User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 310

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    0
    The problem with this movie is that there isn't a single likeable character throughout the whole of it. The entire movie is a cringe-fest, with quotes like "don't you just love old music" and "everything sounds better on vinyl" at every given opportunity, as if the writers were somehow trying to relate to the sort of hipsters that plaster their walls with The Beatles posters and think they're awesome for being such "individuals." Not even Emma Watson could make you want to watch this, as she plays an obnoxious and totally unrealistic free spirit movie cliche. Essentially, the movie is just an endless reel of pretend quirkyness, lackluster narration, and an extremely slow developing plot. The only people who would like this movie, are the sort of people that wear black horn-rimmed glasses and pretend the characters in this movie are oh-so relateable to their quirky and "unique" nature. It's awful, and if you thought Emma Watson was annoying in the trailer when she stands up in the back of that car, then you'll hate the rest of the characters. Oh, and Paul Rudd is only in about 3 or 4 scenes, so don't let his casting be an influence in your decision to see this terrible movie. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    1
    People acting weird and spacy when they're high on weed is one of the biggest cliches of all time. Perks pretty much revisits every single teen cliche and painfully offers no new perspective. I guess I just came here to warn anyone thinking about wasting money on this stinkbomb that it will make your skull explode with boredom if you've ever seen or done anything ever. Gave it a one because I'm glad the gay kid from This Boy's Life is getting work. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    1
    I am sorry I disliked this movie so much. I liked the music and the first 10 minutes are quite promising. But there's never anything at stake and the characters all come across as shallow cliches of characters we've seen a million times before.

    Everything is underdeveloped and I especially disliked the scene where he was supposed to be high and saying interesting things. They weren;t
    interesting and if that kid has ever been high in his life prior to this scene he did NOT do a good job calling from experience. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    3
    The issue with "Perks" is that it represents the same tired argument that this generation (probably *my* generation) trots out with ever-increasing arrogance. The system is wrong; and these "free" individuals are fighting, striving against it to liberate the world from conformity and materialism. Never mind that all these kids live above-average white privileged lives, EXACTLY the kind of thing postmodernism would have targeted before complaining about how capitalism and the "Top 40" ruined music. And the victories at the end of the movie don't redeem its narcissistic pessimism and misunderstood, "coming of age" angst. It would be notable for its terribleness were it not so derivative dullness. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    This movie was beautiful.
    It brought tears to my eyes.
    And if you know me,
    this is very hard to do.
    Rating: 10/10
    If you want to ask me any questions about this movie,
    Or any movie, please e-mail me at.....
    guyrunje@hotmail.com
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    4
    This movie's Beautiful.
    It brought Tears to my eyes.
    And if you know me,
    That is very hard to do.
    Rating: 10/10
    If you would like to contact me,
    And ask me about this movie
    Or any other movie e-mail me at.....
    guyrunje12@gmail.com
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Oct 5, 2012
    63
    Too modest to become a worldwide phenomenon, but sensitive teens and their older kin who pine for the '90s may want to take it for a spin on the dance floor.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 3, 2012
    100
    I adore The Perks of Being a Wallflower for its honest, unsentimental feel, which gets stretched a bit in the revelatory finale, but by then I didn't mind.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Oct 1, 2012
    80
    An honest, affection-hooking, coming-of-age drama which proves that there is life beyond Hogwarts for Emma Watson.