Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 19, 2009
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 176 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
107
Mixed:
47
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 17, 2011
"The Proposal" is total rubbish; it creates its own problems by connecting them to the plot. But nevertheless, if you like Ryan Reynolds getting his butt owned by Sandra Bullock, by all means, go ahead and enjoy...
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
2
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
Silly, Predictable crap. Seen it a thousand times even though the stars have chemistry that doesn't even benefit the movie. Although Betty White gives a hilarious performance. I give this movie 25%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DarkCriticAug 27, 2010
This movie wasn't that good! I didn't like Sandra Bullock's role in the movie,she does the same s*** in her previous bad films. The only coolest character in the movie is Ryan Reynolds and Betty White as the funny grandma,that's it! TheyThis movie wasn't that good! I didn't like Sandra Bullock's role in the movie,she does the same s*** in her previous bad films. The only coolest character in the movie is Ryan Reynolds and Betty White as the funny grandma,that's it! They shouldn't put Betty White as the funny grandma instead wathcing this crap of rom-com film with these two stupid couples! But to be fair,this movie turns people into watching this movie into guity-pleasure. But come one,it's just a stupid rom-com film and I don't think wasnt too great! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LondonTrueloveNov 17, 2010
Sorry but it's beyond me how some of you losers can rate this movie so low. I was gonna give it a 9 but now I'm gonna give it a 10 just to piss you haters off. This was a damn good film. Bullock and Reynolds play off each other great and itSorry but it's beyond me how some of you losers can rate this movie so low. I was gonna give it a 9 but now I'm gonna give it a 10 just to piss you haters off. This was a damn good film. Bullock and Reynolds play off each other great and it was an all around fun and enjoyable movie. Very much worth watching Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
JAM123Aug 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alrightly funny at times but had a terrible plot. I feel like I've seen this exact same thing before in countless other romantic comedies. I like the cast and they had some funny jokes but a lot of it made me just role my eyes. Not a very good movie and don't recommend it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MichaelDApr 29, 2010
I think Sandra Bullocks performance was okay.But everybody loves Sandra Bullock. Ryan's performance was okay 2.But you got 2 give Betty Whites performance was brilliant ever hands down.Everybody who was in this movie was okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChristineS.Jun 19, 2009
The comedy was good, but the romance wasn't developed enough. I didn't believe it at the end when Andrew said he went from loathing to loving in three days. Yeah Right!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DwayneMJul 6, 2009
I hate girl movies but this was pretty dang funny.....SHe was a riot and what a nude seen,,,she gets an A for working out....The whole cast was hysterical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArchilBJan 21, 2010
Margaret Tate's Soul - conciliates to friendship, Appearance - attracts, Mind - provokes respect. Conclusion: Her Spirit
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mauriciol.Oct 17, 2009
Well , it took me a while to see it, my mom recomened it , and well it was kind of slow, it was entertaining but i really expected a little more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Oct 7, 2009
I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
luisR.Jun 19, 2009
Hilarious harmless fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JW.Jun 21, 2009
This is what we want from hollywood. An entertaining comedy not their political views on things promoted by movies. Critics are a waste of time as well. Critics by and large are in the business of promoting their name recognition and have This is what we want from hollywood. An entertaining comedy not their political views on things promoted by movies. Critics are a waste of time as well. Critics by and large are in the business of promoting their name recognition and have nothing in common with fly over American values. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayneC.Jun 21, 2009
Loved this film, laughed all the way through it. FANTASTIC!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lauriW.Jun 21, 2009
Loved this movie. Well-directed, well-acted. Every scene was a gem that made me laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhyllisS.Jun 22, 2009
My husband and I really loved this movie. It was funny and a joy to watch. Did not remind me of another movie when I was watching it. Usually if the critics don't like a movie,,,,,,I do. One that I could watch over many times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadSJun 25, 2009
This Movie was alot better than the Hangover which is WAY OVER RATED. I Hate to say it but this movie sucked me in, yes it is a bit predictable but the two leads are great...Ryan Reynolds especially. I laughed and at one point nearly teared This Movie was alot better than the Hangover which is WAY OVER RATED. I Hate to say it but this movie sucked me in, yes it is a bit predictable but the two leads are great...Ryan Reynolds especially. I laughed and at one point nearly teared up. So ignore the critics go see it if you want a nice, funny and well acted film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelCJun 27, 2009
I'm usually not the biggest fan of romance movies, but The Proposal definitely was one of the best. Admitted, there were some areas that could have had better acting involved, overall it was interestingly funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillJJun 29, 2009
I went with a friend. it was much better than I thought it would be. The ending was the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EnzoP.Jul 18, 2009
The Proposal starring Ryan Reynolds and Sandra Bullock is a laugh out loud romantic comedy. In this love story Margaret (Sandra Bullock) plays a tough bad ass boss of Andrew (Ryan Reynolds). When Margaret discovered that she was getting The Proposal starring Ryan Reynolds and Sandra Bullock is a laugh out loud romantic comedy. In this love story Margaret (Sandra Bullock) plays a tough bad ass boss of Andrew (Ryan Reynolds). When Margaret discovered that she was getting deported because she didn't fill out all of the papers that made go to the U.S,A. (She was originally from Canada). So she tells everyone that she is going to marry Andrew because he was originated from the United States. Andrew refused but Margaret made an offer he couldn't refuse. Now you are probably wondering what would of happened if she didn't make this big fat lie. Well, your question is that she would have to go back to Canada for one year to fill out the rest of the paperwork. When I was watching this movie I felt like Bullock and Reynolds had a very good connection they played very well with each other they brought a huge sparkle to the movie. The ending in the movie was not what I hoped for you knew the ending ever since you saw the first ten minutes. Although it made me laugh and I had a great time watching so I give it a 6. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdrianFJul 2, 2009
I Love it!!! It's so funny, entertaining... the chemical energy between the incredible Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds are amazing and their acting was good... It's almost perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SheldonW.Aug 2, 2009
I wasted one of my very few opportunities to take in a movie in the theater by agreeing to sit through this film. I never sensed the chemistry between the lead actors and the final scenes which accompanied the credits actually made the movie I wasted one of my very few opportunities to take in a movie in the theater by agreeing to sit through this film. I never sensed the chemistry between the lead actors and the final scenes which accompanied the credits actually made the movie much worse for me. They should have been left on the cutting floor! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachF.Aug 2, 2009
The movie was surprisingly good for looking like a "chick flik". The comedy was as great, but the plot seemed like you could see everything coming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TDKinDallasAug 9, 2009
Had some really funny moments, but that's it. Incredibly stupid plot, stupendously unbelievable, cookie cutter rom com.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RickASep 1, 2009
I liked this movie even though at times it seemed a bit slow developing the story. There was enough humor to keep it light and fun, my kind of movie. It was worth the money spent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GordonTJan 10, 2010
I can't believe that on any universe he would want to be with her. Of course a better written script could have saved that but then it would have been five, You have to be brain dead to like this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chochoFlyApr 8, 2010
Very fast and refreshing, not like some slow dull romantic comedies I have seen. The chemistry is strong. One of the best. Love it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CapoRegimeOct 11, 2009
Funny and smart, both are perfect for each other.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LauraRDec 29, 2009
Abysmal film-making, terribly chemistry. This film in an insult to any honorable sense of humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Jun 19, 2009
[***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Struggling writers shouldn't detest "The Testing of Luther Albright" because its author is fabulously wealthy and well-connected, they should detest MacKenzie Bezos because her 2005 debut was a [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Struggling writers shouldn't detest "The Testing of Luther Albright" because its author is fabulously wealthy and well-connected, they should detest MacKenzie Bezos because her 2005 debut was a literary triumph. In "The Proposal", Margaret Tate(Sandra Bullock), a Miranda Preistly-like book editor, evokes the double standard about female bosses in this sort of "The Devil Reads Don DeLillo", when "it"(as she's described by her employees) torments her assistant Andrew Paxton(Ryan Reynolds), and the staff this workaholic oversees at a New York publishing house. But Andrew isn't unformed as Andy Sachs(Anne Hathaway) was in the film based on Lauren Weisenberg's chick-lit sensation: he's not just an aspiring writer; he's also the son of a small town scion who puts Margaret in her place when the narrative moves to Alaska. Where once their relationship was symbiotic(she gets her work permit; he gets perks), now Margaret loses all her agency and gets reduced into another hopeless romantic; a woman who needs a man to help her attain true happiness. Surrounded by philistines, Margaret's intellectual elitism(she's never played a video game; she's never seen YouTube) is neutralized, since brains can't begin to compete with monetary wealth in our post-literate world. At a strip bar, the tables are turned, in a key scene, when the local Alaskans(the groom's family) whom Margaret can barely tolerate, allows a male stripper to have his way with her. She's humiliated. Books have no cultural currency in Andrew's neck of the woods. That's why he left Alaska, in spite of the family fortune. He sacrificed a lot to follow his muse. That's why it's hard to believe the happy ending after Andrew discovers the truth about his unpublished novel. It's hard to root for careerism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful