Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 14 out of 29
Watch On
  1. 60
    The Sitter feels slapdash and quick, but you might not want to have it any other way.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 8, 2011
    60
    The Sitter is predicated on a belief that chunky Jonah Hill, or at least the persona he presents, is secretly supercool. While it turns out to be a wisp of a movie, on that front at least, it is persuasive.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 12, 2011
    50
    The Sitter is sort of an "Adventures in Babysitting" with a potty mouth.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Dec 9, 2011
    50
    Hill shows less snark and agitation than usual here, and the restraint serves him well.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    A needlessly frenzied, pseudo-raunch comedy that whips up a whole lot of R-rated antics only to arrive at crunchy PG-13 lessons in love and tolerance.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    Some of it, though, is absurdly comic, like the shot of a guy on a Segway that exists for no reason other than that someone here thought the movie could use a small laugh right then. It did. It could use more.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    This ostensibly wild-and-crazy romp plays things too close to the book to feel genuinely wild or crazy.
  8. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    The Sitter pushes the envelope with such sloppy gusto that you have to give in occasionally, and its comic timing finds its rhythm about every fifth joke.
  9. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    While The Sitter isn't that dumb, or dreadful, there really isn't much going on here.
  10. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 8, 2011
    50
    I hope Green one day finds a way to bridge the style and rhythm of his early pictures (the ones that didn't make money) and the bumper-car approach of The Sitter.
  11. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Dec 15, 2011
    40
    For a comedy, The Sitter is frightfully spare on full-bodied laughs.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    The Sitter sets the benchmark for filth. It is gross, disgusting, demeaning, insulting... and that's why I lvoe it. This movie may put offThe Sitter sets the benchmark for filth. It is gross, disgusting, demeaning, insulting... and that's why I lvoe it. This movie may put off most critics for the sheer vulgarity of it, but I've always found movies like this great. Gross-Out R-Rated Comedies like this and many others are my specialty. I love 'em, even the critically loathed ones (and this just adds to the list). Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    1
    Some say this is clever and vulgar, but it is not. Once you get outside of its inane plot, this is a generic film attempting to be funny andSome say this is clever and vulgar, but it is not. Once you get outside of its inane plot, this is a generic film attempting to be funny and failing featuring wooden performances, a misplaced soundtrack, and unbalanced direction. I usually am a fan of director David Gordon Green, but I can only see him benefiting from the irony of making a film he grew up loving as a 10-year-old, meant for adults. Unfortunately, I was neither high, drunk, hungover or pre-pubescent, and I wasn't entertained in the least at any point during the movie. Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Not jonah hill's best work, but it was clever to make a raunchy film that basks in its own raunchiness to satirize this age old plot. if youNot jonah hill's best work, but it was clever to make a raunchy film that basks in its own raunchiness to satirize this age old plot. if you watch it with the mindset that it is making fun of the typical "family high jinks" movie you can get a lot of laughs from it Full Review »