User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 81
  2. Negative: 14 out of 81
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EnzoP.
    Jul 9, 2009
    0
    Sure this movie was a huge laugh out loud but it was so stupid so I have to give it a big flat old zero.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Movie critics don't know anything anyway. They're hired to complain.
  3. K.L.
    May 10, 2002
    10
    Yep!
  4. ChrisS
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    These idiots who think that a movie has to make complete sense to be funny are moron's. This movie was one of the funniest I have seen. All I have to say is, "Get over youselves, just sit back and enjoy!" Don't over think a movie like this........and don't be stupid.
  5. MattL.
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    One of my favorite comedies ever. The kind of movie you'll never forget, even if it's not that original. DJ Qualls is great, as well as the rest of the crew, and Eliza Dushku's "swimsuits scene" is.... :)) If you like the 'Dude where's my car' stuff, you should love this one.
  6. MarkP.
    Jul 26, 2002
    8
    This is easily the funniest movie of this year (and I just watched Goldmember). It is similar in style to American Pie, but is not destined to be as much of a classic.
  7. LaurelH.
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    This has now become my favorite movie of all time, replacing Dogma and XXX ( I have eclectic taste) Don't listen to all those idiots talking about the stupidity of the movie.
  8. JamesW.
    Apr 9, 2003
    0
    I cannot comprehend how anyone can give this higher than perhaps a two. It is a disgrace to human life and if i see it again I fear I will put a knife to my wrists. A senseless, unfunny, crass and downright terrible movie that I wish i had never experienced.
  9. JohnV.
    Aug 11, 2003
    0
    This was a stinker. A real shocker. I suggest that you don't waste your money on this garbage.
  10. ColinC.
    Aug 14, 2003
    1
    Lucky not to get zero but i gave one for quallsy.
  11. AbelP.
    Aug 7, 2003
    10
    This is a very funny movie. For those of you who rate this a 0 then you need grow a sense of humor. I think you expect a revolutionary movie. Its not, its just meant to be a funny teen flick. and I think it does a great job of just that. This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Rock on new guy.
  12. MarkC.
    Apr 7, 2004
    8
    I was looking for the soundtrack of this film and ended up reading several of the reviews. Let's see you hardball critics make a movie. I'm sure the reviews would be wonderful! I've watched this film a couple of times and can't help but smile at the crazy characters and their assorted corny antics. If you want sophisticated humor try public tv or the British channel.
  13. D.F.
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    Come on, it was hilarious, ive seen it lyk 4 times.
  14. MartinL
    Apr 30, 2005
    7
    Good movie! hilarious too!
  15. FelixQ.
    Jul 25, 2006
    7
    Once more, a teen-comedy (starring those who have passed the teen mark a few years ago) with a concept we've seen, uh a few times before. I think what makes this one better than others on one level is the approach- I don't think we've gone this *specific* route before. DJ Qualls keeps this one from falling throught the floor completely- he deserves a lot more kudos inOnce more, a teen-comedy (starring those who have passed the teen mark a few years ago) with a concept we've seen, uh a few times before. I think what makes this one better than others on one level is the approach- I don't think we've gone this *specific* route before. DJ Qualls keeps this one from falling throught the floor completely- he deserves a lot more kudos in Hollywood. Unfortunately, for all the promise this could have had, it seems kind of hollow, and not fully developed. The jokes get slightly cheap at times, and other times seem to hit a much smarter note- if this film had just made up it's mind and decided to go all out dick-and-fart funny, or witty-ironic-satire, then it could have been great. One thing that's certain- let's see more of DJ Qualls! Expand
  16. KevinM
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    I love this movie. DJ Qualls is a lovable geek and laughs are delivered throughout. Not everyone will like this movie, but so what.
  17. BobV.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Ok, this is by far the funniest movie I have seen in a long time. You know, its always funny how the movies the critics hate the most, kids seem to like.....maybe they need a new job?????
  18. Sara
    May 13, 2002
    0
    This is a ridiculously unfunny movie that may be humorous to 4 and 5 year olds, who are merely laughing at the stupid things that transpire during the entirety of this film. This film lacks original ideas, and is unconvincing of its humor and comical suggestions. Dont waste your $7 on this garbage!
  19. RichardT.
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    Funny as hell...laughed through the movie the whole time...
  20. RichardT.
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    Funny as hell...laughed through the movie the whole time...
  21. CJCampbell
    Aug 14, 2003
    1
    Terrible the only funny thing in the movie is dj squalls face.
  22. CamC.
    Aug 19, 2003
    2
    Lame movie with tired school jokes tis genre has officially been exhausted.
  23. AbbyH.
    Dec 1, 2004
    8
    This movie was funny and interesting, but there were some parts that just didn't fit at ALL. Me and my best friend Amy watched it once at her house and we both found it hilarious. But the second was as funny.
  24. MeaganW.
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    This movie allows people who don't fit in a chance to feel like they can acheive the impossible... becoming popular in a high school that is completely unweilding to dorks and "blips." I feel this movie will reach anyone, with its music, dance scenes, football, and even a bikini moment or two. It's just an amazing movie that can open eyes and hearts around the world.
  25. LoganG.
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    Love the movie. Even Eliza Dushku trying on those bikini's. Its by far the funnest movie out there.If you didn't like it then you make a comedy movie and you compare this movie to yours.
  26. [Anonymous]
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    Best Movie I've seen ever! The best part was when Eliza Dushku was dancing in the bikinis.
  27. Siatris
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    The Best!
  28. HollyH.
    Oct 19, 2002
    10
    I thought it was one of those stupi-funny movies like space balls or revenge of the nerds. It has good music, and carries a lot of laughs. It's message is really something only teens can pick out of this movie, as it wasn't in the older films for the old fogies who hate this movie to pick up. Just watch it. It's worthy of watching
  29. Alex
    Jun 12, 2002
    9
    It may not be deep, but it's a good natured, fun, hilarious film. Its message is something to be listened to, don't pass it up.
  30. LynleyJ.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    Bugger that was a funny movie. I couldn't stop laughing and the music was great.
  31. BCampbell
    Jul 31, 2003
    0
    By far the worst movie I have ever seen. Not even one funny moment.
  32. Josh
    Apr 21, 2006
    0
    Why do some people find this movie funny? I did not laugh once throughout this piece of crap excuse for a comedy.
  33. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    A loveable high school comedy. It's not the funniest movie in the world, but it does make you laugh. I'm a sucker for good cameos, and this movie is chock full of them. My biggest complaint is the scene where the actors are miming to a funk song, and it shows the guitar pretend playing the bassline. Other than that, it is totally worth a watch.
  34. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    This movie came out when I was 11 and I bet I would've totally enjoyed the hell out of it at that age but I'm 20 now and I just saw it. It's just dumb but i do applaud it for it's over-the-topness, it's like a dumb comic book made into a movie.
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 15 out of 23
  1. You have to have faith that kids will recognize a bad movie when it's foisted on them -- and they don't get much worse than The New Guy.
  2. If physical appearance creates its own class system (in high school and beyond), then Qualls is perfect for this proselytizing role. He has that rarest of movie-star faces -- one that over comes the tyranny of beauty.
  3. 40
    A comedy just funny enough to make viewers wish it were far funnier.