The Raid 2 Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Following immediately after the events of The Raid, Ram (Iko Uwais) is forced to reinvent himself as an undercover cop in order to provide protection for his wife and child. Working for the anti-corruption taskforce led by the one person he can trust, Bunawar, he is given a mission to engage himself as an enforcer for a local mob boss, Bangun. Finding a way in through Bangun's son Uco, Rama must hunt for information linking Bangun with police force corruption. All the while, he harbors a dangerous and personal vendetta for revenge and justice that threatens to consume him- and bring both this mission and the organized crime syndicates crashing down. [Sony Pictures Classics] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 3, 2014
    100
    Evans pays careful attention to atmosphere, while giving wide berth to cinematographers Dimas Imam Subhono and Matt Flannery, who find beauty among the mayhem. Everything on screen is crystal clear and vibrant, like a city street right after the rain.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 10, 2014
    88
    Wow. For those with strong constitutions, The Raid 2 offers one of the most intense motion picture experiences available; it may also be the most violent movie ever to be released into theaters.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 26, 2014
    83
    The Raid 2 will make you feel like Christmas came nine months early. Some action sequels don't know when to say when. But here's one where too much is just the right amount.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 26, 2014
    75
    Those with a high tolerance for violence and gore — at one point, Rama battles assassins labeled “Baseball Bat Man’’ and “Hammer Girl’’ simultaneously — will eat up The Raid 2.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 27, 2014
    70
    Much as I enjoyed watching most of it, I was deeply grateful when it was over and feel no strong desire to see the inevitable “Raid 3.”
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 10, 2014
    63
    The plot is murky, the acting is melodramatic and the movie is way too long, but the target audience will salivate over the inventively choreographed set-pieces.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 27, 2014
    40
    For better or worse, the blood and bone-crunching remains most prominent.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    The fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazing theater experience with everyone reacting to every breaking bone, and cheers for every perfectly executed and choreographed fight scene. I really wouldn’t want to spoil anyone’s chance at seeing any of these fights fresh. But that hallway. Oh man that hallway. The beautiful choreography shows off the mastery of everyone involved. The visual effects soaked the audience in blood after the choreography severed our spines. This movie will kick your ass and leave you breathless. If the Raid took action back to basics, The Raid 2 beats the basics to death with a hammer. Gareth Evans seems to be calling out names and taking attendance. Hollywood needs to get on this mans level. A compelling cast. Excruciating fights. A narrative that leaves the audience in complete suspense. The Raid 2 is one you need to see. Collapse
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    Every punch, kick, stab, hit, cut, throw, slam and more are delivered with detail, eye-opening gore and such precision its startling. This movie is not for the weak stomached, it is brutal and unrelenting in its fight sequences. The story was engaging from the get go with many different characters (e.g. Hammer Girl & Baseball Bat Man) to keep you hooked, all of which acted extremely well for their roles. The fighting in this movie is like no other, I can assure you of that. From the beginning of the film to the very end I could not believe how perfect each hit connected and was countered, most of which ended up in a bloody mess, and I loved it! If you love action films with a lot of fighting and gore, this movie is as close to perfect as you can get. Expand
  3. May 23, 2014
    10
    in a really long time, i never seen a action movie done this perfectly, specially a action sequel! Gareth Evans is one of the only directors who can pull that off and... oh my god! what a incredible sequel! it's 150 minutes of mind blowing fight scenes with a fantastic story line, great characters, great acting, amazing pacing, gorgeous cinematography and a finale that took my breath away! "The Raid 2" outdoes the first movie in ever way, shape or form. the way the fight scenes are executed and choreographed were crazy! cause usually, in action movies, the fight scenes are good at first, but then they get repetitive and boring. that NEVER happens in "The Raid 2". every single fight scene gets better and better and better as the movie goes on, making it one of the greatest action movies ever made in the history of movies! also, "The Raid 1" - even though it was fantastic - didn't have much of a plot or character development. on the other hand, "The Raid 2" actually has a fantastic story with a really well-written script by Gareth Evans (god bless you, Gareth!). the characters are a lot more developed this time - which means you care about Rama even more - the dialogue's better and the acting's a lot better. every actor brings his greatest performance in this movie, especially Iko Uwais. the fight scenes... oh my god! it's so damn hard for me to get this amazing fight scenes outta my head. "The Raid 2" was absolutely amazing and mind blowing! it's been such a long time that we've ever seen a action sequel done this perfectly. so if you haven't seen it, do yourself a favor and go watch it! Gareth Evans, thanks for everything!
    10/10
    Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    Wow wow wow. I was a big fan of the original and couldn't wait for this release. I felt that it topped the original. A big factor were the beautiful visuals, much less possible in the limited dinginess of the first locale, set in a tenement. The fight scenes here are incredibly choreographed and filmed. The feeling I had leaving the theater was that I had ridden the scariest roller coaster in the world 50 times in a row. Highly recommended for action aficionados but this movie is not for the squeamish. I had to cover my eyes for one particularly sadistic scene and I can watch most horror movies without batting an eye. Enjoy the ride! Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    Aiming for "Most Skulls Bashed in a Movie" award, The Raid 2: Berandal unapologetically yet creatively delivers painful display of utter violence. Fights are blazing, choreographed with such precision that each death-inducing blow produces an impact across the cinema. Gareth Evans conducts a cinematic plays stringed by excessive bloodbath, his visions might be over-the-top, but they will leave both fans of the action genre and casual audience cringe breathlessly.

    The prequel had some poor unintentionally funny dialogues, even more so if one understood Indonesian. For this movie, the script has been polished and scenes are constructed more consistently. Granted, it's still troubled by some setbacks of usual action movies', but there are more engaging and personal lines to be had. Acting is improved with the addition of Arifin Putra as Uco, the son of mafia boss who is eager to prove himself. The character is ruthless in his actions and also passionately fueled by ambition and greed, Arifin Putra portrays it well with a hint of doubt or maybe even guilt.

    Alex Abbad as Bejo is quite harrowing despite his disability. There's a disturbing untrustworthy feel surrounding the character, the fact that he has legion of assassins make him more treacherous. This army of assassins almost seemingly pops out of some Japanese anime, akin to what inspired Kill Bill's or Matrix's. Among them there are not many that stands out in acting department, what makes them memorable are their choice of weapons and the body count they pile with them. A visually impaired girl swinging double hammers in a subway, that's gold.

    Iko Uwais as the leading protagonist performs respectably. He's a man with good ideology and equal ill fate; it's easy to sympathize for his cause. He has done a good job playing a difficult role, but his strength lies in the action sequences. To say that the battles are brutal is an understatement; these warriors unleash pure mayhem on each other. Every broken bones and limbs are executed with much gusto, blood sprayed from all angles, this may very well be the most brutal thing one can see on cinema.

    Cinematography is splendid, it's apparent that Gareth Evans was motivated by many Hollywood movies. Scenes are slick, utilizing different camera angles for best view of the action and often time follow it in continuous shot. The cameras seem almost glued to the characters as they rush and rip each other apart, yet they will pan or zoom out just in the right moment for the audience to appreciate the intricacy of the movie's complex action choreography. Its particular car chase scene takes the viewer swirling through the vehicles astoundingly; it's the best chase scene since The Matrix Reloaded.

    The Raid 2: Berandal has refined the plot from the prequel and in terms of sheer action carnage none can rival it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    Much better than the first movie, I mean a lot seriously. Many people liked the first, but I was not because it was not my type. There was no story in it, but a game style of presentation which focused mainly on stunts and I had seen better than that. For a sequel to that, I mean this movie was no chance to complain about in any level. The story, stunts, performances, direction all were top notch and easily can surpass to grab the title for 'this year's best martial art/stunt movie'. I had no expectations before a watch and after a watch got so excited for having it.

    After completing somewhat a successful rescue mission that took place in a tenement run by a ruthless gangster, now Rama is assigned to a new undercover operation. Temporarily says goodbye to his regular life and to his wife. To get in a position it takes months of hard work and he successfully makes into one of the members of the gang that he's after. Soon the ideas vary like to initiate new techniques to rule the underworld makes crack within the mob family. So the clash happens randomly to take over the top position from one another. In between the cop's role and the final stand brings the result to this story with plenty of awesome stunt sequences.

    Worth to spend our time for this 150 minute long movie, especially if you are the greatest fan of the mixed martial arts then you got a solid reason to go for this. For every 10-15 minutes there is one stunt sequence, all I can say is it was very well patterned in a decent story. Yes, the story was not a brand new, it was what we have already seen many times in the Japanese Yakuza, Hollywood, European et cetera undercover cop stories. But to see the new cast from the new region of the earth's surface it was fantastic. I have not seen many Indonesian movies, so probably this could be the best movies from there to the international standards. This country should take cues from this movie to make consistent from now on like what Tony Jaa's movies did for Thai movies.

    ‘‘We may be after the same thing...
    ...But I'm not going to follow the path as you to get there.’’

    Regarding the undercover cop theme, the lead character Rama was not the superior, but individually, many characters had produced incredible equality by exhibiting breathtaking stunt skills. Truly to say Rama vanishes in between all these guys. He's used only for the opening and the end portions, that's it. So that means this movie is beyond his presence that will definitely surprise the viewers. The gore was very strong, focused too deep details like ripping skin, breaking bones, smashing heads, hammering. Definitely there is going to be another sequel and my expectations rose high for that. There should be no 'I missed it' or 'not seen yet' in the mouths of movie fanatics because it is a must see.
    Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I personally was very disappointed with the raid 2.
    Ok the violence is impressive, sort of I suppose, but in 2 as opposed to 1 where it was over the top it still made you want to stay on the side of what you allow or forgive the film for, because it was exciting and tense and the film has you on it's side cheering along in a thrilling roller-coaster ride.
    In 2 the violence is comical in parts( It took 20 men 2 minutes to break a flimsy toilet lock! I mean WTF was that about? The plot is like watching paint dry and is all over the place. Instead of an original exciting film like the raid you get a second rate crime thriller with very few thrills and really bad dialogue and acting.
    The film was too big for all concerned and is an obvious cash in on the raid which was a genuine classic little gem of a film.
    People who are giving this film high marks are kidding themselves.
    Sure if you liked the action of the raid you'll like the action here though it doesn't fit to any plot really, that's if there was a plot but personally I wanted another original thrill ride where all I got was Cliqued silly nonsense with some good action scenes if you took them for what they were, they certainly don't serve the plot as the plot ( laughable ) is only there to serve up the action which is the wrong way round if you want to make great cinema.
    Think of The Hostel and the Hostel 2 and you'll get what I mean by the raid and the raid 2.
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews