FilmDistrict | Release Date: October 28, 2011
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 116 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
48
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
TVJerryOct 31, 2011
Johnny Depp literally discovered this unpublished Hunter S. Thompson novel, so he produced the movie and stars as the "young" writer. When he gets a job for a newspaper in '60s Puerto Rico, his life becomes a lame version of a Hunter S.Johnny Depp literally discovered this unpublished Hunter S. Thompson novel, so he produced the movie and stars as the "young" writer. When he gets a job for a newspaper in '60s Puerto Rico, his life becomes a lame version of a Hunter S. Thompson adventure: mildly weird characters, mediocre substance-fuelled situations and weak personal frustration. Unfortunately, most of this is drab and uninspired, so the film falls flat. Did I mention that Depp is probably 20 years older than the character should be? Of interest only to fans of the author. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
acquiredtastesOct 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't say that I didn't like the movie, however, I can say that it also wasn't what I expected. I expected a better story and I suppose the director was limited by the screenplay and the original story that they wanted to tell from the book. I think that I may have enjoyed the book more for the "no doubt" description of the characters and situations. Having said all that I just loved Amber Heard ( she is one beautiful girl ) and enjoyed Johnny's performance. They had some nice chemistry between them that wasn't used to good advantage. I think that the movie would have been better if they had more Amber and Johnny scenes. In fact, I would have re-written the final scene with Johnny sailing off and then cut to him knocking on Amber's door in NYC and them looking soulfully and lustily at one another. Then, I would have mentioned that he'd married Amber in the typed aftermath. Perhaps, in the end, I am just a hopeless romantic at times? I think really that the movie would have been so much better with more of that relationship as it was quite pivotal (to me anyway) in many respects.

I'm trying to figure out, if I came up with a more satisfactory ending why couldn't they have thought of it? In effect, it was stated in the written aftermath that they (Johnny and Amber) got together. I don't believe that this will be a good moneymaker and even on an artistic level, it doesn't quite make it although the sleazy flatmates of the Johnny character were quite naturally repulsive losers with foul body odour as well as exuding an alcoholic musk too, no doubt. However, Paul Rispoli's character wanting to get to Mexico sounded good. I also wonder why the final credits didn't update us on their fates etc.? Too may loose ends that would have helped the picture. I wonder why the director missed some wonderful opportunities to make a more entertaining picture by still remaining true to the book? Oh well,it was still acceptable but should have been so much better!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
gfnyOct 28, 2011
A two hour movie sprinkled with comedy, lots of dialogue, little action. While the movie is mildly entertaining the plot leaves you wondering what the hell was that. There are also several scenes of animal cruelty in the film and because ofA two hour movie sprinkled with comedy, lots of dialogue, little action. While the movie is mildly entertaining the plot leaves you wondering what the hell was that. There are also several scenes of animal cruelty in the film and because of that I am sorry I had to witness it. I do not recommend this film. I should have seen the new Justin Timerlake film TIME instead. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
marclawrence66Mar 18, 2012
Trailer was edited very sneakily. Made to look something it is not. Very disappointing film & makes Depp look a weaker actor than he is. Cant make up its mind if its a comedy or something else. If a biopic, I think it misses the mark by someTrailer was edited very sneakily. Made to look something it is not. Very disappointing film & makes Depp look a weaker actor than he is. Cant make up its mind if its a comedy or something else. If a biopic, I think it misses the mark by some way. A few good scenes, but never really takes off & aside from the back drop of Puerto Rico to add a sense of glamour, it sadly left this viewer somewhat underwhelmed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviekretikNov 3, 2011
"The Rum Diary" was originally a novella from the twisted mind of Hunter S. Thompson an eccentric journalist and novelist who in addition to smoking, snorting, injecting, drinking every drug, alcohol and carcinogen known to man, managed to"The Rum Diary" was originally a novella from the twisted mind of Hunter S. Thompson an eccentric journalist and novelist who in addition to smoking, snorting, injecting, drinking every drug, alcohol and carcinogen known to man, managed to change the face of journalism by calling it as he sees it. His writing can repel and enchant with equal measure and has a breakneck spontaneity which is rivaled by its frazzled incoherency. Incoherency would be the best word to describe this film. The story lacks any kind of focus jumping from a love story, a corrupt land deal, drunken antics, workplace politics and racial tensions. Watching "The Rum Diary" was liking talking to a drunk grad student; little flashes of genius may linger but after what seems like four hours you realize you're talking to a drunken idiot and looking for the door. Overall the film is a captivating look into a fascinating and flawed character in a unique time and place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DMB4SheZNov 10, 2011
I guarantee you will laugh at this movie, I can't guarantee you will walk out satisfied. Great acting jobs all around by everyone involved. My problem was that the story didn't go anywhere. There is so much built up early in the movie thatI guarantee you will laugh at this movie, I can't guarantee you will walk out satisfied. Great acting jobs all around by everyone involved. My problem was that the story didn't go anywhere. There is so much built up early in the movie that doesn't matter at the end. Then there are issues you want to see evolve that are tossed aside or resolved off screen. I was just left with a "Meh..." feeling when I walked out of the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Apemonkey666Aug 18, 2012
Yes, it's based on a novel by Hunter S. Thompson but don't expect the movie to be anything like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. It's rather slow, has lots of seemingly useless scenes and althogether there's not much happening...One of Depp'sYes, it's based on a novel by Hunter S. Thompson but don't expect the movie to be anything like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. It's rather slow, has lots of seemingly useless scenes and althogether there's not much happening...One of Depp's pet projects but they didn't realy have to make it into a film and you realy don't need to see it. Move along, these aren't the stories you're looking for ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SaraSurgoFeb 18, 2013
The Rum Diary, based on a novel by Hunter S. Thompson, is definitely an homage to Thompson. Gonzo followers will find it a must-see. Having read the book a few years ago, I was looking forward to the movie. Depp, although expectedly cast, didThe Rum Diary, based on a novel by Hunter S. Thompson, is definitely an homage to Thompson. Gonzo followers will find it a must-see. Having read the book a few years ago, I was looking forward to the movie. Depp, although expectedly cast, did fit well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"The Rum Diary" 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

The Good: Zany and outlandish, "The Rum Diary" is entertaining from start to finish. Just like in "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas", Depp plays a character who is essentially Hunter S.
"The Rum Diary" 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

The Good: Zany and outlandish, "The Rum Diary" is entertaining from start to finish. Just like in "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas", Depp plays a character who is essentially Hunter S. Thompson himself and pulls it off with ease.

The Bad: Even though you expect it from a movie like this, it seems to lack a plot at all and at times is flat out random. Like I said, it was entertaining ... but ... not an instant classic or remotely deep.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews