel bad for those morons who think The Matrix sucks. this is a brilliant movie full of epic nonstop action. If you like movie with awsome acting,music, and badass slo-motion fight scenes, etc. then get this, if you aren't... well buyI feel bad for those morons who think The Matrix sucks. this is a brilliant movie full of epic nonstop action. If you like movie with awsome acting,music, and badass slo-motion fight scenes, etc. then get this, if you aren't... well buy Legend of the Guardians. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
KAS--WillSep 10, 2011
Despite TRON being my all time, video game related movies of all time, The Matrix is my all time bad ass, cool, computer/hacker movies. I find it hard NOT to love. It has action, martial arts so the 'easily entertained by action' viewersDespite TRON being my all time, video game related movies of all time, The Matrix is my all time bad ass, cool, computer/hacker movies. I find it hard NOT to love. It has action, martial arts so the 'easily entertained by action' viewers can have something, the 'computer goers' like myself have something to get into and when it's all thrown together it makes the perfect combination of action and story. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanJul 2, 2012
The Wachowski Brothers' sci-fi actioner is primarily remembered for its distinctive aesthetic style and physics-defying action, but what makes The Matrix really stand out is its exceedingly creative exploration of some big philosophicalThe Wachowski Brothers' sci-fi actioner is primarily remembered for its distinctive aesthetic style and physics-defying action, but what makes The Matrix really stand out is its exceedingly creative exploration of some big philosophical themes, most notably concepts of reality and free will. These ideas are discussed through the film's dark and layered story premise that supposes humanity's research into artificial intelligence technology resulted in a machine rebellion and the near-total extinction of the human race, and the construction of an elaborate computer simulation dubbed "The Matrix" in order to keep the survivors enslaved. The plot leaves ample opportunity for flaunting plenty of eye-popping and complex action sequences, groundbreaking special effects, and for some quotes from the Wachowski's simple but effective script to become iconic. All the cast are strong, particularly Reeves, Weaving and the quite brilliant Joe Pantoliano, whose performance is complex, entertaining and full of subtle nuances. The best scenes in the film are Neo's training for survival within The Matrix, where essential skills are uploaded directly to his noggin, and his climactic fight with the film's primary antagonist, Agent Smith. As effective a blockbuster as The Matrix is, the strong religious overtones of certain elements of the plot can be a little hard to swallow when they become too blatant, and some of the supposedly intellectual concepts Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) attempts to explain to Neo, and by extension the viewer, sometimes sound like they have been lifted from a high school philosophy essay. Despite these little gripes, The Matrix is always fun, visually stunning and considerably more intelligent than the vast majority of modern big-budget science fiction films.The sequels never surpassed this first instalment on any terms, even with the mountains of cash that was piled onto the franchise, so remember this one with fondness, and perhaps forget the others, particularly Revolutions. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
kman5473May 10, 2018
It's been nearly 20 years since The Matrix originally premiered, and it's tapping in and understanding of digital technology and culture from 1999 has aged so well. Though there are some sequences that look just a bit dated with the use ofIt's been nearly 20 years since The Matrix originally premiered, and it's tapping in and understanding of digital technology and culture from 1999 has aged so well. Though there are some sequences that look just a bit dated with the use of earlier CGI, this film still holds its own because the emphasis for SVFX at the time this was made was put on practical effects and NOT CGI. The final, climactic third act looks absolutely stunning still! This is a very layered story and world, and each time I have watched it I've gotten more and more out of it. There's a perfect relationship between the themes of fate and destiny + the existence of free will; Neo does not become, "The One," until HE chooses to do remarkable things in desperate times. He does not become, "The One," until Trinity chooses to express her love for him. He does not become, "The One" until he chooses to believe in himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
randomdudeJun 6, 2011
Groundbreaking synthesis of East meats West, in a brilliant sci-fi mind-scape.

...trippy, cool, and fun ride all around.


Forget the sequels, they suck
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
PhoenixeuhouaiNov 29, 2011
The best sci-fi movie of its time.
Excellent original soundtrack
I still keep the thinking as a reference for some of my work and my everyday life. Loved it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
julian_zizzleAug 27, 2011
I was nearly bored to death during the first 90 mins of this movie. But the final escape and fight scenes were so outstanding that i couldn't even stop to breathe. If the whole of film were as exciting as the final part, then this would beI was nearly bored to death during the first 90 mins of this movie. But the final escape and fight scenes were so outstanding that i couldn't even stop to breathe. If the whole of film were as exciting as the final part, then this would be the best movie i have ever watched... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
joelschnickAug 24, 2011
In my top ten movies of all time. What a shame the sequels sputtered out or this Trilogy could have been the most epic in the history of film making. Could have been our generation's STAR WARS. Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
Yes, the movie has flaws. But who cares? "The Matrix" is a astonishing movie that is for-your-eyes only. The film has top notch (slo-mo was first introduced by this movie) CGI as well as a well rounded plot. It gives you more than you can askYes, the movie has flaws. But who cares? "The Matrix" is a astonishing movie that is for-your-eyes only. The film has top notch (slo-mo was first introduced by this movie) CGI as well as a well rounded plot. It gives you more than you can ask for from a 1990's action film. Expand
20 of 21 users found this helpful201
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Sep 30, 2011
i absolutely loved the spectacular future vision! it must have taken quite the imagination to come up with such a future for our earth. the action is unmatched too.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TAMPjackoonOct 19, 2011
Sure some things aren't perfect, and it can be kind of...meh, but it is still a fantastic movie. The whole concept is very interesting, making you think for a brief moment "what if that's real?" And on top of that, it is funny, dramatic, andSure some things aren't perfect, and it can be kind of...meh, but it is still a fantastic movie. The whole concept is very interesting, making you think for a brief moment "what if that's real?" And on top of that, it is funny, dramatic, and has great action scenes. I think it's a great ride of 90's movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MediaCriticOct 19, 2011
The movie can be a bit confusing at times and hard to follow, but it all makes sense the further you dive into the movie. It's a great movie full of action and great effects. It isn't an ordinary movie in terms of the storyline and plot, butThe movie can be a bit confusing at times and hard to follow, but it all makes sense the further you dive into the movie. It's a great movie full of action and great effects. It isn't an ordinary movie in terms of the storyline and plot, but it is good. The twist through the middle is great, and it is another movie that can be watched over and over in my opinion. A fantastic movie that has added a tiny bit of sci-fi through it, without really involving aliens much, a great watch! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MoneyShot53Nov 20, 2011
The thought that went into this movies plot is astounding. I can understand how some could be confused and dislike it but ive found the more i watch this film the more i love it. Some minor flaws here and there but overall an amazing film.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFAug 19, 2013
Nowadays, you could ask someone what film defined the sic-fi genre and made it what it is today, there's a good chance the film on the lips of many would be The Matrix, the 1999 bombshell which inspired, split and certainly opened up debateNowadays, you could ask someone what film defined the sic-fi genre and made it what it is today, there's a good chance the film on the lips of many would be The Matrix, the 1999 bombshell which inspired, split and certainly opened up debate for the masses, some called it ridiculous, others were boggled by its complex plot but many respected the achievement the film had, and for good reason. Without stripping the plot down piece by piece and explaining what is and what isn't, The Matrix works with the idea that the world as we know it is actually a dream, that we are actually "plugged in" to the real world which is run by machines, and that Neo (Keanu Reeves) is the man to stop the war and give freedom back to the humans, this is what Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) believes, one of the captains of a resistance movement in the real world.
Neo begins to learn the way of the Matrix, which can be summed up as the world we live in now, that it is actually a computer program created by the machines to control the populous.
The Matrix itself, therefore, can be altered because it is a program, these people can walk on walls, slow down time and have quite an array of fighting skills, but its really when these parts come into play that the film starts to loose is unique touch and starts to conform, we have shootouts, running, typical villains and a sense of losing steam, the premise remains, but the action becomes bloated and apparently necessary. There is a vast array of characters, already mentioning Neo and Morpheus, we have Trinity, an experienced member of the crew and a love interest of Neo, we have also have Mr Smith, an agent of the Matrix intent on the destruction of the remaining human world, Zion. There are various other characters but they aren't widely used, the primary focus is the path that Neo must take, and the decisions he must make.
We have the introduction of "bullet time" which of course is common ground now in Hollywood but its humble beginnings in the film will leave your jaw on the floor, the Watchowski brothers have utilised an intelligent, sometimes confusing plot but still manage to keep us up to date, while also showing some impressive effects and scenarios that will really have you questioning everything around you, if of course you keep an open mind.
Certainly an interesting and dramatic tale, one which continues to stand the test of time with its remarkably risky script and its choice of lead roles, but while it can take a turn into familiar territory, there is still fresh and enjoyable fun to be had with The Matrix, it opens plenty of questions and begs the viewer to attempt a straight answer, and thats what getting engaged in a film is all about.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Jun 15, 2014
It's been over 10 years since I've seen the Matrix, and to be completely honest with you, back then, I didn't really get it the way I did this time. When the film was made it was a huge risk for the production company, as it was extremelyIt's been over 10 years since I've seen the Matrix, and to be completely honest with you, back then, I didn't really get it the way I did this time. When the film was made it was a huge risk for the production company, as it was extremely expensive, and featured a first a time Director, using a new kind of computerized effects. 15 years later and the film is considered to be one of the best science fiction movies ever made. For those unfamiliar with the story, it takes place 200 years in the future, a time where machines have taken control of the planet and 99% of humans live in blissful ignorance, as pawns in stasis, living out there lives in a dreamworld called the Matrix. The other 1% know the truth and will do whatever it takes to defeat the machines. The crew of the Nebuchadnezzar leads the charge, following an ancient prophecy, that says they will one day discover a human with extraordinary abilities, that will lead to the destruction of the Matrix. That man is named Neo and is played by Keanu Reeves, in what many consider to be his crowning achievement. Reeves is often put down for being too dark and emotionless in his roles, but that is exactly what the role of Neo calls for, making Reeves the perfect choice to play him. Reeves is paired with veteran actor Laurence Fishburne, who as Morpheus, is like the pope of this new world. He is the one who discovered the prophecy and who risks everything for Neo. The story of the Matrix is one of the most original to come alone in decades, featuring a perfectly cast group of actors, who are aided by special effects, the likes of which had never been seen before. These effects are common place in 2014, but were unheard of in 1999, and really helped cement the reputation of this classic. The Matrix may not be the perfect movie and in fact, a lot of people won't understand it, but it's a film that people will be watching 200 years from now, when the events of the film supposedly take place. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AoKuroiRaccoonJan 7, 2012
Amazing, definitely a timeless masterpiece. Some of the utmost original storylines of science-fiction genre, introducing a brilliant and new reality that will break with all the standards and blow away your mind. The perfect combinationAmazing, definitely a timeless masterpiece. Some of the utmost original storylines of science-fiction genre, introducing a brilliant and new reality that will break with all the standards and blow away your mind. The perfect combination between action scenes that will keep you on the edge of your seat and reflective dialogues concerning the movie's very deep theme. Additionally, the technical production is astonishing with very good graphic special effects that form an unbelievably awesome visual appeal. Truly a must-watch production that will not leave you unchanged. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
Ven-WedeFeb 11, 2012
The late '90s were a period in film that saw a sudden resurgence in science fiction. The quickly approaching Y2K symbolised a time of transition, wonder, and technological advancement. Though these positives are reflected in The Matrix, it isThe late '90s were a period in film that saw a sudden resurgence in science fiction. The quickly approaching Y2K symbolised a time of transition, wonder, and technological advancement. Though these positives are reflected in The Matrix, it is mostly the negative aspects of the new millennium's dawn that it feeds upon. Paranoia, uncertainty, and fear are the themes that the film addresses like no other in Hollywood at the time, while simultaneously being action-packed and visually stunning. What The Matrix is perhaps most well known for, however, is its complex, engaging plot that almost any viewer can relate to. All of this is delivered with superb direction, making full use of subtle nuances and symbolism to embellish the story. The only misstep lies in the casting of Reeves, who is so painfully uncharismatic and distant in his performance that it's puzzling how he could ever be the chosen one of anything. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
PQuinnyJan 15, 2012
This movie was a well done action movie. It has some problems with the story line, but the action scenes are undeniably astonishing. This movie introduced the Slow Motion concept to other movie makers, and it has been a hit ever since. IThis movie was a well done action movie. It has some problems with the story line, but the action scenes are undeniably astonishing. This movie introduced the Slow Motion concept to other movie makers, and it has been a hit ever since. I would definitely consider this movie to be a modern classic action film. The movie certainly goes above and beyond the standard 90's movie. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
ZegilgameshDec 28, 2012
Though it is neither as original or as good as the average sci-fi fan would make it out to be, THe Matrix features a rather intelligent plot, eye-popping action sequences that will leave you satisfied.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mephageJan 6, 2012
Beautifully filmed and written. Best film of all time. The charcters are so real and engaging, the settings are perfect and I couldn't find a single fault if I tried.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobOct 6, 2013
Enjoyable action with an original and well done plot that keeps you interested from start to finish. A little slow at times and the ending could have been better but overall, It's a pretty enjoyable film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NoireroboTSep 3, 2012
I don't really get why so many people have given this a bad score.The movie has flaws,such as the ridiculous stunts in some of the scenes,but that is really the concept of this movie.Something unreal,something out of the ordinary.The visualI don't really get why so many people have given this a bad score.The movie has flaws,such as the ridiculous stunts in some of the scenes,but that is really the concept of this movie.Something unreal,something out of the ordinary.The visual effects are stunning for a movie made in the 90s.The fighting scenes is what really keeps you interested in this movie,they are epic but also very entertaining.As said above,there are some weird movements in these scenes,where the actors defy gravity and such,but,as said above,that was the point of the movie.The acting was good,not great,but good.For an action movie where the acting isn't all that matters,the actors made a descent effort at making the scenes as realistic as they could get.
In conclusion,this movie has everything you need for an action pack Saturday night.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give matrix a 9.5 out of 10. Visuals are great, and so are the action sequences. They're really epic, plus they're great to watch. Score is great. The story is also very good to. Acting is really good. Everyone does a greatFirst off, I would give matrix a 9.5 out of 10. Visuals are great, and so are the action sequences. They're really epic, plus they're great to watch. Score is great. The story is also very good to. Acting is really good. Everyone does a great job throughout the movie. Overall, The Matrix is a great sic-fi action blockbuster that a great movie to watch. You really should watch this movie. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
handobaMay 25, 2012
This film is much more than most of people can understand.It just try to open our eyes, we are in the matrix and this world is not what we think it is, and this movie is made by this people for this people, just as James Cameron Avatar thatThis film is much more than most of people can understand.It just try to open our eyes, we are in the matrix and this world is not what we think it is, and this movie is made by this people for this people, just as James Cameron Avatar that shows to the world the true reality, from whence we came and where we can go. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
OfficialMar 8, 2014
An intelligent and thrilling sci-fi spectacle. It has excellent visuals, intense Hong Kong action, and a potentially confusing and complex plot. The more you think about it, the more awesome it gets.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Apemonkey666Jan 12, 2013
After all those years this still remains probably the most perfect scifi action movie to date (together with T2). Maybe it only has 415 VFX shots (a romantic comedy these days has more vfx shots) but they are all used where they count theAfter all those years this still remains probably the most perfect scifi action movie to date (together with T2). Maybe it only has 415 VFX shots (a romantic comedy these days has more vfx shots) but they are all used where they count the most and they still hold up very well for an almost 14 year old film. The Blu-ray transfer is absolutely exellent and as good as a 35mm on BD can ever look. There's not a scratch to be seen, not the slightest woble and just the right amount of grain (no NR). Some have complained about the colors but for me they look as they should be (the Matrix world a bit more greenish than the real world) and the detail in the black levels (of which there are allot) is perfect (on the first DVD release they were a bit mushy). The Dolby 5.1 sound of the DVD was already superb but here you get it in an uncompressed TrueHD track. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kirkteegardinJul 5, 2012
The Matrix was a damn good movie. This is review for the first movie because the other ones are in a different category (Matrix Reload, Matrix Revolutions). The movie starts off with the audience saying, "what the hell is going on." YouThe Matrix was a damn good movie. This is review for the first movie because the other ones are in a different category (Matrix Reload, Matrix Revolutions). The movie starts off with the audience saying, "what the hell is going on." You don't have to wait until the end of movie to understand it. About forty minutes into the movie you should understand it. There is some guy Neo that is living in a dreamworld which is basically a huge computer program (that would be a butt load of html). He eventually gets out of the dreamworld and is free. If you want to know the rest you should see it. Neo is played by Keanu Reeves (Speed), Agent Smith is the elf dude from Lord of the Rings, and Morphis can be found in Pee Wee's Playhouse (not kidding). I believe that this movie helped change plot lines for movies. This movie makes the audience confused for awhile yet the movie still kicks ass. It seemed like many movies were sticking with simple plot lines with bombs and terrorists, etc. Now we have movies that are confusing like Shutter Island and Inception. The special effects in the movie are really good. You cant tell what was computer created which is something that is not always present in today's movies. If you have not seen this movie then you should buy and see it, because it is a movie that can be seen over and over again (the second and third Matrix movies are disappointing; so I would advice you not to necessarily buy those. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
moonman1994Jul 27, 2013
The matrix is an interesting and engaging action flick. It has a story line that really sucks you in and it has great cinematography and a great score. Through out the film there is a unique atmosphere that is maintained as well. The majorThe matrix is an interesting and engaging action flick. It has a story line that really sucks you in and it has great cinematography and a great score. Through out the film there is a unique atmosphere that is maintained as well. The major problem with this film is the Keanu Reeves throughout the entire film is a very bland and monotone actor. Where all the other actors played their characters well Keanu seemed almost apathetic throughout the entire film. That aside overall the Matrix is very entertaining and luckily there are many action sequences were Keanu is on screen and doesn't have to talk. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMar 5, 2014
Well, this one was certainly unique. That is for sure. I was very skeptical heading into this one as I am not head over heels with Keanu Reeves and am not a fan of Laurence Fishburne at all, yet both turned in good performances. The plot isWell, this one was certainly unique. That is for sure. I was very skeptical heading into this one as I am not head over heels with Keanu Reeves and am not a fan of Laurence Fishburne at all, yet both turned in good performances. The plot is very complex, but once you wrap your head around it and begin to understand everything, it becomes very enjoyable and easy watching. In fact, it shocked me how straight forward it wound up being, as I expected it to be far more confounding. I am typically not a huge science fiction fan, but this one really wound up working for me and though the shoved in romantic elements bother me as always. On top of that, how it pretty much turns into an action film (especially towards the end) is another sour note here. However, as I said, it was still very enjoyable and very well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
rishab_babjiApr 22, 2013
Brilliant concept, perhaps a little more thought could have been given to the plot details, but most of this movie is for the eyes! The acting is amazing for a 1990's action film and undoubtedly one of my all-time favourites. TheBrilliant concept, perhaps a little more thought could have been given to the plot details, but most of this movie is for the eyes! The acting is amazing for a 1990's action film and undoubtedly one of my all-time favourites. The top-of-the-time CGI is breathtaking, spawning many cultural references to the 'Matrix Move' made popular by this film. Overall, this movie is extremely entertaining and will always be a favourite amongst many. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 6, 2012
The Matrix
Average User Score: 8.7
10 The Matrix Image The Matrix takes mystery school concepts and philosophies of Gnosticism, Eastern religions, Western Religions and even ideas from the Natural Law movement and blends them together to
The Matrix
Average User Score: 8.7
10
The Matrix Image
The Matrix takes mystery school concepts and philosophies of Gnosticism, Eastern religions, Western Religions and even ideas from the Natural Law movement and blends them together to create a cryptic, symbolic action film. Everything in this movie has occult meaning, but it's up to us, the viewers to figure out what that meaning is. This movie is like a puzzle. But this is all done in a very cool, entertaining way with awesome special effects (cutting edge at the time it was released) and great memorable action scenes, some which have greatly influenced the special effects of Hollywood movies produced afterwards. My only complaint about this movie is the way the love of Neo by Trinity is revealed, I mean you have no idea and I remember in the theater myself and everyone around me groaning since the whole love story in action films thing has been done to death and this seemed so cliche. The love between Trinity and Neo is very important to the trinity in the long run but imo it could have been introduced in a much better manner, maybe some flirting scenes leading up to it because you just don't see it coming at all which makes it really unrealistic. But other than that a great, epic movie.

The Matrix (and the entire Matrix Trilogy) is like an onion, it has many layers of meaning, and every-time I watch it I notice something new. Definitely a masterpiece with profound hidden meaning and my favourite movie off all time to this day. 10/10
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
StaticSpineSep 6, 2013
Modern classics of Sci-Fi, this movie carries a whole philosophy in itself. Interesting setting and concept, martial arts, great fight scenes, bullet dodging and you name what else make this movie so popular, and it's popularity is fair.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
steven132231Sep 12, 2012
This was an awesome film that should be watched by everyone.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
crazywaffle124Sep 19, 2012
Great movie. A beautiful mix of action and thought-provoking ideas. Deserves a 10 for sure. This movie is a great movie to rent if you want a great thought provoking movie like Inception, with non-stop action. The special effects are a littleGreat movie. A beautiful mix of action and thought-provoking ideas. Deserves a 10 for sure. This movie is a great movie to rent if you want a great thought provoking movie like Inception, with non-stop action. The special effects are a little cheesy though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheGamer31Oct 11, 2013
This is one of the greatest movies of all time. Amazing special effects, surprisingly good acting, an interesting, different but yet soothing and epic soundtrack, and non stop action makes this movie amazing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Although some of the acting is sporadically disagreeable, "The Matrix" still remains an imaginative, stylish, and heaploads of fun.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Jan 30, 2013
I remember watching this when it came out and it was awesome. Don't get me wrong, there is ALLOT wrong with this movie: the acting, the disjointed & cryptic script, the needlessly over-the-top action scenes. Watching this movie recently II remember watching this when it came out and it was awesome. Don't get me wrong, there is ALLOT wrong with this movie: the acting, the disjointed & cryptic script, the needlessly over-the-top action scenes. Watching this movie recently I also noticed just how poorly the FX have aged too. BUT, I will admit, even though it has a high reading on the crap-o-meter, it's still entertaining as hell, as long as you leave your brain at the door and enjoy it at face value. Overall: Probably the greatest bad movie ever. King of the Junkyard . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithAug 21, 2014
A kinetic, spellbinding, revolutionary movie. It's thought provoking, exciting, and one of the most memorable movies ever made. It may have a few flaws, such as being a little too show offy with its visual effects, and some lines areA kinetic, spellbinding, revolutionary movie. It's thought provoking, exciting, and one of the most memorable movies ever made. It may have a few flaws, such as being a little too show offy with its visual effects, and some lines are extremely pretentious, but there are few films as atmospheric or as mind-bendingly ambitious as the Matrix. Did I mention that the production design is incredible and that the score also fits perfectly? Even Keanu Reeves' performance isn't terrible, which is almost impossible. If you like sci-fi at all the chances are you'll love this. But I'm willing to bet you already do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ninja_dolphinFeb 14, 2013
Quite possibly one of the greatest action movies of all time. The world of the matrix is so intriguing you can't help but be hooked on what the movie throws at you. Great characters, a gripping story and some great special effects even overQuite possibly one of the greatest action movies of all time. The world of the matrix is so intriguing you can't help but be hooked on what the movie throws at you. Great characters, a gripping story and some great special effects even over 10 years later. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ncstatemikeSep 30, 2013
[7.1] It may not be the most thoughtful dystopian film, but it is certainly thrilling. The heavily stylized action is depicted with a bizarre but incredible atmosphere which is what makes the film so captivating. If it weren't for the[7.1] It may not be the most thoughtful dystopian film, but it is certainly thrilling. The heavily stylized action is depicted with a bizarre but incredible atmosphere which is what makes the film so captivating. If it weren't for the outdated visual effects (that were of course outstanding for the time), the film might actually be believable and feel real. It isn't quite the science fiction experience of newer films like Avatar and Star Trek, but it was a pioneer of great action films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Nk71Feb 7, 2013
If You Ever had to choose one movie for your unborn child to see. It would definitely be the matrix. FREE YOUR MIND. The perfect illustration of control and power and how it influences everything around you
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
erikvanbeekFeb 9, 2013
The Matrix helps you thinking about the question "What is reality?". This is an epistemological question: is the world we see around us the real world itself or merely an internal perceptual copy of that world generated by neural processes inThe Matrix helps you thinking about the question "What is reality?". This is an epistemological question: is the world we see around us the real world itself or merely an internal perceptual copy of that world generated by neural processes in our brain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGAug 10, 2015
The Matrix has some outstanding action sequences, amazing fight scenes with just the use of hands and great cinematography, but I have to say, this film is insanely overrated. The whole love story was thrown onto you like a heavy bag of riceThe Matrix has some outstanding action sequences, amazing fight scenes with just the use of hands and great cinematography, but I have to say, this film is insanely overrated. The whole love story was thrown onto you like a heavy bag of rice and the character introductions are rushed, and very messy. Sill, a very entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJun 30, 2014
People have been telling me to watch this movie for the past 3 years. I only just recently sat down to watch it. And good God am I happy that I did. The whole premise of the movie is awesome. Evil robots against rebel humans is all you havePeople have been telling me to watch this movie for the past 3 years. I only just recently sat down to watch it. And good God am I happy that I did. The whole premise of the movie is awesome. Evil robots against rebel humans is all you have to say and I'll be sold. To top it all off, the action is still awesome 15 years later. As far as action movies go, this is one of the best I've seen in a while.
There are a few small flaws. At times the acting can be average, and there is one very glaring plot hole (I won't go into details due to spoilers). However these issues are not significant enough to hurt the experience.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
mds03Mar 4, 2013
This is the most interesting and original action/drama I have seen in a long time! The special effects and the slo-mo looked astonishingly real. The acting and the development was great. The Wachowski siblings did a great job!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
chrisjones914Jul 31, 2014
As far as special effects go, The Matrix was probably the most cutting edge thing seen in its time! However, as disappointed as I am to say this, the story started strong but dissolves to a jumbled up mess about half way through. This beingAs far as special effects go, The Matrix was probably the most cutting edge thing seen in its time! However, as disappointed as I am to say this, the story started strong but dissolves to a jumbled up mess about half way through. This being said, the pay off in the end as far as acting and the story picking itself back up does make it worth watching! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FloxerJul 5, 2013
Matrix (1999)

Matrix der Film aus dem letzten Jahrtausend. Ja, so alt ist dieser Film schon. Wenn man Matrix in ein Film-Genre einordnen wollte, so wären wohl Action und Science Fiction die Hauptkategorien. Das allein wird dem Werk jedoch
Matrix (1999)

Matrix der Film aus dem letzten Jahrtausend. Ja, so alt ist dieser Film schon. Wenn man Matrix in ein Film-Genre einordnen wollte, so wären wohl Action und Science Fiction die Hauptkategorien. Das allein wird dem Werk jedoch nicht gerecht. Neben minutenlangen Baller-Szenen entpuppt sich eine Wahnsinnsstory, die ins Philosophische geht.

Aber erst einmal zu den Anfängen.
Der Protagonist, Thomas Anderson (gespielt von Keanu Reeves), ist ein Computer-Hacker und führt ein isoliertes Leben. Doch dann wird ihm eine geheimnisvolle Botschaft von Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) auf seinem Computer gesendet. Noch unklar, was ihn erwarten wird, beschließt er, dieser Nachricht auf den Grund zu gehen. In einem Nachtclub trifft er dann eine junge Frau namens Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss), die ihn zu einem Treffen mit Morpheus überreden will. Durch eine Wendung der Ereignisse wird er zur Zielscheibe eines Agententeams. Die einzigen Personen, die ihm helfen wollen, sind eben jene zwielichtigen Personen, die ihm eine "Wahrheit" verkaufen wollen, die er sich nicht im Entferntesten vorstellen kann. Ist die Welt real oder nur eine computergesteuerte, von Maschinen beherrschte, virtuelle Illusion?

Regie und Drehbuch führen die Wachowski-Geschwister, die ebenfalls das Drehbuch für "V wie Vendetta" schrieben. Ihnen und der sehr guten Leistung der Schauspieler ist es zu verdanken, dass zu keinem Zeitpunkt im Film eine Handlung realitätsfremd wirkt.
Neben der erstklassigen Schauspielarbeit tragen die herausragenden Spezialeffekte enorm zur Atmosphäre bei.
Für ein Science Fiction Werk genial, für seine Zeit Weltklasse. Bullet-Time, eines der wesentlichsten und markantesten Effekte, feierte nach Matrix eine Revolution im Action-Genre. Jedoch ist ihre Anwendung in Matrix bisher noch unübertroffen.
Farbfilter, wie sie in "300" oder "Kill Bill" bekannt sind, kommen auch bei Matrix zu Einsatz.

Wie bereits erwähnt sind aber gerade die philosophisch/religiösen Elemente und Hinweise, welche im ganzen Film durch Namensgebung Handlungen und Dialogen auftauchen, besonders hervorzuheben. Versteckt unter der ganzen Action behandelt der Film die Mythen verschiedener Religionen und Weltanschauungen und wirft durchaus tiefgründige Fragen auf.

Wer diesen Film noch nicht gesehen hat, wer seine Brillanz nicht verstanden hat, der sollte einen Besuch bei der Videothek einplanen. An diesem Meisterwerk führt kein Weg vorbei Matrix ist die rote Kapsel Teil 2 und 3 wohl eher die blaue…
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Pomegranate23Sep 6, 2013
A really great and deep movie. Very interesting plot that will have you thinking alot once it finishes. WIll simply blow your mind away, a must watch!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
kubathereviewerJul 25, 2013
This is a good movie with some good actions. There are some flaws but in general this is a successful movie. I don't particularly like this movie that much myself but I would recommend seeing it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
saeidAug 18, 2013
This movie is one the top 10 of all time. Most of the movies out there never satisfied me very well but I think The Matrix is a masterpiece. I maybe do not agree with all the concepts in the movie but the story just makes you think aboutThis movie is one the top 10 of all time. Most of the movies out there never satisfied me very well but I think The Matrix is a masterpiece. I maybe do not agree with all the concepts in the movie but the story just makes you think about every aspect of your life again. Each time you watch this movie you will understand more of it. The most remarkable thing about The Matrix is, the directors have thought about every single scene in the movie and if you pay more attention you will find signs and symbols all over the places! Watch this movie more than once! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
The Matrix is a thought-provoking movie that is the pioneer in slo-mo filmmaking, and has some really good CGI effects for it's time (except for that one scene where Keanu finishes all his enemies, we all signed an unspoken contract to forgetThe Matrix is a thought-provoking movie that is the pioneer in slo-mo filmmaking, and has some really good CGI effects for it's time (except for that one scene where Keanu finishes all his enemies, we all signed an unspoken contract to forget about the CGI in that scene). But other than that, this movie was the first of its kind, and is just a really amazing film to experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lt308252Jan 16, 2016
Anyone who dislikes this film obviously doest understand what it is about and what point it is trying to get across. One of my favourite movies of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelBagameryMay 3, 2014
I strongly recommend this film; it's a golden experience that will change your life for the better.

The effects still look great even fifteen years later. The story offers much food for thought. Morpheus, Neo, and Trinity transcend mere
I strongly recommend this film; it's a golden experience that will change your life for the better.

The effects still look great even fifteen years later. The story offers much food for thought. Morpheus, Neo, and Trinity transcend mere character into archetype. But who HASN'T felt as if this life is something less than it seems? This stands alongside 'Serenity' among science-fiction cinema's greatest champions of human liberation and truth. If you care about your mind, see this. You will not be disappointed.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
missguidedOct 21, 2013
Saw this movie for the first time yesterday. Although a lot of it was cheesy and the costumes were ridiculous, it was very engrossing and I was never bored.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
iffyguyDec 11, 2013
A mind-bending movie. The story of Neo, a computer hacker who learns that the entire world is simply a dream created by machines to keep human's minds occupied so they can be harvested for energy, is incredible, simply because one day it mayA mind-bending movie. The story of Neo, a computer hacker who learns that the entire world is simply a dream created by machines to keep human's minds occupied so they can be harvested for energy, is incredible, simply because one day it may actually happen. The fights are incredibly choreographed, and the special effects were revolutionary for their time, and still hold up today. Buckle up and prepare for The Matrix! (and its crappy sequels). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
The Matrix generates success.
A very well directed and fast paced action thrill ride with more gunfire than one could dream of. Besides being just a fun shoot 'em up The Matrix gives audiences mysterious characters and a solid plot.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MrAlcatrazDec 12, 2013
Easily the best movies ever made. Amazing action and story, great acting, too. I don't want to spoil anything because this is too good, just watch it. You will crap your pants, at the sheer awesomeness.

And don't forget all of the
Easily the best movies ever made. Amazing action and story, great acting, too. I don't want to spoil anything because this is too good, just watch it. You will crap your pants, at the sheer awesomeness.

And don't forget all of the unforgettable lines like "Not like this, not like this"

Watch this movie or I will find you, I will hurt you, then I will kill you.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
christianobucciDec 26, 2013
"You have to understand, most of these people are not ready to be unplugged. And many of them are so inured, so hopelessly dependent on the system, that they will fight to protect it. "
Morpheus
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJul 8, 2015
The Matrix is a classic science fiction film that has a astonishing three dimensional cartoon world and has artsy action like you would see in a comic book but in 3D. What makes the film special, is it's taking a journey with it's charactersThe Matrix is a classic science fiction film that has a astonishing three dimensional cartoon world and has artsy action like you would see in a comic book but in 3D. What makes the film special, is it's taking a journey with it's characters and people watching the movie trying to figure out this matrix universe, the film does not spoon feed the audience. It describe many details as possible. Neil (Keanu Reeves) is a young hacker who wants to know what is the matrix, so he thinks Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) the dangerous man alive, to answer his question. He is contacted by Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) so they can go to a mysterious underworld were they'll meet Morpheus. Their fighting for their lives against intelligent secret agents. It is a truth that could cost Neo something more precious than his life. I don't care if people think Reeves is a bad actor, to be honest he's like able but this guy is trying to make his character awesome, likeable and to root for while he proves he's a physical actor, which makes the action more better. Laurence Fishburne as the leader is the best leader in the film, he awnsers all the questions that audiences have, he's something people need while watching the film. Writen and directed by the Wachowski brothers, they put so much detail in their marvel script and if there's one thing that they achieve in directing their action block busters is understanding the art of an action scene. Bill Pope's camera work is so mindblowing and that's why the Matrix is equally good about the film, and make the action scene more better. The film is well-made, astonishing camera work and written and directed by the talented Wachowski brothers. Grade A+ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
chwJul 17, 2014
The Matrix was genius. Acting was great, the story: perfection, direction was perfect, and then the fights were absolutely badass, and anyone who's seen it would agree.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Voodoo123May 16, 2018
Along came a movie that redefined the summer action blockbuster genre. Bustin film production moves well above its initial budget The Matrix owes its success thanks to its marriage of innovative camera techniques, ambitious CGI, kung fuAlong came a movie that redefined the summer action blockbuster genre. Bustin film production moves well above its initial budget The Matrix owes its success thanks to its marriage of innovative camera techniques, ambitious CGI, kung fu choreography, philosophical plot ideas and just great cast/direction/soundtrack. I saw this twice on release and more times than I can count since then. Yet to be surpassed in terms of pure cinematic innovation! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesAug 8, 2014
Well served by a terrific cast and some spot on action sequences, "Matrix" is a groundbreaking piece of cinema with the essence of pure entertainment.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
FatalityHDApr 26, 2014
The beginning of the movie for me was very confusing but by the end all your questions will be answered. The slo-mo and CGI make the tricks a whole lot better.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
brittybubMay 2, 2014
This was an ok movie overall however didn't really explain all that much. I am happy that I am watching it now and not when before they all came out so i can watch all of them over a couple of days. Seeing as this is a movie filmed in 1999This was an ok movie overall however didn't really explain all that much. I am happy that I am watching it now and not when before they all came out so i can watch all of them over a couple of days. Seeing as this is a movie filmed in 1999 the graphics are great and I cant wait to see the graphics in the other two movies. This is something I would watch again but not on its own. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
BurnsWEMNov 11, 2014
One of my favorite movies of all time that changed the face of special effects in movies forever. This film is a must see for action fans and sci-fi fans. This movie is a true masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews