The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: The film follows the Oogieloves - Goobie, Zoozie and Toofie - as they set out to find five magical golden balloons in time for their good friend Schluufyʼs surprise birthday party. With the help of their best friends, J. Edgar, Windy Window and Ruffy, and theThe film follows the Oogieloves - Goobie, Zoozie and Toofie - as they set out to find five magical golden balloons in time for their good friend Schluufyʼs surprise birthday party. With the help of their best friends, J. Edgar, Windy Window and Ruffy, and the support of many extraordinary new friends whom they meet along the way, the Oogieloves travel throughout all of beautiful LovelyLoveville on their search. They’ll need plenty of creative thinking, teamwork and enthusiasm to rescue these one-of-a-kind balloons in time for the big celebration. But when the Oogieloves work together with the audience, they can achieve anything! (Big Balloon Adventure Movie) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Abby West
    Aug 29, 2012
    91
    Parents who have had to sit through a myriad of mindless kids movies will appreciate a chance for their kids to be themselves at the theater and to be silly right alongside them. On the whole, it can serve as a good introduction to the movie-going experience.
  2. 60
    The song and dance interaction of kids hollering advice during Blue's Clues happens here on the big screen, which is meant to transform the movie into a social event of sorts.
  3. Reviewed by: Sherilyn Connelly
    Aug 28, 2012
    50
    If today's youngsters grow up thinking of Christopher Lloyd as the old guy with the bongos from The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure, at least they'll be thinking of Christopher Lloyd at all.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    For the sake of the children, The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure should be allowed to quietly float away.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    Hallie's dad said it was Rocky Horror for toddlers whatever that is. Me and Hallie are 7 and we thought it was for babies.
  6. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Aug 30, 2012
    25
    The whole thing runs about an hour too long: It should have been a TV show. The adventure's too big for the kids who would love it the most.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 28, 2012
    12
    Enduring this brainless kid's film is akin to witnessing the end of the world.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 64
  2. Negative: 8 out of 64
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a film you should add to your video collection. Toni Braxton and a great cast, catchy songs and aOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a film you should add to your video collection. Toni Braxton and a great cast, catchy songs and a peppy goldfish: good time guaranteed for all! Collapse
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures is a great summer film. The songs are happy and help drive the plot forward, and also show off someOogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventures is a great summer film. The songs are happy and help drive the plot forward, and also show off some of its cast’s great singing abilities. The sets are cool, clearly thought out to be visually interesting with the character’s costumes. And the characters themselves are also cool, and each have their own thing going on behind the stage, such as J. Edgar’s crush on Windy. Ah, love! Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2016
    10
    oogieloves is the best movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I can't believe I've gone so long without seeing it! Movies such as Pulpoogieloves is the best movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I can't believe I've gone so long without seeing it! Movies such as Pulp Fiction and The Shawshank Redemption fall short of this beloved classic. I highly recommend this to any human on this planet. What a brilliant work of art. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    One of my children (age 6) saw this for a friend’s birthday party (which in itself is interesting since the film is about several friendsOne of my children (age 6) saw this for a friend’s birthday party (which in itself is interesting since the film is about several friends throwing a birthday party for another friend). He said how much fun he had and came home singing/ dancing. He BEGGED me to take him to see the film again, and soon his sister did too! But I read all the bad reviews and couldn’t bear to spend $50 on a crappy family movie night!

    Flash forward to this past week when I saw it for sale. I bought it as a surprise for my children, and they were so happy! Such a simple present but they were so happy! Even now, I am sitting with them in the den while they dance and sing along to the film, and am super glad I got this for them. A great film for little kids! One thing, though, is that Oogieloves is much better for LITTLE (re: under 7/8); my 6 year old loved it but I think he is really in the older age bracket for enjoying the film.
    Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure came out last year to poor reviews, so I never took my kids to see it, even though they wanted to and Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure came out last year to poor reviews, so I never took my kids to see it, even though they wanted to and had heard it was good from their friends. I just couldn’t stand the thought of another bad movie, especially since it costs so much nowadays to see a movie in theaters.

    When the DVD finally came out, I bought it. I wasn’t sure if my kids would still even remember but they all started cheering when I showed it to them. We decided to watch it on Saturday night as a special treat. I still didn’t know what to expect, I had just heard that it was a sing-a-long type of experience. I wasn’t even sure what that meant till we watched the movie.

    Oogieloves was a lot of fun. My kids and I enjoyed it, and it had very clear, easy to follow instructions for the dances and songs. We were dancing and singing along in no time! Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a cute story, even the dancing and singing aside. I would suggest seeing it as soon as you can. Your kids will love you for it!
    Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a classic children’s film in the making. In it, the Oogieloves (Goobie, Zoozie, and Toofie)Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is a classic children’s film in the making. In it, the Oogieloves (Goobie, Zoozie, and Toofie) retrieve magical balloons that J. Edgar, their friend, mistakenly lost. Instead of getting mad at him, they go about Lovelyloveville to find them and meet some cool folks along the way and have the adventure of a lifetime. Your children will have a great time too, accompanying them on all the ups and downs and surprising twists of their journey. This is a sweet film for 2-5 year olds, just bright and flashy enough, with original characters that come baring the perfect balance of personality and pizzazz to bring a smile to your little one’s faces. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Ya I saw it. It was so stupid I threw up. Worthless. Director should be dead. I can't believe that someone would like this. It really kindaYa I saw it. It was so stupid I threw up. Worthless. Director should be dead. I can't believe that someone would like this. It really kinda scared me in a way. I thought they were honna pull out a knife and kill themselves cause theyre so flipping weird Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.