The Other Guys

The Other Guys Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 388 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Two mismatched New York City detectives seize an opportunity to step up like the city's top cops whom they idolize -- only things don't quite go as planned.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. It's a comedy of manhood for the age of emasculation.
  2. 83
    This summer's funniest movie.
  3. 75
    So hilarious that even longtime Ferrell haters (me) can't resist it.
  4. For the most part, The Other Guys is seriously silly stuff, in the best sense.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    63
    Like a padded "Saturday Night Live" sketch. What would have been very funny for 15 minutes, and pretty funny for 45, doesn't maintain the standard over the course of a feature-length film.
  6. Wahlberg is surprisingly committed to the ridiculousness.
  7. 50
    Following the clues, The Other Guys turns more hectic than antic, and somebody didn't pack enough comedy for this long trip.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 130
  2. Negative: 24 out of 130
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    O wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of oppositeO wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of opposite actor cast type thing that this movie did(i don't know wat you wana call it). For example, i saw a preview of a movie when i went to see the other guys, and it was staring robert downy jr. And the bearded guy from the hangover. So i think were going to see alot more movies like this one. Expand
  2. JB
    Aug 8, 2010
    9
    Wow, stop bitching. For the people who gave this a bad review, seriously, they probably went in saying "Im going to go out of my way here to Wow, stop bitching. For the people who gave this a bad review, seriously, they probably went in saying "Im going to go out of my way here to go into a movie with an actor i do not like, just so i can complain to everyone else afterward how I hated it." You knew what you were going to get, and if you don't like his movies, then please do us a favour and don't see them. Also, giving it a zero makes no sense at all. If you're going to give it a zero, then you should give the dozens of movies released this summer that were worse a score in the negatives. Otherwise this was a funny movie, and I recommend it if you enjoyed Talledega Nights or Anchorman. Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty funny. Some parts had my girlfriend and I cracking up, which is noteworthy, since she doesn't find stupidity funny. In other words, the movie was not stupid. It was mostly pretty funny (although a joke or two can be ruined by the seriousness of the situation). The Other Guys served its purpose well. There was just one misstep. We didn't understand the story. And we are both highly intelligent. I know I'm putting that assertion on the line, when I admit this, but I don't know HOW a company can cover their losses using the state lottery. And I have no idea how someone can steal a cop's pension. So we were in the dark when it came to a majority of the story, which is honestly pretty irritating. Regardless, It's funny. The characters work well together and some funny dialogue happens. See this movie if you have a desire to laugh (and preferably extensive knowledge of finances.) Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    The Other Guys is downright hilarious at points, sometimes overstaying its welcome. It's entertaining, but sometimes stupid. It's story isThe Other Guys is downright hilarious at points, sometimes overstaying its welcome. It's entertaining, but sometimes stupid. It's story is fresh, but sometimes a little dry. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2010
    6
    When I first saw the trailers for The Other Guys, almost every single cinema cell within me screamed "that movie will be terrible!" GrantedWhen I first saw the trailers for The Other Guys, almost every single cinema cell within me screamed "that movie will be terrible!" Granted I'd just recently suffered through the injustice that was Cop Out, and you know what they say about a movie-lover scorned, but nothing about this movie looked good to me. Then the reviews started sneaking out, and they were trending surprisingly positive. Not just "this is okay for a summer yukfest" positive but "this is one of Will Ferrell's best movies ever!" positive. On opening night, it was certified fresh on Rotten Tomatoes, with a score in the low 80s. Second only to Elf (2003). That's a better score than Talladega Nights (2006), Stranger than Fiction (2006), Wedding Crashers (2005), Anchorman (2004) and Old School (2003). Take a look at that list again. "Wow," you might be thinking, as I did the other night. "I must have got it all wrong. This movie must be pretty awesome!" Nope. Nope it isn't. I mean yeah, it's alright. But I'd say it's worse than every one of the Ferrell flicks listed above, save Talladega Nights, which is equally hit or miss. More: http://cinewise.blogspot.com/2010/08/other-guys-2010.html Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2011
    5
    There aren't that many jokes in this film, it tries to be one long joke but it doesn't work for me. I'm a fan of Will Ferrell since AnchormanThere aren't that many jokes in this film, it tries to be one long joke but it doesn't work for me. I'm a fan of Will Ferrell since Anchorman and Mark Wahlberg tries his best to make this film work (he's the funniest thing in it I think), it just doesn't quite pop thats all. Not bad, not a classic. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2011
    0
    This is a terrible movie. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. It gets mediocre reviews only because Will Ferrell and MarkThis is a terrible movie. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. It gets mediocre reviews only because Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are in it, but they're pretty lousy too. Collapse

See all 130 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.