User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 294

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This movie made me laugh so hard. If you grew up with The Muppets you will love this movie if you never seen the muppets you wont really get the humor. It has funny jokes and hilarious songs. I almost peed my pants with the Im a Man or a Muppet song.The only thing I have to criticize was at the ending( no spoilers) Selena Gomez is in it a brief and I was like NO NO NO GO AWAY she should of honestly not been in the movie like keep older actors. Other then that this was one of my favorite movies this year TBH. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    The Muppets is extremely heartwarming and funny, charming and just innocent. It features lovable performances from the whole cast with some great musical numbers. I give this movie 99%.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome!
    Had some super cute, bitter sweet moments, had crazy over the top muppets mayhem. Music was great, and he humor was edged in exactly in the right way, not alienated adults but also appealing to kids. The writing and concept was pure genius, and I would have never expected this in a million years to be quit as heartfelt as it truly is. I'm stoked to see if it sells well, and if
    Disney green lights a sequel---we all need the muppets! Now more than ever! Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This movie is exactly what it sets out to be. It's fun, carefree and has a great message about family, perseverance, and has some really touching moments between pieces of felt. I felt a little silly tearing up at one point because it's a Muppet movie but it did a great job of bringing the Muppets into a new century. It reminded me of a Pixar movie in that it is just so pure in what it seeks out to do and has such a simple message but it's executed so well.

    The only issue I had with the movie is that they break the fourth wall a couple too many times for my taste. It's a small gripe but seem like it happened too many times.
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    If your a fan of the original Muppet Show or happened along after during the classic films, this one is for you. Perfect in every way! Thank you Jason Segel for a perfect homage to Jim Hensons' greatest achievement.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    The Muppets brings back in our old days of funny, charming, and whimsically of rainbow connection in the 80's. First, the story takes place were The Muppets are retiring for their old days for making the show, but Walter, Gary, and Mary are helping the Muppets to bring back their reunion. Second, the characters have updated for their funny reenactments. I just love those beloved characters to bring more funny jokes that I really enjoy, especially those weird characters that make us more laughing. Jason Segel and Amy Adams did very good on their roles and the new muppet character Walter, was very funny and cool. Then finally, the scenes are perfectly well done for the musics, the jokes, and their nostalgia memories that the muppets bring more stuff that we love in our days. I can say that this movie is incredibly awesome and sometimes that the adults are definitely will enjoy and the kids will be alright to get the intention of the Muppets. Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    As musicals tend to be, it was cheesy and over-the-top, so if you're not into that, maybe you wouldn't like this movie. I, however, am a big fan of both the muppets and cheesy musicals, so I LOVED it. We were smiling and laughing the whole time. I think this movie is great for kids and adults alike. We just went last night, and I already want to see it again. I will definitely be purchasing the DVD. The plot is fairly similar to the first Muppet Movie, but I found that to be a good thing, because it was as if it was paying homage to it. The new songs are pretty corny, but fun and enjoyable (and will get stuck in your head), and it was really nice that songs from the Muppet Show were used. I would highly recommend going to see this movie...especially if you've ever been a muppet fan. Expand
  8. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Being born in 1995, i missed out on a few things, The Super Nintendo,the Golden years of The Simpsons and The Muppets. I was a huge fan of The Muppets when I was younger even though there glory days were over. I used to rent out old tapes of the the Muppet show constantly and I would watch any of The Muppet movies whenever I could. So when I heard The Muppets are coming back and Jason Segal is writing and starring in it I was litterally blown away. If this review seems biased I'm sorry.

    They'res grat acting all round from both humans and Muppets. the jokes are fresher than ever and the celeb cameos are hilarious. Kids will love the muppets and the childish humour and adults will be covered from head to toe in Nostalgia and celebrity cameos, this movie is for everyone.
    Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    For those of us who grew up on The Muppets, this brings back so many wonderful memories. like any good childrens' movie, this has plenty of jokes that work on two levels. my kids were entertained and wondering why I was laughing so hard.
  10. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    While I've always like the Muppets, the three movies I've seen them in before (Muppet Christmas Carol, Muppet Treasure Island, and the Muppet Wizard of Oz) didn't really feel memorable. This movie however, gives the Muppets a much needed revival, and I'm proud to say, I was very satisfied! Great songs, lots of laughs!
  11. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Basically, I laughed and cried the entire time--it is clear that someone who understands both the humor and heart of the Muppets has finally picked up the torch where Jim Henson left off. For all its zany tongue-in-cheek, breaking-the-fourth-wall humor (which IS totally in line with Muppets tradition), it also, without directly addressing it, deals with the gaping hole in our hearts left by Jim Henson's untimely death-- whether the Muppets could ever be magical again, or, as Kermit sings about, if what they used to have was now broken beyond repair. Fortunately for all of us, even broken hearts can still be magical. Gee it's good to be together again! Expand
  12. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    As a fan of the Muppets since seeing reruns of The Muppet Show, I have been wondering when the Muppets would return with a movie that could actually be seen in theaters instead of the odd assortment of straight to dvd releases. My worries were put to rest when Kermit the frog appears and the 4th wall breaking jokes began. It is a fun and harmless movie with an interesting ending. It definitely ranks up high in what the Muppets have done. The cameos are great, as well the writing. I hope that this is not the final movie for the Muppets anytime soon. Expand
  13. May 13, 2012
    9
    Good job. I was shock . This movie was really good. I love this movie now. I didn't expect this movie to be good at all. I was expecting some crappy movie. One of the best movies of the year. Best muppet movie. A great kids and family movie. A movie that every one will enjoy.
  14. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Believe it or not,, this is one of the best movies of the year. The simplistic plot works so well, even though you've seen it in dozens of other movies. What makes this movie work so well is the humor and the character development. Yes, character development for puppets. They do feel like real people with real emotions, not just fuzzy little animals. Whatever your age, whether you grew up with the Muppets or not, you will love this movie. Expand
  15. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    This movie has possibly made me the happiest I've ever been walking out of a movie theater. It's funny, heart warming, and plays off of well established cliches beautifully. This is a pitch-perfect movie, both a love letter to the Muppets and their fans, as well as a very funny movie in its own right with a load of in-jokes and self references that are surprisingly funny, considering I usually find that kind of stuff annoying in many movies. Easily one of my favorite movies of the year. Expand
  16. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this movie! It had my g/f and I laughing throughout. A typical plot with a not so typical ending which put me in my cynical place! Some funny moments in between the HILARIOUS moments. I loved the muppets as a kid and always wanted to be a muppeteer, so seeing the love that Walter had, as well as the obvious appreciation that Jason Siegel has for the muppets, it was truly the first Muppet movie worthy a Jim Henson name since his passing. A great movie with the significant other, or with the kids. Expand
  17. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Absolutely delightful, really funny, absurdist and spot on. Clearly made with love, the film has a light touch a pure heart and a massive funny bone. It's the ultimate anti-depressant! So, so glad I went out of my way to see it in a theater with an audience... though it'll be a blast on the small screen too. Go see it!
  18. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    I have no idea how its humanly possible to write a bad review for this movie. I love the Muppets. This movie was fun, inspiring, filled with great messages, and it is absolutely hilarious. Jason Segel did a more than amazing job writing and starring in this film. He did the classic Muppets justice in this new, hilarious entry into the Muppets excellent line of movies. You must see this movie whether your a muppet fan like me or no. You will be rolling on the floor laughing, i promise. One of my favorite movies of 2011. 10/10 without a doubt Expand
  19. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    The Muppets are a part of America's richest history. They will always be loved by millions and be cherished for a long time, and I am glad they came back after those long muppetless years, and with such power too. This movie is probably actually my favorite muppet movie ever. The muppet charm we all love was deeply felt and greater than ever. Not only was Jason Segal and Amy Adams amazing additions to the gang but Walter (the cute 3-foot tall brown haired die hard muppet fan) was also a charming little muppet that was added to the gang. But as always, Kermit, Animal, Fozzie, and the rest of the gang really played a big part in the making of the joyful feeling that only the muppets can give. Awesome storyline also gave this movie its delightful mood. The way it fits it's awesome guest stars including Jack Black, Whoopi Goldberg, and Zach Galifianakis. The way it fits all the gut busting jokes that adults can even laugh too, and hard. Sweet musical numbers and even a little drama make this movie great. This will go down as mine and a lot of other peoples favorites for along long long long long long time. It's time to play the music. It's time to light the lights. It's time to bring the muppets back, and make the world bright. Expand
  20. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    A good spirited film, with a lot of heart. Perfect for the little ones. Though it's also clever and witty, and I think adults will thoroughly enjoy it as well. Adorable.
  21. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    If you are extremely familiar with the original Muppet's show from the late 70s-80s, then you are going to adore the latest Muppet film. The Muppets contains familiar flashbacks and moments we remember from Kermit and the gang, including a cast of celebrity cameos, and the witty comedy that we always loved from the Muppets.This movie was really funny and also had a lot of heart, which left me happy after the film was over. Is it the best Muppet film? Close, but not really. A tie between A Muppet's Christmas Carol and Muppet's Treasure Island will always be the superior films from the Muppets. I do admit that some sequences got a little too campy (though it didn't lasted too long) and the beginning of the film was too fast paced with it's storytelling. Other than those minor critiques, The Muppets is a must watched film for witty audiences and Muppet fans alike. You will not be disappointed! Expand
  22. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can not tell you all how much I love this movie. The Muppets are back, and almost better then before. I was laughing every minute. It had so many good homages to the original movies, like the first big Muppet movie "The Muppet Movie" when they accidentally ditch the big brown Muppet at the car sale. It also has many good popular culture references, and fresh new jokes. Anyone who's ever seen a Muppet movie needs to see this. Even if you didn't even know who the Muppets were before this, you still need to see it. Expand
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This was a sweet and brilliant movie. It had all the old school Muppet charm teamed with some great new characters and great new music. It put a smile on my face from the first frame to the last.
  24. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Check out my Review of the Muppets http://fronttowardsgamer.com/2011/11/23/ftg-nerd-review-the-muppets-movie-1123/

    Itâ
  25. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I love the Muppets because they are funny and loving! I Can't wait to see the Muppets this Saturday and I love Kermit and the Gang! It's awesome to see it for the intire family! I love the Muppets will be in the Oscars awards and I hope the Muppets will be awesome! I love all of the Muppets !
  26. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This was a GREAT movie. We laughed through the entire thing. For me the nostalgic appeal was a big part of what made it so great, but my kids (10 and 13) loved it just as much as I did. Definitely one of the best movies I've seen this year.
  27. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We tend to look at the past as something better than it really was. But we know how remakes usually end up like. This isn't a remake though. I love the retro feel, and the quick-fire jokes (Ted Conference attending, google employee Scooter). Although it seems this is why we have ADD. Some of the jokes toward the end of the movie were just going by too quick. Sure it was hectic for the Muppets, but it shouldn't be for us.

    This is one time we can say something was better than the original. With Kermit asking for President Carter, and the Ms. Piggy disco sound, It seemed the movie didn't take itself too seriously with the self-deprecating humor and all. It seemed they were trying to say t"yes we are out of touch!" I was too young to remember growing up with the TV show, but old enough to remember the cartoons, and the re-runs. I've been waiting for this movie, and it didn't disappoint.
    Expand
  28. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    What a beautiful piece of heartwarming artwork! I cried and I love when a movie makes me cry. I was engrossed the whole time. I'm so happy that there are artists out there capable of creating this kind entertainment.
  29. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This movie had me leaving the theater with a giant smile on my face...mission accomplished. I loved every moment, it's classic Muppets humor with a modern twist. They do hardcore Muppets fans a solid with this film, and they don't disappoint non-hardcore fans. great for kids and great for adults!
  30. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    I don't say this too often about any movie, but this is one of the few where if you do not enjoy it, you simply have no soul. "The Muppets" has to be one of the happiest movies I have ever seen. The musical numbers are brilliantly written and every one of them has this infectious energy that never fails to put a huge grin on your face. The movie also has its fair share of laughs. I particularly enjoyed all of the 80s references to "The Blues Brothers" and "Indiana Jones." There's maybe one area in the middle where the simplistic story starts to drag it down a bit, but then Amy Adams and Miss Piggy sing an hysterical duet that brings the movie back up, and from there, "The Muppets" sails into magical bliss. I'm recommending this to anyone who likes to feel happy. If you're soulless and only enjoy movies that make you feel depressed or angry, stay far away. Expand
  31. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    Loved it from start to finish. Exceeded all expectations and was impossible to leave the cinema without a smile on my face. Still singing the songs and laughing at the jokes months after I watched it.
  32. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    Somehow Jason Segal and company find a way to cram all of the old Muppets nostalgia in there, pack in more cameos than you will even remotely realize, and somehow find time to fit new material in there. The story is solid, the musical numbers are excellent, and the jokes fall perfectly in line with old Muppet affairs. A great movie for a family to enjoy.
  33. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    Well, I have to give him credit; Jason Segel has managed to capture the sweet, gentle, charming, but ironic tone of the Muppets. For at fan like me who grew up, first with Sesame Street and later loved The Muppet Show this was a trip down sentimental movie lane. And it has the Rainbow connection, to quote Kermit YAAAAAYYYYYY!!!

    For full review go to:
    http://badmovielover.blogspot.com/2011/11/muppets-or-man-i-miss-jim-hensen.html Expand
  34. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    It's been twelve years since the Muppets have been featured on the big screen, and with their last adventure (Muppets From Space) resulting in commercial failure, many have questioned whether the characters should be given another shot. I'm pleased to report that the answer to that question is a resounding "yes."Â
  35. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    I love this movie. It was much more funny than I expected, and I expected it to be pretty funny. Fans of the old show should be very satisfied, and children should be, too. The only thing I did not like was the parts where they sang. I don't like musicals. However, some of the songs were decent and catchy, and there was a lot of humor, both visual and lyrical, within them. I think this is the perfect movie for the whole family. Expand
  36. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I expected to like this movie, I did not expect to LOVE it. But I did! You can't help forget that the Muppets are being controlled by people, and are not real. The puppetry is just spectacular. Amy Adams was adorable as always, and Jason Segel was great as well. Cameos for days too, I won't bother mentioning all of them. Great movie!
  37. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    this was the first ever time i had had watched the muppet's and it was awesome
  38. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Being a fan of the original Muppets TV show growing up as a kid, I really enjoyed this movie, it is true to its roots. It has many funny moments. Also, you can tell that it has been influenced by 'Flight of the Concords' too, another show I am a fan of. This is a result of it being directed by James Bobin, 'Flight of the Conchords' co-founder and its music director Bret McKenzie from Flight of the Concords. So if you are a fan of the Muppets or Flight of the Conchords I recommend seeing this. Even if you are not but you want to see a nice light heart-warming comedy with singing puppets, you should still enjoy this. Expand
  39. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    You can't help but smile watching this film. The Muppets were always an enjoyable part of my childhood and it's good to see that they can be enjoyable for a new generation.
  40. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    the fact that there's singing , dance and miss piggy thats something i enjoy about this film its a musical a great kid movies . i can not wait to see muppets most wanted .
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Made absolutely for grown-up fans, this is the Muppets as you fondly remember them: funny, smart and gleefully insane. Kermit, it's great to have you back.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Dec 27, 2011
    60
    It may not entirely work as a movie, but The Muppets shines as a piece of touching pop nostalgia.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 23, 2011
    80
    Like Statler and Waldorf, older viewers may kvetch and cavil about the details, but when that red velvet curtain goes up, we wouldn't give up our balcony seats for the world.