Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 239 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A Swat team arrives at a rundown apartment block with a mission to remove its owner, a notorious drug lord named Tama. The building has never been raided before, never been touched by police. Seen as a no go zone it has since become a sanctuary to killers, gangs, rapists and thieves seeking accommodation in the one place they know they cannot be touched. Making their move in the break of dawn the swat team work their way up the building under cover of silence. But when a chance encounter with a spotter blows their cover and with news of their assault traveling to Tama in his penthouse suite the building is locked down with all lights out and all exits blocked. Stranded on the 6th floor the swat team must fight their way through every floor and every room not just to complete their mission but to survive. (Merantau Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    May 14, 2012
    100
    Remember your first time with Hard Boiled? Die Hard? This is how it's done - a clean, hard, constant hit of adrenalin. If it's not the best action movie of the year, we'll eat a fridge.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 29, 2012
    91
    This is the sort of film for which the phrase 'movie-movie' was coined -- and coined as a term of highest praise.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 22, 2012
    90
    It offers some of the best Asian martial-arts choreography of recent years and an electric, claustrophobic puzzle-palace atmosphere that'll leave you wrung out and buzzed.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Taking the genre to a higher level of intensity, the Welsh-born Evans continues what he started in previous Indonesia-set actioner "Merantau," but this picture will seal his cult status.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 23, 2012
    75
    The action is brutal, bloody and virtually nonstop in this adrenaline-packed riff on "Assault on Precinct 13.''
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 11, 2012
    70
    If you like martial-arts films, it's well worth your while, a non-stop orgy of brilliantly choreographed fight scenes. Eventually it's all too much, a blur of fists, blades and snapped bones that run together. Still, it's a wild ride.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 21, 2012
    25
    This film is about violence. All violence. Wall-to-wall violence. Against many of those walls, heads are pounded again and again into a pulpy mass. If I estimated the film has 10 minutes of dialogue, that would be generous.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 75
  2. Negative: 4 out of 75
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    The best action movie I've seen in years, possibly the best action movie I've ever seen. Sure the story is a bit spartan but it has enough to keep me satisfied and I think it benefits from the tight focus (same as for Gravity). Expand
  2. May 19, 2012
    10
    I can't fault this film at all. I haven't enjoyed a martial arts film this much since going to see Ong Bak years ago! Excellent fight choreography with some, at times, cringe worthy (and hilarious!) deaths, and a decent story to tie the lengthy fight scenes together. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    Its amazing some of the best martial arts I have ever seen great movie a must see for action and fight fans.
    Non stop action pretty straight
    forward story left the cinema buzzing. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Many people had told me this film is absolutely awesome, and usually I am skeptical of such hype. However having seen the film I was very entertained and very impressed.

    The story is nothing amazing but does give context as to why events are occurring. What we become mostly interested in is the survival of certain characters. And this is heightened by the solid execution of the action scenes which are just so good. At the end of each fight I was completely in awe of the precision, brutality and seeming realism depicted. As expected the most impressive fight is the last and it will not disappoint; in fact I was cheering with glee the whole time.

    If you love martial arts and love action films you will be absolutely thrilled.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2014
    8
    4/5★ If you like your action movies with more action and less story, this is the movie for you. Rough, tough and mind-numbingly, amazingly violent, The Raid is non stop adrenalin: Someone is getting hit, kicked, stabbed or shot during most of the incredibly intense fight scenes.
    There is little character development to distract from all the bloodshed; whether that's a good thing or a bad thing is up to you!
    Verdict: For the action connoisseur.
    Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    There is no genre mixing in The Raid: Redemption. Unlike films which are billed as both comedy and drama or mystery and suspense thriller, The Raid is strictly action and thatâ Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    Mindless violence for mindless chop-saki freaks.

    OK, to fill in the required 150 characters, I'll mention non-stop gratuitous violence,
    weak plot, vapid dialog dubbed into flat English, and no redeeming artistic merit. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Trailers