Lions Gate Films | Release Date: April 16, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 503 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
436
Mixed:
46
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
TheguyoffireMar 13, 2013
This movie was meh. I liked the book alot better.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
The problem with this movie was that it couldn't make up its mind about what it wanted to be, and this ultimately led to its downfall at the box office. The beginning of the film is really intense and it seems like it's going to be one ofThe problem with this movie was that it couldn't make up its mind about what it wanted to be, and this ultimately led to its downfall at the box office. The beginning of the film is really intense and it seems like it's going to be one of those, 'it could happen in real life' comic book adaptations. After the first half hour though, that's gone and replaced with the typical unrealistic bull This film also couldn't decide whether or not it wanted to be PG-13 or R. Ultimately it got the R rating and has the violence that goes with it, but clearly the producers were hoping for the PG-13, and have some really childish parts to it. I hate when that happens, make up your mind! If you're going to be violent and crazy, then go all out, and if not, tone it down and get the PG-13. When they mix both styles, they don't appeal to a larger audience, they appeal to a smaller one. The cast did an adequate job, the story was alright, and the action was pretty cool, but there really isn't much here. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
zachattackJan 19, 2012
This was an average film, at best. The Punisher has its share of bad acting and poor dialogue. I thought Jon Travolta, the movies biggest star, was its biggest detraction. Jon managed to turn the cheese up to 10 in his role as a flamboyantThis was an average film, at best. The Punisher has its share of bad acting and poor dialogue. I thought Jon Travolta, the movies biggest star, was its biggest detraction. Jon managed to turn the cheese up to 10 in his role as a flamboyant mob boss. I expected more from Jon, seeing how well he played the villain in the movie 'Face/Off' years ago, but alas, the magic didn't carry over to this film. I didn't like the films attempt to be 'cheerful' and 'light-hearted,' either. The Punisher finds himself preparing for vengeance while living in an apartment building. Enter 3 oddball neighbors who constantly (and unsuccessfully) try to befriend Frank Castle. I know its an attempt to 'humanize' Frank Castle and make the audience more empathetic towards him, but really, this isn't an episode of Seinfeld. The Punisher is supposed to be about revenge, not comedy. There were some positive things to note in the Punisher, however. The action scenes were good. There was an 80's feel to them, not unlike Arnold Schwarzenger and Steven Seagal movies of yesteryear. There was one fight scene with a WWE wrestler (Kevin Nash) that was particularly good. I also enjoyed a scene where an assassin showed up to a diner and played a song on an acoustic guitar for The Punisher. Overall, The Punisher is a mixed bag. It has some cheesy dialogue and acting, but also has some decent action sequences. I give it a 5/10. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
4
SuperheroMoviesAug 7, 2013
The film had potential to be a great dark vigilante revenge thriller, but it's shot down by uneven pacing and a story that displays more explosion than it does emotion.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
CLSJun 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've read the Punisher comics that were the inspiration for some of the scenes such as the interrogation and the apartment setting where Frank Castle and his 3 neighbors live. Although Thomas Jane acted well in this movie, I felt that his look for this movie should have been as intimidating as Ray Stevenson's version, which in this reviewer's opinion had the "look" of the Punisher as he appears in the 2000's-era comics. Unfortuntely, most of the villains aren't memorable and I wished the movie used a recurring villain from the comics for the Punisher to fight against instead. The revenge flick is nothing new - yet we are talking about someone who punishes criminals on a daily-basis and that's what the Punisher is good at. Hopefully in the future, someone would actually write a decent story about this Punisher character. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JamesA.Sep 26, 2005
The only good thing about this movie is Thomas Jane's unbelieveably beautiful body. If he had taken off his pants I would have given it a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Jan 31, 2007
A typical tale of vigilantee revenge that works because of the commitment of the actors to their roles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
tethysdustOct 9, 2016
This simple revenge story is an odd mixture of camp and seriousness. The violence is pretty intense, but the most impressive bit was the explosions (of which there are many).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews