Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 23, 1980
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 556 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
511
Mixed:
32
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
JerryO.Jun 4, 2007
This film is underrated if you ask me, it's always been one of my favorites if not my favorite horror movies. The best part, I think, is that it manages to be scary even though very few people die, as opposed to modern horror movies This film is underrated if you ask me, it's always been one of my favorites if not my favorite horror movies. The best part, I think, is that it manages to be scary even though very few people die, as opposed to modern horror movies that fail to be scary even though everybody dies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
Trev29Aug 31, 2012
Jack was completely deranged and it was funny and scary at the same time. Not a damn clue at what happened at the very end which pisses me off, but everything was on key for this horror story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AlessandroOdoJun 28, 2013
This film is a classic, it is one of the best horror movies ever. No matter how many times I see it, it scares me all the time. The effect is perfect, you can note very good performances & of course the excellent music that makes theThis film is a classic, it is one of the best horror movies ever. No matter how many times I see it, it scares me all the time. The effect is perfect, you can note very good performances & of course the excellent music that makes the suspense. My favorite scene is when the kid goes inside the bathroom, what a surprise a had seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 29, 2013
A classic horror film for the ages, The Shining's genius (besides being directed by Kubrick) comes solely from the fact that there is no certainty of what is real or what Jack is imagining: and this is what makes the film so intriguing. Plus,A classic horror film for the ages, The Shining's genius (besides being directed by Kubrick) comes solely from the fact that there is no certainty of what is real or what Jack is imagining: and this is what makes the film so intriguing. Plus, Jack Nicholson is his most "Jack-Nicholson-ish" in this movie, making the faces and movements he's so famous for nowadays. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
theunholymesiahSep 25, 2013
First and foremost; don't go into this movie expecting a typical horror movie. It's not a jump-out-at-you scary movie. What it does do well is creepiness.
The first time I watched it I was pretty underwhelmed. It was one of, possibly the
First and foremost; don't go into this movie expecting a typical horror movie. It's not a jump-out-at-you scary movie. What it does do well is creepiness.
The first time I watched it I was pretty underwhelmed. It was one of, possibly the only Kubrick film I'd seen that didn't deliver on my expectations. Often a Kubrick film will go above and beyond my expectations. However the more I thought about it, and after watching it a second time, and watching the documentary Room 237. My thoughts on the film have become much more positive and enthusiastic. In a lot of aspects this is some of Kubrick's best work ever. The carefully thought out shots. The way he creates such isolation and hostility for the viewer. You're off in your own world in the Overlook Hotel. Jack Nicholson is fantastic in it. The music in it is very good and effective to adding a whole extra level to the movie. And it'd have to be the most mysterious Kubrick film ever made. Even more than 2001. There are so many questions you'll be asking about this film. The ending won't solve all your questions; it'll add more. You could interpret this movie from so many angles. If you become intrigued in this film even after you watch it, go on the internet and look at the various interpretations and things the film had that you probably missed. This film still remains a mystery three decades on, it's not a total crowd pleasing film but if you're interesting it's definitely worth a watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
willkulkaNov 30, 2013
As far as I'm concerned, this will forever be the best horror story ever written for the screen. Incredibly eerie and creepy. It's great when a film can pull you in and intensify your heart rate without the use of cheap scare tactics. EvenAs far as I'm concerned, this will forever be the best horror story ever written for the screen. Incredibly eerie and creepy. It's great when a film can pull you in and intensify your heart rate without the use of cheap scare tactics. Even over 30 years later, this film truly strikes fear in my heart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 6, 2011
Illustrating the true, crazy countenance of mankind when confronted in extreme isolation and horror, Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" is a modern-horror masterpiece that criticizes not only us, but also the disjointed society. (P.S: This wasIllustrating the true, crazy countenance of mankind when confronted in extreme isolation and horror, Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" is a modern-horror masterpiece that criticizes not only us, but also the disjointed society. (P.S: This was probably the best movie Jack Nicholson performed in. Ever.) Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
House0fWolves_Dec 16, 2011
My favorite film of Kubrick's. You feel like you're becoming as mad as Johnny while watching, building up cabin fever and fear in a mixture of nauseous scenes.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBonaseraOct 3, 2012
A spine chilling adaptation of Stephen King's loved novel that is both intriguing and frightening and placed against a goose bump inducing soundtrack. Stanley Kubrick's as always brilliant directing brings out the fear and makes it feel real.A spine chilling adaptation of Stephen King's loved novel that is both intriguing and frightening and placed against a goose bump inducing soundtrack. Stanley Kubrick's as always brilliant directing brings out the fear and makes it feel real. The Shining is one of the best horror films I have seen. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
DezuuuApr 5, 2012
So disturbing, yet exciting. Jack Nicholson plays a perfect role, and this movie loves to mess around with you. It doesn´t have any real scares, but is way more unsettling than any current horror flick. Some great camera work, too.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ci4o759tyg235p0Jul 27, 2012
A brilliant horror movie!! and certainly one of the best stephen king movies. I really dont know why the critics give this masterpiece a 6.1, but thats out sh*tty generation, good movies are given bad reviews, and bad movies are given goodA brilliant horror movie!! and certainly one of the best stephen king movies. I really dont know why the critics give this masterpiece a 6.1, but thats out sh*tty generation, good movies are given bad reviews, and bad movies are given good reviews, thats just sad. To all people who gave this a good review, you have great taste, to all people who gave it a bad one, suck it! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
jakethesnackOct 29, 2013
Quite possibly the creepiest, most well written movie ever. There are so many creepy moments and Jack Nicholson was an amazing actor few actors could top his performance in this.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BronsonApr 27, 2014
A masterpiece in every form of that word. If you don't like this movie you are living life wrong. Jack Nicholson turns in an amazing and iconic performance while Kubrick uses his brilliant movie magic to craft one of the best Horror movies ever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Jan 7, 2011
My favourite horror film, possibly even my favourite film in general. The atmosphere is immensly creepy from beginning to end. The music, the camera work, all spells dread and impending horror. Those two girls still send shivers down my spineMy favourite horror film, possibly even my favourite film in general. The atmosphere is immensly creepy from beginning to end. The music, the camera work, all spells dread and impending horror. Those two girls still send shivers down my spine whenever I see them. Talk about stmosphere, this film has me gripped from begginning to end every time. Every scene is firmly etched into my mind, every image. Yeah I Ilike it just a bit....to be honest I feel a bit like Jack sometimes...Wendy!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
A film can often be measured by the lasting impression it makes on an audience. That's where the incomparable Jack Nicholson comes in. Oh, and need I say "redrum"?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
eniguimaAug 8, 2014
A great movie that involves the viewer with its wide variety of details that give each scene a tone of realism that enhances the feeling of suspended activity and it is logical to Jack Nicholson really was incredible, it was possible toA great movie that involves the viewer with its wide variety of details that give each scene a tone of realism that enhances the feeling of suspended activity and it is logical to Jack Nicholson really was incredible, it was possible to perceive anger in every word Jack said. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
horcrux2007Sep 5, 2014
"The Shining" is my personal favorite film from Stanley Kubrick. It's filled with tension and scares, a creepy and isolated atmosphere, and memorable characters. Like all of Kubrick's films, it's beautiful to look at and extremely detailed."The Shining" is my personal favorite film from Stanley Kubrick. It's filled with tension and scares, a creepy and isolated atmosphere, and memorable characters. Like all of Kubrick's films, it's beautiful to look at and extremely detailed. "The Shining" is also one of the scariest movies I've ever seen. Definitely watch this if you're a fan of horror. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MatthewRJul 4, 2007
Kubrick presented the interchangeable nature of internal disturbance and external terror, establishing an ominous undertone that accompanied the creepiness of the foreground imagery. The film doesn't settle for superficial scare Kubrick presented the interchangeable nature of internal disturbance and external terror, establishing an ominous undertone that accompanied the creepiness of the foreground imagery. The film doesn't settle for superficial scare tactics,instead, it quietly sustains an level of palpable menace throughout the entire piece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.May 11, 2007
By FAR, the creepiest, scariest movie I've ever seen. To this day, when I'm in a long, deserted hallway in a hotel, especially staring at an elevator, I think of those two little girls on trikes. Chilling!... Heeeeere's Johnny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickLAug 13, 2007
A classic is the only word that can truly define this film. Really well shot, great acting for the most part (some little flaws here and there) and great character development. I highly recommend this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatC.Jun 14, 2007
Each scene is meticulously crafted to perfection as only Kubrick can. Though not a huge hit when it came out, in the test of time it has imparted a host of icons and one liners on to our culture. Towards the end, the rooms full of scary Each scene is meticulously crafted to perfection as only Kubrick can. Though not a huge hit when it came out, in the test of time it has imparted a host of icons and one liners on to our culture. Towards the end, the rooms full of scary things was deviantly anticlimactic, as the real horror was always what was happening in Nicholson's head. But consider the beginning: Kubrick made Glacier Park, the most beautiful place on the planet, the doorway to the 10th level of hell. As a film opening it rates right up there with the first Star Wars movie. It's just totally too good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaxsterOct 9, 2010
I'll be honest, I hate horror. The Shining is possibly the only horror film that has ever ingnited something within my interest. It's brilliant,daring and most importantly, not cliche. Surely the highlight of the film is the use of steadicamI'll be honest, I hate horror. The Shining is possibly the only horror film that has ever ingnited something within my interest. It's brilliant,daring and most importantly, not cliche. Surely the highlight of the film is the use of steadicam following the child around the place like some haunting ghost. Another superb achievement from Kubrick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Paul_YoonSep 23, 2010
Kubrick fastidiously detailed about the claustrophobic horror and suspenseful and hysteric moments. However, it is true that Kubrick failed to transform the original main point of the novel and deviated to make his own point of view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelOct 11, 2010
My first viewing of Stanley Kubrick's classic 'The Shining' left me somewhat...underwhelmed. As a 15 year old boy, my underdeveloped, action oriented brain, desired gore and cheap thrills...something that this film avoids. Viewing 'TheMy first viewing of Stanley Kubrick's classic 'The Shining' left me somewhat...underwhelmed. As a 15 year old boy, my underdeveloped, action oriented brain, desired gore and cheap thrills...something that this film avoids. Viewing 'The Shining' as an adult however, was a truly unforgettable experience. So here are my two cents.... Hearing the term 'adaptation of a Stephen King novel' makes me want to vomit. With such duds as 'Storm of the Century', 'Rose Red' and 'Tommyknockers' falling within this category, I was sceptical. But thankfully, Kubrick diverts drastically from the source material, playing down the supernatural elements of horror. The fear of the characters' deteriorating mental health, and the potential of what they could do to one another, is far more terrifying than the threat of ghosts. This makes for a human, relatable, and intelligent horror; more frightening than the typical ghost story. Kudos to the screenwriters for taking a chance. Like most Kubrick films, the performances are strangely enigmatic. Shelly Duvall's portrayal of the seemingly 'desperate to please' Wendy, was irritating in the initial stages of the film. There was a self-consciousness to the performance, that felt slightly superficial. HOWEVER, when the hysteria sets in, Duvall delivers the goods. She is chillingly authentic, and utterly electrifying. It actually heightens the experience in the final third of the film. Apparently Kubrick was a prick to her on set in order to 'push her' into that place...so thankyou for that! It's magic. I find Jack Nicholson a difficult actor to really warm to, and his performance here is no exception to that. It's over the top, comical, frightening...and unpredictably mad. I think I would have preferred Jack Torrance to be a more likeable character in the developing stages, but nonetheless, he is fascinating. And Danny Lloyd would have to go on the list of 'best child performances ever'. The facial expressions, body language, and the eyes, are completely believable and nuanced! They struck gold with him. Typical of Kubrick, the film is a visual spectacle. Even by todays standards, the cinematography is mesmerising - a testament to Kubrick and John Alcott. Visually, the film is so absorbing. The camera rarely stops moving, in inventive (but non-distracting) ways. There is a sense that the characters are being watched by 'another presence' that is constantly tracking their movements. The camera work is subtly unsettling. It is so refreshing for a modern audience to watch a film like this, that relies on a slow and contemplative build up, and resonating images for scares. There is a genuinely creepy tone throughout, and the climax absolutely soars with thrills. And, strangely enough for this genre, 'The Shining' gets better with every single viewing. A well deserved classic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerOct 17, 2016
Stanley Kubrick's The Shining is a fascinating movie. Both in content and in history. Based on the Stephen King novel, this now horror classic was met with some not so great reception upon it's initial release. King himself has been vocalStanley Kubrick's The Shining is a fascinating movie. Both in content and in history. Based on the Stephen King novel, this now horror classic was met with some not so great reception upon it's initial release. King himself has been vocal about his lack of satisfaction with the changes made to his source material. Saying how some it's important themes were missing in this adaption. Yet, today it stands as one of the most celebrated films in horror. Interesting indeed.

It's not hard to see why it's so celebrated today. I just find it hard to wrap my mind around why it's legacy is now so different than how it was viewed upon creation. Well, enough of that. Time to get on to the actual review.

The Shining stands as an excellent example of how to build up tension. It's odd moments and slow pace add a sense of believability to the mix that make it all the more compelling. The tale itself is filled with many mysteries to keep viewers engaged. The cast is pretty darn excellent.

The movie is worth watching for Jack Nicholson's performance alone. We all know Nicholson can play a crazy person with ease. It's his ability here though, to play a complete nutcase with moments of sheer lucid madness, that really sells the whole thing. There are moments where Nicholson's character is clearly out of his mind. Yet, there are other dispersed in where he appears to be totally in control of his own thoughts. Well aware of the consequences and moving forward anyway with only the slightest bit of manipulation. It's these moments where he comes off as the most menacing. He's a very charismatic psychopath.

The supernatural elements are where the real madness comes from. Psychic powers, ghostly visions, and otherworldly entities at play leave plenty for you to dwell on. They also may leave you with a few frustrations. I know they did for me at least.

There's plenty going on here that is oh so very vague. Some stuff is left open to interpretation, which isn't exactly a problem. There are however important elements of the plot that just don't get touched on. For example, what's the story with the boy living in Danny's mouth? It's pretty darn significant to the plot. Yet, we're given next to no information about it. This wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't tied directly to some of the movie's most important moments. The lack of any sort of insight had me wanting to tear my hair out in frustration at times.

That's really the only issue I can find with it. The Shining is simply a great psychological horror-thriller. One filled with odd moments, compelling drama, and a stunning central performance from Jack Nicholson. It stands one of the most interesting films I've ever watched. One worth searching over multiple times to pull out new secrets. Even if you aren't the type to really dive into analyzing films, it's a great horror film on it's own. Perhaps not a very scary one, but still filled with enough mystery to make for a gripping ride. One with plenty of tension.

8.7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alzslo08Jun 13, 2011
Great, scary, intense atmosphere and superb Jack Nicholson mixed with the mediocre performance by Shelley Duvall. Anyway, I think that this film was underrated for many years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SindriFeb 20, 2011
Unflinchingly directed - There has certainly been a good number of well made and thrilling horror-films in the last thirty years, but few possesses the psychological tension that Stanley Kubrick created in 1980 with his adaptation of StephenUnflinchingly directed - There has certainly been a good number of well made and thrilling horror-films in the last thirty years, but few possesses the psychological tension that Stanley Kubrick created in 1980 with his adaptation of Stephen King`s novel "The Shining" which he wrote with novelist Diane Johnson, that stringently tells the fictional story about writer, husband and father Jack Torrance, who travels from the city with his wife Wendy and son Danny to attend a job interview during the winter at the Overlook Hotel considering an off-season job as a caretaker. Torrance's intension is to use the remote and isolated hotel to find peace while he is writing, but as he get's into his writing his mental state starts to change.

From the majestic and long opening scene where the camera moves transversal through a dead silent landscape and towards the films main location, to the grand finale, this is a throughout captivating and mind-puzzling tale mostly seen through the eyes of a psychic young boy who receives frightening premonitions about the place his parents have brought him to and a grown man who unknowingly is faced with his own mind's evanescence. This increasingly chilling character study uses repeated imagery, shifts from regular to extreme close ups, concentrated, repetitive and no dialog whatsoever, short and long takes and frequently changes from scenes of eerie silence to scenes of climactic noise.This is the type of film such as, without making any comparison, Peter Weir's "Picnic at Hanging Rock" (1975) or David Lynch's "Eraserhead" (1976), where the mood is crucial for the films atmosphere, and in this case the mood is composed by Jack Nicholson's versatile mood-swings and the classic and orchestral music.

Several stories are intersected in "The Shining", and they differ from the story of a writer's block, a horrible tragedy that happened in the past, a wife unable to reach her husband, a son unable to connect with his father and a man's broadening psychosis. It's impossible to overlook Jack Nicholson's electric presence as he transforms into a character that bewilders himself as far as conceivably possible in an oblivious mind. His multi-layered performance stands as a milestone in acting and Nicholson is as frightening as he is entertaining in his nearly exaggerated interpretation. With that said, this film wouldn't be as good as it is without the performances of Shelley Duvall, Scatman Crothers and Danny Lloyd, who's presence is just as effective as Nicholsons. The ingenious about "The Shining" is that it achieves a high level of tension without being overly violent. Yes, there is a flood of blood, but the greatest horrors of the film is the words, the sounds, the images, the faces, the moods, and how these cinematic elements spark the viewers imagination. This inner an outer mind maze is a vivid examination of supernatural spookiness that truly captures the feeling and perception of fear. Kubrick knew no boundaries as a film maker and his eleventh feature is photographically aesthetic and unflinchingly directed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ImUnavailableJul 10, 2011
An atmospheric, slow-burning horror film that charts a man's descent into madness. Though the directing and writing is top notch, Nicholson is the real star of the show. His character is fantastically deranged and believable and is theAn atmospheric, slow-burning horror film that charts a man's descent into madness. Though the directing and writing is top notch, Nicholson is the real star of the show. His character is fantastically deranged and believable and is the commanding force in each scene he is in. Although not terrifying, the movie effectively builds tension and suspense culminating in a dramatic third act. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PinkFloyd4everJul 25, 2011
This is by far my favorite movie! In my opinion it is more of a thriller than a horror film. Jack Nicholson plays the role amazingly well, Shelley Duvall's portrayal of Wendy is great, even though in the bookthe character is very different inThis is by far my favorite movie! In my opinion it is more of a thriller than a horror film. Jack Nicholson plays the role amazingly well, Shelley Duvall's portrayal of Wendy is great, even though in the bookthe character is very different in the book. The kid is actually very creepy though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 15, 2011
A horror classic. An unforgettable performance by Jack Nicholson as the tortured soul of Jack Torrance. Stanley Kubrick's direction pushes all the right buttons.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Oct 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If there's one pure horror film that deserves the Best Picture Oscar just for its overall terrific (and terrifying) atmosphere, it's THE SHINING. I've only seen one of Stanley Kubrick's other films, which was 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY, and if you think that Stanley Kubrick only makes those kinds of films, think again. This brilliant man takes mastermind Stephen King's already-horrific novel and crafts it into his own ingenious, twisted work that is probably more frightening than the book itself. And there's Jack Nicholson, who does an outstanding performance as psychopath Jack Torrance. When I saw this film, my immediate thought was that Nicholson's character was just as I imagined Torrance's personality while reading the source novel. It's possible to admit that sometimes Jack Nicholson does go a little loopy with his role, making it often seem more like his role as the Joker in BATMAN nine years later, but he never seems to go overboard, and his character always enhances the eerie-ness of the entire film. All in all, THE SHINING is a must-see. It's certainly not one of those "spewing guts" films where everything is grotesque blood and gore. Instead, the horror comes from the creepy, sadistic, intense mood, as this is a well-molded psychological horror. Add this to your shopping list (or your renting list) if you haven't seen it. See it again if you have already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FIlmsareawesomeAug 30, 2011
I like this movie, i though the whole concept of the family going to an isolated hotel, where strange things start to happen (the spiritual forces and stuff like that), i think it was original. "Heeere's Johnny!", i though that scene wasI like this movie, i though the whole concept of the family going to an isolated hotel, where strange things start to happen (the spiritual forces and stuff like that), i think it was original. "Heeere's Johnny!", i though that scene was awesome, although the choice of the female actress and the child should have been more efficient, like they kind of took a tool on the movie, with the way they perform, but Jack Nicholson was able to put a hell of a performance, like he usually does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RodrigoBGCSep 26, 2011
Another great example of how Stanley Kubrick had that ability to connect you with a movie, is not only the story what is spooky the great work of Jack Nicholson and the great elements that Kubrick increased is what make this film one of theAnother great example of how Stanley Kubrick had that ability to connect you with a movie, is not only the story what is spooky the great work of Jack Nicholson and the great elements that Kubrick increased is what make this film one of the must terrifying films of all of the time Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SpangleMar 15, 2013
Honestly a strange film and not overly scary, but I think that's the point. The movie is stranger than it is scary and that really sets the mood throughout the film that something is off about this hotel. Kubrick really does a fantastic jobHonestly a strange film and not overly scary, but I think that's the point. The movie is stranger than it is scary and that really sets the mood throughout the film that something is off about this hotel. Kubrick really does a fantastic job in the director's chair and also plays critic a bit as he toys with the typical horror film techniques. Jack Nicholson and Shelley Duvall are also fantastic in the lead role and while this is not my favorite movie ever, it is certainly top ten material. Fantastic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RikiegeDec 8, 2012
A great classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NixySep 28, 2012
Pretty much any Stephen King fan will tell you that all of his books are just in a totally different league to the films. His books are incredible, the films tend to be....meh (no, Green Mile and Shawshank you are in a different categoryPretty much any Stephen King fan will tell you that all of his books are just in a totally different league to the films. His books are incredible, the films tend to be....meh (no, Green Mile and Shawshank you are in a different category altogether). Firstly, I think 'The Shining' needs defending. For one, it was made in 1980 and as such there are certain technicalities that are just simply unfair to compare to films of 2012. What this film does do incredibly well is make the audience afraid of something realistic and plausible (i.e. this extreme reaction to isolation) without using cheap jump scares like so many more modern horror films rely on. The reason for 7/10 would mainly be because I felt that Jack Nicholson, as brilliant as he is, was made to be a pretty unsettling character right at the start of the film whereas in the book, the main 'scary' aspect of it is that it's a slow decline and as such, you start to feel the strain. The book would be 10/10, I just felt like this film didn't make the most of certain aspects of the storyline. Bottom line is, it's not scary to a 2012 audience. The concept will always be unnerving but it's very unlikely that you'd walk away from this film genuinely scared simply because of how much more extreme horror films have become. However, it is a classic film, there are hundreds of good things to say about it I just think it needs to be watched as a piece of horror film history instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
Kubrick has made a movie that will have to be reckoned with on the highest level ,With remarkable visual panache and a keen sense of irony, Stanley Kubrick rehabilitates Stephen King's trashy, terrifying novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
One of the only truly epic horror films ever made, The Shining tops even greats such as 'Psycho' and 'Halloween.'
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ballpark_frankNov 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I haven't read the novel, so I can't really comment about differences (much like the author has). But, I love Nicholson, and I really can't imagine anyone else filling the role of the father. Jack just brings such a powerful, evil, maniacal presence that he (IMO) has claimed that role as his own. The rest of the cast is filler to me. Nicholson's slow fall into madness (or, is it possession? Reincarnation?) builds to a great climax. Jack wielding his axe (which to my understanding is a croquet mallet in the novel, and one of the points of contention by Mr. Stephen King) is one of the best scenes I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiNov 25, 2013
Nicholson is predisposed to play such a character. The acting was just sufficient, nothing extraordinary. But there is no denying that it was a two and a half hour ride of pure thrilling scare after scare.

There were some great individual
Nicholson is predisposed to play such a character. The acting was just sufficient, nothing extraordinary. But there is no denying that it was a two and a half hour ride of pure thrilling scare after scare.

There were some great individual scenes, like the ones with the twins and the bathtub woman, but they felt very disjointed and did nothing to affect the plot. There were some great concepts, like Danny's alter ego, but they all came to nothing.

It could have been the greatest horror movie of all time, because at first glance it had all the ingredients to make one. I felt like the director wasn't sure if he believed in ghosts or not. The result wasn't very impressive. You either commit to that it was all in the brain and stick to the insanity spilling out of it accordingly, or you admit that it was all supernatural. Nevertheless, the build-up to the scares, and the scares themselves, and the subtle unsettling scenes with the twins, all combined to give the ultimate mind-boggling horror experience.

The second time I watched it, more flaws jumped at me. The individual scenes manage to enthral you, but when you take the time to reflect on it, the incoherence and the lack of flow in the story, the director's dilemma to whether stick with supernatural element and explore it, or the mental breakdown of the protagonist, becomes more visible, and the result isn't pretty at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZombineTMJan 6, 2013
Sometimes, you just can't beat a classic, that's what The Shining's slogan is for the movie community, not only for the movie community, but yes also for our pop culture.

Probably, it was one of the best movies i've ever watched, it's just
Sometimes, you just can't beat a classic, that's what The Shining's slogan is for the movie community, not only for the movie community, but yes also for our pop culture.

Probably, it was one of the best movies i've ever watched, it's just brain-freezing moments that makes you complete frienzied on the movie.

Kubrick has made thousands of masterpieces in history, but The Shining is one of the biggest of them all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dollarsignJul 30, 2016
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Sep 1, 2013
It's a movie that has that unsettling Kubrick feel. For it's slow build up, it manages to give me Goosebumps. Overall, it's a slasher movie at its best. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UtopianStuffMay 27, 2013
By far, the best horror movie ever made (other than "Psycho"). Its imaginative, chilling, groundbreaking, well acted, well directed, and an all around masterpiece. To be honest, this movie is the reason I love Stephen Kings books and movies,By far, the best horror movie ever made (other than "Psycho"). Its imaginative, chilling, groundbreaking, well acted, well directed, and an all around masterpiece. To be honest, this movie is the reason I love Stephen Kings books and movies, it set the stage. The main reason that I like the movie is that its a horror movie but its not like a generic slasher flick that depends on the gore and violence, its not like that. Its an extremely imaginative movie that is based off of psychological horror, there's a lot of psychedelia in this movie, I'm not going to lie to you. It will put your mind to the test, it makes you think, how many movies can do that in such a beautiful way. The tone of the movie scares me, its a truly memorable film. I recommend this to all movie goers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cag11Nov 26, 2013
This movie was always suspenseful and intense since the first shot. It did an amazing job at keeping me scared, which horror movies nowadays aren't even good at. I don't understand how people don't like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ugisupriatnaApr 29, 2014
A masterpiece of horror cinema history. "The Shining" is strange, a slow-burning, step by step haunting and disturbing your mind till it blows and your mouth gaped. Stanley Kubrick and Jack Nicholson's outstanding performance bring this filmA masterpiece of horror cinema history. "The Shining" is strange, a slow-burning, step by step haunting and disturbing your mind till it blows and your mouth gaped. Stanley Kubrick and Jack Nicholson's outstanding performance bring this film to high level and hard to matched and put it to be a standard for modern horror film. At last, The Shining is the greatest psychological horror ever made and I'm convinced that credit never switch to another film for long long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SmagsFeb 5, 2014
Based off the legendary novel by Stephen King, Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" is a classic horror film with an excellent portrayal of what happens when an individual loses their touch with reality. Technically speaking, this is a flawlessBased off the legendary novel by Stephen King, Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" is a classic horror film with an excellent portrayal of what happens when an individual loses their touch with reality. Technically speaking, this is a flawless movie. However, "The Shining" does lose some points for two reasons: The flawed acting by some characters, and the obvious fact of Kubrick deviating from the novel.

Despite the blatant flaws, it must be noticed that "The Shining" has many things going for it. For example, everyone knows the front cover of the film and the exact scene that is displayed. Needless to say, "Here's Johnny!" is the most recognized quote from the film, and is argued by some to be more legendary than when it was said by Ed McMahon. Beside the legendary quote, the biggest pro "The Shining" owns is that it is seemingly a perfectly executed technical movie, such as the great use of lighting at certain parts and how Kubrick was able to make every shot important and relevant. On a deeper note, "The Shining" has a very dark overlying tone throughout the movie which, personally, is an essential in any great horror film. The evil, sinister music that can be heard periodically throughout the film only helps in establishing its dark tone.

On the other hand, despite the seemingly perfect directing, Kubrick is let down in a very disappointing way. As beautifully directed as this film is, it is only right for Kubrick to be given flawless acting. Sadly, this is not the case. Presented to the viewer is the laughable, embarrassing, and seemingly effortless acting, especially by Shelly Duvall, with the prime exception of Jack Nicholson. However, it is an even bigger disappointment that Kubrick let the audience down with his defiant variation of the novel. While the film is good and worth the watch, it would have been nice to see how it would've looked if he had stayed truer to the book, much like "A Clockwork Orange".

All in all, "The Shining", while having some slight disappointments by the actors and director, comes up as a victory for cinema, and is definitely worth the watch. 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JorjiCostavaJan 25, 2014
This is a truly great horror film. The movie is very different compared to other horror films. It follows Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson) who is staying in an old, empty hotel with his family and begins to go mad. The events in this film spinThis is a truly great horror film. The movie is very different compared to other horror films. It follows Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson) who is staying in an old, empty hotel with his family and begins to go mad. The events in this film spin into the strange and scary. It has many scary moments and it is very creepy. It also boasts excellent acting by Jack Nicholson and Shelley Duvall. It did, however, take a bit of time for the horror to start, and also it was quite long, but it is still great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscOct 16, 2014
Stephen King is lucky cause someone makes another lucky adaptation of his books that ends up on the big screen. Well i am shocked to tell you that the 1979 classic is not an A+ worthy. The movie skips alot important scenes. it skips weeks ,Stephen King is lucky cause someone makes another lucky adaptation of his books that ends up on the big screen. Well i am shocked to tell you that the 1979 classic is not an A+ worthy. The movie skips alot important scenes. it skips weeks , days ( i do not know what to tell you if you understand). This is not a terrible movie to the king's series it actually worth seeing. But despite the fact that Kubrick's screen writing made the movie not so good ( i heard that he read the book , well if he read the book he might understand the characters more better). Stanley Kubrick has a film makers eye with a hundred percent talent. but his version isn't enough for the book. Cast worth it the cast did a better job then Kubrick. Grade A- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BetterOffDead_May 15, 2014
Great horror movie! The shining is suspenseful will keep you on the edge of your seat till the end! Jack Nicholson performance is perfect if not his best performance. Same people may say this movie is "boring"due to its character build up,Great horror movie! The shining is suspenseful will keep you on the edge of your seat till the end! Jack Nicholson performance is perfect if not his best performance. Same people may say this movie is "boring"due to its character build up, that's the best thing though. Kubrick did a great job with directing it, the acting is done well, a classic! definitely worth a watching 8/10 :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Jul 20, 2015
I watched The Shining after I had already read the book and I don't think I appreciated the film as much because it does take a bit of a turn from the book. I don't really find the film that scary, the most terrifying part about the film isI watched The Shining after I had already read the book and I don't think I appreciated the film as much because it does take a bit of a turn from the book. I don't really find the film that scary, the most terrifying part about the film is the way it is shot. That hotel could not be more scary and I love the way it was captured and it might be one of the most beautiful looking films ever. Jack Nicholson is amazing and not much more can be said about that performance and it seems like he was born to play it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dot_dot_space_Oct 21, 2014
I finally decided to watch "The Shining" after being convinced it was the scariest movie of all time. First things first, it wasn't. And that's coming from someone who scares very easily. I do, however, appreciate that films that were onceI finally decided to watch "The Shining" after being convinced it was the scariest movie of all time. First things first, it wasn't. And that's coming from someone who scares very easily. I do, however, appreciate that films that were once very frightening become less so over time (cough, cough, "Alien"!).
Jack Nicholson's portrayal of a man's slow descent into 'cabin fever'-induced madness was amazing. Having said this, however, there just wasn't enough normality in his character to begin with. He already seemed a rather grumpy, impatient man.
Shirley Duvall was awful at playing Wendy. She was too flouncy and pathetic - if your child was being chased round a maze by a man with an axe, you'd be a little more ... 'badass', surely - if you pardon the pun ;-)
The film wasn't NOT scary. I was on edge a few times, and freaked out utterly at one scene in particular. The acting in this film was very well done - mostly on Nicholson's part, and Danny Lloyd's. It's not that Shirley Duvall did a bad job. Her character just didn't do justice who I had in my head.
But in spite of my highly critical review of this film, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was left wondering what the last scene really meant - no spoilers, sorry! - and thinking about the story for hours after it'd finished.
Well done, Kubrick, a wonderful adaptation.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
youlouzJan 28, 2015
Lets just say even though this movie isn't terrifying, it has an outstanding plot line to it, and is a true creepy classic. Jack Nicholson has outdone himself!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
REDWOUNov 22, 2014
The Shining was another one of Kubrick's masterpieces. From what I've seen, The Shining is Stanley Kubrick's second best film following 2001: A Space Odyssey.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Le__XenomorphDec 28, 2014
The Shining is a timeless classic and is the perfect example of horror. It has intense and suspenseful, yet also creepy and chilling scenes. It has an especially strong performance from Jack Nicholson and great acting in general (besidesThe Shining is a timeless classic and is the perfect example of horror. It has intense and suspenseful, yet also creepy and chilling scenes. It has an especially strong performance from Jack Nicholson and great acting in general (besides Chelly Duvalle's part). The Shining to this day remains as one of the great horror films of the 20th century. 10/10 (Legendary) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DudeUnknownJun 13, 2015
Something I quite enjoyed about this is that this was a horror move with absolute minimal gore. One problem, though. IT IS ONLY OFFICIALLY A HORROR MOVIE. I watched this when I was 12 years old, and I wasn't scared at all! One thing thatSomething I quite enjoyed about this is that this was a horror move with absolute minimal gore. One problem, though. IT IS ONLY OFFICIALLY A HORROR MOVIE. I watched this when I was 12 years old, and I wasn't scared at all! One thing that might've made it less scary, in my opinion, was that it wasn't some kind of serial killer. Only one family was really being haunted in one specific hotel, and it was extremely unlikely to happen to any random person at home. A popular opinion that I agree with would also be the acting. Jack Nicholson did pretty well, but, even though he's supposed to be deranged, sometimes it seemed as if he was too crazy to the point it was annoying and/or unnecessary. The wife was terrible, though. She cried like she just had strong hiccups, her screams were a bit unrealistic and annoying, and she was just overall, a bad actor. Nobody else was great or bad. The storyline was okay, as it was simple, but showed how isolation changes you. The storyline itself was not very creepy, and lacked depth, too. In the end, I give it a 7. I personally value it a little less, but I think the actual quality of the film was better than in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nanancayNov 8, 2015
A great movie with thrilling elements - the movie is long but it builds up in a way that the classic horror plot isn't followed (except for the ancient burial ground which is a basis for many horror movies now, maybe not in the 1980s) andA great movie with thrilling elements - the movie is long but it builds up in a way that the classic horror plot isn't followed (except for the ancient burial ground which is a basis for many horror movies now, maybe not in the 1980s) and chooses to evoke tension as the basis for horror rather than death. There's a huge lack of gore and conventional ideas that are used nowadays to shock, and even a lack of jumpscares. This is a very 'refined' horror film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SAVJul 9, 2015
Tratto dal famoso romanzo di Stephen King, Shining è un vero e proprio capolavoro del cinema thriller/horror degli anni 80. Diretto dal talentuoso regista Stanley Kubrick, Shining fa gelare il sangue nelle vene grazie ad una trama semplice maTratto dal famoso romanzo di Stephen King, Shining è un vero e proprio capolavoro del cinema thriller/horror degli anni 80. Diretto dal talentuoso regista Stanley Kubrick, Shining fa gelare il sangue nelle vene grazie ad una trama semplice ma inquietante e per merito di inquadrature ben pensate e atmosfere ben ricreate. Lodevole anche la recitazione degli attori, con uno strabiliante Jack Nicholson nei panni del protagonista Jack Torrance e Shelley Duvall nelle vesti di sua moglie Wendy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RobertOBrienOct 10, 2015
I will say that this film is a bit too long and not not very scary, but it is atmospheric and well-thought out. Watching it from beginning to end is like descending into Hell, you feel like you're going crazy. And for a movie that's 2 hoursI will say that this film is a bit too long and not not very scary, but it is atmospheric and well-thought out. Watching it from beginning to end is like descending into Hell, you feel like you're going crazy. And for a movie that's 2 hours and 20 minutes long, it manages to stay interesting (for the most part) with nothing but one setting and three actors.

I'm not sure who claimed this to be a masterpiece of modern horror, because it's no masterpiece. Not to say it was bad, there's just little special about it other than Jack Nicholson's performance. But what is lost in character and story, is made up for with tone and the Godsend that is Nicholson.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
edpoopstuffJul 14, 2015
People didnt like this because of the novel but I thought it was alright how stanley kubrick did this, like some of the great scenes he made and the ending, the actors were really good but one person, shelly was one of the people that was notPeople didnt like this because of the novel but I thought it was alright how stanley kubrick did this, like some of the great scenes he made and the ending, the actors were really good but one person, shelly was one of the people that was not the best in this movie and how they could of chose better, I can actuall see how stanley didnt like it and how it could of been better but besides that its a pretty good movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
greghowardbellOct 28, 2015
Second only to "the Exorcist" in the Horror pantheon. The movie is a masterpiece of atmosphere and manages to steadily build on a suffocating sense of dread throughout. It is really more like a recorded nightmare than a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 25, 2016
The Shining manages to be a great horror and you know how much horror never turns out that great anyways. Once again brought to life by Stanley Kubrick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NicoteenMar 9, 2016
" The Shining is one of the best horror movies of all time. In Shining isn't much gore like in new horror movies, but with good music, camerawork and scary twins this movies still scares me (in 2016). If you like psycho horror movies, not" The Shining is one of the best horror movies of all time. In Shining isn't much gore like in new horror movies, but with good music, camerawork and scary twins this movies still scares me (in 2016). If you like psycho horror movies, not slasher then this is something for you!"

GENRE RATING (HORROR): 9.3
OVERALL RATING: 8.7
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MowhaughJan 20, 2016
Kubrick takes you on a trip you come back different, with a genuine film, a perfect scenario and acting at its finest. Time is incredibly well managed. No embellishment, everything has its role. An uncluttered film deserves a simple review.Kubrick takes you on a trip you come back different, with a genuine film, a perfect scenario and acting at its finest. Time is incredibly well managed. No embellishment, everything has its role. An uncluttered film deserves a simple review. True masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukkernJan 19, 2016
One of my favourite movies of all time! Its a masterpiece! Stanley Kubrick was the best director of all time! This is a must see! Yes, its maybe a little old but i think the older movies are better than the dumb new ones!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
UNARMED_JORDJun 20, 2016
the shining is completely and utterly underrated film, its a really quite chilling film and an enjoying one at that, a truly great horror film, stanley kubrik at his best
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gOct 8, 2016
One of the first horror films which is the perfect vision Stanley Kubrick went on to adapt from the best-selling Stephen King novel published in 1977. Fantastic cinematography and great visuals and iconic/memorable moments. One of the novelsOne of the first horror films which is the perfect vision Stanley Kubrick went on to adapt from the best-selling Stephen King novel published in 1977. Fantastic cinematography and great visuals and iconic/memorable moments. One of the novels by King to read first then watch because you will get to understand it more than films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews