Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 2006
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 310 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
224
Mixed:
33
Negative:
53
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BillyS.Jan 2, 2007
It's obvious from the beginning that the man on whom The Pursuit of Happyness is based was the subject of an episode of Oprah because the film plays out as if it were Letterman reads Oprah Transcripts! An hour and a half of suffering, It's obvious from the beginning that the man on whom The Pursuit of Happyness is based was the subject of an episode of Oprah because the film plays out as if it were Letterman reads Oprah Transcripts! An hour and a half of suffering, desertion, rejection, suffering, humiliation, suffering, evictions, incarceration, suffering and the final fifteen minutes of finding ones inner-spirit, perseverance and redemption. Will Smith is the suffering hero in a role that seems to be written solely to get him an Oscar nod as a likeable, self confident man with a young son but not a single friend or relative willing to put him up for a night! Give me a break. With a foreign director and Oprah's endorsement to give it weight, it probably will get Mr. Smith his Oscar nomination, which means it's too late for Matt Damon or Ryan Gosling to get that kind of recognition they both truly deserve. Next year, go on Oprah!! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
2
BobH.Dec 21, 2006
I love Will Smith and you will love his real life son as that is the only worthwhile part of watching the movie. As for the rest, the script is totally lame, and the acting laughable. This is one very depressing movie but is so egregious in I love Will Smith and you will love his real life son as that is the only worthwhile part of watching the movie. As for the rest, the script is totally lame, and the acting laughable. This is one very depressing movie but is so egregious in that nothing makes common sense that it loses its audience long before the conclusion. Will Smith portrays Rocky Balboa in the white shirt world. How much more can be dumped on this man? Avoid. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
IssacDec 20, 2006
Too depressing for words and totally unrealistic. Will's real life son is a natural born ham as he steals the show.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
SeanH.Mar 1, 2007
Obviously a film called "The Pursuit of Happyness" is going to be provocative, especially as we see so little of the man's inner journey, and so much of his running around with a x ray machine chasing a buck. Good luck to the guy.. he Obviously a film called "The Pursuit of Happyness" is going to be provocative, especially as we see so little of the man's inner journey, and so much of his running around with a x ray machine chasing a buck. Good luck to the guy.. he had to put food on the table and provide for his son under difficult circumstances. But what happened to him when he got rich? Who is this man and why should we care as long as we dont get to find out anything about him other than the fact that he is a real tryer. Is it too much to ask? I mean, i don't want to accuse the film of being shallow or anything. You don't have to get into politics or ideological whatnot to wonder what on earth was the point of the movie. Or maybe you do. For a second i thought the film itself was actually mocking him when his son told him that joke...knock knock.. who's there?.. nobody.. nobody who?.. (silence). When his wife walks out on him, all he has to say is "YOU ARE SO WEAK!". And off she goes. So does he think he is "strong" and if so, how does it make him feel to have to go through all this pride swallowing, dignity sapping stuff day after day? Who the hell is this guy and does he have anything to say? How did he run his company after all this? Was he a good boss and a good man to work for? etc etc Will there be a part 2 or will we never get the chance to find out. Alas, this film goes no further. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JohnB.Apr 2, 2007
I thought I was watching "Chariots of Fire" with all the running. This movie reaks of propaganda. Pursuing happyness comes from within, not from getting a job as a stock broker which the movie never touched on. Did anyone notice that the I thought I was watching "Chariots of Fire" with all the running. This movie reaks of propaganda. Pursuing happyness comes from within, not from getting a job as a stock broker which the movie never touched on. Did anyone notice that the "lower class" kept stealing his machines but the "upper class" corporate world gave him so called, happyness. Talk about boot licking. It was a depressing movie full of subliminal messages of how the corporations give us the happYness we seek. Y is the male cromosome for a male dominated world. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
HassanDec 16, 2006
Just the same boring scene repeated over and over. We all know how it's going to end so why not explain the characters? Where are the friends and family. How do coworkers not understand the gravity of the situation and offer to help? Just the same boring scene repeated over and over. We all know how it's going to end so why not explain the characters? Where are the friends and family. How do coworkers not understand the gravity of the situation and offer to help? Who would invest money in a trainee without knowing the relationship will grow? The entire movie is preposterous from beginning to end. Awful! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DeannaFeb 25, 2007
I thought this movie was just a real downer. It kept dragging on and on, and from the moment it started you knew how it was going to end. I liked the ending the best not because of the happyness, but because I could finaly leave.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
CaitSep 16, 2007
Will Smith spends the majority of this film running around in a suit and thanking people earnestly. Very disappointing and way too cheesy. Cringeful in fact. That's 2 hours of my life I'll never get back. An awful film.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
HolidayJan 2, 2007
Please spare me this story had more holes than swiss cheese. Are we to believe that he sacrificed his wife, endangered his child and took a job without any compensation with his chance of success being less than 1%? If you believe that I Please spare me this story had more holes than swiss cheese. Are we to believe that he sacrificed his wife, endangered his child and took a job without any compensation with his chance of success being less than 1%? If you believe that I have a bridge I would like to sell you. And his employer is portrayed as insensitive biggots. And do you think that a major financial institution would let a trainee/cold caller go see a very successful pension fund manager alone? Do you think that pension fund manager would even consider meeting with a trainee? Try using your brain instead of the garbage that Hollywood shoves down your throat. This is an awful film in which white is rich and happy and black is poor and downtrodden. And where were his friends and family to offer support financial or otherwise. This film was offensive. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LaughingStockDec 19, 2006
Purusit of the almighty buck might be more like it. This is a poor movie with cliches at every corner. The character Will Smith had spunk but lacked brains or common sense. When you disect the glitter all that remains is a very poor script Purusit of the almighty buck might be more like it. This is a poor movie with cliches at every corner. The character Will Smith had spunk but lacked brains or common sense. When you disect the glitter all that remains is a very poor script that is depressing and lacks reality or humanity. Avoid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DarrylD.Dec 20, 2006
He starts smiling when he gets the job. Doesn't he know his life just ended? Will's subliminal message is "get white". This movie is shamed by "My brother's keeper", about ten years ago, where the real currency is between He starts smiling when he gets the job. Doesn't he know his life just ended? Will's subliminal message is "get white". This movie is shamed by "My brother's keeper", about ten years ago, where the real currency is between family who love each other and forego materialism. The information about how he sold his share of a business for a million dollars make me sick to my stomach. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AaronDec 15, 2006
predictable story about how much garbage you can eat without complaining. The ending was sadly lacking and there were no character development to explain the lack of family and friends. To be a successful stock broker you have to have onepredictable story about how much garbage you can eat without complaining. The ending was sadly lacking and there were no character development to explain the lack of family and friends. To be a successful stock broker you have to have one part used car salesmen and two parts attorney in you. Will Smith had neither. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ChuckU.BastardJan 31, 2007
I don't even need to see this dreck to know that is another piece of Puritan work-ethic, unchecked capitalistic, bootstrap crap. How come nobody ever heard of this "real" person until the movie was released? Probably because he was I don't even need to see this dreck to know that is another piece of Puritan work-ethic, unchecked capitalistic, bootstrap crap. How come nobody ever heard of this "real" person until the movie was released? Probably because he was fabricated for the movie's publicity. In other words, he never truly existed and still does not truly exist! It's just like that awful mess, "Erin Brockovich." I mean, who ever heard of this broad before the movie? But, ta-da, when the movie is out, we all hear and see the "real" Brockovich, bosoms and all, on the news shows. The suit was most likely filed by the head of a multi-million law firm, and the secretary he was having an affair with got the credit and money to shut her up. That is the least astonishing conclusion. So I won't get sued for libel, this is my opinion, not proven fact. Unfortunately, I saw "Crock-O-Bitch"; I will not make the same mistake with "Pursuit of Crappyness." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
helenm.Dec 21, 2006
All down, down, down, down -- goes on too long with such agony. Not sure the when the man got the job that he actually won. Too depressing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MichaelF.Dec 17, 2007
This was possibly the worst film I've seen. The entire movie is a montage of Will Smith running from place to place and snapping at people. We never get to see how he succeeds in his internship or the ways in which he works harder than This was possibly the worst film I've seen. The entire movie is a montage of Will Smith running from place to place and snapping at people. We never get to see how he succeeds in his internship or the ways in which he works harder than the others around him. Every remotely compelling part of this film is shown in the previews. People seem to have made up their minds about loving this movie before taking the time to actually watch it. Long, boring and tortuous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
finnigan37Feb 22, 2013
This piece of junk edged out Babel as the worst film I saw in 2006, and stands firm as maybe the worst film I have ever seen. Definitely top five. The entire over-long endeavor essentially presents scene after scene of Will Smith running,This piece of junk edged out Babel as the worst film I saw in 2006, and stands firm as maybe the worst film I have ever seen. Definitely top five. The entire over-long endeavor essentially presents scene after scene of Will Smith running, being a jerk to people, running some more, riding busses, disobeying pedestrian traffic laws, sitting down, laying down, running, etc., etc. If you like this film you just have horrible taste. I can reach no other conclusion. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
SeanH.Feb 28, 2007
Obviously a film called "The Pursuit of Happyness" is going to be provocative, especially as we see so little of the man's inner journey, and so much of his running around with a x ray machine chasing a buck. Good luck to the guy.. he Obviously a film called "The Pursuit of Happyness" is going to be provocative, especially as we see so little of the man's inner journey, and so much of his running around with a x ray machine chasing a buck. Good luck to the guy.. he had to put food on the table and provide for his son under difficult circumstances. But what happened to him when he got rich? Who is this man and why should we care as long as we dont get to find out anything about him other than the fact that he is a real tryer. Is it too much to ask? I mean, i don't want to accuse the film of being shallow or anything. You don't have to get into politics or ideological whatnot to wonder what on earth was the point of the movie. Or maybe you do. For a second i thought the film itself was actually mocking him when his son told him that joke...knock knock.. who's there?.. nobody.. nobody who?.. (silence). When his wife walks out on him, all he has to say is "YOU ARE SO WEAK!". And off she goes. So does he think he is "strong" and if so, how does it make him feel to have to go through all this pride swallowing, dignity sapping stuff day after day? Who the hell is this guy and does he have anything to say? How did he run his company after all this? Was he a good boss and a good man to work for? etc etc Will there be a part 2 or will we never get the chance to find out. Alas, this film goes no further. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FantasyDec 15, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] I absolutely love Will Smith as an actor and I still do. But this is one very dark and depressing movie that has as many holes as swiss cheese regurgitating throughout the very long tedious depressing ordeal. Basically, Will [***SPOILERS***] I absolutely love Will Smith as an actor and I still do. But this is one very dark and depressing movie that has as many holes as swiss cheese regurgitating throughout the very long tedious depressing ordeal. Basically, Will Smith faces adverstity followed by more adversity followed by more adversity and so on. How long can an audience stay focused on only bad things without a ray of light at the end of the dark tunnel. But in the end the predictable happy ending lasts less than a nano second leaving the audience totally empty. There isn't even a glimpse of the good times other than a couple of sentences at the conclusion of the movie. As for the cast of characters there are really only three, Will, his wife, and his absolutely adorable real life son. If you are going to the movies for some holiday cheer you won't find any in this so-so depressing story. Bah Humbug! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AgnesDec 16, 2006
I have to disagree with Mitch as it shows America's preoccupation only with itself and cares nothing for the less fortunate people of our wonderful country. Instead of focussing on just Will Smith take a look around at all the I have to disagree with Mitch as it shows America's preoccupation only with itself and cares nothing for the less fortunate people of our wonderful country. Instead of focussing on just Will Smith take a look around at all the impoverished people with no chance of climbing the ladder to success. As for the story itself there is no joy just a paradox of a confused man taking a job without pay at the cost of his marriage and the welfare of his son. It predictably turns out okay but it is ridiculous to even suggest that a trainee would be allowed to call on a CEO without the account being turned over to a Senior Executive. All these trainees do is cold call for the existing stockbroker, a fact that was not even mentioned in this depressing exaggerated movie. Yes, its a real tear jerker without even giving the audience a glimpse of the HappYness that is to come after getting the job. Not my cup of tea at all. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
stuartDec 17, 2006
Money = happiness bull. Nice TV movie - hollow, pleasant enough, good acting. But the entire movie has no basis in reality. More capitalistic propaganda. Sorry not worth the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SidiotDec 17, 2006
Will Smith is a great likeable actor. In this fick his real life son makes his acting debut and you will love him to pieces. But this alone does not make a good movie. To the contrary, it is moronic film, very ameteurish, and not even Will Smith is a great likeable actor. In this fick his real life son makes his acting debut and you will love him to pieces. But this alone does not make a good movie. To the contrary, it is moronic film, very ameteurish, and not even believable. Will Smith shows poor judgment time and time again. He uses his life savings to buy and then resell medical equipment which is overpriced and outdated. The only characters of note are his angry wife, adorable son and the token rich white people whose characters are never developed except that they smile a lot and take their money for granted. The black community is a poor downtrodden group that is totally dependent on hand outs for their very survival. Will Smith gets a vapor lock and decides that he wants to apply for a one in 20 trainee job at Dean Witter. He has no formal college education and his sales expeience and investment advice is already on display as being very poor with his X-ray machine. For the next two hours he has snow shoveled on him from every conceivable angle until it consumes him in an avalanche. This movie is as depressing as can be and never explains why anyone would take a trainee job that doesn't guarantee a position and does not offer any type of compensation. A normal human being in Will Smith's position would never accept the job at the cost of his marriage or the safety of his family but that is exactly what he does. It portrays the nice folks at Dean Witter as rich buffoons who care nothing about others. Would anyone in human resources offer a trainee job without pay to a non college graduate without sales experience and no way to pay his bills? Would Dean Witter let a cold calling trainee go see a CEO of a major pension fund without a Senior Executive? Better yet would a CEO buy from a trainee without any experience or clientele in the first place? But this is some of the hogwash they try to push down the viewers the throat and some of you by your reviews buy into this dribble without even using the brain in your head. As for the predictable ending it is a huge letdown. Quite frankly this is terribly written and directed even if it is partially based on a true story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AnthonyDec 22, 2006
This movie, while having some good moments was the worst of both worlds. I don't mind a serious, tough, painful movie that is realistic-- the type generaly reserved for independent films. I also don't mind a silly, unrealistic This movie, while having some good moments was the worst of both worlds. I don't mind a serious, tough, painful movie that is realistic-- the type generaly reserved for independent films. I also don't mind a silly, unrealistic Hollywood film. This was neither, and both. It had all the pain of a realistic film but with a completely unrealistic ending (even though, apparently, it happened for one person). Hundreds of characters in the movie are living desparate and miserably lives in poverty; others are living large, completely uneffected and uninterested in the others. But we are all supposed to be happy and feel great because one guy got lucky and out of poverty. At the end of the movie I might have been slightly pleased for Smith's character's luck, but what about everyone else? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KingChadDec 17, 2006
Two hours of mind blowing can you dump on me even more PLEASE. So Hollywood! It was so boring and depressing as we never even got to know the characters and the plot is too ridiculous to take seriously. Will was real smart to sell outdated Two hours of mind blowing can you dump on me even more PLEASE. So Hollywood! It was so boring and depressing as we never even got to know the characters and the plot is too ridiculous to take seriously. Will was real smart to sell outdated and expensive medical equipment that he has no formal training in and then takes a non paying trainee job in a market where only 5% succeed while he throws his hardworking wife under the bus. Gee, she must have been very bad to leave a loser like Will. Yes, Will you were very smart indeed to scar your wife and children for life. Give me a break. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful