Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 14 out of 29
  1. 38
    Add up these three intentions – the down-and-dirty tone, the tender and uplifting message, the starring vehicle – and the math ain't funny. Bottom line: This movie is a whole lot less than the sum of its parts.
  2. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 8, 2011
    38
    One of the weaknesses of The Sitter is that Hill doesn't develop much comic chemistry with the children.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Dec 8, 2011
    38
    There's nothing wrong in the setup: It worked fine in films like "Adventures in Babysitting" and "Uncle Buck." But director David Gordon Green populates the movie with so many soap opera asides it's hard to keep count.
  4. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Dec 8, 2011
    38
    An ugly rendering of an infantile script that constantly exploits stereotypes for cheap guffaws, and employs the hollow trend of hoping ultra-specific, zeitgeisty lingo will distract from inert, derivative storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Dec 9, 2011
    30
    None of it is inherently funny - as evidenced by how many scenes depend for a punchline on Hill swearing at one child or another.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 9, 2011
    30
    I'm going with the filmmakers as the folks most responsible for perpetrating this terribly unfunny and overwhelmingly raunchy film that stars the normally likable, or at least comically forgivable, Jonah Hill. He is neither here.
  7. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Dec 8, 2011
    30
    The Sitter clocks in at a slim 81 minutes, but it feels significantly longer, as there is almost no fluidity between scenes, with the entire outing feeling slapped together at the last minute.
  8. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 8, 2011
    25
    This odious, hypocritical movie marks director David Gordon Green's graduation into full-on hack.
  9. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 7, 2011
    25
    I am so very, very tired of movies like this. Does the story line strike you as original? It sounds to me like another slice off the cheesecake of dreck.
  10. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Dec 13, 2011
    20
    After "Pineapple Express" and "Your Highness," is Green now contractually obligated to revive every dead comedic subgenre of the '80s? What's next, a stoner-friendly "License to Drive"?
  11. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 9, 2011
    20
    The Sitter is not only an atrocious shout-out to bad '80s comedies, it's also the kind of movie Jonah Hill should look at as a crass blast from his past.
  12. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Dec 8, 2011
    20
    As with many R-rated studio comedies, the transgressive humor isn't nearly as offensive as the phony sentiment that's supposed to redeem it, supplied here in stale scenes of the sitter bonding with his little charges.
  13. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Dec 8, 2011
    0
    The Sitter is not (Funny). At all. By any definition, although an argument might be made for the alternate meanings "perplexing," "deceptive" and "slightly unwell."
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    The Sitter sets the benchmark for filth. It is gross, disgusting, demeaning, insulting... and that's why I lvoe it. This movie may put off most critics for the sheer vulgarity of it, but I've always found movies like this great. Gross-Out R-Rated Comedies like this and many others are my specialty. I love 'em, even the critically loathed ones (and this just adds to the list). Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    1
    Some say this is clever and vulgar, but it is not. Once you get outside of its inane plot, this is a generic film attempting to be funny and failing featuring wooden performances, a misplaced soundtrack, and unbalanced direction. I usually am a fan of director David Gordon Green, but I can only see him benefiting from the irony of making a film he grew up loving as a 10-year-old, meant for adults. Unfortunately, I was neither high, drunk, hungover or pre-pubescent, and I wasn't entertained in the least at any point during the movie. Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Not jonah hill's best work, but it was clever to make a raunchy film that basks in its own raunchiness to satirize this age old plot. if you watch it with the mindset that it is making fun of the typical "family high jinks" movie you can get a lot of laughs from it Full Review »