Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 22, 2011
    100
    Yes, Kermit does reprise The Rainbow Connection, surely one of the loveliest movie songs ever and, yes, it still brings tears to your eyes. Happy tears, realizing some marvelous things never change.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Holmes
    Nov 23, 2011
    90
    It's hard not to be both heartened and a little wistful about the fact that The Muppets is probably as good a Muppet project as it's possible to make without Jim Henson.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 22, 2011
    90
    Clever and current without being cynical, smart without being condescending, funny without being exclusionary to grown-ups or to kids.
  4. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Nov 20, 2011
    90
    The holiday season just got a whole lot brighter.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Nov 23, 2011
    89
    It is with immense pleasure that I can report that Disney's Muppet reboot movie is an absolute delight.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 22, 2011
    88
    The Muppets is both a delightful family film about the Muppets and a winking, self-referential satire about how lame the Muppets are.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 22, 2011
    88
    More fresh than retro, The Muppets bursts with charm and cheeky humor.
  8. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Nov 22, 2011
    88
    I've never seen a movie so perfectly balanced between unabashed nerdiness and hipness.
  9. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 21, 2011
    88
    The Muppets may have been born out of a desire to revive a dormant franchise that was once a cash cow, but there isn't a single beat in the film that feels crass or opportunistic. This one is from the heart.
  10. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Nov 23, 2011
    83
    You can find movies with better scripts, direction, acting, songs, and jokes than The Muppets -- but you won't find one that's nearly so much fun.
  11. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Nov 21, 2011
    83
    For kids, blessedly unironic by nature until wised up by nurture, the movie is just shiny, funny, and filled with songs.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 295 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 4 out of 94
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    The Muppets is extremely heartwarming and funny, charming and just innocent. It features lovable performances from the whole cast with some great musical numbers. I give this movie 99%. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This movie made me laugh so hard. If you grew up with The Muppets you will love this movie if you never seen the muppets you wont really get the humor. It has funny jokes and hilarious songs. I almost peed my pants with the Im a Man or a Muppet song.The only thing I have to criticize was at the ending( no spoilers) Selena Gomez is in it a brief and I was like NO NO NO GO AWAY she should of honestly not been in the movie like keep older actors. Other then that this was one of my favorite movies this year TBH. Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This movie is exactly what it sets out to be. It's fun, carefree and has a great message about family, perseverance, and has some really touching moments between pieces of felt. I felt a little silly tearing up at one point because it's a Muppet movie but it did a great job of bringing the Muppets into a new century. It reminded me of a Pixar movie in that it is just so pure in what it seeks out to do and has such a simple message but it's executed so well.

    The only issue I had with the movie is that they break the fourth wall a couple too many times for my taste. It's a small gripe but seem like it happened too many times.
    Full Review »