The Social Network

The Social Network Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1563 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On a fall night in 2003, Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg) sits down at his computer and heatedly begins working on a new idea. In a fury of blogging and programming, what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and aOn a fall night in 2003, Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg) sits down at his computer and heatedly begins working on a new idea. In a fury of blogging and programming, what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and a revolution in communication. A mere six years and 500 million friends later, Mark Zuckerberg is the youngest billionaire in history... but for this entrepreneur, success leads to both personal and legal complications. [Columbia Pictures] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    Brilliantly entertaining and emotionally wrenching.
  2. 100
    With a thieves den of borderline-Shakespearian characters, a wickedly literate screenplay, potent direction by David Fincher, an exceptional ensemble cast and subject matter that speaks to a generation and well beyond, The Social Network is mesmerizing.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    100
    The film owes much of its success to the inspired pairing of Fincher and Sorkin.
  4. A work deeper than its nickname, "The Facebook Movie," hints at - coils around your brain. Weeks after seeing it, moments from it will haunt you.
  5. 100
    The performances, direction and writing of one of the best pictures of 2010 make this Social Network every bit as addictive, and a little chilling as well.
  6. 90
    All I can say about Timberlake's performance as the thoroughly odious, desperately seductive, textbook-case metrosexual Parker is that he brings so much reptilian fun that he unbalances the movie, almost fatally.
  7. It's an entertainingly cynical small movie. Aaron Sorkin's dialogue tumbles out so fast it's as if the characters want their brains to keep pace with their processors; they talk like they keyboard, like Fincher directs, with no time for niceties.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 338
  1. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    "The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's"The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's left me so wholeheartedly satisfied by the time the credits started rolling. This is some amazing, amazing stuff we've got here folks: don't miss it for the world. Collapse
  2. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    The Social Network is genius, simple as that. With a look at what is happening to our society and what happens to relationships when money andThe Social Network is genius, simple as that. With a look at what is happening to our society and what happens to relationships when money and fame become involved, this film is a philosophical masterpiece wrapped by amazing acting by everyone, a symbolic and emotional plot, and dialogue that raises this film above all its peers. It is a movie almost as ingenious as the idea Zuckerburg had and has made billions from. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    THE SOCIAL NETWORK, the new film about Mark Zuckenberg and his co-founders of Facebook, has amounted great reviews and been hailed by many asTHE SOCIAL NETWORK, the new film about Mark Zuckenberg and his co-founders of Facebook, has amounted great reviews and been hailed by many as the film of 2010, and even I, as a skeptic from the start, have to say that it is a brilliant movie. This not only out of its mastery of film craft such as use of music, editing, cinematography, acting, story and dialog - but also because of its timing. It's released at a time when everybody everywhere knows exactly what it's about; people watching the film are those in reality involved in the film's plot. The screenplay written by Aaron Sorkin is great, and this albeit it revolves around a story that would be fairly difficult if it hadn't been so entertainingly and intelligently written. As a viewer one watches a computer-programmer work out his mind to become the number one internet phenomena of this century, and as fore-mentioned writer Sorkin moves fast, and one has to stay focused throughout to get the entire momentum. The film feels cold, cynical and detached, much like Zuckenberg acts (greatly by Jesse Eisenberg), but it's singularly about something that gathers, interests and matters - Facebook. So there is naturally something very emotional and very human about the entire personification of numbers, codes and data as it has our name, picture and bio in it. The irony of the story is bleak and sad; it opens with Zuckerberg seated in a crowded university bar chatting intensely (to say the least) with a girl, and ends with him alone, almost blankly introspective, tapping nocturnally on the page he created - it's the man who owns the world, but sold his soul. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    It was a hell of a move, the acting, writing, direction, and cinematography was close to perfect, but at times you do feel the creators areIt was a hell of a move, the acting, writing, direction, and cinematography was close to perfect, but at times you do feel the creators are trying overly hard to achieve perfection, and now allowing imperfection to come naturally. They cannot fully control the overall response to the movie, as hard as they may try. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    The Social Network is a good movie because it retells how FACEBOOK came to existence and it is artistically done. In the movie, we can reallyThe Social Network is a good movie because it retells how FACEBOOK came to existence and it is artistically done. In the movie, we can really see true emotions of the character. Well, everyone needs to watch this because no one can retell how the movie flows. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    it's a good movie, but, i expected more when i read the reviews but, never mind. The dialog and the script were great. they were beyond great.it's a good movie, but, i expected more when i read the reviews but, never mind. The dialog and the script were great. they were beyond great. the characters are likable and Jesse Eisenberg did a great job. it sure was hard to act that role. well, it's worth seeing i guess.. Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2015
    0
    We can't deny the phenomen of facebook but this film is about a bunch of obnoxious Young men fighting for money . It is David finchers leastWe can't deny the phenomen of facebook but this film is about a bunch of obnoxious Young men fighting for money . It is David finchers least stylish and engaging film so far. No character study / depth or philesophical approach. All we can see a boring , overrated , dull " show me the money , baby" movie Expand

See all 338 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: February 11, 2016
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Oscar Best Picture Race: Critics vs. The Academy

    Oscar Best Picture Race: Critics vs. The Academy Image
    Published: February 10, 2015
    How often does the best film win the Academy Award for best picture? We look back at the last 20 years of best picture nominees to find out just how often Oscar voters agree with critics.
  3. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  4. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  5. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  6. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  7. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we
  8. The Social Network: Inside the Reviews

    The Social Network: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: October 6, 2010
    David Fincher's "The Social Network" is attracting critical praise like no other film released so far this year. We take a closer look at the reviews to find out exactly what makes the film so good, and what faults might be present despite the high Metascore.
  9. This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In

    This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In Image
    Published: October 1, 2010
    This week, our focus is on three extremely infrequent events: a major film with phenomenal reviews ("The Social Network," which, by one measure, is now the best film in our database); a horror remake with critical acclaim ("Let Me In"), and an early fall cancellation victim that was well-liked by critics ("Lone Star").