Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After discovering her boyfriend is married, a woman (Cameron Diaz) tries to get her ruined life back on track. But when she accidentally meets the wife he’s been cheating on (Leslie Mann), she realizes they have much in common, and her sworn enemy becomes her greatest friend. When yetAfter discovering her boyfriend is married, a woman (Cameron Diaz) tries to get her ruined life back on track. But when she accidentally meets the wife he’s been cheating on (Leslie Mann), she realizes they have much in common, and her sworn enemy becomes her greatest friend. When yet another affair is discovered (Kate Upton), all three women team up to plot mutual revenge on the cheating, lying, three-timing SOB. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 12 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 24, 2014
    75
    Audiences looking for a nonstop laugh riot may be disappointed, but the big laughs are there, and they benefit from the movie's underlying sincerity.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 24, 2014
    63
    Written by newcomer Melissa K. Stack, The Other Woman offers roughly equal parts wit and witlessness, casual smarts and jokes, lingering and detailed, regarding explosive bowel movements. Based on that ratio, I'd say the screenwriter's future in Hollywood looks pretty good.
  3. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Apr 22, 2014
    60
    Instead of updating the genre, The Other Woman rehashes it, bringing little more than a few giggles and a dash of glamour to the table.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 24, 2014
    40
    Slyness, slapstick and sex can often be mixed to amusing effect whatever the specifics — the original "Hangover," for example, did a credible job of it — but The Other Woman is ultimately undone by its indecision.
  5. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Apr 28, 2014
    40
    A few lowbrow laughs… but far too many one-note characters, performances, and plot points to make them worth showing up for.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 24, 2014
    37
    Although The Other Woman nibbles around the edges of revealing truths about relationships, it leaves most of that potential behind, instead pursuing easy, exhausted cliches about zip-less marriages, upper class suburban drudgery, cynical careerism and dumb-but-sweet blondes.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 24, 2014
    20
    So instead of the rom-com, we now have the “non-com.” The cardboard characters and predictable rhythms remain. But this time, we get all the comic cliches with none of the romance.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 42
  2. Negative: 18 out of 42
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    Great, fun film (even if the plot has been done different ways numerous times already). Surprisingly Nicki Minaj's small role as Diaz'sGreat, fun film (even if the plot has been done different ways numerous times already). Surprisingly Nicki Minaj's small role as Diaz's assistant is a scene stealer. I wish that she had played a bigger role. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    Was this the best movie in the world? No. Did I really enjoy it? Yes. My sisters wanted to see this movie and I had doubts about goingWas this the best movie in the world? No. Did I really enjoy it? Yes. My sisters wanted to see this movie and I had doubts about going because I had read the critic reviews. Went because I wanted to spend time with my with them and I was prepared for the worst, and was surprised at how funny it was. I really thought it was the perfect movie for a Sunday afternoon. Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    As much as the movie has been down before, there is a difference. The actors are devoted. The movie feels like a complete fantasy. TheAs much as the movie has been down before, there is a difference. The actors are devoted. The movie feels like a complete fantasy. The outfits, the houses, the restaurants, the vacation spots are hugely expensive and fun to look at. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2015
    4
    The Other Woman is a bad movie staring Cameroon Diaz for who 2014 was probably the worst year of her career ever staring in many terribleThe Other Woman is a bad movie staring Cameroon Diaz for who 2014 was probably the worst year of her career ever staring in many terrible movies and remakes.The acting here it's just terrible in every prospect.The story is weak and the movie is actually not giving justice to woman which some just happen to think in fact it's making them look weak and very much needed for man.It keeps on showing it over and over that woman are worthless without the help of men.
    This is by far one of the worst movies of the year if not further.I don't know why they chose Kate Upton for this role,probably just to show her body on the beach and unfortunately and unexpectedly Leslie Mann does a terrible job at portraying her character Kate.
    Do not watch this movie if you are lucky enough to haven't yet because it's not worth it.
    Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2014
    3
    There was big comedy potential here. However some of the comedy moments are overplayed and delivered poorly at times in the form of LeslieThere was big comedy potential here. However some of the comedy moments are overplayed and delivered poorly at times in the form of Leslie Mann. We do still find ourselves laughing occasionally just not as often as we should have. The story is hopeless and the characters are eclipsed by cast. The Other Woman isn't enjoyable and is a comedy that is fixed too much upon emotions to really hold the attention of the audience who expected an experience rich with laughter, not swimming with emotion. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2014
    2
    Another obnoxious, dumb and ridiculous female garbage film. Not funny, not interesting, and uses every cliché in the book and top it off withAnother obnoxious, dumb and ridiculous female garbage film. Not funny, not interesting, and uses every cliché in the book and top it off with one of the most irritating characters I've seen in awhile, Leslie Mann. The Other Women desperately tries to be funny, but fails miserably. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    The Other Woman is bad movie there are so many clichés is made very poorly . I do not recommend anyone to see this movie.Leslie Mann seems toThe Other Woman is bad movie there are so many clichés is made very poorly . I do not recommend anyone to see this movie.Leslie Mann seems to do the best. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers