The Odd Life of Timothy Green Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Odd Life of Timothy Green is a magical story about a happily married couple, Cindy and Jim Green, who can’t wait to start a family but can only dream about what their child would be like. When young Timothy shows up on their doorstep one stormy night, Cindy and Jim—and their small townThe Odd Life of Timothy Green is a magical story about a happily married couple, Cindy and Jim Green, who can’t wait to start a family but can only dream about what their child would be like. When young Timothy shows up on their doorstep one stormy night, Cindy and Jim—and their small town of Stanleyville—learn that sometimes the unexpected can bring some of life’s greatest gifts. (Disney Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 15, 2012
    88
    Jennifer Garner and Joel Edgerton are appealing together as far from perfect parents, and CJ Adams has that ability of so many child actors to be pitch-perfect.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 15, 2012
    67
    The movie should have been called Diary of a Wimpy Forrest Gump. It's genuinely soft-hearted (you're all but guaranteed to cry) but mush-brained, too.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Aug 15, 2012
    63
    Hedges is a determined romantic and a bit of a saphead. He's also humane.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Aug 15, 2012
    50
    In the end, what mars "Timothy Green" most is its middle-of-the-road approach. Its appealingly quirky, fairy-tale-like center is so coated with sugar, it cloys. It's not that "Timothy Green" is odd, but that it isn't odd enough.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Maytum
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    An outdated oddity.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 15, 2012
    40
    The ghastliness of this damp and squishy comedy is the byproduct of a confused and earnest sentimentality, a willful devotion to wide-eyed wonder that confuses simplicity with simple-mindedness.
  7. Reviewed by: Elise Nakhnikian
    Aug 12, 2012
    25
    Disney draws a big fat bullseye on the fast-growing infertile-couple demographic with this airless misfire.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I LOVED this movie! It was a great family movie! It is funny and at the end it made me cry!! I totally recommand this movie, it is amazing!I LOVED this movie! It was a great family movie! It is funny and at the end it made me cry!! I totally recommand this movie, it is amazing! The actors did a fantastic job!! :] xox Collapse
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have had the privilege of watching this two weeks before it got released and I admit to crying even while watching it for the second time. This is a great film to promote fostering and adoption and stealthily pokes in hints of Christianity. a great film altogether and deserves at least an eight. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    As a person who has gone through a situation like one in the movie(Don't want to give to much away). I thought it was wonderful. I would seeAs a person who has gone through a situation like one in the movie(Don't want to give to much away). I thought it was wonderful. I would see it again, anytime. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    I watched this film with lowest possible expectations and I must admit that I'm completely stunned. The Odd Life of Timothy Green is aI watched this film with lowest possible expectations and I must admit that I'm completely stunned. The Odd Life of Timothy Green is a wonderful family film, it has a good heart, its characters are believable and their performances are amazing. Its story may not seem so believable but sometimes it's okay to deviate from reality and live your life in imagination but what's good here is that it completely makes its way into the reality as it heads towards the climax. It's a story about a couple who want a child more than anything in this world, and they imagine both an imperfect and a perfect child they would want to have and they get to experience it for real. This is the type of film which I can watch whenever it's on television. The direction is good, Peter Hedges has handled it properly. I don't know why a lot people disliked that movie. Maybe they didn't like the whole concept of the film but come on, it's fantasy we are talking about, it can be of any kind which this film proves wonderfully. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    5
    This movie isn't really odd, so the word odd should be out of the title.
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    4
    There is very little to this movie and by the end of it your kind of bored. The performances are good and the kid in this film has some goodThere is very little to this movie and by the end of it your kind of bored. The performances are good and the kid in this film has some good moments, but nothing memorable here. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    not even funny and fun its sad but its for **** who love children it is never gonna a fun film to children or adults . so take my advicenot even funny and fun its sad but its for **** who love children it is never gonna a fun film to children or adults . so take my advice never watch **** films . Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.