User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 81
  2. Negative: 14 out of 81
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Movie critics don't know anything anyway. They're hired to complain.
  2. K.L.
    May 10, 2002
    10
    Yep!
  3. ChrisS
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    These idiots who think that a movie has to make complete sense to be funny are moron's. This movie was one of the funniest I have seen. All I have to say is, "Get over youselves, just sit back and enjoy!" Don't over think a movie like this........and don't be stupid.
  4. MattL.
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    One of my favorite comedies ever. The kind of movie you'll never forget, even if it's not that original. DJ Qualls is great, as well as the rest of the crew, and Eliza Dushku's "swimsuits scene" is.... :)) If you like the 'Dude where's my car' stuff, you should love this one.
  5. LaurelH.
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    This has now become my favorite movie of all time, replacing Dogma and XXX ( I have eclectic taste) Don't listen to all those idiots talking about the stupidity of the movie.
  6. AbelP.
    Aug 7, 2003
    10
    This is a very funny movie. For those of you who rate this a 0 then you need grow a sense of humor. I think you expect a revolutionary movie. Its not, its just meant to be a funny teen flick. and I think it does a great job of just that. This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Rock on new guy.
  7. D.F.
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    Come on, it was hilarious, ive seen it lyk 4 times.
  8. KevinM
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    I love this movie. DJ Qualls is a lovable geek and laughs are delivered throughout. Not everyone will like this movie, but so what.
  9. BobV.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Ok, this is by far the funniest movie I have seen in a long time. You know, its always funny how the movies the critics hate the most, kids seem to like.....maybe they need a new job?????
  10. RichardT.
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    Funny as hell...laughed through the movie the whole time...
  11. RichardT.
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    Funny as hell...laughed through the movie the whole time...
  12. MeaganW.
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    This movie allows people who don't fit in a chance to feel like they can acheive the impossible... becoming popular in a high school that is completely unweilding to dorks and "blips." I feel this movie will reach anyone, with its music, dance scenes, football, and even a bikini moment or two. It's just an amazing movie that can open eyes and hearts around the world.
  13. LoganG.
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    Love the movie. Even Eliza Dushku trying on those bikini's. Its by far the funnest movie out there.If you didn't like it then you make a comedy movie and you compare this movie to yours.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    Best Movie I've seen ever! The best part was when Eliza Dushku was dancing in the bikinis.
  15. Siatris
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    The Best!
  16. HollyH.
    Oct 19, 2002
    10
    I thought it was one of those stupi-funny movies like space balls or revenge of the nerds. It has good music, and carries a lot of laughs. It's message is really something only teens can pick out of this movie, as it wasn't in the older films for the old fogies who hate this movie to pick up. Just watch it. It's worthy of watching
  17. Alex
    Jun 12, 2002
    9
    It may not be deep, but it's a good natured, fun, hilarious film. Its message is something to be listened to, don't pass it up.
  18. LynleyJ.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    Bugger that was a funny movie. I couldn't stop laughing and the music was great.
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 15 out of 23
  1. You have to have faith that kids will recognize a bad movie when it's foisted on them -- and they don't get much worse than The New Guy.
  2. If physical appearance creates its own class system (in high school and beyond), then Qualls is perfect for this proselytizing role. He has that rarest of movie-star faces -- one that over comes the tyranny of beauty.
  3. 40
    A comedy just funny enough to make viewers wish it were far funnier.