Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Life seems perfect for John Brennan until his wife, Lara, is arrested for a gruesome murder she says she didn't commit. Three years into her sentence, John is struggling to hold his family together, raising their son and teaching at college while he pursues every means available to prove herLife seems perfect for John Brennan until his wife, Lara, is arrested for a gruesome murder she says she didn't commit. Three years into her sentence, John is struggling to hold his family together, raising their son and teaching at college while he pursues every means available to prove her innocence. With the rejection of their final appeal, Lara becomes suicidal and John decides there is only one possible, bearable solution: to break his wife out of prison. Refusing to be deterred by impossible odds or his own inexperience, John devises an elaborate escape plot and plunges into a dangerous and unfamiliar world, ultimately risking everything for the woman he loves. (Lionsgate) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Nov 17, 2010
    83
    Damon's how-to-break-the-law lesson - as ludicrous as anything else in this enjoyably zigzaggy exercise in accumulating peril - grants Neeson the fun of experimenting with an American ex-con accent for his one scene.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Nov 18, 2010
    75
    The Next Three Days is genre fare - no pretensions, no nonsense.
  3. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Nov 15, 2010
    70
    An accomplished, intelligent, often exciting piece of work, but I can't help wishing that Haggis had figured out how to make it more fun. [22 Nov. 2010, p. 140]
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Nov 13, 2010
    50
    Paul Haggis' middling fourth feature evinces a sometimes pulse-quickening fascination with procedural details, and climaxes with a good dose of swift, suspenseful filmmaking. But what was briskly diverting in the original has been rather laboriously overworked.
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 18, 2010
    50
    If The Next Three Days were just a little more mindless, it might have been more joyful.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Nov 18, 2010
    50
    Haggis finally finds the movie's groove late in the game, and the escape sequence itself is hectic, suspenseful, and enjoyably ridiculous.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 24, 2010
    30
    Maybe taking a cue from his namesake dish, that much-maligned Scottish pudding concoction made with sheep innards and root vegetables, Haggis presents a mishmash of genres in this redo of Fred CavayƩ's 2008 French film "Pour Elle."

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    A highly underrated movie; it's been a long time since I cared so much about characters in a movie. To be sure, it's not your standardA highly underrated movie; it's been a long time since I cared so much about characters in a movie. To be sure, it's not your standard run-and-gun popcorn flick. This one takes just a little bit of work to get invested, but once you manage to stick yourself in the main character's shoes it's absolutely worth it. Collapse
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    I was pleasantly surprised by this film (and that doesn't happen often). There was less action than I was expecting, and while it startedI was pleasantly surprised by this film (and that doesn't happen often). There was less action than I was expecting, and while it started slow, about halfway through I was leaning forward in suspense. I had watched "The Town" recently (which I also liked), and compare this movie favorably to that film. The action was low-key, the drama was taut, and I was drawn in and started caring about the characters. I was actually a bit sad that the film ended without giving me a bit of an epilogue. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Great movie. Haggis does a wonderful job at intertwining the intricate plot. Lots going on...I'm sure it wasn't easy. Also, if you have anyGreat movie. Haggis does a wonderful job at intertwining the intricate plot. Lots going on...I'm sure it wasn't easy. Also, if you have any history with the city of Pittsburgh, this movie is a must see. The views of the city and southwestern PA are beautiful. Expand
  4. May 22, 2011
    7
    A+ for eerie darkness.
    A+ for the cast.
    B for the plot. D for diabolical shiveries. So what do you do in the face of danger? What do you do
    A+ for eerie darkness.
    A+ for the cast.
    B for the plot.
    D for diabolical shiveries.

    So what do you do in the face of danger? What do you do when your options are low and good enough isn't good enough? Possible answers exist in this movie about a family whose life takes a turn for the worst when the mother gets charged for murder. I'm loving the level of darkness and suspense. Really makes you question life, the good and bad things that happen to you, and how you handle it. The movie left me feeling mostly satisfied. Though, still.. felt a little empty. Like still dealing with the aftermath of how to really take in what I just witnessed. All-in-all, it is rare for me to not be able to guess the ending, so that's a plus for the movie makers. I wouldn't mind seeing an alternate ending. And I would love to see a sequel. Gain closure and more positivity. I love the cast. I cannot think of a single Russell Crowe movie that I do not like, except for maybe Beautiful Mind. Elizabeth Banks - not her typical role, she did a great job though. She's one of my favorite actresses. I also enjoyed seeing Liam Neeson & Olivia Wilde and that d00d Michael from Jericho, and the guy from Ultimate Gift.

    This movie reminds me of the McStay family (they went missing in California a year or 2 ago). And all the other people who have to go through tough situations such as this in real life. I pray that they can all receive the justice they deserve.

    Now go see a comedy after you watch this movie. You'll need it.
    Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2010
    6
    The movie was good, especially in the last thirty minutes, where I was at the edge of my seat. However, it seems a bit long and lacks theThe movie was good, especially in the last thirty minutes, where I was at the edge of my seat. However, it seems a bit long and lacks the necessary constant suspense throughout the entire first half. Paul Haggis did a great job with the story though, with unexpected twists & turns, and a nice emotional scene with Brian Dennehy. Plus, he also tied up the loose ends by the end of the film, which left me satisfied. But I didn't leave the theater wanting to watch it again and again. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2010
    6
    this movie was kinda slow in the first half. But in the first half he's planning how to break her out of jail. Some of its really, really,this movie was kinda slow in the first half. But in the first half he's planning how to break her out of jail. Some of its really, really, cool but sometimes its really slow. Then it starts to pick up, and it gets really cool sometimes. but do not see it with a group of friends, this is more of a date movie Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2010
    3
    Russell Crowe can be good in the right movie. This is not the right movie. Forget that Mr. Crowe and Elizabeth Banks have exactly zeroRussell Crowe can be good in the right movie. This is not the right movie. Forget that Mr. Crowe and Elizabeth Banks have exactly zero chemistry together. Forget that the movie never explains what the mountain of evidence against her is (so we have no idea how he really feels). Forget that their child is an undeveloped afterthought/appendage. Forget that the main premise of the movie is completely unrealistic. What's left? This is maybe the worst movie Paul Haggis has directed (you can't count the terrible "Terminator Salvation", as he was only one of many writers on that POS; and "In the Valley of Elah" which was not good, was not this bad). Russell Crowe has been a very good actor is some great films (The Insider, Gladiator, A Beautiful Mind, Cinderella Man and 3:10 to Yuma). But this is not one of them. It is terribly ironic how a good actor and director can team up for this mess. Bummer. I hoped for better. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers