The Savages

The Savages Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Savages is an irreverent look at family, love and mortality as seen through the lens of one of modern life’s most bewildering and challenging experiences: when adult siblings find themselves plucked from their everyday, self-centered lives to care for an estranged elderly parent. (FoxThe Savages is an irreverent look at family, love and mortality as seen through the lens of one of modern life’s most bewildering and challenging experiences: when adult siblings find themselves plucked from their everyday, self-centered lives to care for an estranged elderly parent. (Fox Searchlight) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. The Savages is terrific -- a movie of uncommon appreciation for the nature and nurture that go into making us who we are, a perfectly calibrated drama both compassionate and unsentimental.
  2. 90
    What makes the movie memorable is the precision of its tone, its finely calibrated combination of bitterness and warmth. Of course the acting is tremendous, and you'd expect nothing less.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Jenkins brings a rigor, intelligence and eye for the slightly absurd to the proceedings that is instantly disarming.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    88
    Smartly written and beautifully played, The Savages is about that point in life where you look around and realize that where you are is probably as far as you're going to get. In spite of this, the movie's a comedy, dry and humane.
  5. A darkly funny journey about life ticking by and the change to make wrongs right.
  6. I can't begin to count the ways in which The Savages pleased me, but the very best of them is the way Tamara Jenkins's comedy stays tough while sneakily turning tender.
  7. 75
    The film has a dreary, worn quality; much of it is set in winter in Buffalo, N.Y., after all. You know before long that the best you can hope for is that these folks won't kill each other or themselves.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. AdamV.
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    One of my favorite movies..it's a comedy that actually has emotion..(which is something some of the film community lacks nowadays) One of my favorite movies..it's a comedy that actually has emotion..(which is something some of the film community lacks nowadays) ..Laura Linney and Phillip Seymour Hoffman give tremendous preformences and their chemistry on the screen just works...Philip Bosco is also a breath of fresh air as their hostile father put into a retirement home...i just love this movie Expand
  2. danielw
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Pitch-perfect screenplay, and three performances to die for. Though Hoffman and Linney have received a lot of well-deserved credit, Bosco, Pitch-perfect screenplay, and three performances to die for. Though Hoffman and Linney have received a lot of well-deserved credit, Bosco, playing the father, is their equal in every scene they share. Not always an easy movie to watch, but the characters will linger with you well after the credits roll. Expand
  3. EvanS.
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    The leads played their roles extremely well and even with the grit and misfortune among the characters (making for more than a few wince The leads played their roles extremely well and even with the grit and misfortune among the characters (making for more than a few wince inducing moments) it felt real and the filmmaker gets the laughs honestly. With an ending that could be perceived as sentimental and feel-good, it's most deserved. An amazing movie - it's hard to believe that an American filmmaker can do this. Expand
  4. AlanS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    7
    An interesting exploration of the issues that arise from broken families and aging parents. While it was a "good" film I had a hard time An interesting exploration of the issues that arise from broken families and aging parents. While it was a "good" film I had a hard time totally losing myself in the story. It had the feel of a play that could have been done on stage in limbo lightin...(read more)g. The characters are supposed to be smart and funny but a lot of the dialogue sounded like quirky snippets of "meaningful" or "sharp" quips you get in plays that are not written by Allen, Mamet or Miller. Well, maybe Mamet. PSH does his best "I can shuffle around, unshaven and deliver dialogue without moving my lips" work. And Linney looks better than ever doing the nervous bird bit. While the cast does fine work, I was a bit put off by the casting of almost every character. Having said all that, The Savages is a worthy entry into the "dysfunctional family-modern people who can't manage relationships" genre. Despite its problems, I laughed and cried. The eggs made me sad.... you'd have to see it to understand. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2011
    7
    A dark, bleak look at dealing with an aging parent. Hoffman and Linny do their best with writing so charmless that it actually elevates them,A dark, bleak look at dealing with an aging parent. Hoffman and Linny do their best with writing so charmless that it actually elevates them, or should I say affirms them at the head of their class in an acting world filled with "movie stars." The moments are more thought-provoking than funny. It's wintertime in Buffalo, NY and there isn't a ray of sunshine or a cookie to be eaten. The deck is seemingly so stacked that you have to laugh at the odds against our hero's tired, yet striving, souls. Expand
  6. ET.
    Dec 3, 2007
    6
    It was good -- but not great. a little slow / boring in the second act.
  7. CydneyB.
    Dec 22, 2007
    2
    This film was one of the worst I've ever seen... bleak, depressing, boring, interminable. The 2 cute quips in the trailer are all you This film was one of the worst I've ever seen... bleak, depressing, boring, interminable. The 2 cute quips in the trailer are all you get ... Linney's a pathetic whiner, Hoffman is perfect but the character so flawed you don't give a damn, and I'd have let the father rot in the nursing home w/o a second thought. Yuk. Collapse

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.
  2. 2016 Music Preview: 100+ Notable Upcoming Albums

    2016 Music Preview: 100+ Notable Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: January 18, 2016
    Get details on over 100 noteworthy albums expected to arrive in 2016, including releases from Kanye West, Savages, LCD Soundsystem, Radiohead, M83, Underworld, Animal Collective, Sia, Run the Jewels, Weezer, PJ Harvey, and more.
  3. Music Monday (11/23): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (11/23): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: November 23, 2015
    Our guide to this week's (and last week's) album releases also features the week's top new music videos from artists like David Bowie, CHVRCHES, and Panda Bear, plus brand new streaming music from Savages, Junior Boys, EMA, and more.
  4. Music Monday (10/26): This Week's New Albums + Videos

    Music Monday (10/26): This Week's New Albums + Videos Image
    Published: October 26, 2015
    Our guide to this week's (and last week's) album releases also features the week's top new music videos from artists like Adele, Savages, and Run the Jewels, plus brand new streaming music from Puscifer, Wolf Eyes, Junior Boys, Weezer, and more.
  5. Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos

    Music Monday: This Week's New Albums and Videos Image
    Published: January 20, 2014
    Find details on this week's album releases, stream new music from artists such as Phantogram, Liars, Hospitality, and James Blake, catch up on the week's music news, and watch the latest music videos (from Damon Albarn, Savages, Disclosure, and more).