Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After discovering her boyfriend is married, a woman (Cameron Diaz) tries to get her ruined life back on track. But when she accidentally meets the wife he’s been cheating on (Leslie Mann), she realizes they have much in common, and her sworn enemy becomes her greatest friend. When yetAfter discovering her boyfriend is married, a woman (Cameron Diaz) tries to get her ruined life back on track. But when she accidentally meets the wife he’s been cheating on (Leslie Mann), she realizes they have much in common, and her sworn enemy becomes her greatest friend. When yet another affair is discovered (Kate Upton), all three women team up to plot mutual revenge on the cheating, lying, three-timing SOB. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 12 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 24, 2014
    75
    Audiences looking for a nonstop laugh riot may be disappointed, but the big laughs are there, and they benefit from the movie's underlying sincerity.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 24, 2014
    63
    Written by newcomer Melissa K. Stack, The Other Woman offers roughly equal parts wit and witlessness, casual smarts and jokes, lingering and detailed, regarding explosive bowel movements. Based on that ratio, I'd say the screenwriter's future in Hollywood looks pretty good.
  3. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Apr 22, 2014
    60
    Instead of updating the genre, The Other Woman rehashes it, bringing little more than a few giggles and a dash of glamour to the table.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 24, 2014
    40
    Slyness, slapstick and sex can often be mixed to amusing effect whatever the specifics — the original "Hangover," for example, did a credible job of it — but The Other Woman is ultimately undone by its indecision.
  5. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Apr 28, 2014
    40
    A few lowbrow laughs… but far too many one-note characters, performances, and plot points to make them worth showing up for.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 24, 2014
    37
    Although The Other Woman nibbles around the edges of revealing truths about relationships, it leaves most of that potential behind, instead pursuing easy, exhausted cliches about zip-less marriages, upper class suburban drudgery, cynical careerism and dumb-but-sweet blondes.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 24, 2014
    20
    So instead of the rom-com, we now have the “non-com.” The cardboard characters and predictable rhythms remain. But this time, we get all the comic cliches with none of the romance.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 36
  2. Negative: 16 out of 36
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    Great, fun film (even if the plot has been done different ways numerous times already). Surprisingly Nicki Minaj's small role as Diaz'sGreat, fun film (even if the plot has been done different ways numerous times already). Surprisingly Nicki Minaj's small role as Diaz's assistant is a scene stealer. I wish that she had played a bigger role. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    I extremely loved this movie. I just saw it probably the 5th time right now. The acting is very well done, cool song choice, sights areI extremely loved this movie. I just saw it probably the 5th time right now. The acting is very well done, cool song choice, sights are beautiful and there are moments you will find quite deep, specially one that comes towards the end of the movie. It shows the importance of friends. Despite they should despise each other, they are working as one to take their cheater down, that is quite something. I love Cameron Diaz so much! She acts so naturally, unlike Minaj who despite having such a short role, overdid everything ( I know she aint no actress, doe). You will really like this movie. Of course there are haters for everything but personally, I really recommend you see it. Expand
  3. May 3, 2014
    7
    If you were waiting for a chance to laugh your heart out, all you need to do is buy a ticket to watch "The Other Woman". The director of "TheIf you were waiting for a chance to laugh your heart out, all you need to do is buy a ticket to watch "The Other Woman". The director of "The Notebook" brings his charm to the romantic comedy film, written by Melissa Stack, who makes her debut in the cinematic world and comes up with great dialogues, funny jokes and some fair ideas about modern day dating policies.

    The film goes over the subject of cheating with a fine-tooth comb, but nevertheless also covers trust issues, friendships, complicated relationships, heavy drinking, bad decisions, good decisions, revenge, Kate Upton’s flawlessness and last, but not least, waxing. And with all previously mentioned, it stays true to the goal of every comedy movie… to make you laugh.

    Read the rest here: http://austriantimes.at/news/Panorama/2014-05-02/50847/As_seen_at_Haydn_Kino%3A_The_Other_Woman
    Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2014
    4
    I'm not afraid to admit the fun I had with these ladies. Even still, a typical romantic-ish-comedy. Oh, but, Kate Upton should never actI'm not afraid to admit the fun I had with these ladies. Even still, a typical romantic-ish-comedy. Oh, but, Kate Upton should never act again. That's one thing I know for sure. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2014
    3
    Slight plot made even slighter by slight acting. Thin screeches and jokes that wear thin, don't make for fat comedy. Timing so far out needsSlight plot made even slighter by slight acting. Thin screeches and jokes that wear thin, don't make for fat comedy. Timing so far out needs an alarm clock to wake the audience up. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    2
    This movie is awful not funny trash. Cameron Diaz is the best thing about this train wreck. These women do some of the dumbest things. JustThis movie is awful not funny trash. Cameron Diaz is the best thing about this train wreck. These women do some of the dumbest things. Just go re-watch Bridesmaids. D- Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    The Other Woman is bad movie there are so many clichés is made very poorly . I do not recommend anyone to see this movie.Leslie Mann seems toThe Other Woman is bad movie there are so many clichés is made very poorly . I do not recommend anyone to see this movie.Leslie Mann seems to do the best. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers