The Road

The Road Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on Cormac McCarthy's beloved, best-selling and Pulitzer Prize winning novel, Academy Award nominee Viggo Mortensen leads an all-star cast in the big screen adaptation of The Road, the epic post-apocalyptic tale of a journey taken by a father and his young son across a barren landscapeBased on Cormac McCarthy's beloved, best-selling and Pulitzer Prize winning novel, Academy Award nominee Viggo Mortensen leads an all-star cast in the big screen adaptation of The Road, the epic post-apocalyptic tale of a journey taken by a father and his young son across a barren landscape that was blasted by an unnamed cataclysm that destroyed civilization and most life on earth. (The Weinstein Company) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    While the film is not as resonant as the novel, it is an honorable adaptation, capturing the essence of the bond between father and son.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    80
    One of the most chillingly effective visions of the world’s end ever put on screen -- and a heart-rending study of parenthood, to boot.
  3. 80
    It is compellingly enervating and a marvel in the filmmaking process.
  4. 70
    Engrossing and at times impressive, a pretty good movie that is disappointing to the extent that it could have been great. Is this the way the world ends? With polite applause?
  5. 67
    Aas grim as The Road gets, Hillcoat goes a little soft at the wrong time. Someone like Michael Haneke would have no trouble embracing this material’s uncompromising dreariness.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    63
    Everything about the film is a welcome rebuke to the happy-face apocalypse of “2012,’’ a movie that turns mass extinction into the Greatest Show on Earth. In The Road, what has been lost is recognized as infinitely precious; what’s left is bitter and our due.
  7. 30
    Pale by comparison to an action thriller like "Children of Men" or gross out eco-catastrophe like "Land of the Dead," squandering its ready-made zombie scenario.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 98
  2. Negative: 9 out of 98
  1. May 26, 2013
    10
    What an amazing movie, I really felt for the characters, A good movie like this doesn't come around often enough. I would go as far to sayWhat an amazing movie, I really felt for the characters, A good movie like this doesn't come around often enough. I would go as far to say this is in MY top 5 movies of all time. Collapse
  2. PaulD
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    An amazing story. Any father or son needs to see this.
  3. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Cormac McCarthy's adapted novel "The Road" is powerful story telling in some sort of Biblical way. Viggo Mortensen gives a performance of aCormac McCarthy's adapted novel "The Road" is powerful story telling in some sort of Biblical way. Viggo Mortensen gives a performance of a lifetime. I'm surprised that this film didn't get more recognition from the Academy as CM's other novel No Country For Old Men did. Like NCFOM The Road is filled with underlying meaning and themes that can be discussed long after the credits are done. Expand
  4. Antwianf.
    Mar 28, 2010
    8
    Viggo goes from albino alligator to history of violence to aww(i must take care of my son) he's all i got and vice versa in this mean Viggo goes from albino alligator to history of violence to aww(i must take care of my son) he's all i got and vice versa in this mean world. great acting job on his part as i agree, the movie had no action really and was kinda slow but I'd atch it again. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    As someone who has not read the novel, I was extremely impressed by John Hillcoat's work. It effectively portrays the unending love betweenAs someone who has not read the novel, I was extremely impressed by John Hillcoat's work. It effectively portrays the unending love between father and son in a world where there is no room for emotion, and even provoked thoughts of my relationship with my own father. Visually and audibly the film thrives. Muted colours and the use of silence create a depressing atmosphere whilst retaining a tangible tension. Mortensen's portrayal as the paternal figure who refuses to give up really carries the piece! However, I found 'The Road' a touch too slow at times and a repetitive formula seemed to occur-stop, scavenge, sleep... If you are only looking for a graphic, action packed film where everyone is armed and no one thinks twice about killing, 'The Road' is not for you. If you are looking for something moving and more subtle, with greater underlying issues about mortality, give this film a go! Expand
  6. BennyM
    Dec 24, 2009
    6
    Well crafted film overall but a bit choppy at certain points and some unexplainable character shifts. Viggo Mortensens acting itself was Well crafted film overall but a bit choppy at certain points and some unexplainable character shifts. Viggo Mortensens acting itself was great but the film failed to properly demonstrate his progression. The sons acting was a bit stale but Robert Duvall stole much of the show in a very well done scene. Weak, depressing themes stressed too much over actual substance. Expand
  7. KevinR
    Nov 27, 2009
    0
    Utterly unbearable and not because it's grim. It pastes together every post-apocalyptic cliche into a directionless mishmash. The Utterly unbearable and not because it's grim. It pastes together every post-apocalyptic cliche into a directionless mishmash. The dialogue is worn and tired when it isn't downright stupid. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: November 3, 2010
    Friday's new comedy "Due Date" is only the latest example of one of Hollywood's favorite genres. Join us as we journey through three decades of road movies, from "Vacation" to "Sideways."
  2. The 21 Best Sports Movies of the Century, Ranked

    The 21 Best Sports Movies of the Century, Ranked Image
    Published: June 9, 2016
    We use rank the top sports films from the 21st century based on Metascores.
  3. Film Friday (4/8): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (4/8): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: April 8, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, The BFG, Neighbors 2, David Brent: Life on the Road, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. 2016 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show

    2016 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show Image
    Published: February 28, 2016
    Find a complete list of winners at the 88th Annual Academy Awards, plus reviews of the broadcast from TV critics. We also reveal which experts and users had the most accurate Oscar predictions.