Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 30, 2000
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 58 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
26
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
sinadoomAug 29, 2012
The Perfect Diasaster. I have never seen a more boring, eventless, badly directed and acted film. Avoid at all costs. Nothing happens and it's not interesting in the slightest.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
LwppopzAug 13, 2010
This is amongst one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I only gave it a 3 because the waves looked good in 2000. It's doesn't seem to go anywhere and the movie made no effort of making me want to care about the crew. The only up side toThis is amongst one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I only gave it a 3 because the waves looked good in 2000. It's doesn't seem to go anywhere and the movie made no effort of making me want to care about the crew. The only up side to this movie is that it is not a bad as Miami Vice (Movie). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
YvetteG.Nov 29, 2006
A truly inspring and touching movie that has great themes in it. It is about courage and responsibility. I have been spritually lifted by the film. I can't understand how people can not appreciate the beauty of it. Maybe thsoe who do A truly inspring and touching movie that has great themes in it. It is about courage and responsibility. I have been spritually lifted by the film. I can't understand how people can not appreciate the beauty of it. Maybe thsoe who do not possess those qualities are prevented from seeing them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
tpjaggJun 23, 2014
Hollywood did it again, what a crap movie. the most irritating thing about this movie was the bloody music.
so in appropriate! I literally had to stop watching this crap. Now I know why I watch foreign film and arthouse cinema. Hollywood
Hollywood did it again, what a crap movie. the most irritating thing about this movie was the bloody music.
so in appropriate! I literally had to stop watching this crap. Now I know why I watch foreign film and arthouse cinema. Hollywood never did it for me. Occasionally a good one comes out but it certainly AINT this one.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
[Anonymous]Mar 23, 2006
THe FX deliver, but the drama is cut-rate, and the characters don't really have all that depth. Some fo the stunts are impressive though, particularly Cloony cutting an anchor loose int eh midst of the storm. In the end, though, it THe FX deliver, but the drama is cut-rate, and the characters don't really have all that depth. Some fo the stunts are impressive though, particularly Cloony cutting an anchor loose int eh midst of the storm. In the end, though, it achieves a slight ting of resonance, and the first rate musical score is pleasant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TokyochuchuMay 18, 2013
The Perfect Storm is a fine disaster movie. It suffers from all the usual schmaltz, but when the waves start ramping up, so does the excitement. That said, a bit more character depth and a few less extraneous characters (like the helicopterThe Perfect Storm is a fine disaster movie. It suffers from all the usual schmaltz, but when the waves start ramping up, so does the excitement. That said, a bit more character depth and a few less extraneous characters (like the helicopter or sail boat crew) would have served this movie better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Scottyv523May 11, 2011
The Perfect Storm is movie based on a true story, about a skipper (captain) and his crew of a sword fishing boat going out and fishing in one of the worst storms to hit New England. The crew goes through trials of will and character whenThe Perfect Storm is movie based on a true story, about a skipper (captain) and his crew of a sword fishing boat going out and fishing in one of the worst storms to hit New England. The crew goes through trials of will and character when many things go wrong on the boat throughout the trip. The movie is based off a true story that actually happened about a boat that was lost to a freak accident of nature creating what meteorologists call the perfects storm. Overall the perfect storm was a great movie in my eyes had great acting, good visuals, awesome story and fantastic realism all mixed in one. I would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys movies based on true events.
The perfect storm was overall a great movie for it being based off real events. The story was great, I would give it a 9 out of 10. The acting was fantastic I had no problem believing that George Clooney Mark Walberg and the rest of the crew were fisherman. When George Clooney says â
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Spielberg00Sep 30, 2011
This review contains spoilers. The thing that really irks me about THE PERFECT STORM is that I had read that it was a disaster film (and it's made pretty much clear in the title), but the actual disaster didn't get started for a whole forty minutes, which almost brought me to the point of thinking that "Perfect Storm" was some kind of metaphor. The basic layout is as follows: 1-30 minutes - characters are introduced with enough relationship statuses, innuendos, overly charismatic drama to create an entire soap opera; 31-40 minutes - the characters leave their spouses/fiancées, board the ship, but continue with the non sequiturs and double entendres that make you groan, "Enough already!"; 41-120 minutes - over an hour of TITANIC-esque intensity and dazzling (but terrifying, considering this is based on a true story) disaster scenes--which is exciting, but it makes you think, "We go from soap opera...to disaster?", because the beginning does NOT make sense to the rest of the film; 121-128 minutes - the film is coming to an end, with slightly less intensity, but thankfully no "return of the soap opera"; 129 minutes - the film's over, folks, you can go home now. That's the gist of this mediocre movie. It's just what you expect of a shipwreck film. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
The Perfect Storm is a great tribute to the men and women who risk their lives every day on the open sea for barely enough money to live on, and it is also based on a true story. I really enjoyed this film and watching the bonus features toThe Perfect Storm is a great tribute to the men and women who risk their lives every day on the open sea for barely enough money to live on, and it is also based on a true story. I really enjoyed this film and watching the bonus features to see just how difficult it was to make, made me appreciate it that much more. It isn't without its flaws thou. The whole background story of love, looking for love, and flirting was very cheesy. The relationship between Diane Lane Mark Wahlberg was necessary, the rest was not, such as hearing his thoughts before he's about to drown in the ocean... come on! I also didn't like the supposition as to what happened on the ship during their finally voyage. Did Sully and Murph really fight? The rogue wave? The shark? We don't know and neither does the author, it was just Hollywood getting in the way again, but overall I did like the movie and really appreciate how hard it was to actually make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleApr 18, 2017
The Perfect Storm is exactly what I expected and was actually better than anticipated. Telling the story of the convergence of two storm systems: a nor'easter and Hurricane Grace, The Perfect Storm is a harrowing real life disaster film.The Perfect Storm is exactly what I expected and was actually better than anticipated. Telling the story of the convergence of two storm systems: a nor'easter and Hurricane Grace, The Perfect Storm is a harrowing real life disaster film. Focusing in on the Andrea Gail, a fishing vessel, and the problems she encounters as her crew battles valiantly against the storm with their loved ones awaiting them on land, it does not take a genius to figure out that things will not work out for them. With excellent special effects and thrilling sequence after thrilling sequence on the boat and in the air, The Perfect Storm is exactly what a disaster movie should be: entertaining. As it is based on a true story, the film tries to add weight to it and sort of works, but mostly just feels hamfisted and too manipulative, especially at the end.

That ending is really what drags this one down, which is a shame. Introducing us to Captain Billy Tyne (George Clooney), Bobby Shatford (Mark Wahlberg), Murph (John C. Reilly), Bugsy (John Hawkes), Sully (William Fichtner), and Andre Pierre (Allen Payne), who are the six men aboard the Andrea Gail, The Perfect Storm really tries to develop its characters. It shows their loves and their lives before they set sail one last time to their grave at the sea, while constantly cutting away from the scene at sea to show how their loved ones are handling it all. In particular, there is a special emphasis on Bobby's girlfriend Christina (Diane Lane), who eagerly awaits his return with his mother. Yet, the film's cloying and manipulative punches at the end border on offensive and always absurd. As their ship goes down and the men realize their fate is a bleak one, two things occur. One, Murph remarks how hard his son will take his death. Two, Bobby tells Chris he loves her even without being able to say goodbye. In the aftermath of the sinking, Chris reveals that she had a dream with Bobby where he relayed the exact message he said to her while at sea. Considering that these are real people, to be playing this angle up is honestly very sad to see. The final words from Bobby being the most head-smackingly stupid moment of this film.

That said, man those waves are cool, eh? This is a disaster movie, so it is tough to not just look past the issues with the characters. The scene at the bar and the gathering of the crew wet my pallet just enough to make me care about these people, as well as the fact that it is real. At all points, I was rooting that they could get back to shore with their load of 60,000 pounds of fish. After the crew had gone through so much together and struggled mightily to find fish, this gold mine of fish felt hard earned. I wanted to see them be reunited with their families and be able to leave the business having made a very good score. However, there is no such moment. Where the characters may be paper thin, this is a film that wears its heart on its sleeve, which bleeds openly when these men continue to fight against the massive odds before them.

Yet, the star here is the special effects. Coupled with an excellent score from James Horner, The Perfect Storm has a great cinematic quality with excellent scope and ferocious thrills. No matter how many times it shows the boat hitting massive waves or showing the Air Force rescuing various people, the film is always laced with tension. Director Wolfgang Petersen shows that he still has it throughout this film as, in lesser hands, one can only imagine how awful this film would have turned out. As it stands, it is a film that leaves you riding the edge of your seat for the entire second half of the film and, as a result, really meets my requirements for a film of this type. It is a thrilling piece of cinema with great special effects that does an excellent job showing both the danger and the camaraderie of the moment with these six men putting their differences behind them to unite and confront mother nature. Though a battle they will not win, this does not mean the small victories and battles along the way are any less thrilling to watch unfold.

Celebrating the brave men that sacrifice their lives to save others or to provide for their families, The Perfect Storm is one of those disaster movies that do not really get made too often nowadays, which is a shame. Wolfgang Petersen delivers a film that tries develop some characters and manipulates our emotions too heavy-handedly, but it is also a film with a great cinematic feeling to it that allows it to rise above its inadequacies. Thrilling, old school style filmmaking that is blessed with modern effects, The Perfect Storm is not well rounded, but its thrills, spills, and real life chills allow it to remain a solid and thoroughly entertaining disaster film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysJul 6, 2014
The Perfect Storm is a an overlong, pointless washout that never connects with us emotionally. It takes forever to get going, and each scene is dragged out until the viewer reaches wits end. Even after all of that, the movie never rewards usThe Perfect Storm is a an overlong, pointless washout that never connects with us emotionally. It takes forever to get going, and each scene is dragged out until the viewer reaches wits end. Even after all of that, the movie never rewards us for our troubles, instead giving us cliché after cliché in the script and very static characters. It may have great special effects, but they're wasted in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMar 29, 2015
It is a shame how this movie turns a real nightmare into a dull Hollywood spectacle full of visual effects but with little character development, and it even makes the biggest mistake of showing more people caught in the storm instead of onlyIt is a shame how this movie turns a real nightmare into a dull Hollywood spectacle full of visual effects but with little character development, and it even makes the biggest mistake of showing more people caught in the storm instead of only focusing on the crew of the Andrea Gail. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ultrachromeJun 4, 2015
This movie is my gold standard for what I consider to be a horrible film. Pacted full of cliches, overly dramatic music, I couldn't come to have any sympathy for the characters and there's about 40 minutes of over the top quick cut shaky camThis movie is my gold standard for what I consider to be a horrible film. Pacted full of cliches, overly dramatic music, I couldn't come to have any sympathy for the characters and there's about 40 minutes of over the top quick cut shaky cam action footage where you really have no idea what in the hell is going on. Terrible, terrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Apr 27, 2016
This is a touching story, the choice of actors in this movie was spot on, they did a great job and the movie overall followed the story line well.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1487-The-Perfect-Storm-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxJan 11, 2017
A priori, un film de rafiot de pêcheurs pris dans la tourmente par le réalisateur du Bateau, laisse subodorer quelque chose d'intéressant... jusqu'à ce qu'on découvre avec horreur que le réalisateur a embauché deux quiches aux premiers rôlesA priori, un film de rafiot de pêcheurs pris dans la tourmente par le réalisateur du Bateau, laisse subodorer quelque chose d'intéressant... jusqu'à ce qu'on découvre avec horreur que le réalisateur a embauché deux quiches aux premiers rôles : Mark Wahlgerbe et George Leclown. Rien de tel que deux incapables pareils pour saborder son projet en fanfare !

Le début du film s'avère lent et chiant et peine à se réveiller par la suite... et comme on ne peut pas tenir deux plombes sur ces marins d'eau douce en raison de la grève des scénaristes (ou d'un excès de **** de rails des scénaristes stagiaires) Petersen dévie sur d'autres andouilles en perdition pour mieux faire diversion (le voilier, l'hélico des sauveteurs qui sauve le voilier, l'hélico des sauveteurs qui veut se ravitailler dans la tempête, l'hélico des sauveteurs sauvé par les garde-côtes... on dirait vidéogag putain).

Alors du coup, la deuxième heure qui se réveille enfin et en vain, se noie dans une répétition de grosses vagues et d'images de synthèse de la barcasse en perdition jusqu'au glouglou éventuel et la guimauve syndicale qui en découle. Spectaculaire certes et filmé agréablement mais on s'en lasse très rapidement : En Pleine Tempête passe trop sa vie au creux de la vague.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews