The Raid 2

The Raid 2 Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 306 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Following immediately after the events of The Raid, Ram (Iko Uwais) is forced to reinvent himself as an undercover cop in order to provide protection for his wife and child. Working for the anti-corruption taskforce led by the one person he can trust, Bunawar, he is given a mission to engageFollowing immediately after the events of The Raid, Ram (Iko Uwais) is forced to reinvent himself as an undercover cop in order to provide protection for his wife and child. Working for the anti-corruption taskforce led by the one person he can trust, Bunawar, he is given a mission to engage himself as an enforcer for a local mob boss, Bangun. Finding a way in through Bangun's son Uco, Rama must hunt for information linking Bangun with police force corruption. All the while, he harbors a dangerous and personal vendetta for revenge and justice that threatens to consume him- and bring both this mission and the organized crime syndicates crashing down. [Sony Pictures Classics] Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 3, 2014
    100
    Evans pays careful attention to atmosphere, while giving wide berth to cinematographers Dimas Imam Subhono and Matt Flannery, who find beauty among the mayhem. Everything on screen is crystal clear and vibrant, like a city street right after the rain.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 10, 2014
    88
    Wow. For those with strong constitutions, The Raid 2 offers one of the most intense motion picture experiences available; it may also be the most violent movie ever to be released into theaters.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 26, 2014
    83
    The Raid 2 will make you feel like Christmas came nine months early. Some action sequels don't know when to say when. But here's one where too much is just the right amount.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 26, 2014
    75
    Those with a high tolerance for violence and gore — at one point, Rama battles assassins labeled “Baseball Bat Man’’ and “Hammer Girl’’ simultaneously — will eat up The Raid 2.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 27, 2014
    70
    Much as I enjoyed watching most of it, I was deeply grateful when it was over and feel no strong desire to see the inevitable “Raid 3.”
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 10, 2014
    63
    The plot is murky, the acting is melodramatic and the movie is way too long, but the target audience will salivate over the inventively choreographed set-pieces.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 27, 2014
    40
    For better or worse, the blood and bone-crunching remains most prominent.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 58
  2. Negative: 2 out of 58
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    The fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazingThe fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazing theater experience with everyone reacting to every breaking bone, and cheers for every perfectly executed and choreographed fight scene. I really wouldn’t want to spoil anyone’s chance at seeing any of these fights fresh. But that hallway. Oh man that hallway. The beautiful choreography shows off the mastery of everyone involved. The visual effects soaked the audience in blood after the choreography severed our spines. This movie will kick your ass and leave you breathless. If the Raid took action back to basics, The Raid 2 beats the basics to death with a hammer. Gareth Evans seems to be calling out names and taking attendance. Hollywood needs to get on this mans level. A compelling cast. Excruciating fights. A narrative that leaves the audience in complete suspense. The Raid 2 is one you need to see. Collapse
  2. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    Everything that everyone wants in a martial arts film is all jammed into this motion picture spectacular; not just raw action and over-the-topEverything that everyone wants in a martial arts film is all jammed into this motion picture spectacular; not just raw action and over-the-top gore, but a great story to add to it. Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    One of the best action films I've ever seen. The fight scenes in this film are NUTS. If you thought the first Raid was crazy, The Raid 2 upsOne of the best action films I've ever seen. The fight scenes in this film are NUTS. If you thought the first Raid was crazy, The Raid 2 ups it in every way. Iko Uwais somehow manages to become even more of a badass in some of the best filmed action I've ever witnessed. The final 45 minutes of this movie are absolutely relentless. Unlike the original Raid, there's a considerable amount of narrative heft here- Gareth Evans manages to tell a really great crime story amidst all of the crazy-ass action. The fight scenes are filmed with long, wide shots. It manages to be an entertaining-as-hell action flick, but it's also a great FILM, with solid performances, great editing, cinematography, and directing. Every action fan, or hell, movie fan needs to check out this masterpiece. It's bloody brilliant. And I mean bloody quite literally. This is one of the most violent movies I've ever seen, and I loved every second of it. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    My only complaint is that it could do with an action replay sometimes, just so I can savour those 'Oh my days' moments. This sentence isMy only complaint is that it could do with an action replay sometimes, just so I can savour those 'Oh my days' moments. This sentence is totally irrelevant. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    This movie will show you good.. bad ass.. action movie. The storyline not bother me at all.. is as simple as mafia story at least i knowThis movie will show you good.. bad ass.. action movie. The storyline not bother me at all.. is as simple as mafia story at least i know what’s going on. The fight scene OMG... if you action movie fans you should watch this Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2014
    8
    4/5★ Improves on the prequel in every way. Where Raid: Redemption had great action yet little plot or dialogue, Raid 2 is a twisted crime4/5★ Improves on the prequel in every way. Where Raid: Redemption had great action yet little plot or dialogue, Raid 2 is a twisted crime drama and action packed, with inventively brutal fight sequences that are beautifully shot and choreographed. There are Tarantinoesque touches that fans will appreciate.
    Verdict: Buckle up and enjoy.
    Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2014
    3
    The action's not as good, the story is illogical, and the movie only takes advantage of the 1st movie's appeal.Instead of making a qualityThe action's not as good, the story is illogical, and the movie only takes advantage of the 1st movie's appeal.Instead of making a quality movie, they went with more gore, and a silly story that clearly defines the good guys from the bad, because that's easier I guess. Most of the action isn't choreographed well and has characters waiting to fight one at a time just to be dismembered in an incredibly violent way. The 1st movie had a simple story that allowed for a variety of subplots. R2 has a complicated story, complicated subplots, and you won't care about any of it, or any of the characters. No one is a hero, No one is a villain, except for the really violent ones(which is everyone). Also, rather than making the fights art, they are gore. It's as if the producers heard people saying they liked when in the 1st movie, so they made a film of finales. The rest of the film is a collection of introductions to characters about to die. This guy is good, so his death matters, this one is violent and a villain, this one too. Are you happy they died? Are you sad? As a fan of the 1st movie, I'm just disappointed. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (3/21): This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday (3/21): This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 21, 2014
    Watch new trailers for The Amazing Spider-Man 2, Godzilla, The Maze Runner, Maleficent, The Giver, The Raid 2, and more, and catch up on the latest news about Star Wars 7, Ghostbusters 3, and other upcoming films.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: January 24, 2014
    Watch all of this week's new movie trailers (including new looks at The Raid 2, Blue Ruin, Bad Words, and 300: Rise of an Empire), and catch up on the latest news about upcoming projects from Quentin Tarantino and more.
  3. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2011 Image
    Published: December 20, 2011
    Looking for something to do with your iOS device over the holidays? We recap the best-reviewed iPhone and iPad games of the year.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  7. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.