Warner Independent Pictures (WIP) | Release Date: September 22, 2006
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 88 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
67
Mixed:
14
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
avatar16Apr 13, 2012
Il est très difficile d'entrée dans la tête de ces rêveurs, aussi bien dans celle du personnage principal que celle du réalisateur Michel Gondry. Et pour cause, leIl est très difficile d'entrée dans la tête de ces rêveurs, aussi bien dans celle du personnage principal que celle du réalisateur Michel Gondry. Et pour cause, le réalisateur français s'est emparé d'une banale histoire d'amour et l'a transformée en une sorte de trip en carton de pâte que seul un enfant pourrait imaginer (et encore!). Pour les personnes qui ne sont pas habituées à ce genre de cinéma (comme moi), il est difficile d'y trouver son bonheur. Il faut que l'on reconnaisse la qualité du casting, de la mise en scène et des effets spéciaux simplistes mais qui offrent au film un certain charme. Mais difficile d'apprécier pleinement ce film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MattAOct 9, 2006
Gael Garcia Bernal and Alain Chabat were both great (especially Bernal who is easily one of the best actors of his generation), but as good as a director as Gondry is, his writing leaves a lot to be desired. Also, Gainsbourg and Bernal had Gael Garcia Bernal and Alain Chabat were both great (especially Bernal who is easily one of the best actors of his generation), but as good as a director as Gondry is, his writing leaves a lot to be desired. Also, Gainsbourg and Bernal had no chemistry. I just didn't buy the love story and really, that is at the heart of the film. A huge disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
G.M.Oct 20, 2006
I appreciate art, and film, but really, come on people... I think the writer is trying way too hard to be "artsy." The story didn't go anywhere. But it sure pushed me out of the theatre after an agonizing 40 minutes. I'm sorry I wasted $9.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LauraD.Dec 23, 2006
However wonderfull Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind was, however truly agonising this piece of work is. It's semi-artistic, using theatremethods to make it come across as a highly sensitive, thought-trough arty movie. Well it However wonderfull Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind was, however truly agonising this piece of work is. It's semi-artistic, using theatremethods to make it come across as a highly sensitive, thought-trough arty movie. Well it isn't. Their is no message on a deeper level and the concept of the 'imaginary dreamworld' is a mockery. However if you'd like to be addressed as if you were a child, this is your movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesKJul 15, 2009
The surreal aspects of the movie were fantastic and intriguing, but the main character is a self obsessed brat, which ultimately ruined what could have been an amazing piece of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnonymousMCSep 25, 2006
What "Eternal Sunshine" did with magic and whimsy, The Science of Sleep accomplishes with confusion and pretentiousness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GregoryM.Sep 27, 2006
The dream sequences are fantastic, and Gondry's direction imbues every scene with certain kiddy energy, but there is no focus to Science of Sleep. The central relationship between Bernal and Gainsbourg never develops or reaches any The dream sequences are fantastic, and Gondry's direction imbues every scene with certain kiddy energy, but there is no focus to Science of Sleep. The central relationship between Bernal and Gainsbourg never develops or reaches any resolution. Science never offers any insights into relationships or love, or lack thereof. So much potential... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SusieK.Jan 24, 2007
On the plus side: the imagery is very cool and there are a lot of funny bits. On the bad side: it is about 15 minutes too long and by the end of the film I really didn't like the main character. I found him to be so needy and On the plus side: the imagery is very cool and there are a lot of funny bits. On the bad side: it is about 15 minutes too long and by the end of the film I really didn't like the main character. I found him to be so needy and self-absorbed that I couldn't see how any of the other characters could give a hoot about him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful