User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 626 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 626
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RickyQ.
    Jul 27, 2007
    7
    I just came back from the theater and I must say the movie was really good, but not as amazing as it could have been. I'm not saying I'm disappointed because I never expected this to be perfect, it just doesn't achieve the classic status of the episodes from the earlier seasons.
  2. EricC.
    Jul 27, 2007
    9
    I'm reading some of these reviews and I'm thinking...Are these people on crack? I thought the movie was wonderful. Yeah it's very PG-13 (not PG-13 so it sounds cooler and edgier ...cough ...Harry Potter) The jokes were funny, the plot sustained itself for 90 minutes, and it actually built on what we love about the show. Ignore the Comic Book Guys and Ned Flanders of the I'm reading some of these reviews and I'm thinking...Are these people on crack? I thought the movie was wonderful. Yeah it's very PG-13 (not PG-13 so it sounds cooler and edgier ...cough ...Harry Potter) The jokes were funny, the plot sustained itself for 90 minutes, and it actually built on what we love about the show. Ignore the Comic Book Guys and Ned Flanders of the world. This is a move both Homer and Lisa could like. Expand
  3. TonyFake_dude
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    Best. Movie. Ever. I laughed until it hurt, then laughed some more. Then I watched a second showing of the film. This is, in my opinion, the best motion picture ever.
  4. PabloR.
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    The Simpsons the movie is like a long, great episode. Much better than most episodes we've seen in the recent years. It has great animation, lots of humour, some novelties for the family, but basically it builds on all that we get to love about the Springfield family in these almost 20 years. It makes fun of itself brilliantly and has some nasty humour we didn't get to see on The Simpsons the movie is like a long, great episode. Much better than most episodes we've seen in the recent years. It has great animation, lots of humour, some novelties for the family, but basically it builds on all that we get to love about the Springfield family in these almost 20 years. It makes fun of itself brilliantly and has some nasty humour we didn't get to see on the TV series. If you are a fan you will laugh from start to finish, but I am not so sure that people than aren't into think kind of humour will like it. This is more like an adult cartoon, but I think that most kids nowadays love The Simpsons too. This is probably a movie that most people will love, just like Homer falls in love with that pig! Expand
  5. BJN.
    Jul 27, 2007
    9
    So much fun and laughs a plenty.
  6. BrianA.
    Jul 27, 2007
    9
    The Simpsons moves brilliantly from the small screen to the large screen in one of the funniest films of the year.
  7. AndrewG.
    Jul 27, 2007
    4
    There were a few funny parts - spider pig and seeing Bart's penis, in particular - but overall, it seemed very stale. Most of the jokes were a little off for me, even when others in the theater laughed a lot. Definitely not as good as the show.
  8. JanS.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Just watched the movie yesterday evening and found it pretty good. First i feared that i wouldn't like the design, artwork and drawings, but in the end i was really satisfied with all of these points. Yes and the movie was a real lot of fun, couldn't stop laughing for like 10 minutes in the beginning. All together one of the best movies in cinema for some time. 9/10 from me
  9. KrysA.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Great movie. This will please all Simpson's fans.
  10. CharethC.
    Jul 28, 2007
    3
    First of all, ignore Jospeh B, there's nothing particularly offensive about this movie other than the fact that I wasted 15 quid taking my family to see it. The positive reviews that it is receiving, I am assuming, are down to people WANTING to like this film. I know I wanted to, however, when all is said and done, it's just not funny. There are very few jokes for adults and to First of all, ignore Jospeh B, there's nothing particularly offensive about this movie other than the fact that I wasted 15 quid taking my family to see it. The positive reviews that it is receiving, I am assuming, are down to people WANTING to like this film. I know I wanted to, however, when all is said and done, it's just not funny. There are very few jokes for adults and to be honest not a great deal for the kids (I'm not to proud to laugh at people being juvenile, but it just wasn't there). Buy one of the earlier seasons on dvd instead of paying the ticket price, you'll have a much better time. Expand
  11. TylerD.
    Jul 28, 2007
    8
    Epic? No. Good? Yes. The Simpsons movie had a wonderful story that unfolded almost perfectly. It had its share of great laughs, too. It was definitely worth the money.
  12. Scott
    Jul 28, 2007
    8
    Nearly perfect. Hilarious through and through.
  13. sRe
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Nothing short of brilliant satire that will fly over middle America's heads, but has enough pig crap and fat jokes to satisfy its base.
  14. SteveS.
    Jul 28, 2007
    8
    First half of the movie was non-stop laughs in the theater. The laughs slowed down some in the second half, but not sure they could have (or should have) sustained the pace set earlier. Very funny, very well done, very Simpsons!
  15. guy!
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Funniest movie you'll ever see, I guarantee it.
  16. BartSimpson
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    i really liked it, the best episode of the simpsons i have ever seen, good jokes, and it was just fun to watch.
  17. BillyK.
    Jul 28, 2007
    8
    Yes! CARING PARENTS BEWARE! Your children need to be sheltered from anything remotely satirical or offensive! Then, they can turn into normal well adjusted emotional cripples. There is nothing in this very funny, very satisfying Simpsons movie that you aren't already familiar with from the 400+ episodes of the series. Save one memorable scene with Bart skateboarding, that is. Let Yes! CARING PARENTS BEWARE! Your children need to be sheltered from anything remotely satirical or offensive! Then, they can turn into normal well adjusted emotional cripples. There is nothing in this very funny, very satisfying Simpsons movie that you aren't already familiar with from the 400+ episodes of the series. Save one memorable scene with Bart skateboarding, that is. Let your kids see it, they'll be better off for it. It's a poignant funny big screen debut for Homer and Co. Expand
  18. VEKTA
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Funniest Movie Ever! A continuous laugh out loud riot. Even the story was comical. This is an instant favorite, a film to see again an again. I guess you can call this "The Simpsons like you never seen them before. Overall this is 11/10 film. Best movie all summer. Best movie ever! Extremely Recommended.
  19. TylerG.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Being a Simpsons lover from the beginning. This movie met all my expectations. I didn't know how it would turn out, but I hardly stopped laughing the whole time. I'm going back to the movies to watch this movie again no doubt. It was non-stop laughs, a must-see for anyone.
  20. ChrisK.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Everything a Simpsons fan would love, and a little more heart and plot than a regular episode. I had mixed expectations from the commercials but the movie far outshone my expectations. All Simpsons fans must go see this movie. Some of the animation is so nicely done that it makes it worth seeing it on the big screen.
  21. JessalR.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Does this movie redeem the tv series from its mediocrity in the past years? No...but it comes close. This movie has all the wit and hidden jokes you'd come to expect from the Simpson's at their greatest but also has those stupid humor consisting of homer hurting himself for no reason. If the didn't show all the jokes on the trailer and tv spots this would have been much Does this movie redeem the tv series from its mediocrity in the past years? No...but it comes close. This movie has all the wit and hidden jokes you'd come to expect from the Simpson's at their greatest but also has those stupid humor consisting of homer hurting himself for no reason. If the didn't show all the jokes on the trailer and tv spots this would have been much more funny but in the end this was a great movie in the Simpson's library of great shows. Expand
  22. AlanK.
    Jul 28, 2007
    7
    The Simpson Movie has most of the great qualities of the TV series - pointed iconoclastic social satire (digs at religion, bureaucracy, crass materialism), clever slapstick humor, dialog that is both intelligent and intelligently dumb, and great visual gags (esp in the first 15 minutes). Much of the humor references some of the best specific scenes from various episodes (probably only The Simpson Movie has most of the great qualities of the TV series - pointed iconoclastic social satire (digs at religion, bureaucracy, crass materialism), clever slapstick humor, dialog that is both intelligent and intelligently dumb, and great visual gags (esp in the first 15 minutes). Much of the humor references some of the best specific scenes from various episodes (probably only long-time fans will understand these jokes). The film is basically a good (not great) episode extended to 90 min - that's both reassuring and a slightly disappointing: Reassuring because it reaffirms the seemingly infinite versatility and mutability of the show's formula, but also a little disappointing because the writers/producers/etc don't take as many chances with the formula as I would've liked. I was hoping for something that would transcend the TV show the way South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut, took that that show's bawdy, offensive humor to new levels, then transformed it into a statement and big middle-finger at the MPA for it's misguided priorities and hypocrisy. The Simpson Movie never goes much farther than the TV show - the PG-13 rating does enable the writers to be a little more naughty with some of the jokes, but not in a way that enhances the TV show's insight or irreverence. As an ardent fan maybe I'm being too hard on the film and expecting too much. The series has been on so long and lampooned virtually every aspect of Western culture (and numerous others), maybe there just isn't anywhere left for the creative team to go they haven't at least touched on already. Taken as it is The Simpson movie is an intelligently written, visually clever satire. And even if it's not as potent as the best episodes it's still entertaining for both casual and avid fans. Expand
  23. steve
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Haven't watched the last 5 or so seasons, but this film did not disappoint. Highly recommended.
  24. RaniS.
    Jul 28, 2007
    6
    Average.
  25. BlobbysB.
    Jul 28, 2007
    5
    Some good site gags. Some funny lines. Average movie at best. Except for main 5 Simpsons - everyone else is barely a cameo.
  26. ColeP.
    Jul 28, 2007
    0
    I wanted to go and get my money back! For that crap, I should have been paid to watch. I did not laugh once, the plot was nonexistent (yes, even a dumb simpsons movie needs a PLOT), and everyone else in the theater was laughing the entire way through. I suggest that anyone with any type of brain to stay away from this movie.
  27. AndrewA.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Best. Episode. Ever.
  28. MarkW.
    Jul 28, 2007
    4
    I agree whole-heartedly with Joseph B. and C.S. ... this movie had flashes of brilliance which only marginally compensated for a lot of unfunny gags. It really wasn't that good at all. The show has been going downhill since around '98, but I was hoping that the movie (written by some of the Simpsons longstanding creators) would redeem the series. Boy, was I wrong. Maybe the show I agree whole-heartedly with Joseph B. and C.S. ... this movie had flashes of brilliance which only marginally compensated for a lot of unfunny gags. It really wasn't that good at all. The show has been going downhill since around '98, but I was hoping that the movie (written by some of the Simpsons longstanding creators) would redeem the series. Boy, was I wrong. Maybe the show set too high a standard, but I don't think that's any excuse for the movie to be less than would it should have ... it was clever, at times, but is wasn't inspired. To quote C.S., about five reviews below mine, "A very great shame." Expand
  29. BenW.
    Jul 29, 2007
    6
    Joseph B.'s review was HILARIOUS. Did you think this was a pixar movie or something? Have you ever even seen the TV show? My opinion...the movie just wasn't all that good. The big screen didn't bring anything new to the simpson legacy. and the jokes were of the same caliber as the tv show. so i don't quite understand the point of making a movie at this point. it Joseph B.'s review was HILARIOUS. Did you think this was a pixar movie or something? Have you ever even seen the TV show? My opinion...the movie just wasn't all that good. The big screen didn't bring anything new to the simpson legacy. and the jokes were of the same caliber as the tv show. so i don't quite understand the point of making a movie at this point. it wasn't bad. but it definitely wasn't as good as it could have been. Expand
  30. Tim
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Flawlessly hilarious.
    Ima go see it 1 or 2 more times.
  31. GaborA.
    Jul 29, 2007
    7
    (7.5) When this movie's on its on fire. Unfortunately it can't keep this up for the entirety and there are long stretches where the jokes die down but at least never become embarrassing like in many of the new episodes. Its also interesting to watch an episode of the Simpsons with a crowded theater. You get a little insight into why the humor went down the toilet. Every (7.5) When this movie's on its on fire. Unfortunately it can't keep this up for the entirety and there are long stretches where the jokes die down but at least never become embarrassing like in many of the new episodes. Its also interesting to watch an episode of the Simpsons with a crowded theater. You get a little insight into why the humor went down the toilet. Every hilariously, satirical joke I found myself and four others laughing. But when Homer hurts himself for the fifteenth time in the movie the theater goes wild. The writers knew this and ended the movie on such a note. Its just a shame that it might have been their last joke, though, it is fitting. Expand
  32. MatthewF.
    Jul 29, 2007
    6
    Good but not anywhere great. Good movie to watch when bored.
  33. JC.
    Jul 29, 2007
    8
    I just went and saw the movie this weekend and its a funny movie the whole theater was cracking up. Its a good movie but it could have been better. But hay don't listing to anyone who thinks its a bad movie. Go see it and see what you think about it.
  34. DeanP.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Loved it........with tons of one-liners and excellent sight gags.
  35. DavidL.
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    Definitely funny, highly entertaining. There was unfortunately a complete lack of Sideshow Bob and very little Mr Burns. I would say that the writers crossed the line on 3 occasions which was upsetting for this longtime fan. There was no need to see Bart's genitals, Homer giving the middle finger, or Marge using the "G-D" phrase. The writers should be above that.
  36. WaldysP.
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    The movie is excellent, I laughed from beginning to end. I recommend it to anyone who understand Homer and his fellows. Go to watch it, you won't be disappointed.
  37. MarkL.
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    The characters in the movie have much more depth and evolve to a greater degree than any of the single episodes could possibly accomplish in a half hour. Bravo!
  38. MichaelL.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Caring parents be warned?? Huh? SInce when has The Simpsons EVER been geared to the Pixar set? It's bright, caustic social commentary with just enough sophomoric humor to keep us oldsters laughing in spite of ourselves. Though the movie runs out of steam after the first brilliant 45 minutes, it's still smarter, funnier, wiser and more topical than all of the Adam Sandler, Robin Caring parents be warned?? Huh? SInce when has The Simpsons EVER been geared to the Pixar set? It's bright, caustic social commentary with just enough sophomoric humor to keep us oldsters laughing in spite of ourselves. Though the movie runs out of steam after the first brilliant 45 minutes, it's still smarter, funnier, wiser and more topical than all of the Adam Sandler, Robin Williams, and Jim Carrey dreck combined. And, no, this isn't for the Scooby Doo set. Does that really need to be said? Expand
  39. [Anonymous]
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    I thought it was pretty funny. It easily kept my attention because of all the jokes and excitement. People who're easily offended may not like the movie, it's not made by Pixar and is not supposed to be a Pixar movie so don't expect it to be one.
  40. Spongeee
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    The movie runs parallel with the Simpsons of today. The show reached its prime in the mid to late 90s and has been pretty funny since. The movie itself is pretty funny but fails to reach the prime. Thats ok. It's still way kewl to see the Simpsons on large format and the 3D animation really gives it a big world feel which a tv to film transfer needs and deserves. If you liked the The movie runs parallel with the Simpsons of today. The show reached its prime in the mid to late 90s and has been pretty funny since. The movie itself is pretty funny but fails to reach the prime. Thats ok. It's still way kewl to see the Simpsons on large format and the 3D animation really gives it a big world feel which a tv to film transfer needs and deserves. If you liked the Simpsons at any point, go see this movie. Def worth a shot. Expand
  41. DavidT.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. A breath of fresh air after a lack luster summer of formula-driven unoriginal sequels.
  42. ScottS.
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    Excellent. Those offended have not been paying attention to the TV show, or don't understand what The Simpson's are about. America's first family make their leap to the big screen in the exact manner they should: wittily, lovingly, and, of course, subversively.
  43. DavidH.
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    Funnier than the show has been in a long time, though not quite up to the quality of early seasons. Relies a little too heavily on slapstick, but I suppose that's only to help it play to a broader audience much of which were not brought up on Gen-X cynicism. Enjoyable, but doesn't fully take advantage of the cinematic medium.
  44. PittmanW.
    Jul 30, 2007
    5
    Lots of funny jokes but as an entire movie very average. Whereas South Park realized greatness through their adventure in cinematic adaptation, the Simpson movie is just an average episode that happens to be 85 minutes long. Homer said it," why would you pay for something you can get for free?" I'm sad that I did.
  45. CL.
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    Personally I absolutely loved it! people who call the movie "offensive" should wear extra padding on their helmets; fluffy mittens; and an extra layer of sunblock to protect their delicate skin from the harsh rays emanating from the sun. that "sick feeling" in your stomach -Joseph B.- is probably your head. to alleviate it, just place your hands on your butt cheeks and push.
  46. ThomasC.
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    I'm not quite sure what Joseph B. was thinking when he suggested not to take young kids to see this movie. This is The Simpsons, and unless you've been in a hole for the past 18 years, the comedic stylings of Mr. James L. Brooks and the rest of the team are those of witty, intellectual tones. The movie is rated PG-13 for a reason: Most kids under the age of 13 won't see I'm not quite sure what Joseph B. was thinking when he suggested not to take young kids to see this movie. This is The Simpsons, and unless you've been in a hole for the past 18 years, the comedic stylings of Mr. James L. Brooks and the rest of the team are those of witty, intellectual tones. The movie is rated PG-13 for a reason: Most kids under the age of 13 won't see this as anything more than a visual roller coaster ride. This movie was worth waiting the 18 years for. Jokes were carefully crafted and characters filled their roles exactly how we've come to know them over 400+ episodes. If you are not a fan of The Simpsons, you may not enjoy this movie. That being said, any Simpsons fan would be foolish not to see it! Expand
  47. KevinR.
    Jul 30, 2007
    4
    About 2/3 of the jokes were just cheesy--I mean like "Take my wife, please" level cheesy. Only a few had any satirical bite. The plot was pretty poorly developed and didn't have much more range than a typical TV episode. Underwhelming!
  48. JoeG.
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    Very very funny movie. Simpsons kept constant laughs coming (usually at least once a minute) in its typical style of humor. The only part that was slow was (POSSIBLE SPOILERS) after Homer's family left him in Alaska (END SPOILERS)... But then the movie came back with a hilarious joke (to be continued...). Overall good movie -- but not kid-friendly. A few offensive parts (relating to Very very funny movie. Simpsons kept constant laughs coming (usually at least once a minute) in its typical style of humor. The only part that was slow was (POSSIBLE SPOILERS) after Homer's family left him in Alaska (END SPOILERS)... But then the movie came back with a hilarious joke (to be continued...). Overall good movie -- but not kid-friendly. A few offensive parts (relating to the Bible and Christianity) but otherwise good. Again, it was FREAKIN HILARIOUS! Expand
  49. LuisO.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Give me a break to the person that said "Beware Carig Parents." There is nothing in this movie remotely offensive. And since when is the Simpsons considered a children's show anyway? Most of the jokes on the Simpsons are for a more adult audience and always have been. The only thing this movie does different than the series in that respect is that the jokes can be coupled with more Give me a break to the person that said "Beware Carig Parents." There is nothing in this movie remotely offensive. And since when is the Simpsons considered a children's show anyway? Most of the jokes on the Simpsons are for a more adult audience and always have been. The only thing this movie does different than the series in that respect is that the jokes can be coupled with more visuals that the uptight sensors at FOX would not approve for normal TV. But nothing offensive in the least. Bottom line, if you already let your kids watch the series, this movie is fine for them. Anyway, I thought the movie was awesome. The characters somehow became alive compared to how they act on TV when it comes to showing real emotion. The movie has some serious scenes and they serve to provide a lot of character development. Much more than what my expectations were for a Simpsons movie I must say. This is not Shakespeare people, it's the Simpsons. This movie will not make converts of people that are not already fans, but if you love the series, you will love the movie, period. Highly recommended. Expand
  50. BrentD.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    The Simpsons movie was brilliant. I loves the new crisper look, it looked great! I would differently go and buy the DVD when it comes out. Many, many funner jokes throughout the movie kept me laughing the entire time. Very impressed. Now will they make an Itchy and Scratchy Movie??????
  51. DF.
    Jul 31, 2007
    7
    As a life long Simpsons fan i went in with high expectations. Unfortunately, the script seems like it could have just as easily been a normal, 22 minute episode. I find it hard to believe this story would have been years in the making. The lack of lines from several of Springfield's key residents (skinner, burns) was also disappointing. Aside from these miscues, it still is The As a life long Simpsons fan i went in with high expectations. Unfortunately, the script seems like it could have just as easily been a normal, 22 minute episode. I find it hard to believe this story would have been years in the making. The lack of lines from several of Springfield's key residents (skinner, burns) was also disappointing. Aside from these miscues, it still is The Simpsons and is worth seeing for that reason alone. Expand
  52. ArthurC.
    Jul 31, 2007
    8
    Funny. And that is what you want a Simpsons movie to be. It sort of drags in the middle, but when the jokes are flying, they work. It reminds me a lot of what made the show so great in the first place. Smart comedy mixed with the lowbrow, mixed with genuine human emotions, mixed with Duff Beer.
  53. MattR.
    Jul 31, 2007
    4
    Through and through, a waste of time. While it entertained and gave me quite a few laughs, I couldn't help feeling very disappointed in the movie. It might just have been acceptable as a Primetime TV Special. The plot is contrived and stale, and instead of getting rich characters we get quick snippet gags. Theres nothing new here for fans who have seen this plot play out countless Through and through, a waste of time. While it entertained and gave me quite a few laughs, I couldn't help feeling very disappointed in the movie. It might just have been acceptable as a Primetime TV Special. The plot is contrived and stale, and instead of getting rich characters we get quick snippet gags. Theres nothing new here for fans who have seen this plot play out countless times before. Instead of introducing new things that would be impossible on TV, the writers lazily kept the same archetypes going about the same things. Its a shame that this once proud show has bottomed out these past 5 years. Its time to call it quits Simpsons. Expand
  54. GregM.
    Jul 31, 2007
    8
    BEWARE CARING PARENTS! Go take your kids to a crappy Disney flick. This is by no mean the Simpsons' best, but these old scribes can still muster up some venom once in a while. Much better than most of the crap out there, as the Simpsons have always been. Drags toward the end and pulls a few punches, but all in all fun and worthwhile. The series of writers who have passed through the BEWARE CARING PARENTS! Go take your kids to a crappy Disney flick. This is by no mean the Simpsons' best, but these old scribes can still muster up some venom once in a while. Much better than most of the crap out there, as the Simpsons have always been. Drags toward the end and pulls a few punches, but all in all fun and worthwhile. The series of writers who have passed through the Simpsons family is impressive and the series still has a ways to go, if it wants to. I'll be watching... but on DVD. Expand
  55. LiamL.
    Aug 1, 2007
    4
    Good, but the animation was a bit 'fantasia-esque' and the jokes are particularly worn out by the "leaking" on YouTube.
  56. MasonW
    Aug 1, 2007
    2
    I have loved the satirical witty humor the simpsons made famous from 91-98. but this movie is awful. mind of mencia type jokes- cliched, stale and done before. i wanted just a few laughs, and got none. it seems like the writers didn't even try to be witty.
  57. BarkJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    0
    WHAT A BAD MOVIE! I mean, the story went nowhere and in the end, well, the movie just randomly ended. I have no idea of how these movie critics rate movies. Really, it just boggles my mind. Please, don't make a sequel.
  58. RobB.
    Aug 2, 2007
    5
    Disappointing for sure. You would think the writers would save some of their best gags for this venue, but it really was not even as good as a good Simpsons TV episode. The hardest I laughed was at the very beginning when the cartoon camera zooms through Springfield to spy on some of the characters, and we see Apu changing the expiration date from 2006 to 2008 on a carton of milk. That Disappointing for sure. You would think the writers would save some of their best gags for this venue, but it really was not even as good as a good Simpsons TV episode. The hardest I laughed was at the very beginning when the cartoon camera zooms through Springfield to spy on some of the characters, and we see Apu changing the expiration date from 2006 to 2008 on a carton of milk. That was the highlight for me. You would be much better off renting a Simpsons season DVD from your local video store. Expand
  59. RockPaperScissors
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    The critics should go back and upgrade the Simpsons movie to universal acclaim status. Because this is hilariously delicious movie.
  60. RobertK.
    Aug 2, 2007
    3
    Apparently this film went through hundreds of re-writes, even in the making. This shows in the equally numerous plot holes. Characters drop out of the film as quickly as they appear and I was constantly asking myself how the entire town of Springfield watched the Simpsons burrow out of the dome and didn't get ideas of their own? Why didn't they all just dig in the first place? Apparently this film went through hundreds of re-writes, even in the making. This shows in the equally numerous plot holes. Characters drop out of the film as quickly as they appear and I was constantly asking myself how the entire town of Springfield watched the Simpsons burrow out of the dome and didn't get ideas of their own? Why didn't they all just dig in the first place? WTF. The entire project lacks cohesion as the movie goes in every single way possible but ultimately goes nowhere. The plots are rehashes of stuff done in episodes - basically Lisa falls in love and Homer's stupidity alienates the family. Also, the humour is all that awkward new Simpsons stuff; full of out of place political satire, reality bending physical gags and Homer being stupid beyond belief. If you are one of the morons who still watches the Simpsons, then you will probably like the film, but if you are one of the fans who dropped out around Season 10 then you will loathe it. Thankfully there is only one Mike Scully-ish celebrity cameo - Greenday, who don't fit in at all. I left the cinema wondering why they even bothered with this film. It was a sinking ship from the start (so many writers, so many rewrites) and it really didn't have a purpose. Boo-urns. Expand
  61. Joe
    Aug 2, 2007
    9
    One word sums up this hilarious film: Spiderpig.
  62. TomE.
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    This is the funniest movie ever period. I was laughing pretty much every second and the story is perfect for the movie. And homer swearing at the towns people is the icing on the cake!!!
  63. DannyV.V.
    Aug 2, 2007
    9
    I think the Simpsons movie way overshot my expectations, as they were very low. The last few seasons can be called "disappointing" at best. The movie was pretty funny, but sometimes, especially at the beginning, it tries to cram too many jokes into one scene, making it look like it was trying too hard. Overall, the movie was very touching and hilarious at moments, although if you really I think the Simpsons movie way overshot my expectations, as they were very low. The last few seasons can be called "disappointing" at best. The movie was pretty funny, but sometimes, especially at the beginning, it tries to cram too many jokes into one scene, making it look like it was trying too hard. Overall, the movie was very touching and hilarious at moments, although if you really want to laugh your a** off, go watch Borat. [***SPOILER***] Can't wait for, as maggie says at the end, the "sequel". Expand
  64. AMovieCritic
    Aug 4, 2007
    6
    It's....safe. That's the word to describe the Simpsons Movie...it's safe. It really doesn't take any chances, it does nothing different, it really doesn't try to break any new ground...it's basically an extended episode of the series. Which is...I don't know. Obviously critics found this acceptable, but I really can't. When you look at something It's....safe. That's the word to describe the Simpsons Movie...it's safe. It really doesn't take any chances, it does nothing different, it really doesn't try to break any new ground...it's basically an extended episode of the series. Which is...I don't know. Obviously critics found this acceptable, but I really can't. When you look at something like the South Park movie....(released a mere 2 years after the show's debut,) THAT's how you bring an animated show to the screen. It took big risks, (it was an R-rated musical!) and did things not seen on the show and featured an epic soundtrack and battle scenes...it felt like a movie. And it was much funnier than any episodes of the show. (At the time.) The Simpsons Movie, though, despite being based on a show that's been around for nearly 20 years, disappointingly takes no risks. Don't get me wrong, it's about as funny as most episodes of the series...but it's different to sit at home and laugh at a TV show than to pay to see it in a theater with popcorn, etc. You expect MORE. You expect it to be funnier. It just wasn't. I was reminded of Family Guy's straight-to-DVD movie and couldn't help but wonder why this movie didn't feature the same fate. Despite a whopping 70 million budget, this movie actually feels very small-scale, whereas the South Park movie, for example, felt much larger than anything attempted on the show. Not really helping matters are some corny attempts at emotional moments, the extremely predictable the US government jokes, and the fact that every character in the show besides the Simpson family is basically only there for a cameo. Still, there are laughs to be had and some inspired gags. (The best ones borrow well from a scene from Wrongfully Accused and another from Austin Powers.) And on the rare occasion that the movie does take advantage of its PG-13 rating, we get a pretty funny "dirty joke." Overall, it's a pretty amusing movie but not one that I can recommend seeing in a theater. It's really not a movie, it felt like a collection of episodes of the show, and it really fails to deliver any gigantic laughs or anything unexpected or push the envelope in any way. The decision to play it so safe ultimately results in an unmemorable movie. Expand
  65. MatthieuR
    Aug 6, 2007
    8
    The Simpsons movie was better than I expected, but, as others have pointed out, not quite as good as a top-tier episode. It's true that certain characters are barely in it, while others are too present, but overall this was a lot of fun. This movie was bound to be divisive (just read Robert K's tantrum below), but if you like the simpsons, you owe it to yourself to go see it!
  66. ComicBookGuy
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    Best movie adaption of a cartoon series ever!
  67. ChrisW
    Aug 6, 2007
    3
    Sigh. If only they'd made a movie 10 years or so ago, it could have been a classic. As it is, not so much. Every scene reminded me of something the show has already done . . . Homer falls for a pig; anybody else remember when he fell for a lobster? Bart feels neglected . . . remember when Maggie wanted to be part of the Flanders? And again and again, deja vu . . . I always thought Sigh. If only they'd made a movie 10 years or so ago, it could have been a classic. As it is, not so much. Every scene reminded me of something the show has already done . . . Homer falls for a pig; anybody else remember when he fell for a lobster? Bart feels neglected . . . remember when Maggie wanted to be part of the Flanders? And again and again, deja vu . . . I always thought the show was at its best when it dealt with small family-oriented bits, like Bart shoplifting, Lisa cheating at school or Homer helping Bart build a soap-box derby car.. Seems now they have some compulsion for Bigger, More Complicated Plots with Wild Locales . . . Boo-urns indeed. Expand
  68. Nate
    Aug 6, 2007
    5
    The more i think about it, the less i like the movie. the few serious scenes overwhelmed the rest of it, which was funny but nowhere near classic.
  69. DanF.
    Aug 6, 2007
    8
    The first half is a 10, as I was completely involved and laughing hysterically the whole time. (Just about busted a gut when Homer said, "I helped a little".) The sharpness and angles available on the big screen were definitely new and fun. But the second half gets a 6, because the jokes are fewer and the plot doesn't have the weight to carry the movie. So 8 it is... It could have The first half is a 10, as I was completely involved and laughing hysterically the whole time. (Just about busted a gut when Homer said, "I helped a little".) The sharpness and angles available on the big screen were definitely new and fun. But the second half gets a 6, because the jokes are fewer and the plot doesn't have the weight to carry the movie. So 8 it is... It could have been condensed and made into two of the greatest Simpsons episodes of all time, but it was still worth seeing in the theater. Expand
  70. DanKelly
    Aug 9, 2007
    8
    Smart, sassy and equally moronic The Simpsons Movie is everything a Simpsons fan could have wanted. A few gags where a bit generic but overall I was so happy that the film could achieve this level of quality considering the expectations that where heaped on it's shoulders.,
  71. JackB.
    Aug 9, 2007
    8
    I thought this was a good movie, some of it was inappropriate for kids, and some of it was kid-friendly. The main plot of the story was global warming. One flaw of this movie was they milked spider-pig so much, he was only in the movie for about 5 minutes. overall, I'd say it was a pretty good movie.
  72. JoeyK.
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    Everything that a reasonable person should expect from a Simpsons Movie. Not a great, innovative, or typical film, but the TV show transformed into a feature film in the only way that would work. The humor, while not the absolute best that The Simpsons has to offer, hearkens back to the prime of the show. I haven't really watched the show in ages. It got stale, preachy, and unfunny. Everything that a reasonable person should expect from a Simpsons Movie. Not a great, innovative, or typical film, but the TV show transformed into a feature film in the only way that would work. The humor, while not the absolute best that The Simpsons has to offer, hearkens back to the prime of the show. I haven't really watched the show in ages. It got stale, preachy, and unfunny. But this movie really reminded me of how the show used to be great. And good news, all the social and political commentary is right where it belongs: tucked away in snarky comments sprinkled throughout the movie. *Homer flipping through the Bible* "This book doesn't have any answers!" If you ever liked The Simpsons, you'll enjoy this movie, but it's nothing amazing. It's The Simpsons in movie form. That's all. Expand
  73. DanP
    Aug 14, 2007
    8
    I haven't been a fan since the 11th season ended with more and more mindless stupidity and poor writing, but the film was a pleasant surprise. Still dumb and random and not nearly as intelligent as Season 4 or 5, but at least it was along the same level as season 9 or 10.
  74. Walter
    Aug 15, 2007
    7
    I am a Simpson's fanatic...this was a good movie, not a great one. It's basically a long Simpson's episode. It was funny, not hysterical, good not great, and recommendable, but not must-see. For a script that took so many years to put together, it might've been better, but overall a good movie with good laughs, just not great laughs.
  75. RienyeN
    Aug 15, 2007
    8
    I have to admit i had high expectations for this movie and even though it didn't disappoint, i still feel there was something missing...or it felt like an ultra-long episode of the series. All in all, it was great for laughs and very entertaining.
  76. Marc
    Aug 15, 2007
    6
    This was sometimes amusing, also the social and political criticism is correct, I can't say I laughed though... Of course I didn't see it on wide-screen with many people around (torrents)... It felt too long, really... a too long episode, and most of the Simpsons characters are mainly extras in this "movie", with maybe one line each somewhere and not particularly interesting nor This was sometimes amusing, also the social and political criticism is correct, I can't say I laughed though... Of course I didn't see it on wide-screen with many people around (torrents)... It felt too long, really... a too long episode, and most of the Simpsons characters are mainly extras in this "movie", with maybe one line each somewhere and not particularly interesting nor funny ones... Also, what happens with the pig? And who cares about this pig? Expand
  77. SteveG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    3
    The Simpsons Movie shares all the faults of the last six or seven seasons of this once-great show. Only sporadically funny (the Ralph Wiggum appearance in the first frames is genius), overly reliant on guest stars, and unnecessarily surreal. What happened? The Simpsons used to be, quite simply, the best satirical entertainment on TV. For the last few years the writing has been lazy and The Simpsons Movie shares all the faults of the last six or seven seasons of this once-great show. Only sporadically funny (the Ralph Wiggum appearance in the first frames is genius), overly reliant on guest stars, and unnecessarily surreal. What happened? The Simpsons used to be, quite simply, the best satirical entertainment on TV. For the last few years the writing has been lazy and self-referential, and at times downright cruel. The film makes the mistake of following Homer through his odyssey of self-discovery while largely ignoring the other wonderful characters, who are consigned to bit parts. Even Bart and Lisa are left stranded without a decent storyline. What a waste... Expand
  78. JoshuaE.
    Aug 16, 2007
    4
    Mediocre at best, The Simpson's Movie is a string of average gags and one liners strung together weakly by the most obvious (read easiest) dumb plot the writers could come up with. There was nothing clever about it and none of the quirky character that earlier incarnations of the show had. Many of the great characters that live in this world are left to rot with only one or two words Mediocre at best, The Simpson's Movie is a string of average gags and one liners strung together weakly by the most obvious (read easiest) dumb plot the writers could come up with. There was nothing clever about it and none of the quirky character that earlier incarnations of the show had. Many of the great characters that live in this world are left to rot with only one or two words to say in the whole movie. With all of the great ideas tossed off in half hour episodes over the years, it's a real shame they couldn't come up with, or save, one last good one for this movie. Expand
  79. Jo-AnneM.
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    Enjoyed it so much. Laughed a lot, plan to see it again to catch what I didn't the first time around. Lots of big broad humour, but sly bits tucked in here and there to catch you up and make you roar with hilarity! Tell everyone to see this!
  80. SanjeevB.
    Aug 19, 2007
    3
    I went in kind of excited, given the good reviews. Alas, I was a bit disappointed. Well, fairly disappointed. Okay, lets be honest. I was surprised that the professional critics' reviews were so good. I thought the plot was a copout, and the character stories not so entertaining. When it came down to it, the movie didn't really have anything to say.
  81. AndrewK.
    Aug 19, 2007
    6
    well...what can be said about this movie that hasn't been said already? I'll try and keep it brief. All of us real Simpsons fans haven't been able to watch the show without gagging since somewhere around season ten. I wasn't expecting to like this movie at all. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was very funny, although it's true that if the movie had well...what can be said about this movie that hasn't been said already? I'll try and keep it brief. All of us real Simpsons fans haven't been able to watch the show without gagging since somewhere around season ten. I wasn't expecting to like this movie at all. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was very funny, although it's true that if the movie had been made ten years ago, it would have been so much more relevant and so much more genuinely funny. It's worth the price of a ticket, but don't expect to be blown away. The fact is that The Simpsons will never be what it once was, and we all just have to face it. Also, the little bits in the film that couldn't have been done on TV (bart's penis, Homer giving the finger, Marge swearing) were funny, though I couldn't help feeling they were out of place. While the show has always been on the edge, there has always been the feeling that they wouldn't go any further even if they could. It just goes against the feel of the show. Whereas South Park has always included that kind of stuff on their show, even if it had to be censored. So the film was just an uncensored episode. Not quite the same with The Simpsons. Just my thoughts on a pretty much unimportant aspect of the film. There's plenty of worse movies you could go see. Expand
  82. JohnF.
    Aug 20, 2007
    1
    President Hilary? Global Warming. Alaska being raped? Dumb President? I thought Michael Moore wrote the script for this movie. Preachy, boring and not very funning. I love the TV Show, but this was a "beat over the head" about current politics and not very subtle.
  83. ChrisV
    Aug 21, 2007
    8
    Its an ok movie, not great, but... ill definitely buy it on dvd when it comes out.
  84. MichelleN.
    Aug 21, 2007
    5
    It was cute and funny! But I think my expectations were a little high, the storyline was a little too sappy for the Simpsons. However, I still find myself singing Spider Pig!
  85. JD
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    One thing you need to understand going into this movie is that it holds little resemblance to what the legendary, historic, landmark television show did for the first 18 years. That being said, I've NEVER laughed as loud and consistently than I did during the SIMPSONS movie. One word of caution : the raunchy matches the riot. This movie is much more crass than I'd expected.
  86. ScottW.
    Aug 24, 2007
    7
    The first Simpson movie is a winner. Funny, smart and very simply done. Not the funniest movie of 2007 but, anyone can enjoy this film with the way its been crafted together, even if some how you have never seen or been into the show on tv.
  87. dd.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    The best and nothing short of it.
  88. Don
    Aug 26, 2007
    5
    I'm a huge Simpsons fan and this movie was a big letdown for me. There was no edginess to it, the plot was lame. The audience I saw it with barely laughed and I heard people after say it was "terrible". Definitely not worth it.
  89. JexxaS.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    I don't think there were any flaws in the film. It wasn't like a normal Simpsons episode because it was a bigger adventure but it was just as funny. I feel that the writers were more daring than normal in some of their gags such as when Bart was skateboarding or when Homer was going down the sandpit. A great film and I will definitely be getting it on DVD.
  90. GatsbyJ.
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    -Like most people who went to see this movie, I've been a fan of the show for ages. I think a lot of people will agree that the older seasons are definitely better than the newer. The older episodes were hilarious, clever, often brilliant, with focused stories, interesting twists, and the deepest cast of stereotypical characters any viewer could want. -I really dislike some of the -Like most people who went to see this movie, I've been a fan of the show for ages. I think a lot of people will agree that the older seasons are definitely better than the newer. The older episodes were hilarious, clever, often brilliant, with focused stories, interesting twists, and the deepest cast of stereotypical characters any viewer could want. -I really dislike some of the newer episodes, though there are a few gems here and there. And I've been waiting for a movie to come out for years. But since this movie released when the show was past its 18th season, I was scared it would suck-diddly-uck. I went into the theater with a queasy feeling and a nagging voice that kept telling me that I was going to be majorly disappointed with the movie. -It started off decent, but then took off well. There was a through-line which ran across the movie and kept it together. Some viewers were disappointed saying that the movie focused too much on Homer and his family and also didn't try anything radical with the story. However, I think that for the FIRST Simpsons movie this is the perfect choice. This is how the show first started off, and this is how the first movie should be, because it is called "The Simpsons" and not "The Simpsons and Friends." I think in the sequels it'll be more about the community. But they needed a simple plot for the first movie, nothing totally unique. Homer messing up and endangering his family and whole town is true to the series, both in the earlier and later seasons. -Yes, some of the humour was immature, and there weren't too many moments that had the crystal brilliance of the earlier seasons, but it was still funny. A few minutes into it I realized I wasn't going to let down and just sat back and enjoyed it. The music was wonderful (thank you Hans Zimmer), the animation clear and beautifully drawn (any fan of the show, regardless if they liked or hated this movie, should be glad it was done in traditional 2-D and not 3-D). The story was simple and various parts of it were well connected and came together nicely (i.e. Homer with the motorcycle in the cage and at the end when he uses it to save Springfield). And for those who say the movie went through so many revisions and many changes were made right up to it's release: this doesn't mean there's anything wrong with the movie, because what matters is the final product. -Best of all, there weren't a huge cast of celebrities which would take attention away from Homer and the rest of his family. -This is just my personal opinion, but overall I felt this movie was a success. S-U-C-E-E-S, that's the way you spell success. Collapse
  91. DeezN.
    Aug 31, 2007
    9
    This movie was sooofunny, one of the best of the summer. The entire sold out movie theater was cracking up throughout.
  92. Oligami
    Sep 1, 2007
    8
    I really like the show, and the movie doesn't dissapoint. I expected more jokes though.
  93. ColinC
    Sep 5, 2007
    8
    Good fun. I you like the Simpsons, you'll enjoy this movie.
  94. AB
    Sep 7, 2007
    7
    Considering the fact that "The Simpsons Movie" is based on one of the most hilarious shows ever created, the execution of this high concept is a slight disappointment. The movie is generally great, but, at times, the dialogue and stereotypes become clichéd. Thankfully, some great moments keep "The Simpsons Movie" far from mediocrity.
  95. FelizN.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Best movie in history of America! As a movie critic, this is kind of an amateur thing, but i highly recommend this film as a great movie! While your at the movies buy some billsberries! I gave it a 100 in my review for the Los Angeles Times, thank you.
  96. TodorL.
    Sep 12, 2007
    3
    Borin ... American animation . I wonder how that can be liked in Europe .. Still some nice graphics but really poor movie .
  97. JerkGuy
    Oct 4, 2007
    2
    I walked out half way through this movie, I just couldn
  98. SophieM.
    Oct 7, 2007
    8
    A great movie, and one of the standouts of the summer. Not only is it great to see your favourite characters on the big screen, it's refreshing to see a cartoon in the cinema that isn't computer animated. Is it as good as the early Simpsons episodes? No, but aside from Futurama, nothing else is. The movie does a sublime job of reminding you of the wit and good humour of earlier A great movie, and one of the standouts of the summer. Not only is it great to see your favourite characters on the big screen, it's refreshing to see a cartoon in the cinema that isn't computer animated. Is it as good as the early Simpsons episodes? No, but aside from Futurama, nothing else is. The movie does a sublime job of reminding you of the wit and good humour of earlier episodes, and that makes a good movie in itself. I highly recommend this one. Expand
  99. BillieM.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Bloody hell, this movie rocks!!!
  100. thinkerrific
    Oct 10, 2007
    5
    I have long loved The Simpsons. In the early years, you got both low-brow humor and brilliant, satirical humor that made the show appealing to all types of viewers. Recent seasons, as many have pointed out, have much less of the intelligent, have-to-be-culturally-aware-to-get-it humor that made it a classic, and much more "Dumb and Dumber" type of humor, relying mostly on gratuitous I have long loved The Simpsons. In the early years, you got both low-brow humor and brilliant, satirical humor that made the show appealing to all types of viewers. Recent seasons, as many have pointed out, have much less of the intelligent, have-to-be-culturally-aware-to-get-it humor that made it a classic, and much more "Dumb and Dumber" type of humor, relying mostly on gratuitous violence, and crass sexual humor. And unfortunately, the movie really was like one long episode of the current show, funny in parts, but mostly pandering to the baser, low-brow elements of society. (Can you say "white trash"?) Which means that although there are a few parts that are funny to people with brains, most of the movie is geared towards low-brow humor. It just isn't that great of a movie. The jokes were often forced, the plot not that engaging, and it just wasn't worth the money. I think a lot of us who have loved the Simpsons for a long time are fooling themselves into thinking that it is still as great as it once was... Sorry, guys, it is not the quality that it once was. This is a two out of four stars kind of movie, that's it. I felt like I accidentally walked into the wrong theater and was watching a mediocre kids movie... Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. It's hard not to like it. And in both senses of the phrase, America keeps asking for it.
  2. 63
    It would be a stretch to call The Simpsons Movie more than a crisper, livelier-looking episode of the series. The change in mediums changes nothing.
  3. The result is two-tiered humor, broad enough to appeal to anybody but overlaid with jokes that will be funnier if you know the show.