User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 313

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    There’s something powerful in the way horror movies and thrillers are able to tap into the cultural fears of a given moment. Whether it’s the sexual politics of the 1980s slasher movie, or the torture porn explosion in the wake of the US wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, no other genre is so adept at saying, “Here’s what's on our minds right now, and it’s scaring the hell out of us.”
    That’s
    the tradition writer-director James DeMonaco hopes to join with The Purge. A home invasion flick wrapped in Occupy-era themes and fears, it starts off strong but is ultimately neither scary nor smart enough to kick off the kind of thought-provoking conversations it so clearly wants to be part of. The setup is certainly promising. The year is 2022. In response to a tremendous economic crisis, America has been reborn at the hands of the "New Founding Fathers" a group of elected officials who initiated something called The Purge upon taking office. The problem with America, goes the rhetoric, is that its citizens are not able to keep their animalistic nature at bay. So once a year, all laws are suspended for 12 hours, during which citizens can rape, murder, and pillage to their heart’s content. And somehow this system has worked, quelling economic panic and returning America to prosperity. It’s Ayn Rand with a shotgun, and while there’s certainly territory to be mined here DeMonaco fails to follow through after he sets up the pieces. He tries again with a few character turns given to the mysterious drifter played by a black actor, because the film’s class warfare is subtle like that but they’re clumsy and obvious, the kind of after-school special lessons you know are coming the minute the drifter is put at odds with the Sandins. It’s a case of unfulfilled promise, and I can’t help but wonder if there was a great socio-political satire that got lost somewhere along the way. The high-concept setup is so ridiculous it reeks of the kind of over-the-top commentary we saw in the original RoboCop that it’s a shame the film drags through its 85 minutes without paying it off. The Purge does have moments that shine there’s a a great gag about the government regulating just which kinds of weapons can be used during the night of lawlessness, and Hodge does a lot with a thinly written role. The film even manages to squeeze in a surprise plot twist or two. But it’s a slog of a journey that ultimately leaves you wishing you could see the film The Purge wants to be instead of the film that it is. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    The problem is that The Purge has a powerful plot and ideas that are never used before, what happens here is that it is turned into a tired, cliché ridden, low budget slasher horror film, that could have been great and thought provoking. Lost opportunity.
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    4
    Let me preface this by saying my lord did this movie actually have an original, interesting story. When I saw the first preview for this I thought it had potential. Okay, got that out of the way, now, on to the point.

    Saw the movie with moderate expectations, didn't think it would be overly great, and didn't think it would be terrible either. So, the movie starts, the annual Purge
    starts, okay, so good, so far. Pretty good opening. When the neighbor woman handed Lena Headey's character the cookies, I knew something was going to happen towards the end. Like I said, The Purge starts and so far so good. Then, like every movie with kids, they ruin everything. Not going to give any spoilers, but the movie, a good part of the movie was a search & destroy mission, then the final part of the movie went along with deciding what the right and wrong things were to do in the Purge and a final showdown and just when you think its about to end.....they SUCK you in for one last act of The Purge, it was predictable to a certain degree, and it wasn't really good. A let down and it felt very forced and stupid.

    All in all, it wasn't horrible, but it didn't approach decent either, it was stupid. The acting was okay. I mean, Ethan Hawke is a very good, underrated actor, we all know that from his past work, but this wasn't his best role. The idea was original and fantastic, exciting really. However, the execution was poor, the story was badly written and if in the 12-hour window of the Purge, all crime is legal, why did they focus on just murder? I understand that was suppose to be the whole theme of it, but all crime is legal. Be realistic. Where's the rape, the bank robbing, the drugs, etc? The movie felt like one big run around and got very boring. Don't waste your time on this over-hyped crap.
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    3
    A decent number of thrill scenes still can't make up for a dull beggining and end. Too much on explaining why people purge and not enough purging. We were sold on a horror movie and what we got was a force feed on why American society has gone to crap and to make up for it we get 15 minutes of good thrills. Also I dont think I have ever been so annoyed by so many characters between the stupid children, the villians and the number of rediculous actions the family takes. Really there are killers coming intot he house but im going to decide to run away from my family because im upset at dad. SO STUPID! Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    3
    When Ethan Hawke showed up in last years legitimately scary Sinister I was happy to see the actor branch out slightly and give the genre picture a go. I was also glad he paired with the director of one of my other favorite scary movies of the last ten years, The Exorcism of Emily Rose. Upon seeing the first trailers and promotional materials for The Purge though I thought he might have jumped in head first too quickly and began splurging on the kinds of roles in the kinds of movies that might eventually end up in the five dollar bin. While this second trip into scary movie-land is not as intriguing or mysterious as the aforementioned Sinister it has an interesting enough premise to draw people towards it (and the creepy, over exaggerated face masks are always a plus in home invasion thrillers). Director James DeMonaco, who has only directed one previous feature before this, has also composed a script that contains a fair amount of potential in the points it is trying to make and the message it is trying to get across, but unfortunately we never really see any of the gritty realities of this new found way of life. No, instead of diving into that real potential the film could have brought to the experience it instead quickly dissolves into that standard home invasion film where we see every plot twist coming and every supposed scare is as obvious as how this whole thing is going to end up. There were times the movie almost had me fooled, had me thinking it was going to go a different way, but heaven forbid it do such a thing as to dare to make the audience unhappy. This timid nature ultimately results in the most typical conclusion led up to by the least surprising and least effective set of circumstances. Worse than all of this is the fact there are no likable characters here. We don't like our supposed protagonists from the beginning because they've succumbed to this annual event that makes little sense and we don't like their kids or their new enemies because they all make dumb decisions. In the end, there is only one word that comes to mind when I reflect on what this turned out to be: pointless.

    read the whole review at www.reviewsfromabed.com
    Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2013
    4
    The trailer makes it look like a Funny Games for the 99 percent. (Ugh. That sounded terrible.... forgive me.) But it's nowhere near as interesting or as diabolical as Funny Games. And being predictable isn't the worst thing in the world so long as the movie is executed with skill, but this one is very much the former but nowhere near the latter. Still, Hawke and Heady make it interesting. The kid from Parenthood is serviceable, but it would have been more interesting if he were actually playing his character from Parenthood. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    3
    I can't say that my expectations for this movie were very high at all, but nonetheless I was disappointed. You'll hear everyone, even critics, praise The Purge for the original premise, but it's really a silly concept at its core. The concept of the annual "purge" serves best as a symbolic meaning, but in reality, making all crime legal for one day would hardly do anything to improve the overall situation. It is a logistical nightmare and it is never once explained HOW the annual purge improves day-to-day life. I thought the underlying tones of religious oligopoly and the clear discrimination present in society would have been much more interesting to explore. You can't just introduce such a new concept as an annual purge and only dedicate a few scenes to its exposition. A small scale home-intruder thriller does not fit this sort of concept, in my opinion. This also has to do in part with the fact that The Purge is a bad movie front and back, in almost all senses. The acting is unremarkable, although I'm pleased with the limited amount of overacting by the leads. The lead delinquent character was well thought-out and acted, but the writing was awful. Everything has extremely heavy-handed and there was no concept of subtlety with the plot. Events were foreshadowed a scene or two ahead of time, and the pacing was awful. I found myself getting more enjoyment out of the reactions from fellow moviegoers, rather than the film itself. I found that the movie was awkward and each twist seemed more forced than the last. And honestly, I have never been more frustrated at characters' choices than I have during this movie. The best part of the movie was the very beginning, when the stock footage of people killing and being killed during the annual purge is shown. It's truly chilling and helped hash out the world that the average American at the time would be living in. Of course, the rest of the film worked as hard as it could to undo all of this.The Purge is bad enough to be universally recognized as a poorly-made horror flick. Unfortunately, it really isn't bad enough to be worth screening at a Halloween party for good humor. It's too mediocre to be taken seriously, but not bad enough to be remarkable. It was a horrible limbo to be caught in, and I wish that the admittedly interesting concept was taken on at a larger level and scope than the cruddy thriller we got. Expand
  8. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    "There’s something powerful in the way horror movies and thrillers are able to tap into the cultural fears of a given moment. Whether it’s the sexual politics of the 1980s slasher movie, or the torture porn explosion in the wake of the US wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, no other genre is so adept at saying, “Here’s what's on our minds right now, and it’s scaring the hell out of us.” Agree!
  9. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Purge is simply awful. Awful concept, unbelievable awful writing. The son in this movie is an imbecile. He essentially got his father killed by letting a homeless man in their house. The said homeless man lives at the end. How he lives I don't know. He walked away at the end after bleeding out for about 12 straight hours. Yeah ok.....The father creates top of the line security systems, yet says "The security systems are not made for events like this"....Dude, you live in a society where every year people are allowed to go on killing sprees, so why would you say something so preposterous.....The neighbors at the end wanted the family dead, until the massive blood losing homeless man saves them, then the mother lets the neighbors go?.....Why so she can tell stories in the produce aisle? Wait for the neighbors to try and kill them next year?...Possibly the worse written plot ever...For such a great concept, so much more could have been done. A waste of a great plot. Expand
  10. Jun 24, 2013
    4
    The idea of the movie is good,12 hours a year crime is legal, I think it had its inspiration from the Episode 21 Season 1 Start Trek series "The Return of the Archons" where people of Beta III "let loose" at the striking of "The Red Hour" (at 6:00pm), starting "Festival": a period of violence, destruction and sexual aggressiveness.
    This idea was never used into a movie but interesting
    that the only movie to use this idea turned out to be a disappointment that didn't live up to our expectations.
    In the near future of 2022 USA is a "reborn" nation because of the New Founding Father who brought order and prosperity to the nation by eliminating crime, poverty, unemployment and one of the reasons to this prosperity seem to the Purge, 12 hours where crime is legal. There we see our problems:

    - this utiopian/dystopian society happens to fast, really 9 years? Who would vote for these guys to make the Purge legal? Do the american people and international community accept this and do nothing? It is too soon and so implausible!

    - who is the one to come up with this idea of crime being legal, Princess Morbucks from the Powerpuff Girls

    - what will the victims of the Purge do? Won't they complain, protest or revolt?

    - who is going to pay for all the deaths, hospitalizations and consolations of the victims, destroyed public and private property?

    - what about the people who have health problems or suffer an accident, not because of the Purge, will they be left for death and the ambulance and firefighters will do nothing?

    - what will the poor, the homeless and the less fortunate ones do? Is the Purge the reason why poverty is down to 1%?

    And speaking of homeless, out of all the people to be hunted down it had to be a homeless, retired veteran, black man! Of course they have to pic on the black guy, because in Hollywood the black guy always dies first. Really? Even in this "reborn nation" the unfortunate and poor are still blacks and soldiers who fought in the war? Seems like some things never change, isn't that right John Rambo?Fighting for your country just to become homeless and hunted down by people of the country your served.

    Overall from a suspenseful and tense dystopian movie this turned into another silly home invasion movie with stupid expandables for villains.
    The acting was ok, the main villain was well played and so annoyingly evil you just really want him purged.

    This movie is as bad, in fact more bad than Daybreakers! Good idea but badly exploited in a bad movie.
    The plot for this movie would have been good in the 70s and 80s not in the second decade of 2000s. Back then it would have been a cheesy B-movie but it would have been saved from being forgotten or tared to pieces by critics by becoming a cult classic.
    All this strong faith and patriotism to the New Founding Father and the purge makes the movie laughable and I think that people who hate USA will probably use this movie to show how bad USA is. Heck, I think this movie might be legal in North Korea, saying that this actually happens in USA.

    I rated this movie 4/10 on Metacritic but it deserves a 4.5/10 and I look forward to see the sequel in hopping that will explain how USA got reborn and who are these New Founding Fathers, and what are Level 10 government officials and Class 4 weapons?
    Expand
  11. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    Dumb, dumb, dumb that defines The Purge. Terrible script and yes a terrible premise. I know some think the premise is interesting, but the more you think about it the more it's just stupid. I mean who would want to live in a country where people can legally murder and as for unemployment being at 1%, how. Why would anyone want to go to work and potentially anger the wrong person who would then just kill you on The Purge. Ethan Hawke is fine, but the kids are stupid and the invaders are stupid. Not scary, not thrilling, not a piece about society. Just plain DUMB!!! Expand
  12. Jun 12, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I watched the Purge this weekend and I gotta say I wasn't even in the least bit impressed. Before I continue, I have to say that this is the dumbest concept for a movie ever! So let me get this straight, in this movie, people are contempt with being able to commit a crime only on one day an that just basically stops crime? What about serial killers? Beyond that apparently, everyone just kinda excepted this Idea as there were no talks of people standing against the purging. To make matters worse this is in 2022 and according to the movie it started in 2017 just five years later and everyone celebrates a purging like it's the Super Bowl. Hell, they literally have a Purge TV. In other words I already Hate these people right off the bat. .By the way another huge problem with the concept is that it isn't explained how it works. During the broadcast you are allowed to use weapons except for class 5 and above. So, no rocket launchers? You also can't hurt Class 10 Government officials I think. So Don't kill the president and his cabinet? Also medical aid/police stations/fire stations are suspended. So what happens if you have a heart attack? What stops you from killing all cops? That is the main problem with the concept it doesn't go into details with the rules. But I digress. The next problem is the movie starts a pointless plot point that goes nowhere. We spend about 20 minutes on the boyfriend explaining that he would talk to the girl's father, only to be axed early and almost completely forgotten. We could use this time to explain the rules and reason for the purge, but nope, completely wasted.Something else annoying is this movie isn't scary in the least, but tries with a couple hundred jump scares. JUMP SCARES ARE NOT SCARY! There are alot of annoying things that appear in the movie so as to say this is a plot point, you stupid monkey". Like when you see a burnt up baby toy with wheels and a camera. Geez, I wonder if this is important. The reason for this is that one of the main producers is Platinum Dunes. If you don't know what that is, does Micheal Bay ring a bell? Nuff Said. In the story the family locks themselves in there house for protection against the aforementioned Purge. BTW is it me or is the only reason the purge exist in this movie, an excuse for the plot to happen. It is just there so the home invasion movie can happen for a contrived reason. When the son lets a wounded homeless man in his house cause he's a dumb ass. The man is followed by a gang of youths who are trying to kill him. To bring the movies message deeper they make the youths from an affluent neighborhood and mostly white while making the man Black, homeless and a veteran. This is a cheap way to gain sympathy for the character, that really isn't needed. The youths tell them that they need to find the man, so they kill him just for being poor. If they don't, they will be killed with him. At this point the movie becomes a hunting movie with nothing happening until he is found and we are shown why we shouldn't like the characters in the movie. however the family for no reason completely out of nowhere decide to save the man and fight. At this point it becomes a home invasion movie as the youths move in to kill them. Yes it is like you walked into a different movie. A bunch of people die and there is a trifecta of Deus Ex Machinas. I won't spoil the ending except to say that the movie ends without being climactic and just comes off strange yet hilarious. And what was the point there was no change nothing was improve, making this movie COMPLETELY POINTLESS! It is sad cause this movie had great actors in it(except for the main villain), but they had nothing to work with. This movie is a 4/10 to me, it's just meh. You'll forget this movie after watching it. Hell I had to look up some thing to write this review. A stupid plot, pointless filler, uneven pace, and generally crap atmosphere. I might be being nice but I am going to leave it at that. Expand
  13. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Bad movie, the story is just The ending is just crap. rtgdrgpdrkgdtgfoijtohoixfhjokviidryhiduhophukthiothufbjhutibtuyhtgkjhtimounstjunsoujynstiouyjtosuynioioioioioioiotujsouysroiynsotiyu
  14. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    I really liked the concept up until I saw the movie. So stupid and just as cash grab. What happened to all the great horror movies. So bad. I could barely sit through it in the theater.
  15. Jun 22, 2013
    4
    This movie very predictable, for me anyways. The plot was okay, but the way they executed it could have been much better. This movie actually reminded me of the movie "The Strangers." It had many strong points, but the ending sucked. It was more comical than horrific. I wanted so bad for someone to commit a crime after the 12th hour...
  16. Jun 26, 2013
    3
    This movie, concerns my self with great duplicity. A confusing story line, horrible scenarios, and blood thirsty laws. It was a quick sell, but left a horrible taste in my mouth nearly only 10 minutes of being introduced or as I felt involuntarily robbed of my precious time.

    I would rather Adam Sandler played the main role, because obviously a joke would make this script interact much
    more fluently. It would have been better, if the daughter of main character opened the door to her unsuspecting boyfriend, and the boyfriend had turned suicidal killer been a moment of zen.

    But no, it seems that between Coffey and toiletry's the real substance of this film was left in the tub with a dirty ring. Good movies leave room for sequels, and if you have a Nikon it doesn't man your blogger neither.

    Overall, the film sold me for the first 15 seconds, and than shoved, denial and words like durably down my throat, slowly churning its way down my amphibious gut which than bubbled up the regurgitation of a small picnic which in all totality should be a weeks worth.

    I'm ashamed I didn't remember the preview, obviously with enough sell out guides previews have now adays. I could negatively shriek intimate donkey spoil, on the mild manure pre-ordained growing lands over my spouted interest in good being well. The work put into this, would measure the time, and integrity required of a Home Depot employee that has better time to sort stock, than had prepped the future shed and kitchen display. Who deserves the credit for this Bull****?

    V/R
    Dr Saint G
    Expand
  17. Jun 27, 2013
    1
    I have just a few things to say. First off, if this ever happens to Any of you, THIS IS NOT the way to go about saving your family. Second of all, poor script. Lastly I would rather watch 5 monkeys throw sh°t on each other.
  18. Jun 30, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The premise of the movie is a bit far-fetched, and the way it played out was lacking and tacky.

    For myself, it is always weird to see Ethan Hawke playing a character other than a rookie cop (as in Training Day).

    The plot was lacking on a lot of what I wanted to see, such as: the antagonist dying a more horrific and painful death, the main character rising from his injuries, racism towards the black intruder, and a resolution that was clear on how things would play out beyond the ending. I don't understand why the black homeless intruder left so easily. I was expecting him to get together with the wife and become part of the family. The movie is a senseless anecdote.
    Expand
  19. Jul 3, 2013
    3
    The Purge's premise is wasted here, it doesn't even need to exist. The Purge is just a cheap slasher horror movie and even bad at that. At no point in this film did I get scared, really I was just bored throughout the whole movie. Everyone in the movie does a good job but it just wasn't enough. This movie is extremely predictable. Overall I wouldn't recommend watching this movie.
  20. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    This movie is terrible. The story, the background, the whole script is a mess. I believe that this flick is racist to an utter extent, the mere title says it all. The plot has no foundation, it lacks everything that is expected from a thriller, you barely get in touch with each character that englobes the directors message to the expectator. Lacks details that may had placed them on a score of 1. And my review ends with one question to the director, Why do you believe that the poor and the minority in 2022 are the Afro-americans?. Expand
  21. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    The only reason I would ever give this more than a 0 is the fact that the actors were decent and the idea was too. Super unrealistic and extremely predictable with ridiculously bloodthirsty characters.. In fact there are only about 5 people in the movie who are not trying to get this "cleanse" by killing other random people.
  22. Aug 4, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That this movie isn't universally ridiculed is a sign of how bad things have gotten in America.
    The concept is ridiculous and the execution is very stupid:
    The two messages are:
    - too much violence is bad, so perhaps we should reduce violence.
    - The purge is already happening: The one percent is waging class warfare against the middle class and the poor, with their predatory lending schemes and with their continued sabotaging of the health care system. Many reviews fail to mention that with the Health Care System, a purge is already being waged against the very poor.

    Both the lousy concept and the poor execution are getting in the way of all that.

    Concept:
    The idea that a purge would work on any level is ridiculous:
    - revenge killing!
    - who's gonna prevent killing from being done after 7:01? And if I call it self-defense, who would challenge me? I can murder anyone, claiming that, which is what Zimmerman did, knowing full well no white jury would ever convict a white man.
    - too much pressure on EMT services the day after.
    - the risk that arson would destroy other homes than the targets is too great.
    - the enormous destruction of property.

    The execution:
    As a movie it's sooo full of plotholes, it's frankly beyond believe.
    1. The BIGGEST and BADDEST security expert allows his 11 year old to access the security system and open the door for a total stranger.
    2. The BIGGEST and BADDEST security expert, who's also very rich have no back up generator???
    3. The house apparently has no small battlement loopholes as in an opening or apertures in the wall, from which potential intruders can be shot. Like those bored rich kids.
    4. the kids keep running off, makes no sense.
    5. they keep splitting up.
    6. daughter goes with the BF after BF tries to shoot her father. Very unlikely
    7. Mother allows neighbor to walk after neighbor beeyatch tries to kill her kids, TWICE! Some very gentle kind soft natured mother will pump you full of lead if you even look at their kids funny.
    8. BF shoots the father for no real reason and expects daughter to still love him?? Very unlikely
    9. Won't there gigantic revenge killing the next day?
    10. A purge day will lead to wanton and GIGANTIC destruction of property, that's always bad.

    Given all these problems I think the movie should be more taken as an allegory than literal, it's like the Bible on that note.
    Expand
  23. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    I signed up just to let people know how terrible this movie is, the idea of there being a single day in the year (which turns out to be only 12 hours starting from 7pm... in which people are legally allowed to commit heinous crimes, but higher level govt. employees are for some reason exempt, is so stupid, if you are drawn to a plot as ridiculous as this then maybe you need to be purged.
    The story is so bad and made no sense, there was no depth to it, the acting was terrible, and character's idiotic decisions were enraging, i hated myself for wasting my valueless time watching this movie, the only reason why i did was because i acquired a pirated copy for which i am thankful for, because if i had actually spent any money to see this, i would be so depressed and angry and would have demanded my money back.
    Expand
  24. May 16, 2014
    3
    3 points for the concept, which was great and left me anticipating the release. Sooooo disappointed, wanted to leave before it ended. Everybody was so very stupid in the story, that it was all so predictable. This could have been a great movie.
  25. Sep 29, 2013
    2
    Considering everything that I can imagine this film could of been. I would have preferred if i had not seen it and stuck with the much better imagination of what this could have been.

    1 house lock in from a film with a budget this big is really pathetic.
  26. Jul 8, 2014
    1
    The entire plot progression revolves around a small child being in the correct place at the correct time... Outside that highly unpredictable requirement the film wouldn't be able to progress very far...
  27. Oct 27, 2013
    4
    Its concept and premise is rather different and interesting and it does make a good social and political allegory, but it is ruined by extreme lack of logic, dumb characters, bad dialogue, bad acting (apart from a menacing Rhys Wakefield) and a lack of suspense and terror. The Purge mainly succeeds it create foreboding terror as shown in the first 15 or so minutes when it is setting up the purge rather than the home-invasion itself. By the end of the film, audiences will be disappointed and annoyed. Well, at least Lena Headey breaks some ladies face, which is possibly the best thing in the film. Expand
  28. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    Le film montre ce qu'est l’Amérique avec leur désire de nettoyer la vermine... Le film est vraiment null en particulier les enfants. Je donne 3 mais j'ai voulu donné 0...
  29. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    The Purge is probably the worst film I have ever seen in my whole life. I think into the future and it will be very difficult that a film can even reach the half of disgusting and annoying of The Purge. It is amazing how a really original and breathtaking idea, like a day when people can do whatever they want without facing any consequences so they release tensions, can be wasted in such an unimaginable way. Starting by the thing that unleash the conflict of the story, the stupidity of a boy. Although no everything is his fault, the father is inconsistent with the things he does and a lame hero, the ideas of the mother are incoherent and the daughter is naïve to death. The twists of the story are desperate for achieving the attention of the viewer. There are some sequences that have potential but they dissipate in the immensity of rubbish. With an idea like this I would make the movie about the first day when the purge was establish or maybe evaluating that practice from different point of view from a group of people in the country. But there is nothing more to do with this director. I still ask myself how he manages to get the money to make this film and I hope that he never even think of making a new picture. This movie is an insult to human intelligence. Collapse
  30. Jun 12, 2013
    1
    Making the guy who looks like a rapist play the villain does not make a good movie. His face was a rip off of the joker. The movie sucked. It made me not only want to purge, but slit my own wrists.
  31. Jun 9, 2013
    3
    This movie was extremely mediocre at best. The story was very shallow and dull. The characters were boring and had no development whatsoever and the sound effects were alright. Also, the movie is short, very very short. I would not recommend anyone seeing this. Save your money for something better.
  32. Jul 24, 2013
    4
    this movie has an original story and it's well done, but the thing is that the movie doesn't have anything to do with te trailer, the movie was too short an the end just doesn't have sense, and it doesn't go with the movie, and this movie didn't scared me at all. I just dont recommend it.
  33. Sep 26, 2013
    3
    Lets start with the flaws of the imagined social/economic consequences of the Purge system... Crime rates would drop to 1%? Economy would rise? Why the hell would it? Prostitution, drug dealers, corruption is done on a daily basis. Perverts, abusers would not wait until the government allows them to commit crimes. The purge system would only decrease a minimal amount of crime. Other then that imagine You try to kill your fellow worker, because he/she was not nice with on you workplace...Now imagine you fail, now you can spend the rest of the year feeling hatred toward that person. It is not really productive in a workplace. As I have wrote before criminals who live from crime, would not stop after a purge. Also why would they allow using fire-based weapons during a Purge? (There are some restriction but nothing for arson?) It would cost a lot to build up a city from the ashes right? The whole thing could use some more thinking to it.... Other than these, the characters were boring and the kid was the dumbest movie character I have seen in a long time. The kid actually wanted to save a stranger more than his own family... The bad guys looked more stupid then threatening in my opinion. Well a generic action thriller. Expand
  34. Oct 3, 2013
    1
    The concept and plotline of this film can be summed up in one word:

    "Stupid".

    How is it possible that a group of sane people choose to create a movie with a concept so ridiculous.

    Please do not watch this movie or you'll regret it.
  35. May 21, 2014
    2
    This movie states that unemployment is below 1% and the economy is booming, this thanks to the Purge, were theres no law for 12 hours. It contradicts itself, people wont just kill, there main target would be money, businesses, banks etc would be looted and destroyed which would be disastrous for any economy..crap film that wasnt well thought out.
  36. Jun 9, 2013
    2
    I was drawn in by the intriguing premise, however the actual movie itself turned out to be horrendous. The writing and plot is absolutely stupid, with main characters who I actually did not mind seeing die and the film ending in complete tragedy since that is what this movie is, a tragedy. Several people walked out of the theater where I saw this, and the only reason I stayed was because I thought perhaps there would be something redeeming about it; unfortunately, there was no redeeming factor. I have wasted approximately 90 minutes of my life, time that I will never get back, and I implore you not to see this movie and, if you really must, simply wait for the DVD/Blu-Ray/Netflix. Expand
  37. Oct 26, 2013
    2
    The Purge sucks. It is so terrible in so many ways, honestly. The base idea behind the plot is really cool, but it's wasted on a stupid family with characters you don't care about, and a big waste of villians. I'm sure it was there on the page, but the Purge stumbles in every way possible in terms of execution.
  38. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    The movie had a good premise, but the characters were all 2-dimensional. They didn't really learn anything. We already knew the the "purge" day would be bad, and you are left with the exact same conclusion at the end. The characters act completely irrational the entire movie, which is what you might expect from a horror movie, I guess.

    If you like a movie with scary jump shots, little
    to no character development, and some shaky action scenes, you might like this movie. Expand
  39. Jun 16, 2013
    1
    I want to purge this movie out of my head. Making crime legal for any amount of time is stupid to begin with. Dumb characters, a storyline that confuses its message, and very goofy antagonists you can't take seriously. I wanted to give this movie a chance, because I was intrigued by what possibilities it could have taken with such an unrealistic event, but it ended up being killing itself with stupidity. Expand
  40. Apr 2, 2014
    1
    This movie could've been better if it was from the view of person caught on the streets as the "purge" happened. Having the focus be on a family barricaded in a house makes for dull experience for something that sounded so unique to see. Instead we get a family we couldn't care less about. When you're hoping the "heros" are quickly killed by their tormentors that's a bad sign. As for the tormentors they come across as laughable at best. They seem like rich psychos in real life now they get an excuse to kill poor people without penalties. A better story would've followed people who ended up outside while trying to get home before curfew. This movie gets a 1 only because of it's idea, too bad it wasn't fleshed out better. Expand
  41. Jun 9, 2013
    3
    Except for cast & acting this movie is huge disappointment! Having such an interesting setting, "The Purge" than transformed to be incredibly ridiculous, story is just nonsensical, some characters behave in absurd way! Conclusion "The Purge" is preposterous piece of filth!!!
  42. Jun 15, 2013
    2
    One of the most predictable, uninspiring films I've seen in a long time.

    There is no sense of fear for the characters and no real character development at all. Everything comes to a screeching halt too soon after a build up.

    I don't recommend every seeing this movie.
  43. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    Let me start by saying the first half hour of this had me really interested. It began well. I mean, the premise was fantastic. However, it just slowly devolves into another home invasion film to which the premise is no longer needed or used. It was almost like they wrote the first half hour of the film and then got stuck. I wouldn't have disliked this film so much had it, from the outset, just tried to be another home invasion film. It's pure rubbish. Expand
  44. Dec 13, 2013
    3
    The premise is interesting at the cost of being completely implausible and so, pointless. In fact, it doesn't even play a major factor in the subsequent home invasion film that relies on startling pop-ups to even come close to a scare...
  45. Aug 2, 2013
    1
    The film was just a cliche-filled bottle with many stupid choices by the protagonists. The story was interesting, but it was developed very badly. It could have been a lot better
  46. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    I really liked this original idea that surrounded the whole movie. I was excited for the Purge to happen in the movie and once it started I was underwhelmed and just angered by stupid decisions one after another. I know movies need characters to make "mistakes" to progress the plot but there were so many that after halfway I was just left aggravated. I think this movie was okay, it is worth a rent and the idea was awesome so I hope a sequel can fix the mistakes. Just felt it could have been much better. Expand
  47. Aug 25, 2013
    1
    The purge is singlehandedly the most pointless movie i have ever seen... In what sort of civilised society would the government allow one night where anything is legal? (spoiler alert (not that there is anything in the movie TO BE spoiled)) Stupid thing numero uno: Why would the kid let a man, who for all she knows could kill her whole family, into her house on the one night of the year that it is legal for them to do whatever they want.

    Stupid thing 2:
    Why would Ethan Hawke harbour someone who for all he knows could have been a serial killer into his house and risk his family's lives by keeping him away from 'the purgers'.

    Stupid thing 3:
    So the neighbours want to kill the whole family because he used the money he earned to make his house nicer???

    I SWEAR TO GOD IF THERE WAS A PURGE I WOULD GO AFTER THE PEOPLE WHO MADE THIS FILM AND TORTURE THEM UNTILL THEY GAVE BACK THE 85 MINUTES THAT THEY HAVE STOLEN AWAY FROM ME! ALSO I WOULD POLITELY ASK FOR MY £7 BACK IT COST ME TO SEE THIS PILE OF W*NK!
    WASTE OF FUDGING TIME!
    Expand
  48. Oct 10, 2013
    4
    It was not exciting, it was really a two scary scenes in it all, I do not know what was in it for horror. A rather weak story seems to have been a low-budget movie.
  49. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I feel almost cheated with this movie, honestly. It's hard to feel concerned for a character when you know absolutely nothing about them. The only characters I can remember by name (after finishing the movie just seconds ago) was Zoey Sandin. Apart from that I have no idea who anyone was or what their stories were.

    The antagonists seemed almost stereotypical in their Power Rangers Villain-esque portrayal, wanting to kill the "homeless pig" for the sake of a class war. This surprises me because in the event that this were a real event, it would more than likely be the lower class exhausting aggression on the upper class for obvious reasons. The antagonists, literally called in the subtitles: Freaks and Polite Leader, were completely bereft of any emotion and seemed to exhibit more of a Sociopathic tendency that you'd more likely see in a serial killer movie.

    There wasn't anything lovable about the characters on either side, there was no one that I could honestly relate to and consequentially care about. What really brought it all down hill though was the cultish behavior of the neighbors when they all gathered around to kill the family with a less than concerning prayer of sorts. I wasn't sure if I was watching a Quentin Tarantino movie, at which I would have at least expected a few comedic quips with very serious overarching themes or a movie based on the works of Steven King in which a supernatural occurrence is the source of all the craze, at which point I expected (but was not given) a brazen attempt to convey a psychological aspect of what I would do in that situation.

    Suffice to say, the movie fell flat in all aspects other than one thing that made me watch the movie in the first place: An original concept. This isn't something that's been done before and as stated at the beginning of my review, I feel cheated in how poorly it turned out.
    Expand
  50. Jan 9, 2014
    3
    The Purge falla en muchos aspectos, pero en el que más falla es en el más importante: como contar una historia. El argumento de The Purge demuestra que, aunque Hollywood tiene el cine más conocido y taquillero, me atrevo a decir sin ningún miedo que también tiene el menos original y barato en lo que es storytelling. Si esto puede pasar como "una película de terror y suspenso" puede que yo sea Santa Claus; porque lo absurdo de la película pega duro como una patada baja, y créeme te va a doler por mucho tiempo. Expand
  51. Dec 23, 2013
    4
    The Purge offers imaginative plot but offer less scares and thrilling scenes which is not likely more of a sufficient thrilling movie and another thing that made this movie less mediocre is that it has a short running time.

    It still good to be watched. The sound effects is still on its name. The characters, even though they are not that highly portrayable. They still got little guts.
    Actually, for my opinion, the only thing that raises its popularity was its unbelievable plot which is making all crimes legal within the annual "The Purge" 12 hour period.

    The story tells us how a family managed to be secured and protected amidst of violent and chaotic people waiting outside their home that wanted to salvage and kill them. It is now up to them to destroy and kill those people before they killed them.

    So overall of my opinion. All that I can say was that this movie is still adequate for family watching.

    Rating 4 10
    Expand
  52. Nov 29, 2013
    2
    A pathetic attempt to scare its audience. The following film is original and the video quality is superb. However, the writers' are amateurs at best. The structure of events are not smartly planned. IN moments of action, the villains take decades to attempt to kill the main characters (family). The concept of the purge itself is quite idiotic. Although it is an imagination, its backing is completely unrealistic. This would've been fine, had the writers not attempted to make the story realistic.

    This film is simply another over-hyped film attempting to profit off of a controversial topic... just like project x.
    Expand
  53. Dec 6, 2013
    3
    I quickly found myself very intrigued by the premise of 'The Purge'- a near future America under the new 'Founding Fathers' political regime. However, my intrigue and excitement soon turned to despair and annoyance as it became clear the film was to focus on a single, white, rich household. I wanted to see the wider stories within 'The Purge', something we only get a taste of on CCTV footage and radio broadcasts at the beginning of the film.The Writer, James DeMonaco, could have done so much more with such an innovative world, yet he took the easy way out by regurgitating the same old modern horror tactics with feeble jump scares and predictable 'plot twists'. The acting too left a lot to be desired. Ethan Hawke who plays James Sandin, the father and lead, does a good job of conveying himself as a morally confused figure; unsure whether to do what is 'right' or what is best for his family. However, you will find yourself frustrated with the acting from Max Burkholder, Adelaide Kane and Lena Heady, the respective son, daughter and wife of James Sandin. The son is meant to be the moral touchstone of the film, yet bland and uninteresting acting from Burkholder failed for this to be conveyed. There is not really a gel between the three, making moments between son and mother or mother and daughter somewhat awkward. Ultimately, we don't really care about their fate when they are thrown into potentially horrible situations. If you are looking for an in depth view into a futuristic world that examines the wider implications of a new and potentially possible regime, you won't find it here. If you are looking for something a bit simpler with occasional moments of excitement, by all means give this film a go. Expand
  54. Dec 12, 2013
    4
    Draws viewers in with an interesting idea, and the first half looks promising, but succumbs to cliches. The second half is boring rather than suspenseful.
  55. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    this flim is pure bull **** tries to take on serious issues but ****s itself and ends focusess on some douche bag getting inthe house .family get thearten by bad guy they spend 20 minutes **** all .the movie is **** horrible it was the worst movie ever . the acting was so awful. ethen hawke was the worst actor in the film. the ending was most awful i have ever seen . this film is'nt enjoible awful like event horison . it's the one were you enjoy smashing it awful. Expand
  56. Mar 29, 2014
    1
    An absolutely fantastic idea totally underutilized. This film follows a family around their house for its duration, a stereotypical game of cat and mouse that the Purge doesn't really bring anything new to. Even worse, it's packed full of forced suspense and cheap 'thrills'. I was hoping the theme of morality would be explored from different angles, but instead it's made very black and white. I found this unbelievable and it distanced me from being immersed in the film as a result. Expand
  57. Apr 16, 2014
    3
    I remember I first heard about this film in an ad before a YouTube video. It started with a voice-over said "Don't skip this ad. You are about to see the trailer for the most disturbing movie of the year." That was a bold statement, considering Evil Dead had already come out and The Conjuring was right around the corner. So naturally, I was curious and didn't skip the ad. One of the first things I noticed was that Ethan Hawke was in the film. I am a fan of Ethan Hawke, and since he was in Sinister a few months prior (one of the scariest films I've ever seen), I was even more curious. Then I noticed the interesting premise about all crime being legal for 24 hours, and as I sat and watched the trailer, I thought "You know, this movie has a lot of potential if they do it right..."

    Finally, June arrived and the release date came along, so I saw the film. I was surprised to see a lot of awful acting, bad directing, and a poorly written story. Any and all potential that this premise had was completely wasted. The filmmakers took the premise and did the laziest thing possible: they made it into a cheap slasher flick. The Purge tries to make you feel isolated/alone in a small area with people hunting you, much like how the first Alien movie did. But The Purge relies too much on jump-scares to scare you, which is not a good tactic for horror movies. Good horror has slow-building tension and a release, two things that The Purge has none of.

    The characters and the acting are similar in the sense that they're terrible and make you angry. The kids make HORRIBLE decisions, and even in some instances, endanger their own lives. For example, there is a scene where the daughter is upset with her parents, so she walks off, while the people are still invading their house. She risks her life just to act rebellious. Then the people invading the house aren't great either. They all seem to wear masks and act insane to seem creepy. This could have worked, but the moment someone fires a gun at them, they immediately stop acting this way, and they take cover and act like regular people, which gets rid of any creepiness of them possibly being mentally insane.

    My final rating for The Purge is a 3/10. I hoped that this movie would at least be worthy of a Redbox rent, but it isn't even worth that. Part of me feels that I went in expecting too much, and I probably did. However, in a way, with the marketing and the premise, I didn't expect too much out of it. If you say that your movie is the most disturbing movie of the year, then you better give me the most disturbing movie of the year.
    Expand
  58. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    Watch this movie. Watch this movie if you like the feeling of anger pulsing through your bloodstream because you gave Ethan Hawke another chance. Because you thought the plot sounded cool, because you wanted to see rich people die.
    If not, leave this one alone, because it is one of the most infuriating movies I have ever had the opportunity to see.
    I wish there was an annual "purge"
    (like that fairy tale BS would fly in any country) so that I could legally execute the talented individuals who brought us this film. Expand
  59. Jul 23, 2014
    3
    I cannot believe how disappointing this movie was, I was hoping for a tense horror flick with an interesting premise. It wasn't, it was just one jump scare after another and they were all extremely predictable and cheap. By the 4th jump scare I knew it was coming so I took off my headphones and waited 3 seconds and it came. All the horror movie cliches are there and the victims are incredibly stupid. Stay away from this one and hope that the sequel is better. Although the idea of The Purge is cool the movie itself falls flat on its face.

    P.S. The villain in the movie was boring and the ending 'twist' makes no sense and is just there for some more cheap scares.
    Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 33
  2. Negative: 10 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 11, 2013
    25
    As a nauseating variation on the home-invasion theme, The Purge is as sickening as it is dreary.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 9, 2013
    25
    This is quite possibly the most moronic motion picture I have seen thus far in 2013 and that's saying a lot.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 9, 2013
    25
    The Purge isn’t just stupid; it’s also pretentious and often makes no sense.